View Full Version : what size are butter brim??????
chrissy2005
10-07-2006, 02:36 PM
Can anyone help me with finding the legal size and bag limit on Butter Bream (Monodactylus argentus [Linnaeus])
land_based
10-07-2006, 02:43 PM
i dont think there is one mate, are you looking to eat them??
chrissy2005
10-07-2006, 02:47 PM
no i use them for bait but some guy told me off about catching them so i want know
lifestyle
10-07-2006, 02:54 PM
Dont" think their is one for butter brim. There would have to be millions arond the rocks at the gold coast a few for bait wouldn't hurt the speices. But don't you just love those that know all and have to tell every one so. I would say keep having fun and you won't see him ever again.
Catch a feed ,Lifestyle
chrissy2005
10-07-2006, 02:58 PM
yeah you are probably right, but i just wanted to be on the safe side. i have looked all over the internet and i cannot find anything on the size and i also have a book that doesn't say either. :)
a_big_red_1
10-07-2006, 03:57 PM
Hi Chrissy, found this
An initiative of
Sunfish (Queensland) Fraser Coast Branch Inc.
PO Box 5164
Torquay Queensland 4655
AUSTRALIA
Phone:
+ 61 07 4128 0700
e-mail:
secretary@sunfish.com.au
Butter Bream (Monodactylus argentus [Linnaeus])
Click for larger Pic (30kb)
Also known as Butterfish, this is a very common species in bays and estuaries in proximity to jetties and landings. They occur in active, flashing shoals and are usually detested as bait thieves by anglers. However, they are often taken at 230 mm (nine inches), reaching at least 270 mm (10.5 inches); at such sizes they are not to be despised as pan fishes, for they are very good eating.
They may be fished for with a floating line baited with squid or fish bait (prawns are too readily picked off). on a hook no larger than No. 7. The Diamond fish is bright silver in colour with a greenish or brownish back. The tips of the dorsal and anal fins are smudged with black; the caudal is bright yellow. There are two dusky vertical bands in the head and nape region becoming progressively fainter with age. Juveniles are extremely tolerant to salinity changes and make very attractive freshwater aquarium fishes.
The surface shoals of Diamond fish near jetties often have larger and more desirable angling species associated with them, or lying closer to the bottom. These include large Bream, Kingfish. Flathead, and Mangrove Jacks. All of the latter can be fished successfully by putting down quite large baits; whole Hardyheads. or fish fillets on a 1.8m (six foot) trace, using a comparatively heavy sinker to take the bait down through the swarming Diamond fish.
moondancer
10-07-2006, 05:39 PM
Chrissy, no legal size, and not bad to eat, although there are better pickings on offer where you catch them!
At least the guy who told you off had some sort of consience around our fish stocks!!!! WHen the misimformed come to life, just remember they probably mean well, so smile at them, and laugh on the inside - I used to get stropy with folks like that, but hey, why bother!!
hussy
10-07-2006, 08:38 PM
you got to use bait ,and most bait used to breathe once before we killed it so why not, go for it, if its not one of those butter brim , its a prawn, a mullet, a yabbie, a yakka.
hubby
tshort
11-07-2006, 06:39 AM
Caught a few decent sized while bream fishing in the surf one night & decided to fillet a couple. Flesh very similar to trevs.
Freeeedom
11-07-2006, 08:20 AM
Also supposed to make a good live bait for cod - so I've heard (but never tried). They are a serious pest when fishing from the rocks in daylight, but seem to disappear after dark when the serious munchies atrat to feed.
Cheers Freeeedom
brooksey
11-07-2006, 10:44 PM
ive caught heaps of small ones in the nerang, been tempted to try using them for bait, but feel sorry for them as there so small
i dont think i'd eat them