View Full Version : DK Dancer Gold Bommer Fly

Strikezone_fly
04-05-2006, 08:58 PM
Hi Guys, We have been using a new fly called the DK Dancer (Gold Bommer Style) This fly has been fishing really well, catching fish even in tough conditions. "It's well worth a tie" ;).
"Good fishing"

Strikezone_fly
11-05-2006, 10:11 AM
The fly works well tied on the Mustad C71S SS circle hook 8-)

Big_unit
11-05-2006, 03:40 PM
Here is a link to Paul Dolans - Fraser Coast Sport Fishing site, he is the guy who co-created the "DK Dancer".

http://www.frasercoastsportfishing.com/artman/publish/article_128.shtml

James

Voltzy
12-05-2006, 10:23 AM
Pauls Dancer, is bloody deadly on the barra. they really come looking for it. He's really onto something there.

I was fishing with Paul at lenthalls one day, the barra's weren't really on the chew but we still got plenty of hits on the dancers.

Craig, do you like counter shaded lures too? or have you rigged those flies to swim hook down? -fascinating subject for those who think about these things. I love the taper on those flies, it looks pretty true to the original gold bomber lure. Looks like you have used kinky fibre.

Strikezone_fly
20-05-2006, 04:28 PM
Because of the flotation in the head of the fly they swim with the hook pointing down. You can play around with the amount of floatation & the amount of bend in the hook to get different actions.
"Good Fishing"

dej
10-06-2006, 09:28 PM
:D

Nick_Currey
17-06-2006, 04:34 PM
Great looking fly - looks like a bulky gold bomber. The material seems to have a natural wave through it??. What is it and who makes it? S

hould really make the fly pulse and give off some good vibes.

Any info appreciated

Nick

Tropicaltrout
07-08-2006, 08:55 PM
Hey big unit, was wondering who was the other half of the duo that created that fly. it looks like a beauty, and how is Paul have not seen him in years, I asume you guy's are all in the stocking of Lenthalls together.

Cheers TT

Paul_Dolan
07-08-2006, 09:44 PM
G/day Nathan aka TT,Hope all is well for you and the family.
The other half of this creation is Lionel aka lonk,weve both been refining and developing it since it's conception.
Works a bloody treat mate been catching a few different species on it and so have others that have used it.
A small version caught a trout recently down south.
Check out my site if ya want the history of it.
Hope ya old man is doin well.
Here's a pic of a few Dancers I tied recently,all colours seem to work well on the barra I think it's more in the action than the colour.

Paul_Dolan
07-08-2006, 09:47 PM

billybob3
08-08-2006, 09:12 AM
PD

Hope they are on teh table waiting for our arrival in 17 days.
;) ;D ;D

Maaaaate, counting the days. Make sure teh batteries are charged on teh vid camera.

Tropicaltrout
08-08-2006, 01:59 PM
Cheers mate
Good to see your creation getting a bit of publicity. Dads well, finally got a lady, and him and franko have been gearing up for the new trout season, have not heard from johno will give him a call soon.
Hope all is well up there, planning a trip to Awoonga in November and maby one or two to lenthalls will let you know when I will try and drag old man Rowe along.

Cheers Nathan

BennyJ
08-08-2006, 08:54 PM
;)

hardb8
10-09-2006, 10:17 AM
I plan on trying the fly for the first time soon an Lenthalls.I can't tie them and I would like a few to take with me.Does anyone know where I can purchase the following? :- Gold Bomber and the DK Dancer.I would like them on a circle hook if possible.I have an 8wt rod and I am located in Brisbane.

Thanks for your time, Regards hardb8 ;)

lonk
11-09-2006, 10:32 AM
Hi Hardb8, i'll get you some dancers.

woolybugger
12-09-2006, 01:13 PM
Very nice Gold Bonber fly there mate.

Many moons ago, I once tied my own Gold Bomber fly but with a two hook set up and tried it up the NT and it worked a treat on Barra, Salmon and GT's etc.

Just don't ask me for a photo, because a mate of mine decided to borrow it and haven't seen it since...

I might try to tie a few more for our Awoonga trip this Oct, because I want to try for one of those big mummas on a fly rod. Good luck to me I know!

flyfisho
12-09-2006, 06:58 PM
teh DK looks like its gunna be a winner this season I will be taking some to awoonga and monduran over the next few months I will also be taking some Pop lip deceivers I reckon they should slay them as well last year I was using a gold bommer stle 3d minnow and a woolhead in black didn't to to bad nothing of size but I think some flys with heaps of action like the DK and the pop lip should make a difference this year