View Full Version : Is this a good buy?

foggy
16-03-2006, 06:57 AM
What do you guys think about this. Looks to be in really good nick. Is the price about right?

http://boatpoint.ninemsn.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx?UsedBoatID=1614789&TabID=3338&Alias=boatpointau

16-03-2006, 07:28 AM
Looks about right depending on the motor.
It is a good size as a runaround.

The hours on the motor and maybe the service history could be important to look at with close scrutiny.

Also check the quality of the trailer around the bearings, springs and bolts.

88fishframe
16-03-2006, 09:32 AM
Looks good but it is a 1993 model - getting up on 13 years old now so check it out and especially the motor. ;)

bcb20
16-03-2006, 09:40 AM
Looks pretty neat, and I wouldn't think that's overly priced. For a rig in neat and tidy condition with all the usual checks done, don't see any reason wht not to look at it further.......

Best of luck.

16-03-2006, 09:45 AM
The old 'rude might be of concern but other than that she looks the goods

Cheers and Beers

SgBFish
16-03-2006, 10:36 AM
What about the fuel tank?
Can you inspect it or is it like alot of boats that it can't be accessed or inspected. Could be costly to replace. Its the things you can't see that cost you money later.

MulletMan
16-03-2006, 11:24 AM
I've never been let down by the fact that a neat, clean and well kept boat reflects on the whole vessel, motor, electrics and everything. As this unit is 13 years old, it seems a credit to the guy who owned it.
Don't see any 27 MHz or VHF antennae on it! Does he have radios fitted?
Boaties who fit covers to their motors usually do it to protect them so that is the sign of an owner who went the extra bit ..............................
I reckon it is pretty overpriced all the same.
If the motor is getting up towards the 800-1000 mark (as it should be after 13 years) then it is most likely approaching some pretty heavy maintenance - and expense.
One trick to pull with the sales guy is to tell him you already have a trailer that will fit it and don't really want another one.
Being the good guy I am, I rang a mate I have in the business on the Northside of Brissy and he tends to think it would have been traded at about $12-13000 approx and then marked up to the present price. Ask the salesman to see the contract of trade or sale from the original owner. If he won't show it to you, get a bit twitchy over the price.
As someone already said, this is not a young motor, gearbox etc. and just because it runs OK on the day doesn't mean it is in good shape internally.
Decisions decisions eh?
Hope you finish up with a great vessel all the same!

ahoj
16-03-2006, 12:53 PM
remember Mad Turs problems....... Buy a magnifying glass and go through the lot

Ahoj

Alex9797
16-03-2006, 01:43 PM
just out of interest a guy called me about a boat I have for sale last week and asked me to email him some photos of it. He didn't indentify himself as a dealer and I thought nothing of it so emailed the photos. The guy was has the same name as the salesman in the ad for the above boat. I hate pr#$@ks like this who feel they need to be a little shady all the time. I suppose it could be a coincidence. Sorry to highjack the thread however I am sure that we would all like to deal with people who have nothing to hide .

Alex

ahoj
16-03-2006, 05:49 PM
marlin has a nice boat for sale all done up from the bottom to the top and you will be sure that the warranty is in place ---talk to him.

Ahoj

wayne_cook
16-03-2006, 06:54 PM
plenty of good advise there.
Query.See what price they think old motor is worth.
If good hold them to it and trade for new donk at your best shopped around new price.

snave
20-03-2006, 11:16 PM
check your pm

whykickacatalong
21-03-2006, 03:23 PM
G'day. I have seen that boat at the yard as I have just bought a Savage 4.8 cuddy from there, to be picked up this weekend. As always the pics make them look nicer but the quick look over it seemed like it was fine, it was only a quick look. I would have looked closer but the motor age put me off a bit but that does not mean it aint any good.

As for the dealer, I have found him to be very good so far and quite happy to help out with stuff such as getting a boat mechanic to install a live bait pump, clean and replace the brakes and hubs before I pick it up with only a small deposit paid (1/2 of what it is costing to do the stuff) I had a mechanic come and check mine which gave a full report on the hull, trailer and motor and even had a look inside the cylinders with an endoscope. Cost was $150 and well worth it. If you want his details later let me know.

I am also paying $400 for a 2 year warrenty on the motor which while a limited warrenty (they will pay up to $1000 on motor, $1000 on gearbox, $350 on prop etc it gives some peace of mind.

The dealer has not been open long but reports I have heard from those who have delt with him say that they dont carry crap boats so as yet he seems the jit. As for the previous comment about him possably ringing someone about buying a boat, I dont understand what the problem is. I assume his money is a good as a private buyers and if he can make money from it I guss that is why he is in business.