View Full Version : My 1st Barra Trips to Awoonga and Monduran

setthehook
04-10-2006, 08:20 PM
Well after finishing building my home project barra boat i took it on its first barra missions. A mate, Nathanial flew up from Melbourne to join me. On the ships 1st barra mission to Monduran we managed some nice barra in teh shallows. Also managed to have some trebles straightened and lose nice fish!! I even had a vmc 6x opened :(
Then we headed up to Awoonga for the 1st time and i managed a 105cm Barra. Great couple of days!
Here are some pics.
Rob.

setthehook
04-10-2006, 08:29 PM
My Monduran Barra.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/barra2.jpg

setthehook
04-10-2006, 08:30 PM
Nathanials Monduran beast
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/barra3.jpg

setthehook
04-10-2006, 08:31 PM
My awoonga Fish
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/barra4.jpg

setthehook
04-10-2006, 08:32 PM
105cm
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/barra5.jpg

setthehook
04-10-2006, 08:32 PM
Lure was a RMG scorpion green and gold.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/BARRA1.jpg

darryl_l
04-10-2006, 08:34 PM
Glad you got amongst them Rob.

Will be doing the same sought of thing at the end of this month with seajay39 so watch this space

Darryl L

setthehook
04-10-2006, 08:43 PM
mate let me know when the time comes, might tag along with my vessel (if its ok with you guys)

darryl_l
04-10-2006, 09:05 PM
Heading to Cania Dam (saratoga, bass,yellow belly and silvers) Saturday 28th October moving on to Callide probably Monday for a few days (barra yellow belly) then on to Awonga most likely Thursday (Barra and biggest catty on ONE kg line possible) Leave ther Saturday and head home or 1770 or Monduran or Gladstone salt water or...or...or Home Sunday late work Monday

Darryl L

setthehook
04-10-2006, 09:32 PM
might try meet up at awoonga or monduran......see if the boss lets me :P

McCod
04-10-2006, 11:42 PM
Conratulations Rob on ya 1st Barra trips ! Allways good to get some scales in a new rig.

Cheers Les

setthehook
05-10-2006, 09:08 PM
Fished Monduran today, got smashed by a big fella and landed this little guy.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v141/robertbarrett/anothermonduranbarra.jpg

seajay39
05-10-2006, 09:14 PM
Looks like you have Monduran pretty well sorted now :)

You've got me keen now,I'm taking saturday off work and going for a run up there.........

How far up the dam are you going? ::)

setthehook
05-10-2006, 09:17 PM
we caught fish in the northern arm of the main part of the dam, and around white rock and a bit further up today. Water temps are up to 28 deg by lunch time and the bigger fish are in 8 meters of water. Smaller fish are in the lantana in the shallows. I think ill be at awoonga this weekend.

ele-phrez
05-10-2006, 10:56 PM
orsm stuff

Smailesy
07-10-2006, 09:35 AM
i hope to get one very soon great pics

agnes_jack
07-10-2006, 10:08 AM
Well done Rob!!
We got a few more at Awoonga yesterday arvo. Could not believe the amount of boats. Looking down the lake after dark was like a christmas tree!!! The boat ramp carpark extended at least a few hundred meters down the road!!!! May wait till the holidays are over before we go again.

Regards, Tony :o :o :o

setthehook
07-10-2006, 07:44 PM
Gday Tony
We bailed on our LBG trip early as we forgot some gear and decided ona few days barra fishing.
We might go to awoonga tomorrow night for 2 days, see how it pans out but will visit you at the store later in the week as we are hitting you know where again.

agnes_jack
08-10-2006, 06:12 AM
See ya then Rob!!