View Full Version : what gear can i use if im just starting

fishin
06-08-2004, 02:54 PM
i have never used fly rodes or anything to do with flyfifhing before and i am wondering what basic equipment is needed so start and what sort of rods i should get . i fish mainly fresh water in the brisbane river for bass .

Quinny69
06-08-2004, 06:52 PM
G Day mate, You can get some half decent rods that will cast a fly line (in a good casters hands) for less than $200, maybe even $150, $500 will get you a great rod. Go for a number 7 or 8 for casting big bushy Bass flies (rods have a number rating, refered to as "weight" eg #8wgt for bass, 4wgt for smallish trout,#10 or 12 wgt for tuna and big Barra ect ect.
You will need a MATCHING flyline, a #8 for a #8 rod (duh), Floating will be great for bass on the river, look for a sticker on the box with WF8F, make sure the WF (weight forward) are there.
As for the reel,,, 1 of those $15 from BigW will do the job fine. You will have to fill the reel with about 100mtrs of Backing (get that when you get the line). Its very importaint you go to a good tackle shop that "knows"there fly gear, rigging up should be part of the service, It all may sound confusing and not worth the effort but when it all works well and "comes together"its the ONLY way to fish. Good luck and stick with it. MQ

fishin
07-08-2004, 12:02 PM
thx mate ill take that up cause ive been fishin just lures and i thought givin fly ago would be grate thx again

lordy
07-08-2004, 12:58 PM
Steve Ooi down at Coomera Tackle(? I think that is where he works) had some in from between $20-40 (I think 8wts). I don't know the brand as I haven't seen them. Anyway he though cast well and was genuiely impressed for the price. Considering Steve can cast a line pretty well that is a great recommendation for such a budget priced rod.

Quinny is right on the money with reels. Anything cheap would do to start out with. I've got some plastic $10-20 Eagle claws that do a the job as well as any $500 reel when it comes to bass. For bass fishing the reel is just there to stop too much line falling on the ground because it VERY unlikely you will ever need the drag and if you do, just palm the reel :).

aussiebasser
08-08-2004, 06:25 PM
The brand is Gillies, and from all reports they are a top rod for the money.

Coomeratackle
08-08-2004, 07:22 PM
Quinny is right you can get some pretty good rods well awesome rods for around that $400-$500 range ,such as the Temple Forks.
On the very bottom end of the scale rod under $100 dollars usually feel like a wet noodle and cast about as good as one. Thats what really surprise me about the gillies sp rod we got in (off hand i cant remember but i think we retail them for about 55 bucks). we loaded up a reel with a cheap bottom end line and gave it a test.( Now i class myself as a average caster) but that sp rod with a cheap line going through the runners, punched it out 90 ft no worries, so we gave it a test with a cortland ghost tip and that helped a lot with shooting out a few extra metres. For a rod that cost less than the line you'll probably end up put on it you'll be surpised what it can do, i was.

Steve.

Niko
09-08-2004, 11:44 AM
Gday brisybass,

Be a great idea to join a fly club u will get all the free advice u need and probably free casting tuition. U dont want to do it yourself and start with bad habits. Someone at the club may even have a 2nd hand outfit theyll sell u cheap.

Once u know what u want check ebay out, Ive recently bought a reasonable quality 4 piece 5# rod for $41.00.
I also bought a 12 - 14 # reel normally sold at over $1000.00 for only $325.00 delivered to my front door.

No expert I would suggest that u dont need anything heavier than a 6# maybe 7 # rod.

I dont know much about bass but depending at what depth u are targeting em at u will need to decide on a floating, sink tip, intermediate or sinking line. If u can help it dont skimp on line. Depending on what other type of fishing u do u can decide which line would suit u best.
And a cheap reel.
Be warned its addictive ! [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Rod $100.00
Line $100.00
Reel $50.00
Flies ?????

U shouldnt need to spend more

Hope this helps