View Full Version : it was a just an idea,,,,now i think its great

23-07-2006, 10:57 AM
i was sitting back at the office a few weeks back,,,when low and behold,, an old rep who i haven't seen for a while popped in to say hi,, and try and sell me more of is wares,,,,

he showed me all the new variety's,, and a quick call to the cheque signer,, and he had an order for 2000 units

THEN,, i asked what sort of damage would occur for a smaller run,,

one with pic's maybe,,,,one with info relevant,,,one with pride,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

his response,,""get an idea of no's,,,and he'll look after me""

SO,, i pm'ed a few of you to get your thoughts,,,then i pm'ed/emailed steve,, (still waiting to hear from steve),,to get the feeling if old choppa was on a winner or not

SO FAR ITS UNAMINOUS,,,,CHOPPA HAS DONE WELL,,

I NOW NEED WHAT YOU ALL THINK OF IT,,,AND STEVES BLESSING,,

what is this idea i hear you yell,,

our very own AUSFISH CALENDAR,,,

at first i thought,,, a pic per page/per month,,,,,or a general pic,, with 12 months of the year,,,or a general pic with individual months,, that will allow enough room to place up and coming events,,tides,,emergency no's and so forth

the answers to my pm's have been great,,and i thank those concerned,,

SO WHAT DO YOU THINK,,, if you want me to get costings to pass onto steve,, voice your say,,

(a certain member has asked if NUDE shots are going to be required,,,ahhhhh na)

the mods might make this a sticky,,,,,,,,,or they may remove it???????????????

marlinqld
23-07-2006, 11:02 AM
Do it choppa.... great idea mate i'll take one

NeilD
23-07-2006, 11:07 AM
Sounds like a great idea. If we could get some of the great shots that have been posted over the years (ith members permission) it would make a blockbuster. Even better if any profits went back into developing resources like FADS, artis or stocking.

Bundy_Burp
23-07-2006, 11:43 AM
Sounds great put me down for one .
As long as there isnt a nude nugget centre fold that is . ;D

Big_unit
23-07-2006, 12:14 PM
Its a cracker of an idea chop chop, you have excelled.

James

23-07-2006, 12:23 PM
You have done well, Choppa !

Seeing as you have had the idea, how about 12 pics and maybe some sort of comp to get the best ones up there. They'd have to be of fish I suppose. No Nudes and No Lycra's ::) ;D ;)

Sticky complete. !

23-07-2006, 12:47 PM
How about matching the months to type of fish captures eg. Oct- awoonga barra, June- snapper, March- big spanish ,April- blue marlin, july -bream etc.

23-07-2006, 01:33 PM
It sounds like a good idea.

I would like to be surprised by the pics.

Maybe a small committee of like minded people with some flair for photography could be in the select few and we would be guaranteed some great shots to while away the months

Could there be a hidden section with some spot X's.

IMHO.... a great idea

Great_White
23-07-2006, 01:43 PM
Sound great Choppa, If cost are reasonable I think it's a "winner winner chicken dinner" ;D ;D ;D

Could even look at some corporate type sponsorship say 12 of those companies that most support ausfish, 1 for each month. I am sure people like sundown, 4BC etc etc would jump at the chance.

They could advertise a monthly special in the form of a coupon so the get some business backfrom ausfish members ;)

Not trying to take over it's your baby, just can't help myself after 20 yr's in sales & marketing.

Peter :D

jim_bream
23-07-2006, 02:07 PM
I'll take 3:
shed
house
dad overseas!

Great idea, but all my glamour shots are still at the photo-shop after that accident with the vasoline and the lens.....

jim

jim_bream
23-07-2006, 02:17 PM
I just had another blinding idea... ;D
(No that was Bundy) :-?

An Ausfish ADVENTcalendar.
For the days leading up to chrissie you open your little calendar-door and hey presto!- one morning it might be a SP, one morning it might be a little hardbody- YOU JUST DON'T KNOW WHAT YOU'RE GONNA GET!!
Great way for companies to get on borard as well....
Right, now Bundy is making her presence known.
Couch time....
:P

puks
23-07-2006, 02:26 PM
i think its a fantastic idea choppa

sure my skipper agrees at least two for us
one for the home and one for my uncle back in germany whos a keen fisho in the canals in germanys rhur region and when he was younger deep sea fishing in the northsea

great chrissie pressie ;)

iank
23-07-2006, 04:44 PM
Top idea there choppa, count us in for one or two.
Cheers Ian and Her

Got_the_Fever
23-07-2006, 08:44 PM
Fantastic idea Choppa, you have had a great idea. We will take 2 at least as my deckie stated before. NO sorry make that 3, i forgot about my dad. I know he would like one. Keep us informed mate, im wrapped in the idea.

Kel

timddo
23-07-2006, 08:51 PM
Mate, if it's an ausfish calender, need lunar calender, plus tide times, fish sizes, Best time to fish and date to fish and maybe some lycra.

Commodore
23-07-2006, 09:41 PM
Choppa, great idea i'll take 2 ;)

maztez
24-07-2006, 07:27 AM
Wot a great idea CHOPPA. ;D ;D.BREJEN and I will order for sure ..maybe proceeds go to STEVE to help with the costs associated in keeping this fab site running for all of us to enjoy ;)
cheers Terry

Got_the_Fever
24-07-2006, 10:10 AM
Terry that is a great idea, maybe if the profits go to steve to help with running costs and if there is any left over it could go into a special fund to help organise some M&G's in the future. Just a side thought on your idea.

Kel [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

Fishing_Widow
24-07-2006, 12:43 PM
Great idea Choppa,

As iank said we will take one or two.

Nomes

24-07-2006, 05:36 PM
I'm in for sure...great idea....fish of the month pic...info, season etc etc and perhaps a recipie or two...

wayne_cook
24-07-2006, 06:20 PM
why not.it sounds like a winner

2DKnBJ
24-07-2006, 10:47 PM
Your on a winner Choppa.
Count me in for a couple.

Cheers Dazza

Louis
25-07-2006, 09:23 AM
Good idea.

Put me down for two.

Louis

fish2eat
25-07-2006, 10:51 AM
Good idea, but way too late Choppa, there's only 5 months of the year left ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

where_is_dave
25-07-2006, 06:21 PM
GR8 idea, I'm in for two.

Like the ideas of fish for the month with tips, rigs, recipes etc.

25-07-2006, 06:58 PM
thanks one and all,,,, for your comments and also for your commitment towards the idea,,,

i now these things will be like hotcakes,,, but what i need is your input on what will make this stand out,,, and more importantly,,, what you would like to see in it,,

i have had some GREAT ideas,,,, i have had some NOT SO GREAT ideas,, (mostly funny though)

i still have to have the blessing from steve,,, but i think if we all pool together,, and construct it so it becomes a regular item,, we are all in a win/win situation,,,

the most favored so far are for; INFORMATION TO INCLUDE

tides
moon phases
emergency no's/ and space to write down other ausfish members no's
regular event,,,,m&g,,,comp dates

ON THE CALENDER,,, so far its 90% towards a pic per month style opposed to a general pic with 12 months of the year style,,

this will then lead us into,, whether we have a mosiac pic,, to cram as much input into it from everyone,, or a topical pic per month,,(there has to be a library filled twice over of favorite pics both current and past from all of us out there)

my request up front is simple,,, if it goes ahead GREAT,,,, but it remains AUSFISH

it was just my idea,, to get it rolling,,, i'll do all the legwork,, but the final stamp comes from steve,,,,

at this stage,,, to answer any forthcoming query,,, sponsors haven't been looked at,,,simply because i think they do enough already,,,but when the crunch comes,,who knows

again,,,just me thinking out loud,,,but keep the ideas coming,,

ohh by the way,,, i got a pm asking if a newbie can contribute towards this,,,i answered fairl harshly by saying,,,,,,,,YES,,,,,YOUR A MEMBER TOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!,,,,sorry

Got_the_Fever
25-07-2006, 07:39 PM
My wife and I have just been talking about this, we have come up with an idea. Maybe it should be with alternating months of freshwater and saltwater fishing(we cant leave out our freshwater bretheren out). What fish is the most prevailent during that month. With a caption underneath with size and bag limits. The moon phases etc could be on the date itself.

Kel and Anya

Bundy_Burp
25-07-2006, 07:52 PM
If you are going to go to the trouble of putting both fresh and salt water info into the calender you may as well just bring out two calenders I for one dont really need the fresh water info and I personally think the space could be better used .
Just my two cents worth .

fieldy
25-07-2006, 08:37 PM
fantastic idea mate
put me down for one

DNO40
26-07-2006, 04:38 AM
I'll take a couple.

DNO

26-07-2006, 05:14 AM
bugger the fish info on each month..I vote for a boat with an attractive figurehead on each one for every month..boat in the background of course.

MyEscape
26-07-2006, 05:19 AM
I'd be in for a couple myself.

But, really, as long as they as fair dinkum fishing photos. Not some bimbo holding a fish. Might sound boring, but really.

whykickacatalong
26-07-2006, 08:33 AM
Perhaps adding somewhere on the page a member pic and bio every month. If you are looking at using the pics taken by members then maybe the photographer could have their info added at the bottom.

26-07-2006, 06:36 PM
just had news emailed that we are in the running from the print shop,,,awaiting now to hear from all of you!!!!!!!!!!

to print either a pic per page,,,or a mosaic style is no probs as long as pics are clear,,,""crisp"" and BELONG to you,,,

i have at this stage asked for,,,,pricing on a BOOK style calendar,,,pic above,,,dates below,,

dates to show moon phase,,(i have left tidal info out,,,simply because this changes from area to area)
and enough room to jot in memo's,, and relevant daily info

additional data requirements are now open,,,,,,please yell our thoughts
pics,,,,please yell your thoughts,,,,,,,,,

i am reserving the cover,,,and back cover for steve's thoughts,,,,and a sample is being drated as i write to supply

agin i stress,,, this is just an idea,,, if you want it to happen,,, don't be shy,,, voice your thoughts,,,post a couple of pics,,,

lets see were it goes,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,choppa

Sea-Dog
26-07-2006, 06:59 PM
What about April - Something like pic of Grinner or Toadie or other trash species. :-?::)

Maybe just a little pic for the 1st

puks
26-07-2006, 07:03 PM
Yes you are prob right about tide times.

puks

Bundy_Burp
26-07-2006, 07:11 PM
Chopper it would appear that a lot of the questions here are about knots , general rigging of baits and rods maybe a different knot each month somewhere on each page or on the the back of each page some info on rigging of baits and the such .
Only a thought

Bundy

Got_the_Fever
26-07-2006, 07:12 PM
Hey Choppa. I think the pic per month is the way to go. With maybe moon phases on the calender with the important dates of the year marked. eg. Boat shows, tackle shows etc. Im sure everyone here will have better ideas than myself but I hope this is a start.

manchild
26-07-2006, 07:16 PM
I can help you out with a few shots of me in a pink tutu ;Dor would you prefer g-string shots? :P enerG-string that is
George
seriously its a great idea, i hope it gets a green light

Got_the_Fever
26-07-2006, 07:32 PM
George I dont know that I want to imagine you prancing around on a roof in a pink tutu. (although you would get a lot of free advertising in the paper lol)

Bundy_Burp
26-07-2006, 07:37 PM
Ok one more suggestion for the calender no G-STRINGS and NO TuTus

Bundy

Slient
27-07-2006, 04:10 PM
brillant idea...
How about add up the predicated best fishing time with tide and moon as you spoke...

Choppa you should make some commission... ;)

Silent

marlinqld
27-07-2006, 04:17 PM
;) ;D Anyone game to dangle a placcy in a pic LOL :P :o ::) ;)

27-07-2006, 05:44 PM
Chop, to get the ball rolling with the pics, how about asking members to submit on this thread?

They would have to be within 100k for publishing here, but the "master" pic held by the submitter for possible later printing would have to be at least 2 megs and preferably 3, would it not, for the scanner/printer to produce reasonable quality?

"Stock" pics of the fisho holding his catch can be seen on any fishing mag, so it may well be more novel to try a different approach re the pics........images of all that fishing entails......the happy kid with his fish.....sea scapes.......pics epitomising the mateship that arises from fishing......something like the atmosphere that this site creates. That is not to dismiss the idea of the fisho with his catch entirely though. Just an idea........me thinking outside the square ::)

A deadline for submissions, a shortlist picked by yourself and ausfish, then a final poll of the members as to which 12 pics, so that they get a say in what goes on the calendar. It may be too much work and clog the site a bit..I don't know?

If there are any members pics that have good content, but are under or over exposed or have flare, or other poor technical quality, then I may be able to fix 'em up to an acceptable standard, although I think the film planner at the printers would be able to do that or at least tell you if a pic could be reproduced to acceptable printing quality.....they probably do it in house, as they did when I was in the business.

27-07-2006, 06:51 PM
and i think kev you have hit the nail on the head exactly,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

encapulating the input HAS to come from the site,,,and hence why i thought a mosaic style arrangement would allow ALL members who input would then have ownership in some way or another,,,

but hey,,,if mosaic/pic per page/or whatever,, is wanted,, then so it shall be

your thoughts also on showing pics here is also great,,, so let the game begin

any newbies that require assistance in posting pics please yell,,,

(BUT please remember one and all,,pics must belong to you,,,,)

Sea-Dog
27-07-2006, 08:25 PM
What to do with leftovers after filleting flathead.
(Taken in Port Phillip Bay on a disposable camera)

jim_farrell
28-07-2006, 07:11 AM
So chop, at last count I have you printing fifteen versions.
Saltwater
Freshwater
Salt and fresh
With girls
Without girls
With tu- tu
Without tu-tu
With plastics
Without plastics
With seals
Without seals
Recipies
Fish of the month
Mosaic
Knots, rigs, gps marks,tides,solunar peaks, comps, emergency no.,member bio, boat and tackle shows, my wifes birthday.............

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Just kidding mate. Just summerising suggestions. I'll take one.

wetnwild11
28-07-2006, 09:10 AM
Hey choppa, ya got me for a couple
Eric

puks
28-07-2006, 09:47 AM
kingtins idea ist great not just fish but everything around it
apart from emptybeerbottles and rods and reel pics

and come to think of it
that mosaic style would make sense so everyone (who puts htem in) can have their pic in the calender to make it truly a ausfish calender

even some funny ones (love the one with the seal thats so great )

i wish we had some good pics i would post them no worries

this is exciting http://server1.webkicks.de/michelle/replacer/Baby0018.gif

regards anya

Bundy_Burp
28-07-2006, 10:15 PM
So far I am amazed at all the ideas if this calender is able to incorperate the best of the ideas here its going to possible be one of if not the best calender in OZ and I'm sure there wont be any problems selling it .

Bundy 8-)

Got_the_Fever
29-07-2006, 03:07 AM
I would think that once it is done some of the sponsors of ausfish would probably be willing to help sell them as well. It would radically increase membership here as well, although we do have a big population already. Just an idea.

Kel

29-07-2006, 06:09 AM
how about a fund raising calendar for charity..the Ausfish Men Of of The Sea...various womens groups have done these...imagine this...

January..TOL naked holding a whiting, strategically placed.
February...Lucky Phil..with one of his slugs (the lure type)
March..Webby with a snapper

the mind boggles..the list is endless

and of course...December..Mr Ausfish himself...Steve..holding a monitor...once again strategically placed.

29-07-2006, 08:13 AM
Very funny Greg. ;)

TOL holding a strategically placed whiting? A hardy head would do. :(

Got_the_Fever
29-07-2006, 09:10 AM
I wasnt going to say it TOL, but im glad someone did lol.

Kel

29-07-2006, 04:32 PM
Actually Greg,

Showed this thread to Gwenda, and she insisted (very strenously I might add) that the hardi head should be replaced by a very big shovel nosed shark. ::)

God, I love my wife!! ;)

Bundy_Burp
29-07-2006, 06:45 PM
I have some SPs that look a bit like shovel nose sharks what would you prefer 2" or 3"
lol

Bundy 8-)

hussy
29-07-2006, 09:25 PM
good idea from chopp, put me down for a few. shame we are bso far apart we could put a percentage towards a n ausfish christmas party,. ps chopper we must have another meet and greet on bribie soon and maybe an overnighter up the passage. hubby

30-07-2006, 06:08 PM
????????????????????????????????????????

shutup chop,,,,,,,,,,,you've looked,,,,and you still wonder??????????

05-08-2006, 09:21 PM
BUMP

found this on page 3,,,, sorry i've been away from putor for past coupla weeks,,,

as i said """was only an idea"",,, lets put it to bed shall we????????

griz066
05-08-2006, 09:34 PM
I am in if ya still goin with it 8-)

fishin_till_late
05-08-2006, 10:07 PM
I dont know how i missed this thread ::)

It is a fantastic idea and it should turn out to be very sucessfull, I might take 1 or 2 if it all works well. Good luck and i hope you get it out there in time for 2007.

cheers jono

06-08-2006, 09:57 AM
BUMP

found this on page 3,,,, sorry i've been away from putor for past coupla weeks,,,

as i said """was only an idea"",,, lets put it to bed shall we????????

C'm on guys, you're supposed to be posting pics for him to shortlist.

If you want happiness for an hour, take a nap.
If you want happiness for a day, go fishing.
If you want happiness for a year, inherit a
fortune.
If you want happiness for a lifetime, help
somebody. (Chinese proverb)

puks
06-08-2006, 05:36 PM
i was wondering where this went
i kept looking in that top bit thingy couldnt find it
feard it was deleted or something
i never get to site 2 let alone 3
sorry choppa

GOT and i are still in it but cant post pics as we dont have any :'(

please lets not put it to bed
its such a great idea

pleadingly ( is that a word)
anya

wanttofish
06-08-2006, 10:11 PM
how about this one for the female pics, i could use some air brushing though :-*

puks
07-08-2006, 11:03 AM
yeah wantofish you are right

that fish in your hands definetly needs some photoshop help to make it bigger ;)

thats a very nice foto cant help the hathair just be yourself
and yes we could use pics of female members with their catch in the calender

anya

07-08-2006, 11:32 AM
<snip>

and yes we could use pics of female members with their catch in the calender

anya

How about this one ;) My deckie's best ever catch.........mine too! ;D

Live with wolves, and you learn to howl.
Spanish Proverb

puks
07-08-2006, 11:49 AM
kingtin
that is a beautiful pic http://www.cosgan.de/images/midi/liebe/f020.gif

very romantic with the daffodils in the back http://www.cosgan.de/images/midi/liebe/f025.gif

but where is the fish? we are talking about a fishing calender are we not?? http://www.cosgan.de/images/midi/konfus/c085.gif

http://www.cosgan.de/images/midi/frech/k025.gif

regards anya

ps sorry for the corny smilies but the occasion warranted them http://www.cosgan.de/images/midi/frech/g040.gif

07-08-2006, 12:29 PM
<snip>

but where is the fish? we are talking about a fishing calender are we not??

Sorry, got carried away thinking about my best ever catch ;D

Never squat with your spurs on.
Texan Proverb

puks
07-08-2006, 12:52 PM
no worries kev
anything to keep this thread on page one right
just hope more ppl start posting their fishing pics

so cheers mate http://www.cosgan.de/images/more/bigs/a063.gif

Great_White
07-08-2006, 02:37 PM
Hi Guys

Is this something like you are looking for??? - It is me and my eldest daughter Sarah!

I will have a look back through the photos and see if there is another more suitable.

Great_White
07-08-2006, 03:03 PM
Or this

Captain Chaos and his First Mate!

puks
07-08-2006, 03:15 PM
peter they are great pictures :)

i for one wouldnt mind something like that in a clander makes it nice an personal ;)

wanttofish
07-08-2006, 10:40 PM
how about this one , there's not much hat hair here ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

08-08-2006, 09:11 AM
C'm on guys, where's those pics...give Chopper a hand here.

A few ideas......different themes around water.

As long as you don't forgive, who and whatever it is will occupy rent-free space in your mind.
(Isabelle Holland)

08-08-2006, 09:12 AM

08-08-2006, 09:13 AM
:D

08-08-2006, 09:13 AM

08-08-2006, 09:14 AM

08-08-2006, 09:15 AM

08-08-2006, 09:16 AM

08-08-2006, 09:17 AM

08-08-2006, 09:20 AM

08-08-2006, 09:21 AM

08-08-2006, 09:22 AM

08-08-2006, 09:24 AM

puks
08-08-2006, 12:02 PM
kev these are fantastic pics
i wouldnt mind any of those in a calender
you do have an eye for it

but the ones with fish in it mate they are great catches

utterly amazed anya

puks
09-08-2006, 09:56 AM
bump

anymore fishing pics ?????????

anya

09-08-2006, 10:18 AM
okay one and all,,,,

sample of calendar has been posted today,,, (just a blank really,,,but it'll give us an idea of size etc etc,,,,these people in the land of printing talk funny and i cant understand half there lingo)

need a VOLUNTEER,,,,,

moon phases for 2007,,,,,,,,,,,dont know a thing here personally,,other than it comes out at night and is gone by morn,,,

i also have requested a secret ""sealed"" page,,, thought this may be of interest,, and if accepted the identity,,, or contents,,, will be strictly confidential until AFTER print,,,

any help here???????????????????

puks
09-08-2006, 10:24 AM
choppa i would love to help
what can i do
seeing we dont have pics as yet but eager to get a calender ( or is it calander bloddy german brain of mine )
i do what i can to get it going :)

anya

wanttofish
09-08-2006, 10:29 AM
here's another one of interestfor the calandar handsome it's he.....the fish i mean ::) ::) ::) ::)

puks
09-08-2006, 10:31 AM
lol wantofish

they both are now if he has a shve and take his shirt of and holding the fish thatll be brilliant for the female fishos here

anya

ps dont tell GOT i said that heheheheheh ;D

09-08-2006, 11:28 AM
bump

anymore fishing pics ?????????

anya

09-08-2006, 11:29 AM

09-08-2006, 11:30 AM

puks
09-08-2006, 12:29 PM
[smiley=thumbsup.gif]great family pic kev :)

anya

Herm
09-08-2006, 05:56 PM
lol wantofish

they both are now if he has a shve and take his shirt of and holding the fish thatll be brilliant for the female fishos here

anya

ps dont tell GOT i said that heheheheheh ;D

Good one Anya! ;D

If Peter can get me out and onto a fish we "might" have a photo to add!

:)Janine

shayned
09-08-2006, 06:05 PM
Herm,
Does that mean you'll be having a shave and............................ well, um, :-[

puks
09-08-2006, 06:08 PM
roflmao ;D
shayned ;D

herm good luck :) looking forward to pics from you with fish 8-)

Herm
09-08-2006, 06:16 PM
Herm,
Does that mean you'll be having a shave and............................ well, um, :-[

I should have known better and just kept my mouth shut! :-X

You are a rude, rude man - Shayne!!!! ;D

Janine

chopjr
09-08-2006, 06:28 PM
dont furget me

09-08-2006, 07:04 PM
Great idea and be sure to mark in public holidays and when all the ausfish meets and competitions are being held. ;)

09-08-2006, 07:16 PM
poodroo,,,m & gs???????unless there the same same each year????

and public holidays i brushed over cause we all now beforehand anyway,,,,hence m & g"s,,

no pun mate,,, just need what you really need,,,

Got_the_Fever
10-08-2006, 05:32 AM
I have seen it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If the calander needs guys with there shirts off then dont pick me pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeee. The world really isnt ready for that. I might have a shave though.

Kel

catchy_fishy
10-08-2006, 06:00 AM
Thanks for the Pm choppa. yeah i have a few pics - not too many mind you - on 3 different fishing trips I have damaged 3 cameras, and mommy has refused to let me take the digital camera on any trips - history has ahabit of repeating itself. So I have a normal cheapie and scan my photos in from most holidays. I have become so nervous about photo's that in the end I usually forego the picture to focus on the fishing.

To start off though I wanted to refer you to an Ausfish thread that had me in stitches (not sure who owns the pic though).. To really get the best out of it you'd need to include some of the banter in the posts.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1140046435/0

catchy_fishy
10-08-2006, 08:07 AM
I have trawled through some of my personal; favourite pics - none with fish mind you, and my all time favourite - esecially for this purpose has to be the one I have attached. It really shows what Ausfish is all about.

I had motor troubles (carbs specifically) - Some wise ar$e said it was Merc's - Bless him.

Anyway - in typical fashion I was asked for more detail and ended up labelling my engine as best I could. While looking for pics for the calendar I found this one - it really made me smile.

catchy_fishy
10-08-2006, 08:09 AM
or this - -same concept better image

catchy_fishy
10-08-2006, 08:13 AM
try this for sharing - "How to or how not to....on removing a seized prop"

catchy_fishy
10-08-2006, 08:14 AM
more to follow tomorrow, it's getting late my side of town

Got_the_Fever
10-08-2006, 03:44 PM
bumb ;)

Burley_Boy
10-08-2006, 08:21 PM
Some of the best photos I've seen on this site over time has been by guys like Jeffo, Dug, Tim, Reefmaster and there are a few others in the happy snapps section Heath takes a few good shots too from memory or is that just live footage?
Anyway a great shot of a top fish each page and then a small one in the corner showing a sounder picture with description like, wireweed, coffee rock, Reds, Pearlies. That type would have to appeal to not only the bods who know each other on here but the general public who spots the calendar in a tackle shop.

Bundy_Burp
10-08-2006, 10:34 PM
bumb ;)

???

Bundy 8-)

Got_the_Fever
11-08-2006, 03:48 AM
Bundy I think someone was logged in by mistake under my name. I will be having words with our young puks this morning about not making the same mistake I have already done this morning with Herms first squire. ;D At least I have an excuse, it being 3am and all. [smiley=hammer.gif]

catchy_fishy
11-08-2006, 05:05 AM
If you've ventured into tying your own flies, or have a passion for Labradors , or both, then what about this one

11-08-2006, 05:05 AM
sheesh..you mob still on about fishing pics??? Surely there is something better we could have on the calendar...shayne's idea is better but then we all know what shayne is like..a sick sick man.

wanttofish
11-08-2006, 07:51 AM
I think it would be nice to see some nice buff males on the calendar.....showing of there................catch mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm :P

wanttofish
11-08-2006, 07:52 AM
sorry spelling their catch

11-08-2006, 08:18 AM
sorry spelling their catch

Mate, there's a modify button if you want to correct your spelling........saves you making a new post.........unless you're a post whore like me ;) ;D

I don't know what weapons will be used in world war three, but in world war four people will use sticks and stones. (Albert Einstein)

wanttofish
11-08-2006, 08:43 AM
oops :-/

puks
12-08-2006, 04:53 PM
back to page one you go ;)

wanttofish
12-08-2006, 05:10 PM
I thought i'd leave that one for you puks

vanurose
14-08-2006, 07:16 AM
What a great idea, an Ausfish calendar.
One photo that I think was the best ever was the photo of "fishface"in his Kayak on the Coomera down the Gold Coast after being towed by that 10kg Trevally for over 2 hours.
I have sent that thread to everyone I know all over the world and they are all avid Ausfish fans because of that thread.
Here is the thread if you missed it
http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1154859306
I still love to look at the thread
I have caught many a giant Trevall up here in Cairns, but in a boat with terminal tackle and only fighting for about 15 minutes, so this story is the best ever.
Good on you fishface
Rose

14-08-2006, 07:33 PM
as an update,,,,the """Prototype"",, hasnt arrived but i'll chase in the morn

steve is full ahead,,just wants final say on design,,,and also any profit to charity

this i have implemented already,,,as my first thoughts were along the lines of a non profit idea

had little time of the past few weeks to keep up to speed on the site,,,but will trace back through all the threads and stat a search on possible input/photos etc etc

puks
14-08-2006, 08:05 PM
hey choppa
thanks for the update

and i think the charity idea is great too

anya

Bundy_Burp
14-08-2006, 08:58 PM
Good to hear things are still moving forward thanks for the update choppa

Bundy 8-)

puks
17-08-2006, 09:26 AM
good mornming choppa

has the prototyp arrived yet???

anya

ps just trying to keep this on page one

17-08-2006, 04:06 PM
just spoke to """damien"" at the print shop,,,,, i think i know have a grasp on printing lingo :D :D :D

the calendar will be,,,a3 size when open,,, ie a4 pic on top with a4 calendar beneath,,

the calendar is from a preprogram software that just prints it in ""square dates per page"" format,,, we can add whatever info to these dates we require,,,,moon phase,,,holidays,,,,etc etc,,

after discussing the pics,,,i have been advised to run with 1 pic per page to save cost,,,,UNLESS someone has the software to cut and edit pics to fit a4 as a collage/mosiac style format,,,,if so pm me

as kingtin previously pointed out pics are to be standard digital format that can either be downloaded or sent direct to print shop once chosen

having the calendar in this format allows 2 pages free,,,,,,we can use this for sponsor advertising,, to assist in costs,,, or if any other ideas pls advise by pm,,,,

approx 3-4 weeks from go ahead to finish,,,, so if we're serious,,,,we'll have them in time for chrissie,,,,,,,

keep em commin

Herm
17-08-2006, 04:58 PM
Sounds great Choppa!

We will take atleast a couple!

I am following this thread with great interest!

:)Janine

puks
17-08-2006, 07:47 PM

first of all a huge thumbs up for the initial idea and the work you put in it already

cant wait for it :) do you have any idea how much the calender will cost ???

we are still in for at least 3 probably 4

thanks again
anya

20-08-2006, 01:21 PM
TIME TO GET SERIOUS,,,,,,,,,

come on guys/gals,,,,i need your input here,,,

thanks to all that have contributed so far,,, but i thought this would have had a lot more input so far,,

anya,,, cost ill be determined on run number,,,, so far its about $2 if i do the yards

this can easily blow out though if the print shop starts to cut run number down,,,or if they have to edit/format pics,,,,hence why i posted 1 pic per page,,,

i'm going to be at the shop this tuesday,,,,so if theres any queries that i need to ask,,,,plug away

Canoedle
20-08-2006, 01:51 PM
Good onya Chop, I'll definitely take a few of these. If you need a hand digging up pics or anything, send us a PM mate. tide times would be a great addition and moon phases for sure.

gone_phishin
20-08-2006, 03:16 PM
G'day Choppa

What sort of work do you want done with the combining of pics's? I can do most anything on Corel 12 and am a screenprinter so should be able to export in whatever format the printers want. Pm me if you have some ideas and photo's you want me to look at

Geoff

Hornblower
22-08-2006, 10:03 PM
Let me know how to get one ;)

Canoedle
22-08-2006, 10:17 PM
Need full size pics for the calenda guys, there's so many people out there, just need people to email them in to chopps...

24-08-2006, 07:25 PM
thanks for all your help guys/gals,,,

i'm getting a few emails with some bl%%dy great shots and i'm slowly sifting my way through a few recent threads in various forums that have some good pics also,,,,

big thank you to canoedle,,,,

this is gunna be a winner,,,,,,

Reefmaster
24-08-2006, 10:56 PM
Choppa,
I have loads and loads of quality pics which I'm sure you may be interested in and i would be happy to help out with some pics since it's for charity. Is there particular ideas/species you are chasing? I think it maybe be easier if i put the good ones on a disk and send it to you. Emailing them all would not be an option and take way to long. I will attach a couple of pics to give you an idea although they are twice as clear and better colour in full resolution. Just one question but- Are you going to use vertical or Horizontial pics for the calender?

Reefmaster
24-08-2006, 10:57 PM
another

Reefmaster
24-08-2006, 10:57 PM
one more

Sportfish_5
24-08-2006, 11:00 PM

You got too many pics :o :o :o 8-)

How many years will this calender go for if you submit a CD ::) ::)

Reefmaster
24-08-2006, 11:06 PM
Greg it gets a little confusing when i look at the picture folder these days as i have almost 10 gig of just fishing pictures. Mind you theres only a hand full from each trip which i would call top qaulity mag/calender shots.

25-08-2006, 06:29 AM
greg great shots mate,,, and yes have a squiz through your library and let me know,,,,i'll pm my po box for ya and we'll roll from there,,,

please ensure though fish are legal size!!!!!!!,,,(couple above are close,,, i'll blame the angle)

seriously,,, we are starting to get some good responses,,, with a bit more input we'll have enough to decide whether we go pic per page or collage style,,,(which is still my way of thinking),,

thanks once more

26-08-2006, 03:59 PM
;D Just caught the little feller playing with my lures...........can you use this? ;D

26-08-2006, 04:30 PM
Kev....that's BRILLIANT. Make a great header for the front page

Got_the_Fever
26-08-2006, 05:30 PM
I agree with you dave, that would make a great pic for the calender

Kel

Bundy_Burp
26-08-2006, 06:03 PM
Kingtin I like it I like it alot would look great in the calender I think

Bundy 8-)

26-08-2006, 06:39 PM
okay,,,,okay,,,,i heard that your changing your ways kev,,,,

eating real fish now and all ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

but really,,,,,blaming the young fella??,,,,,,,

I LIKE IT,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ITS IN

26-08-2006, 10:52 PM
okay,,,,okay,,,,i heard that your changing your ways kev,,,,

eating real fish now and all ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

but really,,,,,blaming the young fella??,,,,,,,

I LIKE IT,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ITS IN

;D LOL on the real fish choppa.

Seriously, I got some of my old (magnifying) photographic filters out that I haven't used for about 15 years and was going to do some close-ups on some hard bodies and see how they turn out.........lures can look quite pretty when looked at closely. I took the lure box out onto a upholstered bench seat/box that I keep the pool toys in..thought it would make a good backdrop to 'em.........the phone rang so I ran up to the house....when I came back, JJ had done this....all credit to him, I just took the shot.

27-08-2006, 02:29 PM
A pic from todays walk with the kids

27-08-2006, 02:30 PM
cropped

27-08-2006, 02:31 PM
Sandgate with Moreton backdrop

puks
30-08-2006, 10:55 AM
that one from sandgate is really nice kev :)

that is a very pretty jetty ;)

anya

swano
30-08-2006, 05:45 PM
for starters ;)

puks
02-09-2006, 06:52 PM
swano beautiful backdrop there :)
and a nice fish too :)

anya

PS and back again on page one (my contribution to the calender ;)

Darryl
03-09-2006, 11:32 AM
Dont know if these are any good to you Chop , if they are i will send the full format to your email addy.

http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/6171/mono1pw7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img47.imageshack.us/img47/6055/mono2zi9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/7803/mono3vz7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img106.imageshack.us/img106/8638/mono4mn6.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Darryl
03-09-2006, 11:40 AM
I like this one, picture is of Skippa about to be rammed. ;D

http://img108.imageshack.us/img108/3664/thepatrolgirlsxu4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

snapperm8
03-09-2006, 11:52 AM
great idea :D

thehoodedwarriors
03-09-2006, 05:09 PM
;D ;D ;D

Great Idea, your an ideas man! I have contacts with 3-4 printing agencies that would have ball creating such a calender and from the responce that you have had from your post I would have to say that you will have no trouble selling it..

There are so many members with excellent catches that they should all be published.. post it out there let them email them over and I will come up with some graphic designs if you like...

Its only 3 and a bit months till xmas so if you would like to make it a reality then i can help.

email me on the address listed

nichole

essky
03-09-2006, 07:59 PM
here is one a friend took while we were cleaning fish.

Turned out to be a good photo of a boy fishing.

Bundy_Burp
03-09-2006, 09:05 PM
The red of the sunset in the photo above is amazing would look good in print I think

Bundy 8-)

cobiaman
04-09-2006, 05:59 PM
id like a calendar and u can put this pic in if you like
http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j72/tunaman_photos/moretuna.jpg

or this one
http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j72/tunaman_photos/tuna.jpg

chris_stanley
04-09-2006, 10:04 PM
Put me down for a few. Great for Xmas for the old man and i have been looking around where to get decent ones.

05-09-2006, 08:20 PM
i've got to throw a bloody big apology in here to all who have responded,,,

due to a few personal issues i haven't been able to keep up with the calendar issue 150%,, but i'm now nearly on top of it,,,

i'm home this thursday,,,,,,another rare day of,,, and i should be FULL STEAM AHEAD,,

i want to get a few pics up and running for reviews,,,

and i'm also getting a hard time from the printers on how we are progressing,,,,

so this thursday,,, (no truck back yet,,,can't fish),,,,,its CALENDAR TIME,,

KEEP POSTING

(essky,,,that pic is great,,,,)

tunaman
05-09-2006, 08:26 PM
Nice blue, cobiaman ;)

signed tunaman 8-)

scott_b
07-09-2006, 08:16 PM
Gday essky
Mate thats a great shot.
choppa I'll take a few callenders and a couple next year if you go again ;).
wamam

thehoodedwarriors
22-11-2006, 06:02 PM
There was a post a while ago about getting a calender organised for Ausfish Members and Their best photos is anybody still looking into doing that as I have had a bit of a play with some of the photo galleries and would be happy to get one organised for members if they wish to email me their photos. That is of course if no body has already started it. We have all these great shots posted all over the website and members with great stories to tell so would love to get it organised if it has not been done yet.. Please post an update if you have one or email me.

mod5
22-11-2006, 08:00 PM
Choppa was doing it. Not sure where it is at.

Original post is at http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1153616269

23-11-2006, 05:42 AM
nichole,,, sent a pm this morning,,,

i left this bit out,, i'm back at the home office around 1pm today,,, pm me your contact details and i'll fill you in more

thehoodedwarriors
23-11-2006, 07:26 AM
choppa I am at work till five tenhome by 5.30pm will do the ring around and get my ideas/prices etc. and will PM you during the day

thanks
nichole

Brett1907
23-11-2006, 08:32 AM
I'd buy it.

thehoodedwarriors
23-11-2006, 09:18 AM
Brett, working on it today seems its a lot easier than one may think .... spread the word

timddo
23-11-2006, 10:06 AM
i have one too.

Brett1907
23-11-2006, 01:58 PM
Geoff has offered to be a 'model'. Don't know who would buy it then!! ;D ;D ;D ;D

thehoodedwarriors
23-11-2006, 02:01 PM
Can he balance a beer on his chest???? he he he he ;D

Oh!! I have a very sexy black number that might fit

Brett1907
23-11-2006, 03:25 PM
No, but might be able to on his BELLY!! LOL

I can just imagine it now.....

aaaarrrrgggghhhhh!!!!!!!! [smiley=bomb.gif]

geoff72
23-11-2006, 03:29 PM
hey hey hey wooo up there. now brett,boss mate,cobba, you have a gut on you or should i say a suburb, mine is fine,keeps me happy and keeps the beers upright. :P
i think brett has a sexy black number to, or so his missus says.
she told me she busted him wearing black lingere and stelletoes standing infront of the mirror TRYING to suck in his gut but popped a testicle instead.

Brett1907
23-11-2006, 03:38 PM
That was the lingire you lent me last week Geoff. As for the stilettos, they're deadlydaves. He left tham at work yesterday!!LOL

thehoodedwarriors
23-11-2006, 03:56 PM
now now children no fighting just remember geoff --- don't bite the hand that feeds you!

cassi
27-11-2006, 07:23 PM
Hey Choppa,
ill most likely take one but only if there cheap becaus eim only 13 and havent got much money

cya