View Full Version : Borumba dam

scoocer101
12-12-2006, 05:40 PM
Hi all its been a while since ive done a report so here i go. My dad and i went to borumba for the weekend. The fishing was very slow water temp around 22-24 degrees. We only caught a few rat bass and 1 toga all on lures. Also to our astonishment there were boney bream dying everywhere in toga bay :o. Got to christen my to rod and reel ;D.

scoocer101
12-12-2006, 05:41 PM
Small toga

scoocer101
12-12-2006, 05:43 PM
my rat bass on a blue g-vibe also got to christen my new rod and reel

scoocer101
12-12-2006, 05:45 PM
1 of the dead boney's.

bdowdy
12-12-2006, 06:27 PM
:)nice toga and bass , the dam may be turning over you see it a lot and bony bream seem to be the indicator they float around all over the place cheers bdowdy. good report ;)

Tim_01
12-12-2006, 06:31 PM
nice fish mate, shame you didnt get any bigger ones. bony bream can't handle low dissolved oxygen levels so maybe thats why they were dying?

Tim.

roydsy
13-12-2006, 01:46 PM
:)nice toga and bass , the dam may be turning over you see it a lot and bony bream seem to be the indicator they float around all over the place cheers bdowdy. good report ;)

Can you explain what you mean by turning over and how it affects fish. Are you saying the warmer water is replacing the cooler lower lieing water or something?

roydsy
15-12-2006, 08:05 AM
We are heading off to Borumba in 4 days for 3 days of fishing. i am really looking forward to catching some bass and toga, and the odd yella.

Any other recent reports of what the Lake is doing? If you see a blue full boar 5.5 with black ausfish stickers say hi and tell us where the fish are holding :P

scoocer101
15-12-2006, 08:34 AM
roydsy when we went most of the fish were schooling deep. Try fishing the deep water in front of the entrance of toga bay.

roydsy
15-12-2006, 09:27 AM
Cheers mate... i am taking some new jackall tn60's to try out. Most likely will have to get some stumpys and spinnerbaits out too. Nilsmaster spearheads for the togas in timber.....

Did you guys try the early morning /late afternoon session where you basically just follow the bank edge about 40 metres out flicking lures as you creep slowly home with the electric on. Many occasions we used to pick up the best quality togas with really slow retrieves and making plenty of splash when landing the lures.

Anyway, I will be sure to let you all know how we get on.

roydsy

silver19
17-12-2006, 04:14 PM
Just got back fom a few days at Borumba great weather fishing slow. There is a lot of dead boneys all through the dam. fished early morning, late arvo and middle of the day but it didn`t seem to make a difference. had a few fish everyday only one yella and the rest bass didn`t see a toga anywhere. found the best right up the yabba branch. Friday arvo was amazing. saw a lot of bait flipping on the surface in a hole right up in the timber. I drifted into a pool about 70 metres long that was full of thousands & thousands of boney bream. they where so high in the water not showing on the sounder. what was showing was the bass under them. I could actually see the bass ripping through the bait. I tried everything spinner bait SP`S hardbodies & Jackalls for over an hour. I could feel the lures & line hitting the boneys as I reelled in. the result one 42cn bass on a Jackall mask vibe great fun but frustrating. sorry about the hi jack :)

cheers John ;D

scoocer101
17-12-2006, 05:34 PM
Roydsy
We fished morning and night but we found the afternoon from 4:30 towards dark the best. We found slowly working the rocky bank towards toga bay the best. We aint got an electric so we drift and paddle. Something to give a try would be flicking spinnerbaits rite up onto the rocky bank and slowly retrieving bank so the spinnerbaits get deep down. In the mornings work the steep rocky banks so get your spinnerbaits and jackles rite up to the bank. The Tn60 should go pretty well since the g-vibes were doing the job for us.

Enjoy your trip
regards scoocer101

roydsy
17-12-2006, 06:11 PM
Thanks scoocer, the tips are appreciated. Can you tell me if your allowed on the dam after dark and if not what time is the boat ramp closed?

We are staying at the Deer caravan park so access early late is no real issue.

Did you see much Toga activity (swirls) in your travels or were they really ellusive.

Roydsy

Tropicaltrout
17-12-2006, 07:13 PM
Hey mate I have fished there after dark, love it I use a big floating flie and wait for the boof, The togas are pairing up and are probably breading at this time at borumba, but they still will have to eat. stay quiet and work the small still bays and pockets. For the the bass well they are everywhere I love to work the sounder you can pick up the schools and simply cast at it or troll over it and 10 to thirty fish can make a good session. good luck.

Be careful up the dam at night theres all sorts of obbsticales, from logs to animals I malmost scored a Deer one morning ;D

Cheers TT

roydsy
18-12-2006, 10:20 PM
Thanks TT, I am off to Borumba tomorrow see you all in a couple of days.

Will be sure to let you know how I get on.

Roydsy

Bassjunky
24-12-2006, 05:50 PM
I'm heading up there over the christmas /new year period.
If anyone is up there keep an eye out for my black bluefin wildcat and come say g'day and tell us if youre getting on to a few. Ill give you some info on how we are doing. Hope to see some of you there. All have a great xmas/new year and tight lines.

woolybugger
27-12-2006, 12:41 PM

Went up there last week with the old man and had a great day on the water. We fished mainly up the Yabba stretch but tried a few spots throughout the lake.

We saw alot of Toga's up in the small bays and in amongst the pads. We caught quite a few Bass around the 40-44cm mark and a few decent sized Toga's between 75-92cms.

The old man was using spinner baits and Jackals and I mainly use the old fly gear, working surface to sub-surface flies in the early hours and then sub-0surface flies on sinking tippet as the day got longer.

We got a few photo's but haven't downloaded them yet.

By the way, probably too late now, but you there are no gates and can fish there all night.

Keep up the reports on how you went up there, tight lines.