View Full Version : fishing from a trailer sailer

bazzacuda
25-10-2005, 09:47 PM
Beer and fuel - they will only increase in price. I think fishing from a planing hull may be moving beyond my reach.
I'm going to retire about March next year and I've been giving some thought to how an old bloke on a small pension might be finally able to go fishing as much as he wants.
It seems that there is a growing number of people fishing off kayaks, but I don't think that's for me, but I've been wondering if any Ausfish members have experience fishing off trailer/sailers. I have in mind something like a 18'or 21' Hartley trailer /sailer. With a small outboard this might be a good solution but I don't know. Bar crossings might be out of the question - and yet ? Any comments/experience ?

Dodge41
25-10-2005, 11:31 PM
bazzacuda

Great to hear retirement is on its way in March, I'm 66 and retired October last year and is something to enjoy after the work years.

I've had boats for 30 years and sold the last 4 years ago 22' diesel 4 berth bay cruiser. and after a lot of research am one of those who is taking up SOT kayak fishing, if you enjoy reasonable health I think it the way to go for cost, storage and portability, and much easier to use solo, we took delivery of a new one last Saturday and its only 22.5kgs, my wifes is 18.5kgs.

It is amazing the interest in this branch of the sport when you look closely into it, and already have come across other older blokes on yaks.

2 months ago this would not have been a consideration but it is heavily part of my retirement enjoyment now.

All the best in your decision making
Richo

rando
26-10-2005, 12:23 AM
My first boat was a 17 ft trailer sailer, a Gordancraft Griffen, ( about 1979)not much of a performance boat but perfect to learn on. Had 4 berths, a stove , portapotti, and an 8 horse O/B.
In my opinion the craft you describe in your post would make a wonderful fishing platform. I would do some research on what is available in the size range you prefer, particularly if you want to attempt bar crossings and the emphasis would be on seaworthyness. I do not think a Hartley quite meets the requirement.
I would also investigate what the largest outboard, whichever vessal you settle on, can carry. If my memory serves me I think my 17 fter was good for about 8-10 knots , so If it was me I would be thinking a 15-20 horse motor would give you good economy and a reasonable turn of speed for when you want /need it.
Then of course when you are not in a hurry or want a liesurely troll up go the sails. no noise, no fumes, no cost & when you want to fish some shallow areas lift the keel and in you go.
want to have a kip. keel down,,,, not much rocking . AHHH lovely little sailboats
as a matter of fact give me a call when your ready and Ill go with you.
rando
PS have a look at an RL24, MASRM720 or even a Trailertri.

Hoges
26-10-2005, 07:09 AM
Maybe this could be the best of both Worlds’ a 26ft Trailer sailer that can get up on the plane and tow a water skier or get you out fishing in a hurray with a comfortable sail home whilst a trolling line astern.
I have been looking at these Macgregor yachts here in Melb for a couple of mates and still trying to get them together for a test sail. Talking to the brokers a good second hand unit sells for around AUD$50,000.
;)

MACGREGOR 26 FACTORY WEB SITE
http://www.macgregor26.com/table.htm

THE MACGREGOR 26 IS A REALLY GOOD POWERBOAT. At high speed, it has a remarkably comfortable, stable ride. The very sharp entry slices thru waves efficiently. It is highly manoeuvrable, and only a light touch on the wheel is required to hold a perfect course. Ample fuel storage is provided. There are storage hatches in the cockpit that will hold 2 standard 12 gallon fuel tanks. If you are not interested in high speed powering, the boat performs well with a 5 or 10 horsepower engine.

We limited the engine size to 50 hp for a number of reasons. An electric start 50 hp motor provides lots of speed, yet it is light enough so that sailing performance is not compromised. It is about the largest engine that can be started by hand, a nice feature if your battery goes dead. Also, the heavier, higher horsepower engines really eat up gas.

WHEEL STEERING. It is easier and more natural to drive the boat with a steering wheel than with a tiller, and a lot more comfortable. The steering pedestal mounts on a narrow pylon to allow lots of foot room in the cockpit.

THE 26 HAS TWO ENGINES, THE SAILS AND THE MOTOR. If a conventional powerboat's engine quits when you are away from land, or on a remote part of a lake, you are stuck there until outside help arrives. In many cases, attempts to start the engine drain the batteries so even radio communication becomes impossible. With the 26, simply raise the sails, and head for home. There are calms now and then, but there will usually be enough wind to get you on your way.

POWERING AND WATERSKIING: With the 50 horsepower outboard, the 26 will go about 22 mph. It will easily pull a water-skier. This adds one more bit of fun to the voyage. It will actually pull most adults at high enough speeds to create some real excitement. (Forget about pulling a crowd.)

SAILING PERFORMANCE: If you are buying a sailboat for the first time, performance and racing may seem of little interest to you. However, a boat that performs well is generally safer and easier to sail. It will certainly yield greater long term enjoyment.

The 26 balances beautifully. The big twin rudders give excellent control. The boat is light. A light boat like this requires less sail area to sail fast, so sail handling is easy. The 26’s light weight and its powerboat underbelly allow the boat to get up on top of the water and plane in heavy winds. In such conditions, these boats have exceeded 17 mph under sail. Most small sailboats, with their round bottoms, have speeds limited to around 5 to 6 mph.

::)

Hoges
26-10-2005, 07:12 AM
Interior shot.

Hoges
26-10-2005, 07:14 AM
Layout.

Dodge41
26-10-2005, 07:16 AM
Hoges
What an incredible boat
Richo

Hoges
26-10-2005, 07:16 AM
...and away she goes!

Hoges
26-10-2005, 07:25 AM
Hoges
What an incredible boat
Richo

Hi Richo, it certainly seems to be and can't wait to have a test sail/run in one.
I saw one on the hard down here a few years ago and thought it looked quite ugly out of the water with it's square looking stern but from these pictures it does not look too bad on the water.
Something like this would suit me seeing I love sailing and fishing.
The good points being...
Enjoying a relaxing sail.
Being able to get home in a hurray if the need arises.
No mooring fees.
To be able to trailer it to different areas.
...and also being able to use it for your accomodation when you get there.
:)

Hoges
26-10-2005, 07:28 AM
...under sail.

Hoges
26-10-2005, 07:31 AM
;) Last one.
Just to hit my 200th post. lol

26-10-2005, 07:49 AM
How about a farrier tri for less than 30K? Stick a 25 on it and even bars would be doable..

Like the first line of the macgregor speil says, they make a great power boat, but for their waterline length they don't sail too great esp to windward.
Of course you could up the rig size and have a large planing skiff? ;D
Look out skandia the new breed of maniac downhillers have arrived, and they tow pakulas for 'hoo too. I can see it now. Getting the stink boaters to understand 'STARBOARD!' while trying to carve gybe at Hutchies will start a whole new era of boat rage.... Bring it on.

cabfisher
26-10-2005, 08:04 AM
Nice looking Trailor sailor But a lot of money .
Some 25 years ago I retired and bought a H28 Yacht a long keel boat on this I sailed from Sydney to Airly Beach and all ports in between it was great I did live on it for about 4 1/2 years .
And that is my experance not that I am a know all but it seams a bit more than our Friend needs He was talking about a kayak maybe a small Tinny would do at a cosy of say $3-4000-00 boat motor and trailor .
If you like give me a call and I am happy to chat with you . Oh I am now 67 cheers Harry

bazzacuda
26-10-2005, 09:33 AM
Hoges,

now isn't that a pretty toy. The 2005 version of a motor sailer. and you can park it down the side of the house (if there's room and the boss lets you)

thanks for that

Barry

rando
26-10-2005, 10:16 AM
The McGregor is an american boat and at a "biggish" 26 ft might be a handfull to launch and retrieve alone. There are a whole lot of aussie designs in the 18-21 ft range that might suit the task . I dont think many could carry a 50 horse though.

I like the trailer tri ,though the later ones are probably quite expensive.
the earlier ones were made by Haines and were solid glass construction and very heavy, the later ones were composite construction and can "go like the clappers" the early ones were Daysailers, and they made the later ones with an aft cabin . They are all good boats. some of the early ones had a problem with the centreboard case leaking.
The aft cabin models are certainly offshore capable and a 25 horse motor would really drive it along.
rando

rando
26-10-2005, 10:23 AM
Hey GBC
what about a black hitting , just when you have the pole unhooked ;D ;D
now that IS a dilemma.

26-10-2005, 01:03 PM
Yeah Rando, and I was just musing as to whether I'd run the sheet/brace lines under or over the outriggers?
And does ronstan do a tag pole connector for a spinnaker pole?
Get in fast and there's your next million fellas. :P

Hoges
26-10-2005, 10:15 PM
How about a farrier tri for less than 30K? Stick a 25 on it and even bars would be doable..

Like the first line of the macgregor speil says, they make a great power boat, but for their waterline length they don't sail too great esp to windward.

...but gentlemen don't sail to windward!
::)

rando
26-10-2005, 10:24 PM
My current boat is a UFO 34 and if you want to go to windward thats the boat to do it in. The harder it blows the better she goes,

I guess that calls into question my character :D

Hoges
26-10-2005, 10:50 PM
My current boat is a UFO 34 and if you want to go to windward thats the boat to do it in. The harder it blows the better she goes,

I guess that calls into question my character :D

...BUT Gentlemen don't.....Ah never mind I am just jealous!

So the trolling line is always wrapped anti clockwise around the free sheet winch even when racing then?
;)
The UFO34 is a fast and seaworthy cruiser/racer derived from a 1970s Three-quarter Ton Cup racing design by Holman & Pye. UFO34s have an excellent reputation as fast cruising passage-makers and club racers.

Louis
27-10-2005, 10:43 AM
G'day Bazzacuda,

I remember seeing an open style dinghy. From memory it came in 2 sizes. One about 14 foot and the other a fair bit bigger.

It was called the "Caribbean" from memory, But this was some 20 years ago or so at the Brisbane Boat show so my it may go by a totally different name these days. The manuafacturer unfortunately is unknown to me.

Anyway I was most taken by this boat and was most impressed by it's capabilities and it was very reasonably priced too. No more than a tinney of the same size.

Anyway you could sail this thing or plane it with a motor on the back. It was a very versatile and good looking craft.

Unfortunately I've never seen one on the bay. So I don't know what happened to it.

You may however be able to find reference to it somewhere on the internet. I think it would be just what your looking for.

Hope this helps

Louis

rando
27-10-2005, 12:36 PM
Hoges
pretty good mate, not too many people know much about the UFOs, where did you get the picture??? same colour schemeas mine and everything.
BTW my boat is the original hull imported from the UK and used as the plug to make the mould for the production run.
They were made in WA and there are still lots of them over there,, they race as a class with another 3/4 tonner called a Sparkman & Stevens 34.
These 2 boats from 2 manufacturers are almost identical

The S&S34 is the boat Jesse Martin used to go around the world nonstop & solo(very strong & seaworthy) to become the youngest ever skipper to go around alone & nonstop, he was 17 when he started
Thanks for the picture
rando
PS sorry for highjacking this thread

Hoges
27-10-2005, 01:47 PM
http://images.google.com.au/imgres?imgurl=http://www.yachtsnet.co.uk/archives/ufo-34/f69303-similar-racing.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.yachtsnet.co.uk/archives/ufo-34/ufo-34.htm&h=230&w=350&sz=16&tbnid=MXUFQvssld8J:&tbnh=76&tbnw=116&hl=en&start=5&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dufo%2B34%26svnum%3D10%26hl%3Den%26lr% 3D%26c2coff%3D1%26safe%3Doff%26sa%3DG

The way to get the UFO 34 images is to go to GOOGLE type in UFO 34 and click IMAGES.
The above link is to the UFO site that came up in the image search.

I have sailed a mate's Cavalier 39.9 from Melb to Brissie and found this yacht to be a solid, fast comfortable cruising boat as well.

Talking of Sparkman and Stevens I have a spinnacker here off mate's S & S 36 he might want to sell cheap. I shall ask him next time he phones from the States.

The S & S's still look great IMO and have seen Jesse Martin's down at Sandringham yacht Club.

Boscoe
31-10-2005, 06:07 AM
I own a Hartley TS21 here in Caloundra and regulary go over the Bar, never had a problem and is such a forgiving boat to sail. The 20hp takes it along nicley and plenty of room to fish

rando
31-10-2005, 03:04 PM
There you go Bazza , I stand corrected TS21 outside no probs.
As a precaution just make sure no water can get below if you find yourself in less than ideal conditions.
rando

bazzacuda
31-10-2005, 03:31 PM
Boscoe,
thank you, very interesting. Of the three hundred odd questions that immediately occur to me I'll choose just a couple.
1. About the mast etc, how often do you leave it at home ? I met a bloke who was telling me that one time he made a rack for the side of the boat and could set up for sail or not as he wished. He just fished over the top of it. What do you find best with your setup.
2. About the outboard. I am under the impression that the speed of a displacement hull is limited by the length at waterline and that increasing the outboard horsepower doesn't make much difference beyond a certain HP. What are your thoughts about the TS21 and a choice of outboards.
best wishes
Barry

Boscoe
31-10-2005, 09:31 PM
Hi bazzacuda,
I actually left the mast at home last week-end and motored down the passage from the powerboat club to the bribie bridge where we camped overnight. (3 hrs, slow but pleasant)
The mast is no real problem to leave up whilst fishing as there is ample room at the rear and the boom is very easily removeable.
Your correct about the motor but my old 20 y/o Chrysler pushing it along ok and is very reliable (had it since new) and cheap to run being a 20hp. I tried a mates 9.9 but it had to work to hard.Going bigger will not make any difference.
sailed to Tangalooma the week-end before and got some good fish too,

rando
01-11-2005, 12:32 PM
Some of the more modern trailer sailers do "plane" under sail, they tend to be the "Big skiff" type of hull ,I suspect they would go a bit better under power. Have a look at Trailer Sailer magazine
rando