View Full Version : disposal crab pots
jungles
27-07-2006, 09:40 AM
After reading all the posts on crab pot loss I thought I would let you all know what we use to do in the NT. Made our own disposal crab post out of chook wire. Just made a cylinder out of the wire about two feet diameter and folded the ends inwards. Then used some strong green cord and used milk bottles as floats. Never lossed a pot except when it got snagged. Lost a few crabs though. But the look on a thiefs face when he saw just the netting is one of dissapointment. Over heard a couple of blokes in the Berrimah pub about lifting other blokes post and they were really pi$%ed off. Very cheap and also very easy to stow in your boat. Bit hard to explain to a fishing inspector what the wire was for but anything is explainable if you have a good story, (keeping the pigs out of your camp, etc) Catch ya, Jungles
Fiji_fish_head
02-10-2006, 11:22 AM
mate give us a photo of this great invention!!!!!!! ;D
fundi
13-10-2006, 08:26 AM
If your loosing pots or having them pulled try one float one rope a large block of concrete and half a dozen hooks tied up the rope
they lift that and jam a hook in there hand then the concrete takes over
yeeehaaaa!!!!!!
griz066
13-10-2006, 09:40 AM
If your loosing pots or having them pulled try one float one rope a large block of concrete and half a dozen hooks tied up the rope
they lift that and jam a hook in there hand then the concrete takes over
yeeehaaaa!!!!!!
[smiley=hammer.gif] [smiley=smash.gif] [smiley=wut.gif] [smiley=rifle.gif]
rcfisher
22-10-2006, 11:32 AM
Sounds like a good plan.
sooty66
24-10-2006, 12:53 PM
Breaqt idea, may have to try that one out....
I suppose you could call that the "Catch of the Day"
No need to remove the barb either, crab pot thieves deserve everything they get, including septuseamia!!!
24-10-2006, 03:26 PM
No need to remove the barb either, crab pot thieves deserve everything they get, including septuseamia!!![/quote]
LoL, Septuseamia, aren't they a grunge band out of seattle ?
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
sooty66
24-10-2006, 03:55 PM
Don't know about the band - I'll ask my 16 year goth son!!!
but you'd reckon that you'd definitely see the bastards coming with a nasty infection that shit causes
Like those thieves over in the middle east who have their hand cut off and head tarred. Everyone knows what they've been doing.
So if the bastard come down to the boat ramp with a nasty infection, give em a gob full and I dare say they might think twice about stealing your pots...
We can only dream
Geoff_Atkinson
24-10-2006, 05:38 PM
Mates,
I reckon the infection would set in quicker if you use some of those rusty old hooks you find in the bottom of your tackle box
25-10-2006, 04:37 PM
Searaider, thats just downright mean and nasty...
Well done mate, I like it :D
Reef_fisher
06-11-2006, 06:13 PM
I think I am going to have a busy weekend. How long does concrete take to set. ;D ;D ;D
Sea-Dog
07-11-2006, 09:20 PM
Here's a link to a US site with details on how to build your own mesh pots.
They may need to be adapted a bit, but worth a look.
http://www.blue-crab.org/crabpot/
Cheers, Sea-Dog