View Full Version : Tackle and Tinnie report
27-03-2004, 04:15 PM
All the usual stalls as you would expect, covering all the normal manufacturers. Still I expected that. Looked forward to it actually. Looking at boats sure beats being at work.
What I particularly go to the show for is to sit down and learn from the presentations. Started with Nugget and cast netting. Being into salt water I missed the next and went to shallow reef fishing by Bill Corten. Followed up by Nugget again on Jumpinpin Jew, and then jason Comino on Morton Bay Tuna. Although not everything was my direct interest, I picked up valuable info from everyone. Even if you only pick up one helpful hint, it is worth while.
Actually have to give special mention to Nugget and Jason Comino. Nugget spent a good bit of time after he had finished to answer a few of my specific questions, and made me feel like he was very happy to do so. Nice to know first hand that he really is a good bloke. And then Jason as he spent a long time with me takling about gear, locations, technique etc, and again, all freely given.
My advice would be to go and learn and not to be afraid to front up to people if you have any questions. They are very happy to help. This is the real value of these shows I think.
Don't just go there expecting to be dazzled by new. There is not much more than what you woud get at a locak tackle store. Just in a big (very big) way. Make the most of the experts to improve your skills.
27-03-2004, 05:03 PM
Shouldn't come accross so bias to salt water. Fitzy also had a big following on fresh water issues. Probably only second to Nugget.
Fitzy
27-03-2004, 07:16 PM
Shouldn't come accross so bias to salt water. Fitzy also had a big following on fresh water issues. Probably only second to Nugget.
Thanks Cheech,
I was starting to feel left out there for a while. ;D
Was great to meet several of the Ausfish crew there! ;D Always a pleasure & thanks for the support.
Other presenters were great. Nugget, Jason Com, Bill Corten, Trevor Saunders,,,,,. Checch did you catch the CSIRO guy talking about the life cycles of pleagics? I missed it but would have been interesting I recon.
Fitzy..
Zeeke
27-03-2004, 09:11 PM
Ill have to come to the next boat show and see what all this yahooing is about ;)
28-03-2004, 06:40 AM
I think you are right Cheech, even if you gain ONE piece of information that you can put to use in some way, it is worth the $10 entry.
I , for one, don't attend these shows to buy tackle & toys. I attend to meet ppl I haven't seen since last time, chat to stall holders and generally catch up on the ' fishing guff '.
Did I mention having a XXXX or 2 ?
jeffo
28-03-2004, 12:35 PM
wasnt a bad show... not enough tackle and new gadgets for my liking... was good to meet a few more fellow ausfishers... ray, craigie,tim and greg.
Randall
28-03-2004, 01:02 PM
Have attended once on Friday and concur with Cheech on the presentations. Fitzys was particularly interesting....but thats the only one I saw. (It`s great having a guy as experienced as Garry to have as a fishing buddy!! ;D)
Rest of the show is as usuall, packed full of big boys toys :)
I am still amazed that you have to pay 10 bucks to get into a tackle store!!! However, I will be paying my $10 tomorow to gain entry to the "big tackle shop".
Randall
bungie
28-03-2004, 01:07 PM
Saw webbys show at lunch, gave me a better understanding of why a few of you guys like the down riggers so much.
jeffo
28-03-2004, 02:42 PM
where you you sitting bungie?
caveman
28-03-2004, 02:49 PM
hi will be at the show tomorro will be wareing my ausfish cap if i havnt met you b4 just tap me on the shoulder and say hi always keen to meet more ausfishers
cheers gary
28-03-2004, 04:06 PM
I well and truly got my $10 worth today when I went.
Watched some great lectures by Webby and Nugget plus some bits and pieces of the others. Wish I had stayed the time to see the entire fish filleting lecture. Both Webby's and Nugget's were great! As a mug learner, I learnt so much from each of them and took lots of notes. Thanks to both guys.
Also bought a new Live Fibre 10' 6'' Champion Trophy model and an Adaptacap which was $10 cheaper there than the one I bought at the Tackle Warehouse a few months ago. There was a bit of variation in the prices at the show. I found the Sundown Marine tackle shop there to be cheaper on both items than any of the other sellers at the show.
I came home feeling really good after the afternoon's outing. The lectures are really good.
Am surprised that there is not someone there selling digital cameras. I reckon that they would make a killing.
bungie
28-03-2004, 04:10 PM
Almost center stage, up the back/top ... think there was a few ausfish members down to my right.
Jew_Chaser
28-03-2004, 04:13 PM
I was their at nugets talk on surf fishing
I sat up the back so i didnt get picked on like filthy phill did.
His new rig blew my mind.
It realy gave me something to think about.
stealth fish made sense the way he said it and live baitng the surf is something i'm going to get more into.
Jeff
jeffo
28-03-2004, 04:31 PM
bungie- those ausfish members were me, phil, searaider,reefmaster,team mongo and billo.... shoulda come and said g'day.
Reefmaster
28-03-2004, 04:47 PM
gday all
went for few hours more then i should have and saw webby and Nugget do there stuff which was good to watch. I had good company of fellow Ausfish members and meet some i hadnt before. Webby did really good for his first time and even threw a good laugh in by saying a little swear word in there. It was a good one for the kids ::) but it had a few of us in tears laughing ;D Contrats on a good show Brian and some bloody good pics of some thumper parrot. Also Nugget was giving phill some crap which just made the show. Good work dave. I think you almost had me intrested in doing beach fishing there Dave but it just looks all to hard. ;D. I think after Brian and Dave did there shows that people thought that the old fishing tricks were just not good enough anymore and we have to adapt to new rigs and ideas to match the smarter fish. Good show guys and im sure alot was learnt.
Cheers Greg
Billo
28-03-2004, 05:28 PM
Well put Greg ..
It was a good show by Webby . top job mate [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
...and great to meet a few of you fellas finally .
almost tempted to go back tomorrow ;D
bungie
28-03-2004, 05:30 PM
Bugger, maybe next time :(
I was there and watched both of Webby's speels and had a yarn to him afterwards. The man is a mine of information and not stingy with it either. Thanks for your assistance Webby. Your blood's worth bottling.
GES
jeffo
29-03-2004, 03:51 AM
LOL greg... well how else can you explain how to rig a livie for dowrigging other than "put the 3/0 trough his bottom lip and just put the stinger hook up his err... arse" ;D you did bloody well webby, you looked like youd done it before. congrats. i wish now i had of hung around for longer >:(
rakinray
29-03-2004, 04:54 AM
G/day all had a good arvo at the show, nice to catch up with jeffo,billo,and greg,also phill and his minder (little miss). Well done on the talk brian, and not a can of black to be seen ! See yas out on the water real soon!
CHEERS RAY ;D
29-03-2004, 02:19 PM
shoot, fellas, from the feedback and being there, I'll put the count well over the 20 Ausfishers having a sticky at Webby's ' secrets ". Good secret that one Brian, treble in the arse !. mateeeeeee ! Brooke had a giggle at that one ;D
Only fella I didn't see was Rob ? Rob are you here or there ?
The conclusion to the seminars that I saw, was that Brian is a fish ' Magnet " and Dave is the " thinking man's, fisherman ".
New technics, new words and why Dave has to take the piss outta me. I'll never know. Even Billy Corten having a shot here and there ;D. love it. and that's what it's all about.
I was pleased to see many folk chatting to the guys after their seminar / show. If you wanted to ask the questions, they'll give you the answers. Spinning for Mullet .....mmmmmmm ! interesting !
I did manage to check out 1 boat in particular, Kermit, the 6mtr Poly. The Bugmeister is hooked on these things, and time will tell just how good they are or not !
As I said in an earlier post, the mian reason I attend is to catch up with ppl I don't see that often.
So, George, Gary, Dave, Greg, Peter, Jeff, Mel, Leanne, Brett, Brian, Bill, Tim, Kris, Ray, Shaun, Ben, wishey, Chris and the rest that I've missed for reasons unknown, cheers.
OK, back to fishing now that we've had our Saturday off on land.
I hope some of you put into practice what you' ve learn't at the show. If you want big / quality fish, you now know what to do.
Phill & Brookie ;D ;)
searaider
29-03-2004, 05:02 PM
It was good to meet some more of the Guys at the show .
Webby that was a top presentation on the down riggers .
Before the show I thought I knew how they were used , you showed me that what I knew was nack all .
I'm now very interseted in giving one a try .
In the presentation you had some photos of Snappery Squire
that you had caught using the down rigger .
One photo showed 2 that you caught near the Measured Mile .
You may not realise but you forgot to tell us where at the Measured Mile .
Oh Well You Carn't Help a Guy for Trying .
Thanks again
Searaider 2
Fisheasy
30-03-2004, 03:06 AM
Great show - looking for a plate boat in the 5.5m-6m range and there was plenty to choose from.
I think if you're specifically looking at buying something, these shows are worth heading to.
Hey Jeffo, not enough tackle. Are you sure. Did you see the discounted tackle mob. Must have had a semi to get the gear there.
David
30-03-2004, 06:20 AM
Gang,
As always great to get some info from the "semi-pro" fishermen. Dave - I think I'll wait till a jew grabs my worm combo or live mullet before I try the lead line method. The best bet with your new method would be that you could send down another bait without having to wind in - if a bait was taken without hookup.
Mr Webb - I've never seen anyone use Photoshop so effecitively toincrease the size of fish - everyone knows you can't catch fish in the bay that big ;)
By the way - I missed your answer. How big to squire have to be before they're called snapper ????
Go the polly - Randall I think I"m hooked - Kermy and the Bugman - it's got a great ring.
I think I might just wait 12 months or so for them to iron out any little changes in the mold or modifications that come after the initial launch. That boat only arrived in Brrisy on Friday arvo after coming out of the mold on Thursday - what you call hot off the press.
Bugman
Hutcho
30-03-2004, 01:36 PM
Those Polycraft numbers like the goods to me. Tis my next boat for sure.
I was there from 10am-4pm Sunday, was stuffed at the end, but def got $10 worth. I was away last week, so only wish I'd known so many Ausfish blokes were gona be there, would have been great to meet up with a few of you guys.
I was there with another fisho mate, and we had a good look at those Polycraft. We were actually trying to work out what the disadvantages of them are....plenty of advantages in my mind. But what are the negatives...i'm sure there has to be some.
I saw Scott Hillier talk on Jacks, Johnny Schofield talk on rubbers in salt water, and then Jas Comino talk about snapper in the bay. 3 great talks, learnt a lot, esp from John and Jas. Did anyon else se them?? I was looknig out for Ausfisho's, but none apparent.
Also picked up an 82L "Tropical Ice Box" (?) esky on sale. Was tossing up between them or the new blue "Ice Cooler" ones, i can't recall the names. Only just came out. can't wait to fill the new orange box up with ice and beers, and hopefully some big fish.
Another typcial show that made my mouth water around every corner. Irks me how they snaek in fibreglass boats to a tinnie show though. Not that I got anything against glass boats, but it is a tinnie show!
Maybe next show to meet a few of "you's".
hutcho
craigie
30-03-2004, 02:05 PM
Was good to catch up with a few of the Boys (and girls, including the 'effervescent' Brookie).
I agree with all the rest and congrtulate Webby for a very informative and interesting presentation on Downriggers. Unfortunately I missed all the rest, by the time I had a look around, then pulled the pin when I ran out of puff :P :P.
Pity there wasn't a video shot of all the presentations, might be something to consider for the future ??
The big green Polly has certainly stired up some interest. A guy from work laid eyes on it and is seriously considering one !!
Just waiting to see what Peterbo 'wheels and deals' as a new powerplant for his Platey??
Cheers Craig.
caveman
30-03-2004, 04:18 PM
WHAT THE NO BLOODY SUPA TANK :'( :'( :'( AND I OVER SPENT AGAIN ;D