View Full Version : Advice on suitable tinny?
Synful
29-12-2006, 04:00 PM
Afternoon all,
Just looking for some advice on what type of tinny to get (seem to have talked the wife into it) for fishing the rivers and creeks in Cairns. My initial thoughts are a little punt with a 6hp motor (not looking to break any speed records here), just want something that's easy to launch and retrieve that will let me putter 'round, get from A to B that's reasonably cheap to run ;)
I'm mainly after something that will let me chase Barra, Jacks and Trevally etc.
Am I better off going with one of those deals where you pay off the boat $xyz per month or should I save up first and pay cash?
Does anyone have any advice as to what dealers / brand to avoid? By the same token, is buying a used boat a good idea or steer clear no matter what the cost?
Andrew.
29-12-2006, 04:34 PM
Always pay cash where you can.... somwhere between $1500 and $2500 will get you a basic rig as you describe... around the 4-6k mark will allow you to go somehting a bit bigger and nicer and capable such as a 4.2m with a 40hp and varying fitout.
There are some brands to be careful of, but this is mainly a personal thing.
Make sure you're comparing apples to apples in whatever you do and as far as the engine is concerned... get it checked out by a qualified reputable marine mechanic.
Check the boat for cracks and repaired welds and any dodgy wiring wich will speed up corrosion.
There will be a heap more info to come from other members, bear in mind on a rig like 12' with 6hp... you cannot go too far wrong ;)
Synful
29-12-2006, 04:48 PM
Always pay cash where you can.... somwhere between $1500 and $2500 will get you a basic rig as you describe... around the 4-6k mark will allow you to go somehting a bit bigger and nicer and capable such as a 4.2m with a 40hp and varying fitout.
Thanks Dave - the $1500 - $2000 range seems to be the rough average for a used rig around the 12' mark; is this what you are referring to here?
Make sure you're comparing apples to apples in whatever you do and as far as the engine is concerned... get it checked out by a qualified reputable marine mechanic.
This was my concern in particular where going for a used rig....
There will be a heap more info to come from other members, bear in mind on a rig like 12' with 6hp... you cannot go too far wrong ;)
Thanks, look forward to hearing from everyone else!
Andrew.
Borminator
29-12-2006, 04:48 PM
Hi Andrew,
I also live in FNQ so I have an idea of the sort of fishing you are talking about. There are obviously always heaps of things to consider when buying a boat. Sure a small punt and a six will be cheap to run but you also have to consider the down side. You will not be able to stand up in a very small boat which is a pain if you want to cast lures or baits at snags etc. There are some big creek systems up your way and sometimes it may be necessary to travel fair distances and a motor that small may become frustrating as you travel further and further from home. I have fished in boats this small as well as many a bit bigger and would always go bigger if you can. There are always some great second hand boats around if you are willing to have a look, especially in Cairns. Lots of boats are bought with the best intentions of using them all the time only to sit in the garage. There are some bargains around as a new boat is like a new car and the initial depreciation is usually big. Grab the Cairns Post and have a look on Saturday or cruise the local dealers to get an idea of sizes and prices. As far as paying a boat off or paying cash - Cash is always better - no interest. But sometimes the convience of having what you want straight away takes over. Everyone has different ideas of what sort of boat they want. Just consider that if you want to travel some distance in big creeks or rivers you may need something that can handle a bit of chop. Something a bit bigger like a 3.9 with a vee and a 25hp may be up your alley. Most brands of small tinnie are good quality and comes down to personal choice. Best of luck.
saurian
29-12-2006, 05:50 PM
Synful , 12 ft dinghy with 9.9/15 hp.
Would cover you for a few years.
I mean in the territory and nth W.a that was the standard barra rig
ten years ago.
Well now they are speedboats with leather recliners & plasma sounders etc ......
Just beware of old motors , old tinnies , well if someone hasn't hit ever stump and rock in the river and washed it out after use it will be fine.
Others have pretty well said it all.
My preference is for newer motor if secondhand.
Get out there.
Ta.
Dory4.1
29-12-2006, 05:57 PM
Andrew,
I agree with Blue Dog, go second hand, and look for a slightly larger boat with a bigger engine, mine is 4.1 meters with a 20Hp, I would have liked a few extra Hp.
Rgs
Michael
29-12-2006, 07:44 PM
Its a bit difficult not knowing your exact circumstances and requirements.
Saurian is right in saying that a 12 footer will do the job for those creeks around your area.But the arguement put up By bluedog and blackened is hard to go past.Around 14 foot with a 30 hp or so makes a much more versatile rig,even capable of a bit of inshore fishing for mackeral if the weather is good. And for doing just a few k's you will be suprised how little fuel you will use and still easy to launch and retreive singlehanded .Mate there is always heaps advertised in the Cairns Post on sat. It would be well worth your while to check out as many later model boats as you can before committing to one.
cheers and good luck
05-01-2007, 10:52 PM
Andrew,
Wondered if you have seen anything that takes your fancy?
06-01-2007, 07:39 AM
If you buy a used boat, my advice would be, buy one that is 'almost new', like no older than a year or two.
Preferably from an owner who has respected and looked after it, and most especially the motor.
If it presents like a heap, then it probably is.
If its tidy, clean and generally looks like its been cared for, thats got to be a bonus.
I'd agree with previous statements, the motor is the important thing, you want to be able to be confident it will start when you want it to!
I have a 4.2m with a 30. Cost me $6,400 second hand, didn't save much but the previous owner really knew his stuff and the boat was fully sorted, and only 12 months old when I bought it.
I've never had a problem with boat or motor, just for your interest its a Stessco with a Tohatsu.
Sometimes its worth paying more $ for the peace of mind knowing your purchase will perform and be reliable, best of luck with your boat hunting!
a_big_red_1
06-01-2007, 08:23 AM
hi Andrew, some good boats in todays paper at what your looking for
bugger, i not so long ago sold my 4.35 stacer 40 merc all 3yr old, was a great tinny, even been out to the reef outside Innisfail with it
Crooked
06-01-2007, 09:36 PM
I am about to upgrade my boat and I'm going new, I've had some poor experiences buying second hand and if you can afford to the peace of mind knowing that you can go fishing when you like and make it back to the ramp is priceless.
My old man had a 4.2m savage with a 30hp (this is the size I will be going new) and we would regularly take it to the reefs and islands off Russell Heads (south of Cairns), this size boat can handle a realtively rough sea in that part of the world easily and safely as long as you are sensible and have some idea what you are doing.
This size boat is also great for the estuary so you woud lose nothing there. If you are able to afford a boat of this size to at least get you out to the islands on good days you will find the whole fishing and boating scene much more enjoyable. A day out around the islands on a flat day is fantastic and also opens up more fishing options such as chasing macks and bottom bouncing.
cheers, Evan
Andrew ,
a 3.7m with 15/20 hp mate get you out and all around the inlet over to high island , fitzroy , and the franklins , just pick your day . also car topper-able for lakefeild, bathurst bay and the cape.
Synful
08-01-2007, 11:04 AM
Andrew,
Wondered if you have seen anything that takes your fancy?
Hi Disorderly,
Yeah, seen a few things in the papers over the weekend like CrackerJack mentioned.
Decided to wait a bit and save up and buy a new tinny methinks, definitely seems to be the way to go from a cost and piece of mind point of view.
Going on those "buy now pay later" schemes for $$ per week seems to add an extra $3000.00 to the cost on average which would buy a much better boat in the beginning with the funds being available for the benefit of a bit of patience.
Last thing I want to do is buy a 2nd hand boat and find that I'm stuck in a creek with a few prehistoric critters getting their hopes up. Haven't heard of them trying to capsize boats that are obviously stranded but don't want to find out the hard way either :o
You'd get better odds on England winning an Ashes series than coming out of that in one piece ::)
Hey Andrew,
mate there are a few scaley's around the inlet , but not so many as years ago.
There is a 3m approx around Pyne and Firewood has a 2m + there, Deeral has a couple of lizards as well, but more likely to see them around at night, but then they were there first and where there are crocs there are barra , and the season is about to open.
Mate theres a trap out the front of second beach, a trap in chinamens creek as well , and probably will be trapps around for ever .
Can tell you though, yeah they know what is what, before I got the new boat , I used to go Friday and saturday nights, got a couple of good spots in the inlet, it has really came back since the netting has moved out further,Early this year was Midnite , dark night , going into my fav creek for a fish and I took the entrance a bit to cheap, full bicki straight on to the mud, tide is going out . Now you can't get out of the boat and just push her off , [you just sink and keep on sinking, know from expirience 2 yrs ago ,of pulling a bloke who tried this ,out of the mud]. anyways after about an hour of throwing the anchor out and hauling myself backward I got off , but the thing that had me worried was the 3m crock that turned up and just floated about just off the mud. If I had got out I was a meal I reckon , and if I just sat there waiting for the tide or light I was a meal. So a bit of caution and you'll be right .
What I did find was that with the white light off my headlamp they dive out of sight but my headlamp has a red light as well [so as not to destroy you night vision completely good for casting at night I find] when I used the red light they didn't dive away and you could keep an eye on them cause they will chase you lures .
But I still preferr to fish at night , cooler and less turkeys casting over the top of you cause they don't know any better, quieter and harder for said turkeys to follow you. Sure casting lures at night presents problems but after lots of practice untying birdsnests by headlamp and lots of lost soft plastics it is the deal for me.but always got bait line ready for those times........
ps ... Barra love 100mm dropbear colour slick rigs, or live prawns floated about a half meter below the surface. Jack take anything and there are some 60 - 70 cm jacks being taken at the moment
08-01-2007, 02:34 PM
Synful, imo go secondhand for your first boat, new boats toast the owners with depreciation esp now with all these overpriced little BMT packages around just waiting for a punter who couldn't be bothered putting the necessary 3 items together themselves and pocket the saving.
If you do decide to buy s/h and it works for you send me a PM and if it is in the Cairns area I may be able to cast an eye over it to give you a idea of whether to bother going to the next step to a paid exam.
There are not many secrets an outboard motor does not give up in 10 min (including a run on muffs) without tools although there are a couple of very important areas that need tools to reveal to any level of certainty.