View Full Version : Townsville Xmass M&G
Nathanrb4
06-11-2005, 08:17 PM
What is everyone up to this Xmass?
Is there any chance of trying to get together one afternoon or evening for afew drinks and a feed?
I know some of us have kids and being that they will be on holidays soon i was thinking maybe something like an afternoon on the strand or there are a couple of parks by the river that have bbqs aswell (no stingers in the river).
Just thought i`d put the idea out there.
I`d also be keen to head out on afew trips if anyone else is interested but thats something i guess we can work out as it gets closer.
Hope to hear everyones ideas
Nathan
noodlemantra
07-11-2005, 07:13 AM
Yeah mate, I'd be keen depending on the date, as I will be in Melb for x-mas, coming back on the 27th.
Will keep updated on this
Bloody uni students....., yas have got more time off then dole bludgers and just as much money too! Just kiddin nath, if something is organised I may be able to trek up from Bowen. ;)
Nathanrb4
07-11-2005, 03:29 PM
hahaha mick. i left uni mate had enough of being broke and not having enough money to take the boat out. Only trouble is that now i`m working fulltime i`ve got enough money but no time :-/
Was going to pm you about what time you and dave had off over xmass and see if i`d be able to do a trip down your way and head out with you guys? let me know will ya thanks.
I`m pretty much free every weekend so i`ll leave it up to everyone else to suggest dates and locations.
Yeah mate, Dave and I are still getting out as often as we can and that pesky devocean that can't catch a fish to save his life is always keen. ;D
Dave and Dan have got more time off over Christmas then the Easter Bunny, so they will be heading out heeps. I am working through Chrissy but will still get the odd day off here and there, and if we do organise something I'll make sure i have time off work.
If you are keen to get down here for a fish, i'll let dave know to let me know when he has a spare seat in the boat, then let you know (that is some crappy english) so you don't have to bring your boat down... if you want.
I maybe in that area over chrissy as well, not sure of accual dates but im visiting my brother, so if the dates clash ill be there...foxy
Nathanrb4
08-11-2005, 11:44 PM
yeah mick let me know! just give me a day or two notice and i`ll be down.
anyone got any date ideas?
paul what are you up to over xmass?
nonibbles
09-11-2005, 06:15 AM
Still waiting for my roster but should be ok. You can pretty much count me in. Back from holidays on 12th Dec.
Nathanrb4
12-11-2005, 10:45 AM
Nathanrb4
12-11-2005, 06:48 PM
OK i`ll put forward an idea.
How about one friday afternoon say the 25/11 or 2/12 we try and get together at a pub (seaview, riverside tavern....ect) for a drink and a chat. That way we`ll all be able to see what everyones up to and see if we might be able to get a few trips planned for the holidays.
doesn`t matter if you`ve got a boat or not. I for one often have a seat or 2 free so just come along and say G`day.
How does that sound to everyone?
nonibbles
13-11-2005, 09:07 AM
25th Nov should be ok for me
major-defect
13-11-2005, 09:25 AM
Damn I'm going to Brissie for xmas.Not that keen on going there either but you've got to keep everyone happy.
tibbs
13-11-2005, 09:55 AM
I'd be interested in meeting up with you guys to find out some local knowledge :D
that's if you don't mind a newb coming along.
Nathanrb4
13-11-2005, 10:13 AM
Everyones welcome tibbs.
Always good to meet new people withthe same interests.
Friday the 25th on nov. works for me. Anyone got a preference of pubs?
tibbs
13-11-2005, 06:36 PM
LOL, I don't think i can make friday :(
If you work out something like BBQ on the strand saturday or sunday should be fine, otherwise I'll just have to meet up another time :)
nonibbles
15-11-2005, 10:13 AM
Rising Sun suits me. I can walk then!
Santa Fe Gold suits me. I am on call that week end, but its only "on call". Might be able to sneak up Friday arvo after Fridays shift, but i doubt i could be there before 7:30pm. Otherwise, yep, keen as.
Leo_N.
15-11-2005, 04:30 PM
I am just back from Brisbane, Perth and Exmouth, and would you believe it not a line in the water...damn work. I am keen but something in the back of my head tells me I've got something on.....I'll get back to you shortly.....
nonibbles
16-11-2005, 10:23 AM
Damo/Mullet,
Are you out there? You in?
Dr_Dan
16-11-2005, 12:08 PM
haven't been online for a while, been trying to resist during exam period....
so is it the 25th? If it is, might be able to make it. Got an exam on the 25th, so probably need a drink to either celebrate or drown my sorrows!
Let us know what the go is, what pub etc.
Dr
cooky
16-11-2005, 01:39 PM
25th in the afternoon at the Seaview good for me - can walk across from work.
cooky
16-11-2005, 01:57 PM
Just noticed the Santa Fe idea. Happy to have a meet and greet there.
Certainly suit the AUSFISH M&G - familiar smell and all ::)
al_neibling
16-11-2005, 03:51 PM
Hey guys noticed you already had one newbie put his hand u so I thought I would do the same (if thats cool with you guys) My Hubby is a mad keen as I am and we have just moved up from Brissy so we would love to meet some fellow fishing people.
nonibbles
16-11-2005, 11:26 PM
Come one come all! That's what its all about.
More the merrier. On second thoughts... (here comes the pommy in me) I think its someone else's shout isn't it? ;D
I just found out what Santa fe is..... :o
I thought it was a church....
This birds gottta fly
fishsmith
17-11-2005, 03:26 PM
My house for a BBQ on the afternoon of the 26th November if your keen, that way you can,t miss who's an Ausfish member or not.... PM me if your keen and i'll send you the address which is in Kirwan..Cheers Smithy... 8-)
nonibbles
17-11-2005, 03:42 PM
Great idea Smithy! Unfortunately I would not be able to attend as will be flapping my wings on route to NZ! Against that...Well, the M&G just does not rate as highly this time. Let me know how it pans out.
al_neibling
19-11-2005, 07:45 AM
Smithy that does sound like a great idea but we have three rugrats, and new to the area means no babysitters yet which also means we would have to bring them too. Not saying they are bad kids but they are kids all the same ;D
nonibbles
20-11-2005, 11:29 AM
Anyone ready to set a firm time & place yet?
al_neibling
21-11-2005, 08:05 AM
Come on guys surely you can orginise one afternoon :P well I we will be up for what ever is going.......al
Dr_Dan
22-11-2005, 04:06 PM
Has anything been confirmed yet??????
Nathanrb4
22-11-2005, 04:19 PM
Smithy a BBQ sounds great but i`ve got a family bday party saturday night so i`ll be skinned if i don`t show. If you are still having it and what not i`ll try and pop in and say g`day for abit.
Paulie are you here friday?
for those of us that can`t make it to smithy`s how about the Sun after work on friday the 25th? i`ll be there about half 5 in a Bright green polo. How does that sound to everyone?
ahjayem
23-11-2005, 12:07 AM
Another newbie.
I would really like to me you guys (and gal) and swap a few yarns. Friday 25th, at the Sun around 5:30 sounds great, if I'm not working. (I've got a terrible boss!)
Haven't been to the Sun for years, which bar?
Tight lines
RJM
ahjayem
23-11-2005, 12:09 AM
Oops. Another typo (me should be meet) by the ex schoolie.
RJM
Leo_N.
23-11-2005, 08:45 AM
I'll be there. The Sun has the roof-top bar doesn't it? That might be easier than trying to talk over the Friday afternoon public bar noise???
nonibbles
23-11-2005, 05:30 PM
Sun is good, 530ish OK. Am flying out Sat for holidays so depending upon last minute crap on Fri I could be there (trying not to be selfish hee, hopeful - fingers crossed). Nathan, Dan if you still have my number call me if I'm a bit late - might be a bit more persuasive if I'm having trouble :-X
Mad_Barry
23-11-2005, 09:05 PM
How long ya's hanging around ?
will try & drop in for a lemonade, won't be till a bit later though.
al_neibling
24-11-2005, 11:55 AM
I am so sorry I let my son talk me into him hae a sleep over friday and saturday night, I don't think the kids parents would be to happy if I took them to a pub!! Brad is going fishing at cape cleveland on saturday night (weather permitting as always!!) we let you guys know how he goes......will definately make more of an effort to get together with you guys next time, or maybe I will run into you at a boat ramp one day, you can't miss me I am the only girl I have seen fishing by myself up here 8-)
24-11-2005, 10:27 PM
Just to throw another 'spanner in the works'.... I will be in Townsville on the 16/12! Will be trying to organise to try and get a weekend (Or at least the Saturday) up there as well to try and organise a fish. I love a drink, so if anyone is keen for one as well, give me yell.
And if anyone wants to hook up for a fish as well, let me know also! I share costs, and you can keep the fish we catch (I just want some photos ;D ). Will also gladly help with cleaning, trailering, launching, etc, etc...
stunnedmullet
25-11-2005, 03:58 PM
Nonibbles, sorry buddy only just read this post in detail. I have my little sisters 30th birthday bash this arvy/tonight. Would like to catch up with the Tsv lads though...apart from cooky as my wife has told me to stay away from him. :)
Damo(aka the mullet)
cooky
30-11-2005, 12:59 PM
apart from cooky as my wife has told me to stay away from him
wondered why I hadn't seen much of you..... you MONKEY!!!
Fishing Dan - I'm just back from NZ a few days before you're here. Depending on what you've got on and how suicidal you're feeling you could come out with me. If the weathers good I'd been keen for a reef trip. Oh - and I like a drink too ;D