View Full Version : Handheld VHF Marine Radio
DaneCross
20-03-2005, 11:06 AM
Gday
Just looking for peoples opinions on handheld VHF Marine Radios. Does anyone use one? What is their range like? I (rarely if ever) head any further than the 24s (possibly make a trip to 36s one day). Will it do the job? I've been looking around thinking of getting one, mostly for boat-boat communication, but also for the safety aspect.
Your thoughts appreciated,
Dane
Kerry
20-03-2005, 01:54 PM
So how far from the nearest coast station is that? Handheld, fairly heavy on batteries and range? maybe 10 mile, if that.
Not a cheap option either compared to a fixed mount higher power/range unit.
Cheers, Kerry.
Jono_SS
20-03-2005, 05:04 PM
I've just bought a handheld vhf :) but haven't tested it's range yet :(. I was hoping for approx 10 miles, as that would be pretty well the max distance I plan to be from a marine rescue or repeater station.
check ebay for some good deals.
Jono_SS
20-03-2005, 05:06 PM
I've just bought a handheld vhf :) but haven't tested it's range yet :(. I was hoping for approx 10 miles, as that would be pretty well the max distance I plan to be from a marine rescue or repeater station.
check ebay for some good deals.
DaneCross
20-03-2005, 09:04 PM
You're onto it Jono (ebay) ;) ;D
Kerry, I'd have to have a look, but I doubt I've travelled beyond 10 mile from land. As for price, there's a few on ebay below the $100 mark, I didn't think that was too bad :-/
Thanks,
Dane
Bashir
20-03-2005, 09:24 PM
You can pick up a new vhf off ebay for $200, add $70 for a antenna and you're set. They have a much improved range and you wont' have to buy batteries all the time too or have to recharge etc... I had the same opinion as you but bit the bullet and picked up a nice Raymarine vhf off ebay pretty much new for under $200 and I picked up sydney coastal patrol from baulkham hills on it which is a pretty big distance!! Definately get the fixed mount, you won't regret it.
subzero
21-03-2005, 02:27 AM
Their are definately pro's and con's for both...
Overall the fiixed set wins out in my opinion because as Kerry says they chew through the batterys very quickly, have a much shorter range unless you can attach an external ariel and also normally only push a maximum of 5 watts as opposed to 25 watts on the base types sets.... they also lack the DSC fascility often fitted to the base sets...
Pro's, easy to remove from the boat if you have a theft problem and also if you have to go over the side in a hurry you can take the radio with you and hopefully still get your message out. In the water your ariel will be less likely to reach Rescue Groups as both VHF and 27meg use ground waves so arial height is extremely important...
On 5 watts, with 2 x Garmin 725e's testing them out. One set on maximum power could not reach VMR Vicky Point or VMR Raby Bay from the Hole in the Wall on Peel and the other could only just be heard... in both cases we tried to get as high on the vessel as possible to increase the range... we did not attempt to use either on the repeater frequencies.
Hope the info helps.
Cheers Lloyd
DaneCross
22-03-2005, 01:54 PM
Thanks heaps for the info fellas... I'm still undecided, as you pointed out Lloyd, there are advantages and disadvantages of each. I'll keep looking/asking around for a bit. I'd like to speak to someone who actually owns one or has used one offshore. I guess though, Lloyd, you've done the testing. Hole in the Wall is a quarter of the distance to the places I mentioned. But then again there is Peel Is in the way... :-/ :-/
Dane
flattymattyb
23-03-2005, 04:38 PM
Hi Dane,
No worries at all with the handheld out at the 36's mate, I have a uniden handheld with rechargeables have radioed the seaway from the 36's and south of sullies reef (15mile on GPS) and all good. batteries will last a trip as long as you charge up before each trip.
Matty
DaneCross
23-03-2005, 05:21 PM
Thanks Matty, very interesting indeed. Thats what I was hoping to hear ;) ;D
I pretty sure there are ones that'll plug into the 12V - that'll solve the battery dilemma ;)
Dane