View Full Version : What's your favourite fly : Fresh Water

catchy_fishy
13-02-2006, 04:56 AM
What's your favourite fresh water pattern to fish with ?

waggy
13-02-2006, 09:59 PM
Love the bloop of a Dahlberg diver at night in a barra lagoon. It is only surpassed by the Boof that sometimes follows.

Jim_Tait
14-02-2006, 04:10 AM
Medium sized pink clousers - catch every thing from barra to sooties to bass to cod to goldens to tarpon to.....

catchy_fishy
14-02-2006, 05:06 AM
Favourite : Red eyed damsel

Most revered : blood worm, on a good day You can bet a hookup on a blood worm is a definate cert, especially in rapids in small streams

Jim_Tait
14-02-2006, 01:17 PM
Heres some more pink clouser victims

Jim_Tait
14-02-2006, 01:18 PM
and another

catchy_fishy
15-02-2006, 07:11 AM
what reel are you using in the pics ?

Jim_Tait
15-02-2006, 12:30 PM
British Fly Reel (BFR) Dragonfly - I have two of them one for fishing 8 wt (395) and another for a 5 wt (355) - love both of them - smooth drags and robustly made - here's a pic of the smaller one with a decent golden also taken on a pink clouser (surprise surprise) - Jim

catchy_fishy
16-02-2006, 05:49 AM
here's a pic of the smaller one

You look much prettier in the pic with the 5wt than in the pic with the sootie.

I know the BFF well, I have a 4wt BFR. Very nice reels.

Jim_Tait
16-02-2006, 11:46 AM
here's a pic of the smaller one

You look much prettier in the pic with the 5wt than in the pic with the sootie.

Why thank you (I think) it must be the daggy NQ native versus the civilised Canberran influence!!

catchy_fishy
17-02-2006, 06:17 AM
Ok Jim since its you and I on this one - and i am earning respect for your abilities with a pink clouser - can you post up a good pic of your pink clouser, and give strand legths, hook sizes, all materials in the fly - like pearlescent or flashabou or peacock herl or whatever,eye sizes, bead chain or dumbells, stick on or paint on eyes, etc. I want to tie some up for my next trip.

Jim_Tait
23-02-2006, 11:40 AM
Hey Catchy,

hate to admit my ignorance but I don't yet tie my own flies - despite encoragement from mates who do!!

I don't think the specific nature of the material matters as much with big flies for chasing tropical species (ie c/f matching the hatch for sourthern trout) - I usually buy Felties Flies - pink clousers (made in south Africa I believe) - they do have dumbell eyes which are great for getting down to depth where I then like to use a relatively slow short strip retrieve. I'll take a picture of a selection of my 'pink flies' and post it when I get organised. Its not only clousers I get into - large (for barra) and small to medium (for every thing else) pink things are also excellent for freshwater tropical species - I use them heaps as well although I think the clousers have the edge on them as they don't have as much feather material and get down quicker - pink things are great in terms of generating a pulsating look in the water that seems to tempt barra when they're a bit shut down - regards Jim.

Huggy_B
23-02-2006, 08:46 PM
A Muz Wilson Fuzzel Bugger in Emerald. Has accounted for many trout here in the west this season.

simonm
01-03-2006, 12:43 PM
Hard to beat a big noisily fished Dahlberg!

catchy_fishy
05-03-2006, 08:04 AM
I went trout fishing this weekend just gone, and caught on a San Juan - first time in ages.

AaronF
13-03-2006, 02:10 AM
#22 tan caddis skitter. The Browns on the Grand River here in Ontario love them. When nothing else is working I bring this one out and usually something rises to the occasion. Fished over some reasonably fast flowing water that tails out into some rapids they work wonders. The good old crayfish is another favourite for all species and I'm sure the fish back home in Oz love them too.

catchy_fishy
14-03-2006, 06:51 AM
#22 tan caddis skitter. The good old crayfish is another favourite

Hav eyou got any pics you can post ?

Catchy Fishy

coola
19-08-2006, 10:16 PM
One of the best trout fly's I've used is a rat fur fly (standard domestic type) tied the same as a rabbit fur fly, about to start tying and using on bass,barra,toga etc. If work I will let ya'z know ;)

Craigus
20-08-2006, 06:09 PM
The beaded gold ribbed nymph was a ripper for the trout in the KZN Drakensberg dams. But have done no fly fishing since moving to Aus. :'(. Although next year I off to New Zealand for a week and you bet I will get some fly fishing in. :D 8-)

Tropicaltrout
01-09-2006, 10:18 PM
I used to love the days when the gum beetle s where on but its a close tie to the mudeye, but up here the maddam x, a john rowe creation