View Full Version : Signature doesn't know how to fix.
swivels
11-04-2006, 06:22 PM
The boat is way heavier on the starboard side which makes the boat sit unlevel and list to starboard under power with one battery on the twin battery tray and worst with two batteries .
(which was advertised on the sale slip & all signature advertisements with a twin battery tray)
Sent the boat back at least four times just after I bought it and was told I can not use the battery tray .Still refuse to fix it .
All they did was to move the battery from the battery tray over to the port side floor to try and mask the problem maybe they are stalling till the warranty runs out.
Any advice will appreciated.
11-04-2006, 06:30 PM
If you had the boat "SURVEY" they have a instrament that can measure the thickness of the fibaglass on each side of the boat (maybe some marine engineers have the same tool), its my believe though that the glass would need to be a lot thicker to cause a noticable problem. If a novice was using the chopper gun when build the hull it would be possible. Not a nice problem to have. I wonder if it has ingressed water on one side of the hull.
11-04-2006, 06:56 PM
I know it's not the solution you want but if all else fails put tabs on it!! It will fix the problem and generally improve the boats handling.
swivels
11-04-2006, 06:59 PM
G'day Blaze
No I parked the boat on a steep slope to make sure no water was in the
hull.
11-04-2006, 07:14 PM
hi swivels
wasnt thinking of water that would freely run out the back, more along the lines of trapped somewhere in a air tight chamber or if the wrong flotation has been fitted, maybe this has absorb water somehow.
At this stage I'm drawing at straws
swivels
11-04-2006, 08:44 PM
BLAZE
I took all the bungs including the bungs in air tight chamber out total 6 in my boat.
Signature been around boats for a long time and I spent some good money you would think they would have fixed it in 14 months.
11-04-2006, 10:15 PM
Dont Know mate, only trying to give you a few ideas.
may be best to have an independent marine survey to do an assessment of the boat, wont be cheap but maybe your only option
12-04-2006, 09:48 AM
Has the boat been looked at by Haines themselves or just the dealer?
Cheers & Beers
swivels
12-04-2006, 03:28 PM
G'DAY argle
Yes the boat was looked at by signature .
I will try and put some photos on web page that was sent to signature.
12-04-2006, 05:01 PM
Is the engine sitting square in the middle?? You could check with a tape measure, although you would think that the dealer/Haines would have done that?? What model Signature is it anyway??
Cheers and Beers
jamesmcjim
12-04-2006, 07:00 PM
hi.
does it sit in the water at rest level? anything else in the boat besides batteys .if any heavy items place in middle. then see? cheers
swivels
18-04-2006, 09:04 PM
Here are the photos I sent signature of the boat completely empty with no water anywhere in the hull there is one battery on the starboard side and I am not in the boat yet .
Answer to your question
I have been sending the boat back to signature from new.
I made a complaint to the Dealer and they put the boat in the water and took their own photos of boat leaning to starboard and sent these photos to signature.
They still will not fix the boat under warranty.
Any suggestion.
18-04-2006, 09:47 PM
If sig wont talk, i suppose the only course of action for you is to documuent every think along with an engineers appraisal and off to court
Looks like a lot of extra wieght on the starboard side, maybe 100kg.
what wieght is required on the port side to level the boat?
19-04-2006, 10:37 AM
Is it just the photo angle or is the motor mounted off centre??? And what model Signature is it??
Cheers and beers
Is it just the photo angle or is the motor mounted off centre??? And what model Signature is it??
Cheers and beers
It does look a little off centre to me too...there seems to be slightly more daylight between the left bung (if that's what it is?) and the right one. This of course assumes that these are symetrical in the first place. Also, it looks as though the visible part of the motor well is a bit bigger on the port than the starboard. I wouldn't imagine it would have to be out by much to produce the lean in an empty boat, particularly with the battery/steering/wiring all on that side. Could be an optical illusion because of the list, though.
Only a tape measure will prove it...please let us know how you go - Signature certainly don't have a reputation for stuffing up, and as an owner myself I'd be interested in the outcome.
Good luck,
frankj
19-04-2006, 01:12 PM
I'm not surprised you are upset. I'd be livid if I was getting a response like that from the manufacturer on a new boat.
It must be heeling right over when you get in.
What was their response to you?
Does the boat list to port if the battery is moved over to the port side?
Frank
19-04-2006, 03:36 PM
If the motor IS off centre it would be a dealer issue not a manufacturer issue as the dealer would have done the fit-up of the motor.
Cheers and Beers
swivels
20-04-2006, 07:47 PM
Thanks for all your response
I will let you know the outcome.
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
20-04-2006, 09:33 PM
It wouldn't be something stupid like the underfloor fuel tank fitted closer to the starboard side would it?
Cheers and good luck
DaveSue_Fishos_Two
20-04-2006, 09:34 PM
If you can't see the tank, you could try draining it and see if she sits square in the water.
Just a thought
john_laura
20-04-2006, 09:46 PM
www.notgoodenough.org
Could get you more off a response out of them. They might not like the extra puplic exposure and quickly see the light.
bigmack
03-05-2006, 10:24 AM
ANy more news on this item and why the boat listed to starboard?
Let us know - quite interested to know the outcome.
swivels
22-05-2006, 06:40 PM
The boat went back to signature and they fixed the problem
They found water trapped in the hull .
Happy Boating.
Hi Swivels,
Good to hear you got a positive outcome.
As a curious fellow Signature owner, do you mind me asking where the water was trapped, and how it got there?
Thanks,
22-05-2006, 09:49 PM
well bugger me, blaze had that in the first reply. Really glad the problem was sort, as already asked, How did it get water in there? How have they remedied the problem? Its so very easy to stop the water going in, do all repair work from outside (if it was a hull problem) and thereby mask the problem.
23-05-2006, 09:16 AM
I reckon it went in the bung hole in the cutout section (or whatever you call it) between the bunks..you know where you sit your tackle box or esky or whatever. This drains into the floor and to let the water out you have to get down on your belly crawl right back towards the bilge and then look back towards the bow, there you will see two sneakily positioned bungs :o Undo bungs and tilt boat up and viola water emtys out :) How do I know this you might ask :-[ :-/ lets just say i stumbled across it after washing the boat and wondering why there was a "sloshing sound" ;D ;D ;D Glad your problem was easily fixed.
Cheers and Beers
swivels
23-05-2006, 06:14 PM
The info I received was there was water in a compartment which did not have a bung to release it and the side pocket has been refibreglassed and so far the problem has been fixed.
impulse492f
23-05-2006, 06:23 PM
I reckon it went in the bung hole in the cutout section (or whatever you call it) between the bunks..you know where you sit your tackle box or esky or whatever. This drains into the floor and to let the water out you have to get down on your belly crawl right back towards the bilge and then look back towards the bow, there you will see two sneakily positioned bungs :o Undo bungs and tilt boat up and viola water emtys out :) How do I know this you might ask :-[ :-/ lets just say i stumbled across it after washing the boat and wondering why there was a "sloshing sound" ;D ;D ;D Glad your problem was easily fixed.
Cheers and Beers
Yep found those ones in my Signature when lying on my back (after it went twang while lifting the boy in the boat at home).
I had water in the inner hull and couldn't work out how it got there. I thought it was via these bungs as there were no plugs installed and the water washed down from the deck. My problem was a slow drip, from the normal outside bung (which i re-sealed the bung housing into the hull and bought a new plug). In 8 hours of fishing the bung let in 6 litters of water via an incorrectly fitting washer. I worked this out by leaving the bung in from the ramp, tilting the boat up at home and timing the drip over a 2 hour period and did the calc's. It’s amazing how much water a drip will allow in or out of boat. I fixed the problem with a smear of vasolin.
Cheers and Beers
Yep found those ones in my Signature when lying on my back (after it went twang while lifting the boy in the boat at home).
I had water in the inner hull and couldn't work out how it got there. I thought it was via these bungs as there were no plugs installed and the water washed down from the deck. My problem was a slow drip, from the normal outside bung (which i re-sealed the bung housing into the hull and bought a new plug). In 8 hours of fishing the bung let in 6 litters of water via an incorrectly fitting washer. I worked this out by leaving the bung in from the ramp, tilting the boat up at home and timing the drip over a 2 hour period and did the calc's. It’s amazing how much water a drip will allow in or out of boat. I fixed the problem with a smear of vasolin.
Hey you guys,
I tend to leave all the internal bungs closed at all times, unless there's likely to be water slopping into the cabin. The places I go, and the conditions I go in, I don't really encounter this. I normally find there's a tiny amount of water in the cabin floor, which I get out with a sponge. Obviously, I take them out if hosing out internally, and afterwards leave them open for a week or so to make sure air flows and it's completely dry in there.
Just wondered if you guys have the same approach?
Good luck,
24-05-2006, 09:54 AM
Hi Mike, thats the approach that I use "now" ;) ;D ;D
Cheers and Beers