View Full Version : New Zealand trout
chemmy
27-09-2005, 10:07 PM
I got this brown trout at Queenstown in New Zealand in lake Wakatipu which is up to 400 meters deep in places. I tell you what it didn't put up a fight at all. A 23cm bream would have pulled it backwards, oh well trout is trout.
Length=49cm
Weight=? (No scales)
Bait=bread
Tim=at sun set
Method=running sinker down to a swivel then a 50cm leader and a no 6 octopus hook
Line class=6lb
Taste=yummylishess
Cheers chemmy
el_carpo
28-09-2005, 01:54 AM
Nice fish Chemmy! I have to ask you about the bait. We have brown trout in Lake Michigan here in Chicago and I have been trying to catch one every spring for the last three years without success. You catch them on bread? How do you put it on the hook? Do you just tear off a bit of it and hook it on loose or do you mash it into a kind of a tight dough-ball and hook it on like that? I've never heard of bread as bait for trout before and I'm curious. Thanks.
E.C.
chemmy
28-09-2005, 07:48 AM
i mash it into a dough ball and mash it around the hook i hooked about 10 fish but dropped them just at the jetty
el_carpo
29-09-2005, 07:55 AM
LOL. I was just wondering. I think if I used bread where I live, I'd hook mainly carp. What I use for trout are spoons, nightcrawlers (large earthworms) and salmon eggs (spawn sacs). I was wondering if the trout may have thought the bread dough ball was a bunch of eggs. There are lots of people who use orange colored marshmallows for trout and salmon and do really well. The trout follow the salmon and eat their eggs as they spawn.
Thanks Chemmy for the information. I think you have a great fishing spot there to have hooked ten of them! Lucky!
E.C.
chemmy
29-09-2005, 08:38 AM
but i have to be honest with you i read in a book that this lake has a huge supply of salmon. brown and rainbow trout so don't think i did that well i recon that the locals would have thought that that trought was a midget oh well i recon it was great fun. By the way the last trout or maybe salmon i hooked musta been big because it took about 10 maybe 20 meters of line, The one in the photo didn't take any so let your imagination run wild ;D ;D
chemmy
yellahunter
29-09-2005, 03:10 PM
mate if your targeting trout dont use bread, its not the best of baits for them
morty103
01-10-2005, 09:00 AM
Kiwis consider a trophy trout to be 10 pound, my uncle got one at that weight on fly in lake taupo, its mounted on the wall its absolutley huge.
The best method we had was trolling flies around the lake in the big drop offs.
Ive never heard of people using bread to catch trout
philip_thomson
01-10-2005, 09:58 AM
wow nice trout chemmy. was there any snow in queenstown? those mountains look like there was none. we were there december last year and had snow to 600m (queenstown being 400m ASL)
Scott15
01-10-2005, 09:32 PM
sh!t loads there phil
yellahunter
03-10-2005, 08:08 PM
hey mate how good is the fishing on the south island,
ive heard it is really good but ive known people to go for a week or two and not get a bite,
how many did u catch , and did u try the rivers at all
any info
once_bitten
04-10-2005, 05:08 PM
nic fush bro ay ;D
seriously good catch how'd you cook it
grill, oil or smoke
chemmy
04-10-2005, 06:45 PM
i hooked 10 but only landed 2.
I didn't fish the rivers only the lake.
I grilled it and it tasted beautiful ;D
Chemmy
morty103
04-10-2005, 08:03 PM
heres a four and a half pounder from lake taupo in north island, it was one of about 7 we caught in a morning session
morty103
04-10-2005, 08:05 PM
another couple smaller ones
All rainbows, no browns the whole time
All fish were in poor condition as theyd been running up the rivers and only returned to the lake
Morty
morty103
04-10-2005, 08:09 PM
Chemmy,
The brown youve got is a beautiful fish mate, they are far prettier than the rainbows i got.
Morty
chemmy
04-10-2005, 09:21 PM
did they fight ok or were they a dead weight like mine :(
chemmy
04-10-2005, 09:23 PM
here is a closer veiw
yellahunter
05-10-2005, 08:53 PM
they are some great fish, did u fish from the shore or a boat,
im thinking of going over soon
yellahunter
05-10-2005, 08:53 PM
also what did u caytch them on mate
morty103
05-10-2005, 09:27 PM
Chemmy: Mate these ones fought alright, they be a dead weight then you'd get them up to the boat and theyd go right down to the bottom(some areas 80 feet++) and go nuts for a while, not to long though.
Yellahunter, we used a rig for that sort of fishing ive never used, it encompased 3 lures in the one rig. Being the main line down to the leader which held three dropper (paternoster type) loops which held little trolling flies and smallish tassie devils. And we'd keep our eyes glued to the sounder, and when it dropped off from 20 or so feet down to 60 we'd get hit straight up, we had some unreal sessions.
Couple years back when i was there we went up tongariro river, rated one of new zealands best river to fish for trout, it was something i wont forget, you had to crawl through the ferns river side as the fish spook easily. My mate got a couple of smallish rainbows on sinking nymphs, and on the way back we spooked a big brown from under a log which would've gone 8 pound according to my mate the trout guru.
Unreal stlye of fishing when chasing the trout up river on fly, its almost like your hunting the fish.
Remember, you have to have a license to fish, it doesnt cost much, and you do need one, as there are plenty of blokes that patrol the main fished areas
Morty
chemmy
05-10-2005, 09:27 PM
I fished from the shore and used a 7 foot Shimano 2 peice Techniume rod with a simano budjet reel, chicken bones for burly and bread for bait.
I think that is all
morty103
05-10-2005, 09:44 PM
I dug this up from some stuff in my room, its my licence from when i was over there.
Have a look at the photo of the taupo fishing district, its amazing, the lake itself holds a mirriad of creeks which are fishable, there is a key on the map which is colour co-ordinated to which creeks can/cant be fished, but couldnt focus in on it on camera (to blurry)
morty103
05-10-2005, 09:49 PM
photo
morty103
05-10-2005, 09:52 PM
Kiwi fisheries do an unreal job on managing the system by releasing thousands of trout each year into the lake form the hatchery.
el_carpo
05-10-2005, 10:55 PM
Hi again fellas,
I thought you guys might get a kick out of seeing some of the brown trout that are caught over here in the great lakes. These came out of Lake Michigan. Unfortunately, they were not caught by me. I found these pics surfing the net.
el_carpo
05-10-2005, 10:56 PM
el_carpo
05-10-2005, 10:57 PM
el_carpo
05-10-2005, 11:07 PM
;D The biggest one I ever caught would have been too small to even use for bait for these monsters. ;D
Chemmy, you wrote about that one that peeled off a lot of line and got away......maybe it was..... :o You never know, that lake you described is awful deep. There could be some behemoths lurking around down there.
E.C.
Neil_c
06-10-2005, 05:30 PM
Cricky El Carpo, those a ball tearers :o
Nice colours on ya Browny Chemmy.
Lake Taupo is a great place to target both Rainbow and Brown Trout and fully deserves it's reputation, it is however a totally self supporting system with no stocking carried out, this is what makes it so special.
The Tongariro Trout Centre/hatchery is used sparingly these days. It's function is as a failsafe system in case something catasrophic should occur ie: volcanic eruptions. A few thousand fingerlings are produced every year to keep a small pond stocked (at the hatchey) where they hold open days for kids to have a chance to learn the art of fishing. For those who may remember Steve Starling doing a piece about Trout at the Trout Centre with a some rippers swimming behind him, this is a viewing window on the spawning stream that the hatchery is on and is worth the visit just to see them.
More info can be found here http://www.troutcentre.org.nz/
Neil :)
yellahunter
06-10-2005, 08:32 PM
has anyone fished the rivers of the south island, how hard are they on a novice trout angler, ive caught a few on lures before in dams but no flies not wild trout
any ideas 8-) 8-)
bdowdy
21-10-2005, 05:42 PM
:)hi guys im going to queenstown nz in may 2006 for my honeymoon/fishingmoon can any one tell me some great spots inthe south island i can fish and not pay afortune . want areally good fishingmoon. cheers b dowdy... ;D ;D ;D
once_bitten
21-10-2005, 05:48 PM
i work with some kiwis and will post whatever i can for u on monday
cheers nino
ps dont do it the mooning bit i mean
stick to the fishing at least u can kiss them and throw em back
bdowdy
21-10-2005, 06:01 PM
:)thanks nino will look forward to that bdowdy... :)
HOOKLINEnSINKER
24-10-2005, 10:26 PM
i was in ROTARUA a few years back and caught some nice browns on fly but was on a boat on the lake. but i did have this booklet that you can pick up at a newsagents ove there and it gives you all the rivers to fish.
as for chemmy i suggest you borrow a 4 or 5 weight fly rod then we will see if the trout is a non fighter.once you catch one on a dry fly you will be hooked.especially a 4lb plus on 5 weight.
also if you go to england they have a lot of man made lakes and stock 20+lb trout for you to catch.
good luck daniel
chemmy
24-10-2005, 11:24 PM
now that would be fun :D ;D
once_bitten
25-10-2005, 05:52 PM
hello again
sorry i didnt get back to u yesterday like i said i would but i only just got the info this arvo
? = spelling
queenstown
go to milford sounds for good trout
west coast
graymouth
hoitika ???
secluded landbase fishing and both have charters
east coast
kiakoura (just north of christchurch) whale watching central
main port in dundien??? landbase (not secluded) both have plenty of charters
my mate recommended the north island for the BEST fishing
i hope this info is of some use to u but remember not to shoot the messenger if u dont get any (fish that is)
if u plan on going to the north island pm me and ill see what i can do for u
good luck and cheers Nino
bdowdy
25-10-2005, 08:59 PM
:)thanks nino ill be on the south island and it sounds like ill have plenty of options. thanks heaps again b dowdy... :) :) :)
Goldscorp125
18-11-2005, 10:34 PM
Hey Morty,
You will find these days that the Taupo hatchery does not release many fish at all.
The hatchery was used alot along time ago. The Taupo district trout are all wild fish.
The hatcherys main role now is for education and is on stand-by incase it is needed.