View Full Version : 50cm - 2kg bass

setthehook
04-05-2006, 09:54 PM
Did a bit of night spinning this week for a few bass with the best being 50cm and over 2kg. All fish were photographed and returned to their homes to fight another day. The lure used for all the fish was a bugger chug with size 8 gamakatsu trebles.
Most fish were taken after 10pm.
Cheers Rob.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/bassbugchug.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/bassrobsaprilcopy.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/50cmbassmay2006.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/bass2may2006.jpg

here are my mates fish who joined me for a couple of nights :)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/viegelbassapril.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/adamcopy.jpg

Smailesy
04-05-2006, 11:12 PM
nice fish rob

TIM-DONSELAAR
05-05-2006, 06:24 AM
nice bass there guys...Well Done [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim :D

Canoedle
05-05-2006, 09:00 AM
Nice Bass guys, that would have been a lot of fun, glad to hear they all went back too. ;)

Az
05-05-2006, 12:35 PM
nice bass mate, still one species im yet to get
where did u get these at?

ibbo
05-05-2006, 12:40 PM
Yeah where abouts exactly? ;)

HaHa ;D ;D ;D

elephrez1
05-05-2006, 05:30 PM
well done,

dam or river

setthehook
11-05-2006, 09:38 PM
Cheers Guys
Im madly addicted to night bassing!! all the fish are from a small river and we work the snags for the best fish. cant tell ya where for obvious reasons.

wesbo
19-05-2006, 02:20 PM
top stuff rob

F1SH_BOY
22-05-2006, 08:32 PM
NICE BASS AND LOOKS LIKE YOU HAD ALOT OF FUN WELL DONE :P

F1SH_BOY
22-05-2006, 08:33 PM
NICE BASS AND LOOKS LIKE YOU HAD ALOT OF FUN WELL DONE :P

Bigbream
26-05-2006, 02:28 PM
Next to bream, bass are my favourite fish. I'd love to catch one that big even from a dam.
Whats the best magazine for learning about bass? And what about videos?

setthehook
06-06-2006, 11:00 PM
im not sure about a best bass book, few good articles in the mags though.
Moving somewhere between Gladstone and Bundy this year so im looking forward to trading my bass for the Jacks and barra ;)

Louis
07-06-2006, 06:53 PM
Definitely some nice fish there.

Good catch

Louis

OODIES
09-06-2006, 07:15 PM
Nice catch Rob...The more pics of fish with the lures in place the better I say....I have had one freshwater fishing adventure in my life...last year to Lake Awoonga 1 week, 5 barra,the best 1 going 110.5cm & 20.7kg..absolutley loved it..going agian this year around the same time...However my point is that from that point on I said to my brother inlaw (who took me to Awoonga) That freshwater is something that I want to get into,it is generaly so bloody peaceful that you almost don't care if you "setthehook"

CHEERS
DAVE

setthehook
09-06-2006, 09:58 PM
Yeh i know what you mean mate. I will be a local to Awoonga soon and cant wait!!! Might see you there!

nathan_fishing
30-07-2006, 02:01 PM
nice bass there good on that light line

_nathan_

zach
30-07-2006, 03:14 PM
nice bass mate

gregdeeth
16-08-2006, 01:41 PM
bass are the best

djdamo
17-08-2006, 12:08 PM
nice bass did it taste good

magicmarlin
19-08-2006, 03:56 PM
MATE HOW HAVE U FOUND THE BUGGER CHUGS....I LOVE EM TO DEATH..
EXCEPT THE HOOKS ARE ALIL FLIMSY....DO U WORK A STOP START RETRIVE OR A SLOW ROLL? IF U DONT MIND ME ASKING....IVE ALWAYS FISHED LATE ARVO BUT WILL HAVE TO START HITTTING EM UNDER THE MOON LIGHT.

RESPONSE APPRECIATED 8-)

MM

ele-phrez
10-09-2006, 07:48 PM
there a great little sport fish

setthehook
11-09-2006, 06:49 PM
wow didnt realise this thread was still alive!! Sorry for the late reply's!! :-/

I couldnt tell you how bass taste as i release 100% of them djdamo. ;)

magic marlin i find them awsome lures! this is the 1st year i gave em a fare go but the stock trebles they are suplied with are rubbish!! So i add a wide gap gamakatsu treble to ass end, size 8 from memory. They are a black treble and they are the best for the job IMO.

Ill have to chase some queensland bass soon!!

Rob.