View Full Version : Who does what flyfishing ?
catchy_fishy
30-01-2006, 07:07 AM
I've set up a poll to get a feel for what type of flyfisherman read/post on this chatboard. I'm sure everyone will agree it's one of the quieter boards, and I'd like to see it more active personally, because it is the one part of fishing that I am most passionate about. Before I carry on launching down a road that's going to bore everyoen to tears I thought I should get back to basics and find out what your true interests are.
I hope you'll answer the short and simple poll.
catchy_fishy
30-01-2006, 07:20 AM
My fresh water fishing is mostly for two african indigenous species:
Yellow Fish, and tiger fish - see the pic of the tiger
Canoedle
30-01-2006, 08:34 AM
Man, those tigers look like they could take a small child :o
catchy_fishy
30-01-2006, 08:40 AM
It's the only fresh water fishing I know where you have to use a wire trace 8-)
They mostly eat younger tiger, tilapia - kind of like bream, and other fish - freshwater pelagic - awesome fun, but very difficult on fly as they are renowned for spitting the hook.
They are only found in one river / dam system in SA (mosly found in Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Zambia, Botswana) and I'm going there on 1st weekend of March for four days - can't wait.
Will post pics - [if i catch]
catchy_fishy
01-02-2006, 06:51 AM
Quite a few votes coming in for Freshwater Other - Like what might I ask ?
waggy
01-02-2006, 09:27 AM
Sooty Grunter, Saratoga & Barra are in the Freshwater Other category for me. I also hope to add Spangled perch, Catfish, Gar & Sleepy Cod to the list in the future.
Regards Ray
catchy_fishy
02-02-2006, 04:42 AM
Waggy
Seems we are in that same space of chasing species - the only down side I see is I never get to be expert at any one species, and end up being like a novice or generalist.
I envy and respect the fishos out that have spent years in pursuit of one species, and honed their skills in that regard.
But hey I also like all the research, and planning and scheming that goes with chasing down new species
waggy
03-02-2006, 09:31 AM
I'm with you Mike. I prefer to add to my species list rather than continually target high scores of the same srecies. I also like to add to the different methods of catching each species such as surface, subsurface, etc. I recently got into some Sooties on fast sink line in rocky areas. Next time I go up north, I will be keen to get them on the surface with dahlbergs and gurglers etc.
Regards, Ray
88fishframe
03-02-2006, 09:42 AM
I fish predominately saltwater for tropical species but often hook up on trees and other boats :-?
p.s. I think I own more flies than I have actually caught fish. But I like it all the same ;D
catchy_fishy
04-02-2006, 05:30 AM
p.s. I think I own more flies than I have actually caught fish. But I like it all the same ;D
Gotta agree with you there.
Anyone got a pic of a Sootie they can post ?
sorry..picture not uploading ????
atlantic_salmon
04-02-2006, 11:57 PM
hey mike, as the name says Atlantic Salmon. the most annoying fish to go near, they stop feeding as soon as they hit the fresh water after 1 winter or two feeding in the salt off greenland, but even more annoying is that all the best fishing beats have been brought by clubs and syndicates, the only way to get near them is to just fish the water and plead ignorance if confronted, 53 salmon last season cant be to bad for a self confessed poacher...
catchy_fishy
05-02-2006, 07:55 AM
Atlantic Salmon - What gear do you use and where do you catch your fish ?
Spey rod / conventional fly, and what type of flies - typical tubular salmon flies, slipped onto a treble, or again the conventional old school salmon flies?
Have done some salmon fishing in Scotland - but I could only afford to book and pay for 3 hours, and didn't land a single fish :(- fishermans -luck as they call it. The syndication is so bad that for one day in prime season you could pay the equivalent of the value of my house >:(
I had more luck in the lake district chasing trout on a small motorised rowboat - bloody cold is all I remember
waggy
05-02-2006, 04:38 PM
Here is a good Sooty. Hope this pic turns out, it's my first go.
catchy_fishy
06-02-2006, 12:34 AM
Waggy
Have sent you a Pm - check it out, on what to do - your attachments are not coming up.
CF
atlantic_salmon
06-02-2006, 06:18 AM
i mostly use spey rods a 12ft 6 8-9 weight and a 14ft 9-10 weight for most of the fishing except when the grilse turn up around july when i break out a single hand 6 weight to get the most out of them, the average grilse is about 6lb, mostl of my time is spent around the bigger of the munster rivers with the river lee in co cork a few mins away, and with the season in cork just started and days getting longer after a long winter i will be sure to make the most of my last year in ireland...
Tropicaltrout
19-02-2006, 10:46 PM
Mine would be freshwater by boat and i normally catch saratoga,bass,goldens ,and trout back in tassie, I hope to add barramundi to the list this year. i have caught many other speices but the Trout is my fav so far i spose because i grew up catching them in Tasmania.
Cheers TT
Huggy_B
22-02-2006, 10:51 PM
all except bass which we dont get here in WA that I am aware of, but I did hit them when I lived in Sydney.
brown and rainbow trout, red fin, herring, flathead, tailor, whiting, mullet, king george whiting, salmon and so on. And I only use a 6wt rod, so tuna and the big boys are out of the question at this time, but maybe in the future. Salmon give me a fair bity of curry, but its handlable.
end point - if it swims and its not massive, I'll throw a fly at and see how I go.
Jim_Tait
24-02-2006, 10:38 AM
Mike, as you've probably picked up from my other posts my favouritye fly fishing is freshwater (as is all my fishing just about) and Australuian natives, primarilky tropical species - barra, sooties, tarpon, jacks, gaint herring, rifle fish but also sub tropical -temperate species - bass, cod, yellow belly/golden perch. I've also done a bit of trout fishing but only for the frustration factor (and the fact they don't taste bad when they come out of a smoker!) cause I think they (browns) fight like a wet socK! although rainbows are better in the fight department.
Regards Jim
Strikezone_fly
02-03-2006, 08:06 AM
Nice Tiger fish, huge teeth almost as big as your guides..
You can't beat a Gt on fly. I think )<)))))">
wessel
02-03-2006, 01:28 PM
Where, when, gear used????
That must have been a 90 minute fight? Awesome fish by the way.
Wessel
Strikezone_fly
02-03-2006, 01:54 PM
I see you have got a thing for GT's.... It was caught down at Pera Heads about a hour south of Weipa. The fish was teased up with a hookless popper then we made a cast to the big fish with a 12 wt fly rod, about a 45 minute fight. A pretty happy ;D chappy ;D. www.############.com
catchy_fishy
14-03-2006, 07:00 AM
You can't beat a Gt on fly. I think )<)))))">
I too live for GT's. I study them, their habits, their feeding patterns and when my wife's not watching I even sing like they do, and I do that little tail dance and skip that they do in the surf zone just before they attack after they've schooled their prey. (Like when a marlin lights up)
Bloody nice fish Strikezone. The only other fish I've heard that comes close if not better is the permit - but I still lean to the latter having never caught a permit.
Paul_Dolan
22-03-2006, 10:46 PM
Mainly Tuna, Mac and Longtails,Golden trevally and their relitives and queenfish in the salt.
Barra, Bass and Saratoga in the fresh.
Mainly Tuna, Mac and Longtails,Golden trevally and their relitives and queenfish in the salt.
Barra, Bass and Saratoga in the fresh.
Good to see you still lurking around Paul. You been getting any fish lately? I hear the tuna have been on and off up there (Hervey Bay).
Matt.
Paul_Dolan
23-03-2006, 08:35 PM
Matt yeh mate still kickin around,been getting a few clients Longies and mac tuna in the last few weeks and a few for myself ;D also been getting a few barra at the dam on the Dancer that Lionel aka Lonk and I have been working on for a while now.
The fish in the dam just love this fly, ;D this is one of the fish from last sunday mornin.
You'll have to come up for a fish.
Voltzy
23-03-2006, 09:31 PM
check the colour on that barra- magic stuff :)
Matt yeh mate still kickin around,been getting a few clients Longies and mac tuna in the last few weeks and a few for myself ;D also been getting a few barra at the dam on the Dancer that Lionel aka Lonk and I have been working on for a while now.
The fish in the dam just love this fly, ;D this is one of the fish from last sunday mornin.
You'll have to come up for a fish.
yeah, would love to Paul! I've heard you've been getting stuck into the barra on fly up there, would love to go up and see how it's done sometime. I have enough trouble raising them on hard bodies let alone fly.. Nice work [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] The water looks cobalt blue in that pic.
Matt.
Paul_Dolan
24-03-2006, 05:21 PM
Matt that water is actually a real tannin colour it's just the sky reflection that's making it look that way,I think that's why most of the barra are that real bronze to gold colour in the dam it makes them look great I recon ;D.
Ant time ya ready mate just give me a call.
Regards Paul
pmartyna
24-03-2006, 07:09 PM
Hey Paul,
So that's the elusive Dancer you've been hinting about. Can't wait to see one first hand.
All Vampires, wooly buggers and minstrels for me this weekend. Hope Somerset fires.
Has Lenthals been picking up or is it slow like the other dams?
Cheers mate,
Ant time ya ready mate just give me a call.
Regards Paul
Np. I'll check with Voltz as to when your boat will be available ;D
Matt.
Paul_Dolan
24-03-2006, 11:27 PM
Hey Paul yeh mate thats the dancer ;D bloody good fly for the barra and bass in Lenthalls and when I get a chance I want to give it a run in Monduran and Awonga shouldn't be any different there.
As soon as Lionel and I get a few things sorted we will post some really clear pics and the tying method on my site and here.
I've been testing it for quite a while now and haven't missed getting fish on it since about September last year both barra and bass in the fresh and it's taken a big golden in the salt as well I've attached the pic of it.I'm sure there's plenty of other species that this fly will take it's got a very erratic action when stripped short and fast ;D
See ya got a few at Awonga the other week,well done ;D
Matt, Voltzy recons I should spend more time workin on my yard ::) stuff that there's no fish there ;D.
Regards Paul
Hiya Paul,
cannot believe how successful the Dancer is.
Still trying to get some things sorted out.
I'll have to get back to Lenthalls with ya sometime soon.
sprat
25-03-2006, 08:10 PM
How did your trip to Southern Africa go at the beginning of March? Any tips and secrets?
I'm heading to the Okavango and Zambezi in June.
TinarooTriumph
28-03-2006, 09:43 PM
Dont fly much at all. Some times i'll drag em out of the tackle box and try my luck at anything on the water. If you aim at nothing, you will catch anything.
sprat
02-04-2006, 08:02 PM
Catchyfishy - see above post re Southern Africa trip??
catchy_fishy
18-04-2006, 06:47 AM
How did your trip to Southern Africa go at the beginning of March? Any tips and secrets?
I'm heading to the Okavango and Zambezi in June.
Sprat I 'm sorry I missed your Question - I wasn't looking for something posted here. I've sent you a PM
baldyhead
19-04-2006, 11:04 AM
As soon as Lionel and I get a few things sorted we will post some really clear pics and the tying method on my site and here.
Hi, I find tying and catching quite a challenge and am very interested in your 'dancer fly'. Any idea of when you will post the tying instructions ? How do I find your site ? cheers baldy
baldyhead
25-04-2006, 06:32 PM
I had a girls look and eventually found it...thanks for that Paul..very interesting indeed. For those of you who are interested here is the link.
http://www.frasercoastsportfishing.com/artman/publish/article_128.shtml
cheers baldy
Paul_Dolan
26-04-2006, 08:30 PM
G/day Baldy,sorry I haven't replied earlier just haven't been following this thread.
Mate it can be tied in different materials and doesn't have to be DNA,I've tied some with kinky fiber and they've come out great and hooked a few barra just haven't landed a fish on them yet ::).
I hope it's as sucessfull for you and others as it has been for me.
I like to get a bit of a flat area under the head with the silicon to give it a bit more lift when retrieved.
Regards Paul
Paul_Dolan
26-04-2006, 08:32 PM
Forgot to add the pic.
Regards Paul
I had a girls look and eventually found it...thanks for that Paul..very interesting indeed. For those of you who are interested here is the link.
http://www.frasercoastsportfishing.com/artman/publish/article_128.shtml
cheers baldy
Nice fly and good website too Paul. I'll add this to my "fishing reports to check before I go to hervey bay" bookmarks ;)
Matt.
Whiskymac
27-04-2006, 06:46 PM
fished for brown trout rainbow trout and salmon on the fly when I lived in Scotland, amd taking the fly rod with me down the gold coast on my next trip and going to have a cast for bream and flatties will take the bait caster too just in case will let you know how I fair have never done and fly fishing in australia so I expect a few snags as its been a while since I had a cast in anger......
tight lines my friends