View Full Version : Show us your Yellas!!!!

yellahunter
08-09-2005, 08:56 PM
hey guys i know i started a thread like this one but it was lost when the site went down temporarily,

just thought id start it again and see what yellas people have caught

yeah go for it guys show all

thanks

8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)

once_bitten
09-09-2005, 05:51 PM
:) ;) :D ;D >:( :( :o 8-) :-? ::) :P :-[ :-X :-/ :-* :'(

theres some of mine ;D ;D ;D ;D

Jim_Tait
12-09-2005, 10:31 AM
his is my best all time Golden - caught on a pink clouser on an 8 wt rod

Jim_Tait
12-09-2005, 10:33 AM
This is one of the best fights Ive had with a golden - caught again on a pink clouser but only a 5wt rod.

yellahunter
12-09-2005, 08:18 PM
they are some awesome yellas mate,

where were they caught? i cant belie th colours in them

Jim_Tait
13-09-2005, 06:48 AM
Murrumbidgee River near Canberra mate - great clearwater river which produces these brilliantly coloured fish. Regards - Jim

yellahunter
13-09-2005, 08:21 PM
do u regularly catch them on fly?

have u had much luck with yellas in se qld or nth nsw? if so any tips where to start without a boat

Jim_Tait
13-09-2005, 10:01 PM
You can catch them just as about as good on fly as you can catch them on lures as long as you can operate a fly rod in the habitat (bit hard from the bank sometime but rocky rivers are great) - spinner baits would probably outfish flies most times (and most other lures as well, in my opinion!) - havn't chased them much in SE Qld except Borumba? (near Gympie) - more inclined to chase local natives and not a total fan of dam fishing (will still do it when I need a fix!) but have seen some nice ones caught on lures in the upper Stanley River (Brisbane River basin) in beautiful habitat (rainforest river) - and that looked pretty good!

Regards - Jim

elephrez1
14-09-2005, 05:06 PM
50 cm caught by exclusive

SeaJay
16-09-2005, 02:51 PM
Not sure of the length/weight of this one from northwestern NSW, but I could probably look it up.

You like the gut on it?

luskin
16-09-2005, 03:24 PM
Here's mine from last year
14lb about 65cm
Caught on a pack rat Killalure in black and white stripes

scotty
16-09-2005, 08:31 PM
that thing is huge where did catch that in a dam or in a river well done did he taste good being so good usally yella that big are very fatty and arent real nice he would have put up agood fight

scotty

luskin
17-09-2005, 08:31 AM
Hi Scotty
Caught at Lake Hume,Albury NSW
Father-in-Law eats 'em ::)
Very fatty

Sy

luskin
17-09-2005, 09:07 AM
Here's another from a year or so back
Put a hell of a fight @9lb

Sy

yellahunter
19-09-2005, 07:30 PM
they are soem big yellas guys

keep em coming
;D ;D ;D

scotty
20-09-2005, 10:00 AM
i thought they would have been from ive seen pics from years ago and they were huge somthing about the amout of food in the dam

yellahunter
20-09-2005, 07:16 PM
heres a little on i got , not bitg but still a pretty fish

elephrez1
21-09-2005, 04:19 PM
exclusive with the only way to prove size

scott_b
22-09-2005, 07:35 PM
Gday
Not real big but has good colours.
wamjam

yellahunter
22-09-2005, 08:37 PM
Wamjam i think thats the prettiest yella ive ever seen mate,

where did u catch that
might have to get down there

elephrez1
23-09-2005, 01:37 PM
45 CM CAUGHT ON A SQUIDGIE WRIGGLER IN THE FROST BITE WITH HOT PINK TAIL COLOUR

scott_b
23-09-2005, 10:26 PM
Gday yellahunter
Mate got it at Copeton but Pindari has real good yellars as well and probably a better chance of snaren them there.
wamjam

elephrez1 mate thats nice helthy looken fish what part of the country did you get it.
wamjam

Basshunter
25-09-2005, 10:07 AM
Caught this one at glenbawn dam earlier this year on a jackall tn60, not sure of size i took a quick pic and let it go
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v403/tierlakay/MVC-877S.jpg

yellahunter
25-09-2005, 01:05 PM
great pics guys,

hey elephrez1 where did u get that one, hes a beasutiful fish too

elephrez1
26-09-2005, 08:43 PM
Hey wamjam and yella,

thats exclusive and his yella, I just posted it.

it was caught at maroon.

Julie_J
27-09-2005, 06:54 AM
Here's a yella which I caught at Bjelke Petersen one wet day last October. Double hook-up. From memory mine went 54cm & hubby's went 44cm. ;D

Very different fish to the yellas which we catch in central NSW.

yellahunter
27-09-2005, 07:15 PM
nice fish julie, hey how r they different to the ones in NSW,?

Julie_J
27-09-2005, 07:32 PM
Hi Yellahunter,

the Qld fish are much slimmer & longer than our yellas that we get in the dams down here. Nowhere near as lazy either. The exception being in Glenbawn, where they co-exist with bass. Maybe the bass make them work a bit harder for a feed. :-/

The Northern yellas seem to be much lighter also, rather than our darker ones with the gold colour underneath.

yellahunter
27-09-2005, 07:47 PM
is there anywhere you have found that they are easily caught from the banks, as i dont have a boat but love catchin yellas

Col_J
27-09-2005, 08:33 PM
G'day Yellahunter,

there's no reason why you can't catch yellas from the bank. Same deal, just that you are working the structure from the opposite side. If money's a problem, get a canoe & you'll have access to the best spots.

The same trip that Julie caught the 54cm yella at BP, we saw an old guy who had at least eleven rods set up on the bank as baited set-lines & we watched him for a half hour until dark & he was working overtime pulling them in & re-baiting lines. There were some bloody nice big yellas among them too & they all went in the boot of his car. We were stunned!

yellahunter
29-09-2005, 03:13 PM
geez might have to give it a shot there ey,

ive never been up there as im on the gold coast and its a long way to go should u not get any action from the bank, ive been going to leslie dam where we have manged a few,

where abouts at bp did he get the yellas form the bank?
and what are the camping facilities like there

scott_b
29-09-2005, 07:23 PM
Gday yella
Mate if you can get yourself down this way I don,t mind taken you out for a dam fish , can't promise ya a fish but.
wamjam

PS I'm going to Lennox Heads for the longweekend any tips. leaving tomorrow so if you don't read this before then it don't matter.

Neil_c
02-10-2005, 08:58 AM
Gday Julie, That's a fine Yella ya got there, bigger than anything I've landed. Col - ever the gentleman, but then Julie does have that special rod ;)

Are you heading up here again soon? Teemburra has been fishing very slow for most but it is starting to get a bit warmer. It should only get better from now......hopefully ::)

Neil :)

staggy
02-10-2005, 01:10 PM
Ok, this is an old pic but still not a bad fish for brian. We caught it at Cania Dam on a deception shrimp working along a rock wall.
C Ya

Staggy

yellahunter
03-10-2005, 08:00 PM
nice fish,

love the look of them deception shrimps and have seen em in heapsa pics but never dne too well on em myself

cod_buster
04-10-2005, 08:33 PM
Glenlyon yella

yellahunter
05-10-2005, 08:58 PM
nice fish there mate,

morty103
05-10-2005, 10:23 PM
little yella i got a little way back out in cunnamulla, west qld in a irrigation dam on a mates station. Bad quality photo, but beautiful eating fish.

luskin
17-11-2005, 09:25 PM
Hi guys

Had a huge day on the yellas at Lake Hume , Albury NSW today
See post at bulletin board http://www.harro.com.au

Here's one for now

Sy

scotty
17-11-2005, 09:44 PM
good yella there once again mate

luskin
17-11-2005, 09:59 PM
Thanks Westy ;) ;)

It was a great day

4 boated and I lost one as well :(

When they're on they're on!!

They all fought like the clappers too...

Still rather a barra.... but hey... we can't ALL live in QLD ;D ;D ;D

Someone's gotta win the footy ;)

Sy

elephrez1
03-12-2005, 03:36 PM
somerset yella

reddyclaw_wal
11-12-2005, 01:28 PM
gday fellas name is wal. love me fishin and redclawing in the central highlands and barra fishing in the NT. username is reddyclaw_wal.
by the way they are some bloody pearlers of yellas

krause69
11-12-2005, 08:19 PM
Nice fish guys well done yet to have the experance of catching those fish
cheers krause

teeka
13-12-2005, 08:04 PM
Caught this afternoon at the local lagoon

scott_b
14-12-2005, 10:57 AM
Gday
nice looking yella's , here's one from the Gwydir river.
wamjam

Leo_N.
24-02-2006, 05:16 PM
Just a bit of interesting information on golden perch. As a few have commented on the very different fish in different parts of the country.

There are three strains of golden perch; one from the Murray-Darling system, one from the Fitzroy-Dawson system and one from the Lake Eyre drainage. The Lake Eyre strain is actually considdered a different species, but hasn't been formerly described yet.

Because most of the fish in impoundments have been stocked from hatcheries, they are generally either Murray-Darling or Fitzroy-Dawson strain.

I am looking to fish for the Lake Eyre strain for some breeding trials that I want to do for work, but don't know anything about the rivers that this species lives in. I am in Townsville, North Qld and know that the Hughenden area has the strain that I am after, but would appreciate a heads-up on likely rivers and how to get to them if anyone out there knows.

PS Sorry about writing this in two separate threads, I stumbled across this thread after creating the last one.

Leo

alby_14
07-04-2006, 09:17 AM
Hi guys heres a couple of yellas caught in the Severn River over xmas. The big one went 6.64 kg.

alby_14
07-04-2006, 09:20 AM
Cheers, Alby

bc
10-04-2006, 07:10 AM
Heres the sort of thing that comes out of Windemere ocassionally, 600mm.

Truck
12-04-2006, 02:38 PM
Here are some me and my brother caught last easter. I recon these are the best eating size, not too big and fatty........

going_phishin
21-04-2006, 06:35 PM
Here's 1 I caught from lake Awoonga In January. 58cm

ibbo
02-05-2006, 09:50 PM
Heres one caught at glenlyon about 5 years ago

TheSaint
16-05-2006, 08:36 PM
Here a pic of my brother's Big yella from the other weekend..

Macca1
23-05-2006, 01:08 AM
A Nice West Australian Yella taken by a mate.

Macca

scott_b
23-05-2006, 06:45 AM
Great pic mate and nice fish.
Looks like a river fish where was it caught ????
well done wamjam

F1SH_BOY
23-05-2006, 06:07 PM
WOW NICE FISH YEH I AGRY WITH WAMJAM IT LOOKS LIKE A RIVER FISH AND ITS NICE 'N' FAT AS WELL :P :D ;D

Macca1
23-05-2006, 09:33 PM
No, It's one of 3 manmade lakes supplied by underground water and seeded in 1994.

I'll post up some more yellas and murray cod later.

macca

BrandonH
23-05-2006, 11:07 PM
bump

Macca1
25-05-2006, 08:47 PM
A few nore Yellas. I'll put some Murray Cod up too.

macca

scott_b
25-05-2006, 08:53 PM
Gday Macca1
Mate what part of the country did the pics come from?? reads west aus I'm a bit intrigued !!.
thanks wamjam

Macca1
25-05-2006, 08:58 PM
These aren't caught by me but I was there at the time but I'm not as good as these two buggers.

Macca

Macca1
25-05-2006, 09:17 PM
About 100kms east of Perth on a farm owned by a mate.

Water is supplied by an underground stream into 3 man-made dams a few hundered metres apart.

Macca

Gday Macca1
Mate what part of the country did the pics come from?? reads west aus I'm a bit intrigued !!.
thanks wamjam

Macca1
25-05-2006, 09:36 PM
Another one

Macca1
25-05-2006, 09:44 PM
Last one until I catch one.

Macca

I'll post up some Muzza's in the next week.

F1SH_BOY
27-05-2006, 09:29 PM
WOW THERE NICE MATE WELL DONE!!!!!!!! ;D ;) ;D ;)

iank
29-05-2006, 05:07 PM
posted on another thread on this site. caught in Lake Hume in 1994, sorry about the quality of the photo.
Cheers Ian

neon1991
31-05-2006, 04:48 PM
nise yella iank

neon

Basshunter
24-06-2006, 08:16 PM
One of mine caught at Glenbawn dam 2004
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v403/tierlakay/trevors/MVC-877S.jpg

jimmybob
06-07-2006, 05:01 PM
mum with a yella...caught in her own dam.....was fingerling bout 1o years ago......let loose again to scrap with the eels

gidget
08-07-2006, 06:38 PM
7 yr old's first castnretreive yella

ibbo
14-07-2006, 05:59 AM
Ah good on ya Gidgets 7 year old :)

Nice fish

IBBO

scott_b
26-07-2006, 08:10 PM
Congrats to young gidget!!!
thats a great lookin yella , cast and retrieve seems to be a lot more satisfying when you hook up, especially when you coax them out of there hole.
wamjam

bdowdy
27-07-2006, 11:45 AM
:)congrats nick thats a great yella and have to agree with wamjam its better when you actually coax them from there hidi holes. cheers bdowdy ;)

scott_b
27-07-2006, 07:46 PM
Gday bdowdy
How's the fish coaxing going ???. I went out to the dam today and through lures for about five hrs , had a shocker , not a touch!! , spose you get that on these big jobs.
Think I'll cope wamjam ;)

bdowdy
28-07-2006, 01:35 PM
;)
hi wamjam i went to glenlyon the other week and fished for hours and got 1 cod at 52cm the water is way cold the warmest was 15 degrees. but the rain weve been getting may fire them up a bit. as you said you just never know what may be following that next cast ,so big hours in big jobs exactly. one thing i have noticed is the wattle trees already starting to flower,dont know about over your way but it means that the bass and cod start to fire over our way. talk soon cheers bdowdy ;)

hardb8
16-09-2006, 08:32 PM
This is my P.B. Yella,Caught and released at Lake Samsonvale casting from the bank.Not a monster at 49cm but a satisfying fish all the same.

Regards hardb8 ;)

Canoedle
16-09-2006, 09:16 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v186/NakedGun/Picture009Medium.jpg

jimmybob
16-09-2006, 10:03 PM
my biggest this year........................so far ;)

Wild_One
17-09-2006, 02:37 PM
There are some very nice Yellas there!!! ;) Unfortinually I don't have any photos of the Yellas I have caught.

bdowdy
02-10-2006, 08:34 AM
:)hi jimmybob i really like that photo and its anice yella also, how cold was it that morning do you know. cheers bdowdy ;)

Tim_01
25-10-2006, 11:00 PM
Hey everyone,
this is my first post! ;D. These 3 fish were some of the many caught while camped at Welord National Park, near Windorah in 2004. From top to bottom; a yellowbelly, a Barcoo Grunter and an eel-tailed cattie. Not my biggest golden but still put up a good fight!, caught on live shrimp and rump steak lol.

Kendall249
27-10-2006, 12:01 AM
I'm going to catch one of those one day, along with many other species ;D.

TroyJ
27-10-2006, 01:46 PM
Here is my 1st and only YB . I am new to fresh water fishing and got this guy on my 1st successfull trip to North pine dam .. He was about 50cm

Troy

Canoedle
29-10-2006, 03:09 PM
Hmm, those North Pine yellas are very healthy looking, no sign of the sores that they get up in Wivenhoe.

mod5
30-10-2006, 05:43 PM
Off topic replies have been moved to This Thread

silver19
19-11-2006, 06:50 PM
pale yella from somerset oct 06 in the 6kt zone on purple voodoo lure

gordonk2005
22-11-2006, 02:11 AM
Not that big but freshly caught last weekend at Leslie dam :)

Canoedle
03-12-2006, 05:50 PM
My new PB yella from Somerset, 55cms ;D and the other is 46cms, a good session for me. ;)

shayned
04-12-2006, 06:01 PM
Yak looks good mate, off course it could be the couple of accessories you fitted up on the nose that sets it off. ;D

Canoedle
04-12-2006, 07:30 PM
Thanks Shayne, I tried to get them to stand up on their Pecs, but no luck. ::)

hardb8
13-01-2007, 01:25 PM
My partner in crime caught his P.B. Yella today on a Ghost Black Red Belly Mask Vib 60.Biggest Yella either of us have seen in the flesh.A real nice fish,Which we estimated at around 10 lb.It's lenght was 61cm.

hardb8
13-01-2007, 01:34 PM
Finally found the pick of my best.This fish has raised the bar on my personal tally to a 55cm P.B. 8-)

Scot
15-01-2007, 02:20 PM
Got this one on Sunday, 63cm CC Vic

bdowdy
15-01-2007, 06:21 PM
:)thats one solid yella :o

yellahunter
16-01-2007, 02:25 PM
nice yellas guys,

has anyone ever caught a yella in Hinze Dam,
ive been fishing there for ages now and have never seen one, they are apparently in there but you dont hear of them.

be interested to see what colour shade they are in there

stokesy_86
16-01-2007, 02:47 PM
npd yella caught by a mate.

Hardb8
17-02-2007, 12:56 PM
Hi Yella fans,
Raised the bar on my P.B. again today.Not once but twice within half a dozen casts :) .The first was 60,Big and fat.It was a fair whack bigger than my previous best at 55.And after being measured,And a couple of quick shots taken,It was released.

Four or five casts later,I'm up tight again,With good weight and some solid head shakes through the rod.It lacked the speed of a Bass,But surley not?It comes in to veiw and Kyle states "It's bigger than the last...It's a giant" LOL.This fish was also quickly measured,Stretching the tape to 62,And gave me the Big Belly title ;D .Kyle was the previous title holder at 61.And he measured my fish so there was no stretching the tape.After a couple more quick shots,It too was released.To say I was stoked would be an understatment.A very satisfying fish to catch.

yellahunter
22-02-2007, 09:26 PM
nice yellas hardb8.

is that nth pine mate, also what lure did u get them on

Hardb8
23-02-2007, 04:59 PM
Thanks Hunter,
They were both caught on a Mask Vib 60.Reposted Kyles' P.B. below at 61 as all the pics have dissapeared :( .

roydsy
01-03-2007, 05:14 PM
great bloody big yella there mate, good one!

It has been years since i have caught or seen them that big.

scubakempo
03-03-2007, 07:05 AM
nice yellas mate

Wyld Fisher
12-03-2007, 07:30 PM
Nice Yellowbelly guys!

bdowdy
09-04-2007, 12:48 PM
sum

4303moogerah and glenlyon yellas

bdowdy
06-05-2007, 10:17 AM
few glenlyon yellassum

Fitzy
14-05-2007, 10:54 PM
Here's a yella guts I caught while hiking Lake Wivenhoe on sunday.
http://www.sweetwaterfishing.com.au/gallery/JiggedGolden.jpg

bdowdy
15-05-2007, 06:53 PM
hi fitzy do they get many yellas there compared to forkys and bass, and what sort of lure is that. cheers bdowdy.

TIMMY 666
15-05-2007, 08:20 PM
Here's one from a farm dam I stocked, caught in January. I'll be going for another fish there soon and I'll post another report. ;D It was 33cm.
View the original report here:

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=64669&highlight=farm+dam+report

Tim.

bdowdy
15-05-2007, 09:48 PM
nice coloured fish. cheers bdowdy

chillers
21-05-2007, 06:28 PM
Gday all

Theres some nice fish there guys

Cheers Chillers

Fitzy
22-05-2007, 09:25 PM
hi fitzy do they get many yellas there compared to forkys and bass, and what sort of lure is that. cheers bdowdy.
G Day mate,
Do ok on the yellas there at times. I've pretty much worked out how to avoid the forkies there, so in my case I get more yellas than forkies, mostly bass tho.

That lure is a gold, 35 or 45 grams Spanyid slug (cant remember) but its the one that won me the BASS Electric Grand Final there a couple a years back. Am spewing that I lost it about 10 minutes after that pic. Shoulda left it on the wall @ home. Doh!

fitz..

bdowdy
23-05-2007, 08:31 AM
good stuff fitzy,wouldnt have thought about using slugs with all the plastics and hard bodys around theses days, but works a treat hey....also know were your coming from with leaving it on the wall at home in retirement, but i know my wall is getting very full. cheers bdowdy

Kayak1
03-06-2007, 04:25 PM
Cania yellow last October. Think it went 46cm. Daughter has a pb of around 50cm.
Steve.

bdowdy
03-06-2007, 09:52 PM
nice fish gotta love cania its awesome dam, hope to get back up there when it warms up. cheers bdowdy.

fishytales
18-06-2007, 11:30 AM
Here's a yellowbelly I caught this morning at NPD. Measured 50cm to the fork, and fought like a wet sock.:) Maybe them bass are spoilin' me.

tiges
30-10-2007, 09:19 PM
Thought I'd drag this old post up as I got my PB yella the other day. It's weird because I'd only ever caught 2 small yella's before, and their captures were incidental and a long time in between. My last 3 fishing sessions have resulted in only single fish captures, and bugger me if all 3 fish weren't yella's. At 3 different locations too. Didn't rate them much in the fighting stakes, but this one went really well. Put up a dogged and sustained fight, which had me picking it for a large bass. Got this one at Borumba.

blue_mako
31-10-2007, 09:25 AM
Measured 50cm to the fork

Yellowbelly have forks? :o :P .

Here's a couple of pics of one of the 58cm Yellowbelly I've caught from North Pine. Caught another 58cm one in the same spot a week before so could have been the same fish. Missed out on pics the first time so had to catch him again.

Troy

Little grey men
31-10-2007, 02:07 PM
Yellowbelly have forks? :o :P .

Here's a couple of pics of one of the 58cm Yellowbelly I've caught from North Pine. Caught another 58cm one in the same spot a week before so could have been the same fish. Missed out on pics the first time so had to catch him again.

Troy

I eat mine with a fork;)

Nice yellabelly there blue mako, that place holds some really nice sized fish, and in great condition too. Well done.

bdowdy
01-11-2007, 08:03 PM
few copeton yellassum

basskid
01-11-2007, 08:10 PM
Nice wrok Troy,
I caught this little guy at my mates dam a while ago which is incredibally hard to catch fish at.:'( I didnt bother meausuring this guy or weigh him but for a yella it was a good fight:)

bdowdy
01-11-2007, 08:18 PM
nice fish basskid.cheers bdowdy,,brett

Bear001
26-12-2007, 12:48 PM
Geez guys, some of those Yella's are really...well....YELLA. I've never seen them that gold around here.

Didnt measure this one, but I think he was about 4.kgs - caught trolling a Peacock Jackall at Split Rock this week.

Cin

rossco
14-01-2008, 07:21 PM
Glenlyon dam yellas

bdowdy
15-01-2008, 08:19 AM
nice yellas. cheers bdowdy,,brett

Little grey men
15-01-2008, 12:57 PM
Had this ol' girl in the freshwater report section but thought she was good enough to get a place in this thread as well.
My best yella at 58cm and heavy. Caught at North Pine Dam on a very slowly worked Evergreen Littlemax.

rossco
15-01-2008, 03:47 PM
My son ( cod_buster ) with an 81/2 lb yella from Glenlyon dam.

rossco
15-01-2008, 03:48 PM
Nice yella's guys & girls.

cheers rossco

bdowdy
08-02-2008, 02:27 PM
got this yella this morning at glenlyon, went 51cm and about 4 and ahalf pound.cheers bdowdy...brettsum

rossco
08-02-2008, 09:20 PM
Nice yella Brett. Glenlyon ?

cheers rossco

bdowdy
09-02-2008, 06:59 AM
hi rossco the dams up to about 38 per cent, catching yellas at the boat ramp on the new covered ground,didnt have to even take the boat. huge increase!!!! cheers bdowdy....brett

rossco
09-02-2008, 11:49 AM
Thats good Brett, the place to be for the non boaters ATM.

cheers rossco

simbasi
13-02-2008, 12:27 PM
Heres a little soccer ball that measrued 60cm and weight 12+lb. He was released back into the Mcquarie river.!!:)
Caught on a TN70 Jackall Champagne Tiger!

Rock ON

Little grey men
13-02-2008, 01:54 PM
That's one serious yellowbelly simbasi....wooohoooo !!!

mikooh
13-02-2008, 05:27 PM
A fat little Copeton Yella

bdowdy
13-02-2008, 06:30 PM
nice yella simbasi, hi mikooh that is a nice fat yella.cheers bdowdy..brett

Little grey men
01-04-2008, 03:15 PM
A few Lake Samsonvale ( North Pine Dam ) Yellowbelly from the last few weeks, they're loving the grassy edges at the moment. Catching most of them no more than a couple of metres from where I'm standing. On plastics and metal vibe lures.

bdowdy
01-04-2008, 04:24 PM
nice fish lgm ,the yellas just love new flooded ground.EASY PICKINGS.cheers bdowdy..brett

slyman
24-07-2008, 08:49 PM
Been looking through the pics, some big fish in here fellas!

I'll add a couple of pics of my best yellow, 52cms from somerset, don't know the weight. I've only ever caught two, this was the second. Dont get to do much freshwater fishing.

Didn't realise my bro had chopped the tail in the photo until after the fish was back in the water, ah well ::) .

Little grey men
25-07-2008, 09:30 AM
Nice yella Simon, amazing colourings on some of them. they'd be pretty hard to spot in a weed bed.

slyman
25-07-2008, 01:59 PM
Nice yella Simon, amazing colourings on some of them. they'd be pretty hard to spot in a weed bed.

Yep lovely colours on these fish, this one was caught right up close to a steep rocky face to my left in the picture though, not from the grassy area behind me. This was just after Somerset had that big inflow at the beginning of the year. It was the only fish for the day between three of us in the boat, and it was released. Caught it on a soft jackall in a yellowy green colour.

Copeton Catcher
09-01-2009, 03:49 PM
Yellowbelly from Copeton Dam

http://i113.photobucket.com/albums/n233/AussieKop22/100_0058.jpg

Phil

Fishbait
23-01-2009, 09:45 PM
Thats an awesome yellowbelly Phil. I used to fish for these when I was much younger but haven't done so in many years. I'm keen to get back out there again amongst these freshwater buggers. I love 'em to eat! Darren.

bdowdy
13-10-2009, 07:08 PM
glenlyon yellasum

Bear001
14-10-2009, 09:19 AM
Niiiiiiice.
God I love the colour of those yella's further north. Copeton's yella's are very very gold too. Is glenlyon rocky like Copeton Brett?

http://i641.photobucket.com/albums/uu131/cindymeissner/100_2068Medium-1.jpg

This is one from Split Rock last month. Ours dont get that beautiful gold.

Have a good weekend to all doing the Glenlyon Ausfish M&G this weekend. Hope this bloody wind settles for you all.

bdowdy
14-10-2009, 06:14 PM
hi cindy not as rocky as copeton,,,nice fish...wont be making glenlyon this weekend off to the gold coast living it up at conrads casino...more relaxation..brett

BR65
18-10-2009, 07:24 AM
Borumba a couple of weeks ago, not a huge fish, but good color, and my first yellow on a jigged blade.

Bear001
19-10-2009, 10:43 AM
Nice yella - yes, beautiful colour. What sort of blade?

muggles
19-10-2009, 06:47 PM
A few Pindari yellas , note the jaw on the second pic .

Bear001
19-10-2009, 07:11 PM
Nice fat soccerballs there Muggles. Plus one with a harelip..lol
Pindari starting to fire up? What did the damage?

BR65
19-10-2009, 07:47 PM
Gold TT Cindy.

muggles
19-10-2009, 07:49 PM
Hey Cindy , i havent fished Pindari for a few weeks but managed a few fish on lipless cranks (megabass smatras) on our last outing . My mate managed a great 59cm fish on his bream rod and a berkley shrimp . Those fish were caught last year on fluro yellow spinnerbaits . I find Pindari to be pretty consistent so wether it is firing or not i cant really comment . Ill try and put up a pic of the 59cm one . Cheers Mark

muggles
19-10-2009, 08:07 PM
59cm Yella caught by my mate !

bdowdy
21-10-2009, 08:09 PM
nice fish...looks like a mate of mine...wouldnt be ben.l would it..cheers dowdy...

muggles
22-10-2009, 03:54 PM
nice fish...looks like a mate of mine...wouldnt be ben.l would it..cheers dowdy...
Yeah mate thats him .

bdowdy
22-10-2009, 07:40 PM
great stuff ,so muggles your from around tenterfield also...bens a great bloke i use to live with him..wild days...fishing,,,bullriding,,drinking...cheers bdowdy

muggles
26-10-2009, 01:10 PM
great stuff ,so muggles your from around tenterfield also...bens a great bloke i use to live with him..wild days...fishing,,,bullriding,,drinking...cheers bdowdy
Yeah Brett im from Glen Innes , so not too far away . Im pretty good mates with Benny so we go for a fish together every now and then . Im sure you would of had some wild times together . Cheers Mark

bdowdy
26-10-2009, 05:07 PM
should get together for a fish..and a few bevvys....mark. tell locky i said hi..bdowdy..brett

muggles
26-10-2009, 08:12 PM
should get together for a fish..and a few bevvys....mark. tell locky i said hi..bdowdy..brett
Sounds good mate , when cod season opens im keen for a session or two . I'll tell him you said g'day . Cheers

Bear001
02-11-2009, 03:37 PM
Not a monster, but we got heaps this size this weekend.

NathanCooper
20-11-2009, 07:01 PM
Hi all both fish in Borumba one on a SH%$HOUSE!! day raining heavy couldnt be bothered going home .
http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/ff225/lys33sa/DSC00252.jpg

http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/ff225/lys33sa/DSC00214.jpg

NathanCooper
20-11-2009, 07:03 PM
Sorry about the knuckles in pic 1 got into a scuffle at the pub haha
Cooper

yellahunter
02-01-2010, 09:19 AM
heres one i got out at copeton over the break,
nice stocky fish too

yellahunter
02-01-2010, 09:24 AM
thought id throw another one in,
this is one i pulled from Hinze this year,
awesome colours on the hinzee yellas

Jurkyjj
21-05-2010, 09:45 PM
59cm Yella caught by my mate !

That is one nice yella.

Jason.

bdowdy
28-09-2010, 02:26 PM
[sumlittle yella i caught creek casting the other day

Bear001
28-09-2010, 03:34 PM
Thats a nice yella Brett. I hear the yellas have been 'on' everywhere....but some of us have been too busy fishing Fiji and Gladstone to get a leave pass to get out ....lol

Still a bit fresh up your way....beanie? LOL

bdowdy
29-09-2010, 02:47 PM
hi cindy...yeh still a little cool ,,but sick of rain,,sun finally starting to come out..fiji is a great spot,been there twice fishing myself...

wamjam
01-10-2010, 09:20 PM
Nice yella mate , that beanie and long cloths are a bad reminder.
wamjam

bdowdy
02-10-2010, 08:35 AM
thanks scott, great piccys of your trip mate..beers for sure when you get home

Banga
07-03-2011, 02:58 PM
Glenlyon a week ago on bait.

wamjam
12-03-2011, 09:11 PM
Nice yellas, Banga....

Outdoor Guy
13-03-2011, 08:19 AM
nice fat fish there Banga lovely offering for a newbee very nice indeed

Bear001
22-03-2011, 11:41 AM
Gotta get up to Glenlyon one day for a play with those big fat yellas!

rossco
27-08-2011, 12:14 PM
Barcaldine yella from the Lloyd Jones weir.
Ceers Rossco

wamjam
02-09-2011, 09:46 AM
Nice yellar rossco. How you been keeping ??

rossco
02-09-2011, 08:14 PM
Good mate,How are you and the family? where are you now days, back home? planning on going to Glenlyon around the 25th, be good to catch up with you and Brett if your about? Only time i get to go fishing lately is when i'm waiting on job, see alot of nice water in my travels that i would like to flick a lure around in, rarely get the chance tho.
cheers Rossco

09-10-2011, 07:08 AM
A couple of years ago we camped at the deer park, Booroomba. Mate Dave doesn't get to fish much - for obvious reasons, and I set up a shrimp trap in the creek downstream from the dam. I told Dave that if we had any chance of catching a fish off the rock wall next to the ramp, in the middle of the day we had better put in the effort and catch live shrimp. There were boats and water skiers in all directions when we arrived, and to be totally honest when Daves' rod buckled over I thought he got caught by the propeller from a boat that was right over the top of his line. Never forget that day, neither will Dave, the yella stands as the biggest fish he ever caught. In the photo Dave in his humour posed with an ornamental knife we picked up from the markets the day before. He said a big fish deserves to be filleted with a big knife LOL

http://i414.photobucket.com/albums/pp223/Scalem/100_0660.jpg

wamjam
09-10-2011, 08:55 AM
Great story...Not wrong about the big knife LOL..

Bear001
09-10-2011, 09:10 AM
now THATs a knife!!! lol

lucee81
26-10-2011, 03:42 PM
Here is my first ever caught at Somerset dam about 12 months ago went 51.5cm

me and the brother fished all day using lures of all types and worms for not a touch all day it wasnt till we unleashed the secret weapon :-X:-X:-X that we started catching fish brother got a freshwater catfish that went 49cm..

Lucas

wamjam
27-10-2011, 10:04 PM
Nice yella Lucas, was the secret weapon the chips in that box behind you??

lucee81
28-10-2011, 06:37 AM
nah it was actually prawns that i use for offshore i chucked a couple in the esky before we headed off, i figured it cant hurt and it paid off, bit unfortunate that this particular fish did not put up a decent fight used a shimano 2kg spin rod with 4kg mono cant remember which reel i had on at the time.
havent been back as of yet, fresh water isnt really my cup of tea.
that looks like a decent fish in you avatar what is it i cant really make it out.

Lucas