View Full Version : Last place in the snapper beauty contest!!!
Careel
05-08-2006, 06:37 PM
Just thought I'd post a pic of a very ugly snapper one of my customers caught on our charter off the Gold Coast on Sunday. If snapper have a circus down there this old bloke was definitely the clown. He was one of about 13 caught, 2 at 7.5 kg with the rest between 2-4kg among a mixed bag of other species.
I've thought long and hard but I think he is the ugliest we've caught, I'm sure there is worse out there, Maybe if you've got a photo you can post it for us all to see.
Careel
05-08-2006, 06:38 PM
Front view
NeilD
05-08-2006, 06:44 PM
Thats pretty impressive. looks more like a cartoon character
Commodore
05-08-2006, 07:04 PM
Twin nobs ;D ;D ;D
he is not the nicest looking snap
but still i bet he was fun to catch ;)
Chong
gone_phishin
05-08-2006, 07:06 PM
My Mother-In-Law Fish ;D ;D ;D
Damn....no fishing for me for a week :'(
05-08-2006, 07:08 PM
Wow. You sure weren't kidding there. ;D They say the beauty comes from within though and if you can't see past it's ugliness then pass him my way and I am sure I will find some inner beauty once I start cooking up the fillets. ::)
Lone_Wolf
05-08-2006, 07:14 PM
Great fish FTD
I think I have seen him on "Streets of San Francisco" on fox ;D
Burley_Boy
05-08-2006, 08:05 PM
Crackup mate
;D ;D ;D;D
That nose is very special.
gawby
05-08-2006, 08:07 PM
Thats one ugly snappa. :-?
Graeme ;)
Brejen
05-08-2006, 08:30 PM
damm thats ugly.... ;D ;D ;D.
05-08-2006, 09:27 PM
you win that is the uglyest snapper i've ever seen ;D ;D ;D ;D
griz066
05-08-2006, 09:36 PM
Thats a super megga fugly knobby 8-)
Great_White
05-08-2006, 09:39 PM
That's one ugly fish, I would hate to meet his Mama ;D ;D ;D
Kind of reminded me of Mr Magoo the cartoon!!!!!!
Peter ;)
HarryO
05-08-2006, 10:02 PM
Speechless.........
Couldn't have gotten lips like that from suckin squid.
Interesting to know how old it was.
Slient
06-08-2006, 06:57 AM
Prehaps faulty snapper... ;D
Look out head is almost half weight to body...
Silent
Got_the_Fever
06-08-2006, 07:15 AM
He is definately well equipped to bust food of the reef. I can imagine a lot of crabs are now a lot less stressed with him no longer pestering them..
Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]
Wonder if Rex would have kissed it? ;D ;D ;D
Cheers Ian
aussiefool
06-08-2006, 08:25 AM
If you look close enough it looks like Peter Sterling from the NRL footy show ;D ;D ;D ;D
maztez
06-08-2006, 08:34 AM
who said it looked like me ? >:( cant be two of us in this world
;D ;D ;D ;D
cheers Terry
Smailesy
06-08-2006, 09:08 AM
strange very strange
06-08-2006, 09:09 AM
That is one huge schnozz
Got_the_Fever
06-08-2006, 09:15 AM
That one should be named Klinger.
Kel
06-08-2006, 09:48 AM
Wouldn't like to get in the way of a sneeze from that bugger ;D
If you treat every situation like a life or death matter, be prepared to die a lot of times.
chicken
06-08-2006, 02:33 PM
i reckon his head weighs more than his body. no wait it would have to be another snappers mother in law wouldn't it with a head like that?
Adamy
06-08-2006, 06:37 PM
Hmmm all the good jokes are taken >:( .... bet you didnt kiss that ugly mug! Thanks for sharing ;)
06-08-2006, 06:40 PM
The ugliest i've seen thats for sure!!! :o :o
tunaman
06-08-2006, 06:52 PM
What the f--k happed to that fish! I thought I had a ugly head.
signed tunaman
Bundy_Burp
06-08-2006, 07:18 PM
I think someone took the hit me with your rhythm stick song a little too far.
Bundy 8-)
SURF_SNIPER
06-08-2006, 08:36 PM
underwater two big knobs like that may mean he is a tot stud....... maybe all the others are just plain janes ;D
Lone Wolf..... Great comparison ! I got quite a giggle out of that one .........Reg Jimmy
His mummy probably thought he was beautiful.
Does anyone know why southern snapper don't, or at least very rarely, have those big bumps on their heads?
By south I mean southern NSW and further down.
major-defect
06-08-2006, 09:52 PM
You know how kids with big feet end up being tall well maybe he just had to grow into that face grow a lot a real lot.
stalker
07-08-2006, 08:40 PM
I HAD 2 LOOK TWICE I THOUGHT IT WAS MY MOTHER IN LAW..
R_K_HILL
07-08-2006, 10:51 PM
Looks like one of those guys out of the golden child (Eddie Murphy). I wouldn't eat him though (the bloke out of golden child, the one who mans the cage)!!
rickraider
08-08-2006, 07:52 PM
UGLY BUGGER ;D ;D ;D ;D
Gbanger
08-08-2006, 09:10 PM
ahahahah atleast fillets dont look ugly
it actually looks pissed off in that first picture..
08-08-2006, 09:34 PM
Looks like he chased too many parked wrecks.
I believe down south the snapper do not have the same knobs as they feed in different manners, on different foods.
Hoges
09-08-2006, 09:21 AM
Just thought I'd post a pic of a very ugly snapper one of my customers caught on our charter off the Gold Coast on Sunday. If snapper have a circus down there this old bloke was definitely the clown.
This fish was spotted being released from that last Yankee warship to visit Brisbane. The top hump/dome is a satellite communications antenna and the front proboscis is the sonar unit.
Be afraid, be very afraid. Big Brother is watching! ;)
His mummy probably thought he was beautiful.
Does anyone know why southern snapper don't, or at least very rarely, have those big bumps on their heads?
By south I mean southern NSW and further down.
it's a well known fact that those south of the border don't have as big knobs as us in qld ;D