View Full Version : She wants a bigger boat
sooty66
14-09-2006, 01:03 PM
It all started with inviting the missus out for a fish one day recently.
Loaded up the boat with the usuals, rods, tackle boxes, eskies etc. Launched for a quiet day on the water.
Parked the boat at one of my usual haunts and loaded up the Berley bin and let loose with the bait. Having a beautiful day on the water and then all of a sudden the missus pipes up and spouts!
She's good but I think you need a bigger boat!!!!
What's a man to do, You know I had to ask her to repeat that comment, and she did. I wasn't dreaming.
So now she's got me looking at Magazines and the like, pointing out boats 6 7M etc. Soon very Soon
Let you know how this story ends
Fisho with a big bloody smile - god I luv my missus, just lucky she loves fishing!!!!
solwota
14-09-2006, 01:06 PM
better watch out that boat isn't a euphamism for something else ;D
sooty66
14-09-2006, 01:09 PM
3 Boys and now blanks, got that angle allllllllllll covered!!!
solwota
14-09-2006, 01:17 PM
;D same as me. gotta love those blanks. Sonds like your in for a new boat
congrats
richard
sooty66
14-09-2006, 01:26 PM
Guaranteed to be add-ons if I take her along when I begin the shopping experience??
wessel
14-09-2006, 01:31 PM
Mate, get it in writing first ;D
Decide on the boat that you feel is right for you. Just make sure it is one with an onboard head. The ladies hate the idea of a bucket in the open air.
Any boat with a built in toilet and a hand basin to wash your hands in is a winner with any lady.
Wess
hussy
14-09-2006, 01:37 PM
any chance in taking mine out with ya ? , i want a bigger one but dont have the guts to ask. hubby
Lone_Wolf
14-09-2006, 01:48 PM
what she want is what she gets, ya lucky bugga!
Fishing_Widow
14-09-2006, 03:15 PM
The other trick to use (which my dearest husband did to me when we were buying the new boat) is to find the boat that you want and then show her the barebones and talk about what you can do later on and what extras you can get. If she is anything like me it will be:
Make sure you get what you want because you are not getting one for a while.
Amazingly the budget went up :o and then it way my fault :-?
Oh well I can't complain it is his pride and joy. ;)
Nomes ;D ;D
14-09-2006, 03:53 PM
You know that the missus is always right ;) Woohoo thats the kind of shopping I like to do
Cheers and Beers
14-09-2006, 04:27 PM
been there..done that..my missus basically chose our boat.
14-09-2006, 04:31 PM
Whats the catch
Theres gotta be a catch
what does she want
or what has she done thats shes not telling you about
stevedemon
14-09-2006, 05:54 PM
Hay sooty66 mate do not complain before she changes her mind wish my other half would say these sort of things when i told her i was going to buy a bigger boat she just looked like most woman do when the answer is no and then told me if i came home with a bigger toy the dog house was looking safer ;D ;) ::) :-? 8-) :-X mate just go with the flow
Cheers ;D ;D
Steve 8-) 8-)
First of all congratulations you must be a very happy man, so many decisions.
The Damdest thing happen to me as well.
Must have had the wife in the new (second hand) boat for ........I'd say 10 minutes, taking the speed easy with the kids and her when the wind blows from behind and she and the kids gets a big whiff of 2 stroke fumes and turned to me and says...............'how do you put up with that stink',....... I respond with, "well it makes a lot of blokes crook as dogs but i can put up with it as I haven't got much choice". She keeps mumbling for a while and i really didn't think much more about it. But she kept thinking.
To cut a long story short, I found a good price on a 4 stroke and she gives the big ok, and the rest is on the back of the boat and 120hrs old now.
She wanted to replace the seats last time. If I could just get her interested in the sounder and GPs..............Sure makes taking her out in the boat for a day easy.
Mate enjoy your good fortune
Best of luck
Pual
jim_likes_2_fish
14-09-2006, 10:33 PM
O.K. so now I have a plan. When you get the new boat let me know and I'll bring my mrs out in our boat. She will see how much bigger and more comfortable yours is and then hopefully she will say the same thing.
Your a lucky man.
Cheers Jim
on-one
15-09-2006, 07:32 AM
"If I could just get her interested in the sounder and GPs"
Pual, next time she's out on the boat get lost and stuck on a sandbank, after an incident last month my wife's been showing me chartplotters and sounders she's found in the whitworths catalogue and asking if I want radar too
chris_stanley
15-09-2006, 10:09 AM
Congratulayions mate, the biggest hurdle has been crossed. I'm about to tell the boss i've just put a deposit on a new platey. I will do that tonight as the full out will only be a couple of days as i'm off to Mt Isa for work for a couple of months. It will all be sweet though (i hope).
TIM-DONSELAAR
15-09-2006, 11:39 AM
my fiancee and i were saving for a house for years and with all the intrest rates going up etc i mentioned " im sick of saving a house deposit " if we wanna live together so bad why dont we just rent a house and then we can buy a bigger boat,well she thought that was a great idea so were just about to move into a rental at springfield lakes and im looking at trading in my polycraft 4.1 tiller steer for a polycraft 4.55 frontrunner,probably should of kept saving for a house but we would rather a bigger boat,i mean were both still young (both 22) so a house can come later on [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
cheers tim :)
I would like a bigger one also, but I am told,that it cant be done.
Oh well,gotta be happy with lifes deals.
David
BilgeBoy
15-09-2006, 10:02 PM
Mate run out and buy a lotto ticket.....Quick!!! before ya luck turns ;)
Bilgy
haggis
16-09-2006, 07:08 PM
i was happy with my little tinny .
but the missus said she needed a bigger boat .
that was eight weeks ago and today we are the proud owners
of a bigger boat . nessie hunter II . It is only 4.1 meters but cant
fit anything else down the side of the hoose .
;D ::) :o
16-09-2006, 09:10 PM
haggis..just get something bigger and just leave it in the water if that makes her happy..no towing..no clean up when you get home..walk on...walk off..lazy boating.
abitfishy
16-09-2006, 11:53 PM
If any of you are heavyish smokers, and the misses isn't and she is always at you to quit, bring the subject up in general conversation of loving to have something a bit bigger/more seaworthy/make something up that sounds good, and she might take the bait. 'Well if you quit you could afford to get something bigger.'
Guess what? Its been 4 weeks with no ciggies for me.......... :) :)
17-09-2006, 05:44 PM
My other half was looking at these today
17-09-2006, 05:45 PM
17-09-2006, 05:46 PM
or this one as a project boat..strip and rebuild
17-09-2006, 05:46 PM
and what a project it would be...one hell of a big job
17-09-2006, 07:22 PM
Pinhead
the pick of the boats there is the fairway mate.
what the hull number?? and whats it powered by?? if you know
Steven
18-09-2006, 03:45 AM
Steven...I think the hull number was 54.
It had been used as a charter boat in the Whitsundays
fishfrenzy
18-09-2006, 12:04 PM
:) I totally agree with the misses! I have convinced him to go bigger...5m to 5.3m......hmmmmmmm what next??? ;)
19-09-2006, 08:13 AM
Pinhead
Steven
do you have info on Fairways builds Steven ???
20-09-2006, 03:14 PM
Pinhead
Steven
do you have info on Fairways builds Steven ???
Can get the info if you want.
Wally builds about 6 a year and hes up to number 115?? or there abouts anyway.
Its a two to 3 man show down at southport. Builds a great boat and knows anything you want to know about them.
Steven
Fishing_Widow
05-10-2006, 01:02 PM
Sooty66,
Well have you picked out the new boat yet?
Make sure we get pictures when you get it.
Nomes
JEWIENEWIE
05-10-2006, 01:29 PM
I used to have a 3.95 stessl with an old jono on her. My wife was 6month preg and wanted to go for a run so no worries, i thought. Half an hour into the journey the old girl coughs and splutters, the motor that is and then just dies. No worries i have oars and the tde is with me. Never used oars befor and it really showed. After about an hour on going from one side of the river to the otherMy wife spits it, grabs the oars and rows like a demon back to the ramp. Put the boat on the trailer, she jumps in the drivers seat and instead of going home went staight to my mechanic, boat yard and says go for it, youve got $11,000, get something that our new baby will be safe in!
I am now the proud owner of an 4.2m stacer sea hawk 30light weight merc key start all the bells and whistles brand new!
I have never been so happy about running out of fuel!!!!!!!!! ;D ;D ;D
Jewie
wessel
05-10-2006, 04:04 PM
Jewie
Like the saying goes
Never get between a tiger and her cubs. I can just imagine the scene with her getting behind the wheel and taking off straight to the mechanics...... priceless
Wessel
JEWIENEWIE
05-10-2006, 04:48 PM
Wessel, the worst thing was mate that she let it slip to my mates wife about my rowing capabilities, so you can imagine the crap i coped from the boys at the pub that weekend!! Then you could imagine the more crap i got from my wife when i let it slip that i ran out of fuel!!
Geezzz
Jewie