View Full Version : What's your best fish on fly?
Rossco
27-10-2004, 09:16 PM
Whats your best capture on fly?
please post pics with species length & weight
Here's my best effort to date :
113cm 9.3 Kg Giant Herring [smiley=cool4.gif]
Rossco
jack.d
27-10-2004, 09:41 PM
G'day Rossco, great fish, I love those Giant Herring. The best fish on fly would be the two Permit (18 &14lb) I caught at Weipa. My fishing companion on the same trip got this fantastic 28lb milky also on fly.
jack.d
27-10-2004, 09:47 PM
A pic of my Permit, caught on a Merkins crab patern.
Rossco
27-10-2004, 09:58 PM
Sweet! :o Permit are my next target....
Local_Guy
28-10-2004, 03:26 PM
i got a 3 foot long barracuda. fotunately it didn't put up much of a fight. swallowed the fly and the 40lb jenkai just held up.
was prolly only 2 - 3lb's
Scott_Mitchell
29-10-2004, 04:09 PM
Every Chance I get ;D
http://www.alpineangler.com.au/images/BIGtarpon.jpg
Giant Tarpon - Big Pine Key Florida caught fishing with Capt Lenny Moffo.Est 120 lbs and took a little over an hour to land on regualtion 10kg tippet 8)
It's a hard choice ;D
http://www.alpineangler.com.au/images/Stripedmarlin.jpg
Definatly the hardest fish I have fought - 3 3/4 hours on regulation 10kg tippet 89kg Striped Marlin.The first marlin taken on flyfishing tackle on the South Coast of NSW 8)
Too many fish - Not enough Time :D
Regards Scotto
Local_Guy
29-10-2004, 05:17 PM
u sure u didn't just pick up your flyrod afterwards. hahahaha
good work :P
Rossco
29-10-2004, 06:59 PM
Sucks that our Tarpon only get this big! :'(
Was 2 kg though! HAHAHA!
Rossco
Scott_Mitchell
30-10-2004, 05:15 AM
u sure u didn't just pick up your flyrod afterwards. hahahaha
good work :P
I have actually got the whole thing on video for both captures 8)
Rossco - Great Herring by the way - I have hooked them that big - BUT still to land a good one.They're as close to a larger tarpon we'll get over here.
Off to Groote Island in the Guld next week for 10 days bluewater flyfishing for sails and small blacks.Our Skipper Dan Bergano tells me it's been awsome - the last 19 days fishing they raised 438 billfish and released 186 on conventional :o
Dan's Son Matt also got a sail on fly just casting into a pod feeding on a bait ball from one of the tenders - Can't wait 8)
Regards Scotto
FlyRod
30-10-2004, 10:36 AM
My best is this Barra I was fishing for Sooty's and got boofed Right at the boat and thought to myself "Thats a bloody big sooty :o"Instant bust of as it launched out of the water so with shaking hands I retied the leader and a couple of casts later BOOF again.I was out on my own(as usual)so I had my hands full but I got the job done,It was 102cm long and weighed 17kg and released fit and well!!! ;D
FlyRod
30-10-2004, 10:42 AM
Rosco I actually hooked one of those Giants in the Swan river(Perth) while fishing with little livies for big bream around the sailing club.He jumped and jumped and jumped and then cut me off :(They must have heaps of teeth hey?Awesome spectacle!!!
Rod
Rossco
30-10-2004, 11:15 PM
Nope no teeth but they do have very abrasive pads around their jaws which chews into mono......Awesome fun the old GH!!
Seen so many pple get spooled by the small ones (50 cm) makes ya laugh!!!
The big ones can send your drag up in smoke......literally!!
;D ;D ;D ;D
andy_thomsen
09-11-2004, 06:58 AM
Tough call, 123cm queenfish, estimated at 16-17kg. Taken on fly. 45 Minutes to land, 10kg tippet and #7 rod.
The barra was also good, 110cm, about 23kg, #9wt.
Rossco
09-11-2004, 10:44 PM
Damn that's a big Queenie!!
Where was he caught Andy?
Rossco
Zeeke
10-11-2004, 07:12 AM
Unfortunately, i cant say ive caught alot of fish on fly.. but my most favourite one so far was a coral trout i got on fly at pancake creek, i was using a small white foam popper i tied up and using on a intermediate line.. i was getting slammed by squid before he got caught.. but it was an awesome visual take.. i dropped it over the edge of a coral ledge/dropoff and popped it a few times, then stripped in fairly quick.. and all i saw was this small black rocket fire out of nowhere and slam the popper..im happy i got him in.. i was only using 6lb leader amongst the coral
http://www.#######.com/files/pancake4.jpg
10-11-2004, 08:54 AM
after seeing lots caught on fly borrowed justins rod and gave it a swish and there ya go, fish on fly, was quiet fun actually.
SeaHunt
10-11-2004, 09:58 AM
Bit more blood on the shirt next time Rob. ;D ;D
BTW.
Looking at some of the pics here, those fly rods must taste good. ;) ;)
Never tried one myself. :P
Wesley_Pang
11-11-2004, 03:05 PM
MackMauler,
You've been hanging around flyfisherman for too long. It's a slippery slope ;D.
When are you getting your Tweed Jacket?
Wes
thunnus
11-11-2004, 06:15 PM
rob - your a natural mate!!!
we will have to do it again one day, maybe we can get a few of the biggers ones lurking a touch deeper?
cheers, Justin