View Full Version : brissie catties
jimmybob
21-06-2006, 09:01 PM
now i know targeting catties is not the most glamourous...but last summer a mate and i went to the upper brissie river near wivenhoe and had a ball pullin in these slimy buggers......we lost several lures to bigger cats.....it was a good way to spend the morning.....
jimmybob
21-06-2006, 09:03 PM
snakecatcher
22-06-2006, 01:52 PM
As you say not the most glamorous of fish but good fun to catch although after seeing the effects their spines can have I don't tend to get too close to the things unless they are dead.
jimmybob
22-06-2006, 08:10 PM
yeah the spines......when i was younger i was swinging one around on the end of my line and had a pectoral spine snap off in my thigh...missed the family jewels buy millimetres.......tunnel vision , extreme pain and a trip to the hospital......lets say i treat them with a bit more respect now :-/
Louis
14-07-2006, 07:48 AM
I don't think they taste bad either.
I quite enjoy a feed of catfish.
They go by the name of silver cobbler in the shops in some states of Australia.
Louis
imranius
09-09-2006, 11:22 AM
:-/ :-/ :-/i dunno about the taste of catties coz they live in the mud and it shard to get that muddy taste out of them :-/ :-/ :-/ fun to catch though :D
Finnatical
09-09-2006, 07:52 PM
Always fun to catch something. At least you didn't drive all the way to Awoonga to only catch catties - something that has happened to me unfortunately.
ele-phrez
10-09-2006, 07:27 PM
better than catching nothing
kingfisho
15-09-2006, 05:50 PM
I've heard they are good eating but they are ugly mothers. I'll have to give em a try one day they probably do taste good.
blue-mako
17-09-2006, 09:04 PM
Get some 'Bassa' from the fish shop. That's Catties!
Troy
Bris_Vegas
19-09-2006, 08:28 AM
True that Troy.
I am under the impression that the eel tail catties are better eating than the forkies.
But i have only had forky and it was fine.
There seems to be a serious decline on eel tail numbers so i prefer to release.
Angus
barrafever
19-09-2006, 08:15 PM
my pop got this one up at lake monduran last weekend. must be feedin them steriods or something he went like a train. good fun though when the weather is lousy and barra arent biting.
barrafever
19-09-2006, 08:16 PM
anotha pic
jimmybob
21-09-2006, 09:07 PM
;Dhuge!
Canoedle
21-09-2006, 10:43 PM
I should have taken the camera to wivenhoe today, got a 63cm forky on a little bubble pop, big fat bugga like that one too.
davez104
22-09-2006, 11:08 AM
Used to catch them on surface poppers in the Burnett river, they go like a freight train on light gear, and that surface strike, you gotta love that.
MikeC
13-10-2006, 08:22 AM
An old guy I knew used to sell Logan River catfish fillets at the local pub as 'river cod' :)
I enjoy catching them on lures. Caught some monsters in Brekkie Creek.
Canoedle
13-10-2006, 10:47 AM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/NakedGun/Catfish60cm.jpg