View Full Version : Christmas eve Cod
Goodoochaser
02-01-2007, 11:42 PM
The morning of Christmas eve.
95 cm Cod caught on 12 pound Fireline, 12 pound vanish leader and a 3/8th purple spinner bait.
Shimano 10Xsg reel and 2 - 4 kg Daiwa Heartland rod.
Have a happy new year and many hours of successful fishing.
Howard (Goodoochaser)
bdowdy
03-01-2007, 07:38 AM
;)now thats a bloody better fish they are healthy,are you in ;)a dam or river.cheers bdowdy
roydsy
03-01-2007, 08:06 AM
Alright I think it is time for roydsy to go cod fishing. Where were you fishing, dam?
Can anyone tell me if northern NSW has any dams, river systems within 3 hours drive with these babies stocked?
yellahunter
03-01-2007, 11:56 AM
great work howard,
where abouts were you fishing, is it a dam or river and which one,
not asking for specific snags or anything just a name of the lake or river.
Roydsy, most of the border rivers/dams are stocked with Murray Cod,
a couple of impoundments worth fishing are Glenlyon and Pindari, as for rivers try the severn, mcintyre and Dumaresq. All these locations are about 4-5 hours from Brissy/Gold Coast.
As for closer locations maybe try Cooby Creek Dam at Toowoomba,
I know its mainly yellas but there are some big cod in there for those who spend the time looking. perhaps sound up the deep holes and drop some big spinnerbaits/Soft Plastics down.
Good Luck mate
roydsy
03-01-2007, 01:05 PM
Thanks yellahunter I will be sure to give those locations are good once over and plan a trip soon. If i don't plan to go I never will and will probably end up going bassin, cheers mate!
yellahunter
03-01-2007, 02:35 PM
PM me when your getting closer and I can let you in on a secret or two location wise
Goodoochaser
03-01-2007, 05:57 PM
bdowdy the dam is not to far from your stomping ground. Storm King (better ;) known as Howards dam) It takes quite a while to sus it out, but I have fished it for years.
It is handy for me as it only takes me 15mins to put the boat on and be on the water, fish it up to 3 times a week when not fishing Glenlyon and Coolmunda.
Best Cod to date is 125cm out of Storm King. Plenty of 1 meter + fish in Glenlyon and I never get sick of fishing there, must get back and see if Brian Dare retrieve my favorites Home made lure.
Yellahunter, some big Golden's in my dam, 60cm+ not unusual.
As I fish catch and release I have been thinking for some time now that I would like to tag the fish, as I am sure I have caught the same fish several times. Must look into it.
Howard (Goodoochaser)
bdowdy
03-01-2007, 08:16 PM
:)must give me a pm next time i would be keen to fish this place in a boat as only ever fished from the bank cheers bdowdy ;)
scott_b
03-01-2007, 09:05 PM
Gday Howard
Very nice mate what time of day?
wamjam
Goodoochaser
03-01-2007, 10:57 PM
wamjam,
The time the fish were caught was around 7 am. For the past month I have been getting most fish between 6.30 am to 8 am as the sun is higher, I think they are moving around in the shallow warm water.
Howard
roydsy
04-01-2007, 08:22 AM
PM me when your getting closer and I can let you in on a secret or two location wise
I sure will take you up on that. After i head to clarie hall this weekend i will start planning my next trip.
Roydsy
murrayfella
17-06-2013, 02:50 PM
dumaresq river? anyone know of any secret spots?