View Full Version : custom extras
piglet
29-03-2006, 03:19 PM
If you were going to build a custom boat what would be the first extra to be fitted
impulse492f
29-03-2006, 04:09 PM
I'd put in a garden bed....................
so you can plant a money tree, but keep it watered.
Bashir
29-03-2006, 04:33 PM
a hardtop of some description
I'd be thinking hard about putting a motor on it ::) ::) ::)
piglet
29-03-2006, 06:10 PM
all the unemployed comedians in the world and some are still trying to break into the field
nodjule
29-03-2006, 06:43 PM
A 400 litre beer fridge :o
piglet
29-03-2006, 07:00 PM
could you empty it champ
nicko233
29-03-2006, 07:20 PM
extensive rod holdering
29-03-2006, 09:15 PM
temprite with keg in the esky will save room, or regerated compartment under seat! fridge will probably rust!
2DKnBJ
29-03-2006, 10:40 PM
Piglet
Mate if you put a post up without refining the Q a bit you will end up with the replies you have.All in good humor of course. ;D ;)
Cheers Dazza
piglet
30-03-2006, 06:19 AM
no offence taken
piglet
30-03-2006, 06:51 AM
ok so I have made a descision and am going to get a 5.5mCC for offshore bit of creek on the bad days plate built I was just looking for some thoughts on what other more experienced ausfish folk would make certain they got fitted
piglet
30-03-2006, 06:51 AM
ok so I have made a descision and am going to get a 5.5mCC for offshore bit of creek on the bad days plate built I was just looking for some thoughts on what other more experienced ausfish folk would make certain they got fitted
krazyfisher
30-03-2006, 07:18 AM
1. nice comfy seats
2. two bait tanks one plumbed
3. t-top
4. deck wash
5.big fuel tank about 200ltrs
6. two large buildge pumps
7. lots and lots of rod holders
8. removable carpet
9. lockable and waterproof console
10. removable baitboard
11.ladder
12 built in tackle storage
cooky
30-03-2006, 07:26 AM
some lovely ladies!! :o
Barrymundi
30-03-2006, 08:25 AM
quality esky
dual batteries
piglet
30-03-2006, 08:57 AM
would you know what to do with them cooky
rockape
30-03-2006, 09:00 AM
biggest, fattest sounder i could afford
cd player - nothing better than sitting back with line in the water few tunes and couple mates talking trash!
30-03-2006, 09:04 AM
hydraulic steering
nodjule
30-03-2006, 11:41 AM
hydraulic steering
Good call, definatly Hyd steering...
piglet
30-03-2006, 11:50 AM
never driven a boat with hyd. steering what are the benefits apart from being lighter (i imagine)
30-03-2006, 01:03 PM
hydraulic steering
seems a bit of an overkill for a plate 5.2CC [smiley=huh2.gif]
krazyfisher
30-03-2006, 02:28 PM
no way I had hydraulic steering on a 5mtr long boat it was great, but I must say I have got used to cable again
Daan1
30-03-2006, 05:08 PM
I am in the same predicament. Most things on krazyfishers list are going on the boat. Not sure about a ttop or a bimini though?
sid_fishes
30-03-2006, 05:58 PM
jeremy, mate ive got hydraulic steering on my black pearl and its great, best thing since sliced bread. and any boat i own will have a suzuki 4 st attached to its bum
nodjule
30-03-2006, 08:00 PM
hydraulic steering
seems a bit of an overkill for a plate 5.2CC [smiley=huh2.gif]
Why would Hyd steering on a 5.2 seem an overkill, that makes absolutly no sense to me what so ever, Hydraulic steering is perfect for that sized boat, unless you know something that the rest of us don't know... fair dinkum it is the bees knees, if I was ever to purchase another boat it would be in the top three things to get.... First on the list would be a wife that likes fishing :-* :-*
CHEERS.
isaac
30-03-2006, 09:27 PM
Piglet I would go for something like krazyfisher has said;
- Under floor kill tank
- Rear removable bait board with as many rod holders you can fit on it
- Large plumbed live bait tank with deck wash hose
- Large console if its the main storage area, or a smaller console with a raised casting deck with storage under it or just under floor storage
- Removable or Fold down T-Top Canopy
- Biggest underfloor fuel tank you can fit for those big island trips
- Fibreglass esky with padding for a seat
- Twin batteries, colour sounder, chart plotter - seperate units
- Hydraulic steering a must for the big 4 stroke on the back
- Even if self draining decks, 2 large bilge pumps with auto switch just in case
- As many rod holders as you can fit
- Side pockets
- Dedicated rubbish bin thingy
- Burley pot and muncher
- Deck lighting for night fishing
And make sure the hull is a good one to start with or your not going to enjoy any of it ;D cheers isaac
Any_Weather
31-03-2006, 03:06 AM
Mate a plumbed under floor kill tank is a must. Try to avoid the ones that drain into the bilge if you can.
Lee
krazyfisher
31-03-2006, 06:43 AM
I use my small bait tank as a bin and it is the best thing I have just makes clean up so easy
31-03-2006, 08:21 AM
and don't forget a deck wash system...better than a bucket of water...shifts the blood, guts and squid ink quickly and effectively ;D ;D ;D ;D
rhys
cyclone
31-03-2006, 09:24 AM
Piglet your going to need a 50' riviera to fit all this in but just think of all the girls you will fit on it. In all seriousness put a lot of effort into the baitboard, kill and bait tanks, deck wash, placment of rod holders, knives, tools etc. If you can get all this in the right place first go you will be doing well. Oh maybe a stainless pole that goes from the front of the canopy to the floor would be a nice touch opps! I think it's time to go. Andrew.
MulletMan
31-03-2006, 11:24 AM
Ooooops. sorry!
How do I delete a double post?
Duh!
MulletMan
31-03-2006, 11:26 AM
This would be kinda essential I reckon! ;) ;) ;)
What about a real lairy paint job with flames and stuff coming off the bow? ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Just fishin Revs :P
Coontakinta
31-03-2006, 01:27 PM
Geez pink panther, doubt there'd be much fishing going on with that aboard. Would be spending to much time with it and not enough on the fishing!
Piglet, I have just gone through a similar experience and wondered what i should add to my new rig to help it be most useabale for longer. ie, what features would I want in a boat as my experience with a bigger boat increased?
In adelaide we dont have as many livebaiting oportunities as u eastern states boys but we do have a fairly good mulloway fishery in our main port. This was something I was hoping to get more opportunity to do so a "plumbed" live bait tank was a gimme! As most of this fishing is a night time proposition some decent deck and navigation lighting would also be essential along with a decent kill tank to hold the catch. I 8nt sure of its capacity nor that of the live bait tank and i'm sure its a tad small for a decent jew, but its plenty big enough to keep a few BIG SA reds on ice.
A folding targa bar / rocket launcher was again essential. Have to put that amoury somewhere outta harms way and folding to facilitate easier storage. The seats were upgraded from those of the standard for a couple of reasons, one was comfort, second was the look, and finally because the mrs said she wanted those type. (I never told her, but I wanted them when I saw they were an option also! ;))
A lack of storage had me get the side pockets extended and the seat boxes made larger, a wise move in the end as this had allowed me to incorporate a couple of those inbuilt tackle storage systems into the boxes without them being intrusive or taking away too much storage space.
A transom door and dive ladder were also deemed appropriate to aid in access to the boat for cleaning etc @ the ramp, as well as the odd swim session. Bimini and clears also for our cold Sthn winter.
I also wanted dual batteries for security and some some form of fuel management system for the 125 litre underfloor tank. I intially thought about a single unit chartplotter & sounder, but settled on a two unit set up. A marine radio and also some form of radio for entertainment. (my crew rnt as easy on the eye as pink panthers! :'() Ouch! :o Errrrrr, except when its my mrs aboard of course! :-[
I'll post a couple of pics hereabouts to show what I mean
I'd dearly love a bait board, but fear it would be somewhat intrusive so I've thought about a bermuda removeable type, but this would not be practicle as the supports would not fit in the transome because of the batteries and LB tank, so a removeable solid type board is being looked @
Coonta
Coontakinta
31-03-2006, 01:30 PM
In this pic u can see the how I have had the boxes extended to the hull of the boat and the upgraded seats I had fitted to them.
Coontakinta
31-03-2006, 01:39 PM
Finally this picture shows the uncluttered and neat finish of the transom. I initially looked @ a trailcraft but the runabout has a nasty padded box up against the transom which holds the batteries etc and is supposed to be the weatherproof storage. Well I wanted an uncluttered work area and hatches to cover the unsightly things like batteries and LBT pumps.
In hindsight a deckwash may have been a handy inclusion, and perhaps something I will look @ later along with a bilge pump for the kill tank, which because of its location, i think) doesnt drain when under way.
01-04-2006, 09:37 AM
No sweat GBC, ;) just tryin' to be inconspicuous ;D ;D ;D ;D
Then Go to the Fisher Boats web site, then phone Col,at Fisher, and talk to him.
Great bloke to talk to
David