View Full Version : What would you do
JubJub
26-11-2005, 09:40 PM
I went to look at a boat today. Its a 5.7 mtr Haines Bowrider with a 115 hp yamaha 2 stroke. The hull is 88 model and in what I would say good condition for its age. Engine has 350 Hours on it and the deal is $15000 with 30 days warranty. I have been looking now for about 2 months and finding boats in this price range get snapped up quick.
I am wondering if I am being realistic thinking I am going to get a really clean realiable boat in this price range that will be ok for fishing the river, a bit of water skiing and getting out on a good day or if I should just look got a later model 14 - 15 ft alloy boat with a later model 40 hp engine.
I guess I already know the answer but would love a bit of feedback.
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
26-11-2005, 09:47 PM
If the engine is also an 88 model I think the unit is a bit overpriced. However, if the engine is younger and been well looked after and serviced regularly maybe it's not such a bad buy. What about the trailer? What extra's are you getting for your $'s?
JubJub
26-11-2005, 09:58 PM
The trailer is a bit rough but they will clean it up , new brakes etc,
I thought the floor was a bit spongy and they are going to renew it, give me 12 months rego on boat and trailer and include an inshore safety kit. The boat has a full cover and sounder .I am pretty sure the engine is 88 model as well. The hull presents quite well. Its the original gel coat and still has a nice shine to it. I will get the compression test results next week. I am just a little nervous as I havent had much to do with boats and I have heard penty of horror stories
26-11-2005, 10:24 PM
odds are if the floor is spongy so will the transom, IMO it is not just replacing the floor but most of or all the substructure
buyer beware
JubJub
26-11-2005, 10:49 PM
Thanks Blaze
27-11-2005, 05:08 AM
Yeah JubJub,
Gotta go with Blaze...$15,000 for a 1988 model with suspect floor/transom...hmmm...I'd reckon over priced...even in Tassie ;D ;D ;D
I recently sold my 2002 15ft centre console Bermuda tinnie with 50 merc 300 hoursish and set up with the lot for $13,000.00 and thought i did real well
I used this rig at Minnie often, it pulled the kids around on a ski biscuit O.K. it probably would have pulled a skier, but not as well as the two boats I've seen you put up...I know its hard...be patient...the right rig will be just around the corner...i'll check around our area of Brisvegus and see whats on offer if you like
JubJub
27-11-2005, 08:59 AM
Thanks Rhys,
The mob that has is has assured me they will address the floor/transom issues. At the moment I have lost a little confidence in it to be honest. When they initially told me about it the boat was ment to be immaculate. At best I would say good condition. I cant get over how many poor second hand boats are sitting in dealers yards.
I am keeping an open mind about it and will talk to the dealer on monday. If I were to do anything I want to see whats under the floor when they pull it up. I was lucky yesterday when I went to have a look at it because I managed to dodge the salesman when I got there and their mechanic wandered over. I had already checked out the transom and was a little concerened. He agreed that it was borderline. There isnt very much movement in it but there is a little bit. He told me he had it scheduled for monday to go into the workshop to assess the engine. He walks away and the salesman comes over and feeds me the line that the engine had been tested and the compression was good.
To me thats a bit of a bargaining chip because its an out and out lie.
I will talk to the guy I was dealing with and ask for at least 6 months warranty and see what he says. Its a little difficult for me because I am 3 hours from Brissy and 2 hours from tweed and there is really nothing down my way. It pretty much takes up a full day just getting up there to look at a boat.
Rhys dont go out of your way but if you see anything that you think would interest me please let me know.
My email address is pedro_1@kooee.com.au
Oh the joys of boat hunting.
Burley_Boy
27-11-2005, 09:20 AM
There is a lot of stuff in the yards that look pretty rough and they seldom seem to detail them like a second hand car yard, good and bad in that... You get a lot more confidence biding your time and buying from a private seller who has shown a lot of care with his craft. You can find good and bad both private and dealer though.
Try separating and costing the items in the boat such as hull, motor, trailer, bimini & clears, electronics and extra gear such as flares.
For example you might value the motor at $5000, trailer at $1200, Bimini & cover $1000, electronics $500 extra gear$200. That gets you to $7900 before you consider the hull, then look at the hull and ask yourself if the hull is worth the extra $7100 and if its not then what is it worth to you. You might even consider buying a good hull with an old blown up engine then fitting a new donk for $10000. That method gets you a rough idea on value anyway and I always start with the engine as it often dictates price.
good luck.
seabug
27-11-2005, 09:38 AM
Spongy floor=TROUBLE :o :o :o
What would I do?
Look elsewhere :)
27-11-2005, 10:11 AM
Good post Burley Boy...there's wisdom in that!
When you go looking, take somone with you that knows how to sus out a transom, and floor.
I got my brother onto this ,and a mate of mine went with him, complete with a ball pein hammer. He knew exactly where to tap, and knew the sound he was looking for.
Others have been caught with a bill for $ 4500, to repairs a floor and transom.
Got someone that knows boats?
David
Save your money keep looking
Mad-One
27-11-2005, 11:09 AM
Have a look at this link
http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/yabb2/YaBB.cgi?num=1130645497/15#15
Cheers Phil
Mad-One
27-11-2005, 11:11 AM
Try this one
http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/yabb2/YaBB.cgi?num=1130645497/0
familyman
27-11-2005, 11:50 AM
Jub jub I personally would give the dealer ,or that sales guy in particular,a wide berth .If they are content to lie to you then you take a risk in dealing with them.There are plenty of other boats around ,have a look on boat point or similar.I would not trust them to do a proper repair.
cheers jon
rajawolf
28-11-2005, 12:27 AM
JubJub,
Mate as "dnej" said the repair could cost in the range of $4000+ to do proper..do you think the boat yard is really going to spend that type of money to fix it the right way.
They have already proven themselves to be liars.. just walk away..the right boat will turn up for you..even if you bought it just to have a boat and then it falls to bits, you will be in the same situation as now with no boat ..and poorer.
Hope you find a good one soon.
Michael_Phillips
28-11-2005, 07:02 PM
I know it's hard but wait and try to find one privately>
29-11-2005, 08:56 AM
look, look, look and keep looking until a good one pops up. The only way. I must have looked at 137 boats before I brought mine. Dealers lie (proven) and generally private sellers lie too. But when you least expect it the right one will pop up and Bob's your uncle.
Don't give up hope and remember if a deal is too good to be true it generally is.
What's the load rating of a single axle trailer and what's the weight of that boat with all the gear in it?
Have to agree - standing on the leg of the motor with it slightly raised can give you a rough assessment of the transom - any flex and it's going. Pulled a bloke out of the Bay years ago who was floating along in a ski tube - he had been out for a drive in his new used boat and the transom had pretty much fallen out on him. It didn't float too well after that.
At that price forget it unless they are going to guarantee the repair for a long time and offer discount.
Good Luck
JubJub
30-11-2005, 08:16 AM
Have to agree - standing on the leg of the motor with it slightly raised can give you a rough assessment of the transom - any flex and it's going. Pulled a bloke out of the Bay years ago who was floating along in a ski tube - he had been out for a drive in his new used boat and the transom had pretty much fallen out on him. It didn't float too well after that.
At that price forget it unless they are going to guarantee the repair for a long time and offer discount.
Good Luck
Thanks everyone. I called them monday morning and told them I didnt want it. I also mentioned to the director that I wasnt to impressed with the salesman that lied to me about the compression test. The guy I was dealing with was really good and I guess the young guy was keen to try and get a sale but it doesnt do much for your confidence.
The luck hasta change soon. I did a boat training course the other night and it was advertised as a 4 hour course to teach you the basics and all you need to know to get your general boat licence.
It started late, the guy puts on two old videos that ran for about 15 minutes each then hands us the test. It was all over in an hour and a half. There was people who got more questions wrong than is allowable but because he had signed all the licence forms before we got there it was obvous that failing was impossible. I called the people running the course yesterday and complained. I would have rathered if I had gained some knowledge and failed the test than learn nothing and basically pay $70 to buy a pass. Its a bit of a worry that the young guy next to me got some of the compulsary questions wrong and I am likely to meet him on the water somewhere. When I get my refund back I think I should talk to the MSB about it. A general boat licence test in my opinion is very basic, thats why I wanted to to a course so that when I finally get on the water I will be a little more confident and reduce the risk of harming, myself, my family or someone else. From what I saw the other night, they may as well issue them in a cornflakes packet.
sf17fisherman
30-11-2005, 08:35 AM
well sounds like you did the right thing but for the next one and if your keen to move ahead i would advise you look under servay (sp) in the phone book and ring a few of them up and for $200 odd dollers they will come out and give the boat the fine tooth treatment and give you a written report on the boat that covers stringers bulkheads transomes the lot
so it could save your thousands on a bad boat but give you cofindence for only $200 ;)
as for the licence thing well yeh that is a real shame and i would be reporting it for sure
god knows howmany classes have been passed like this and how many people are out there that really maybe shouldn't be
Gbanger
30-11-2005, 09:18 AM
dont you think 30 days warranty is a little bit thin
JubJub
30-11-2005, 06:32 PM
Is there much difference between Allycraft and Quintrex hulls to justify the difference in price ?
30-11-2005, 11:35 PM
JubJub, I would think that boat should be more towards $10,000
Best to wait and just keep looking private as people sell for lots of reasons, yards only sell for one reason .....profit.
My first boat was a 5.2m fibreglass rumrunner with 115 Hp 1978 Evinrude. bought for $7,500. learnt a lot on that boat then upped for the new 575 outsider when I was confident (after 6 years)
Just wait for the right one to come along
JubJub
01-12-2005, 09:11 AM
Well I found something I am happy with. I picked up a Quintrex Bay Hunter Caprice with a 75 Hp merc with only 40 hours on it. The boat is like new. The best part is it was 10 minutes from home.
bushbeachboy
01-12-2005, 09:53 AM
Well done Jub Jub. May it give you many years of fun fun fun!!!!!!
JubJub
01-12-2005, 12:56 PM
Well done Jub Jub. May it give you many years of fun fun fun!!!!!!
Thanks and thank you to everyone for thier advice. I pick the boat up in a few hours and I am over the moon with my purchase.
01-12-2005, 01:11 PM
Sound like a good rig JubJub,
Look forward to seeing the pics and reading the reports.
Hopefully you and the family will enjoy the benefits of family boating and you'll get a good run so as not to lament the cost of it...I'm not talking about the money...but the Harley :)
It should be a good boat to launch from Minnie Water..we'll be down there from the 17th...staying in the caravan park til Jan 14th...just look for the flamin' riptide ::)...you'll know what I eman when you see it ;)...you might be able to take the bike off the biker...but you'll never take the biker out of him!!! 8-)
JubJub
01-12-2005, 06:11 PM
No doubt I will see you around . You will know me as I am the one with the grin from ear to ear ;D
JubJub
01-12-2005, 06:13 PM
And another
JubJub
01-12-2005, 06:15 PM
Last one
01-12-2005, 10:30 PM
Maaateee...nice rig!!!!
you've got a right to be pleased...well done
seabug
01-12-2005, 10:37 PM
Hi JubJub,
Great purchase,
No wonder you are grinning
It looks Brand New.
Seabug
JubJub
01-12-2005, 10:44 PM
Rhys I couldnt be happier tonight. They guy I purchased it off was unreal. I was $500 short and when he called me this morning to say he accepted my offer all I could suggest was that I paid him what I could today and he hang onto the boat till next week and he says dont worry about that just drop it in when you have it. The boat was from Dubbo and has had about 39 of its 41 hours in fresh water and its like new through out. He was asking $16750 for it I offered $15500 and at that I was $500 short and when I looked at the classified tonight again I saw one advertised for $21,400 After seeing some of the other boats around for the same money I think I had a win today. I am gunna take a carton over with the $500 for the guy when I pay him the balance. And after all the running around and dissapointments who would think I found a boat 10 minutes from home..... brilliant
familyman
02-12-2005, 05:17 PM
Its fate,
Nice looking rig mate ,good on you
cheers jon
JubJub
02-12-2005, 07:15 PM
Thanks Jon,
Getting her wet on saturday for the first time. Spent the day checking over everything and the only fault I could find was a weld on the one of the dash brackets had let go so a stainless bolt and its good as new
JubJub
05-12-2005, 11:55 AM
Took the boat to Wardell on the weekend and had a run around the river for a while. I am really happy with it. One thing I did notice though was when trimmed in to far it wants to turn right. Then when I trim out it wants to porpoise. There seems to be a very fine position where it feels right. Is that normal or should I have someone take a look at the mounting set up?
05-12-2005, 03:15 PM
Mate, could be the anode needs to be fine tuned. Its the little zinc fin behind the prop...if it is pulling starboard, then adjust the fin toward the port...probably a good idea to mark where it is already sitting with some white out or similar, pull the screw right out, reposition it toward the Port, replace the screw after re sealing it with a thread sealer (the appropriate loctite product...not blue , red or green...you'll never undo it...there will be one for alloy...but I don't know its number) so it doesn't vibrate out...the porpoising is a trim issue...maybe the bar is set too many holes out which pushes the motor too far out on full trim causing it to push the bow too far up but can't hold it there....you could try to shift the bar in one hole or mention it all to your mechanic for the next service and have him check it out for you...mate it must be a great feeling...good on you...
Did the fam enjoy it too???
JubJub
05-12-2005, 06:20 PM
Thanks mate I will check it out.
Yeah they loved it. Didnt get much of a chance to have a fish but I am getting organised to have a go in the river tomorrow night for a while. I am keen for a few muddies