View Full Version : Great arvo session 14/01/07

cdenyer
14-01-2007, 07:33 PM
I went exploring around NPD after speaking to a mate that I fish with occasionally. I don't do arvo sessions all that often ,but left home around 1.30 to get to the dam at about 2pm. After walking in, I had a soft plastic hit the water at around 2 30. Threw soft plastics and spinnerbaits for about an hour and a half,catching 2 rat bass while checking out some banks, and after getting a few taps at a likely looking spot I changed over to a Jackall TN60. I normally like to suss out new water with a SP first, I hate losing Jackalls to snags, and a slow rolled sp normally gives a good indication of the layout of the bottom.

Well- the bass just went off.From 4 ish to around 4 45 pm I landed 12 bass with the smallest going 45cm ( to fork ) and the biggest ( my equal PB ) going 53cm. 5 of the bass were 50 or better, and the bass were inhaling the jackalls right down. A bit tricky on a couple of them getting the lure back without hurting the fish. I have caught bigger numbers before, but not that sort of quality fish one after another.

The sad thing is I had to leave them biting, as I had to get going home.

Hopefully the pics will turn out alright, my camera has not been playing the game lately.

cdenyer
14-01-2007, 07:34 PM
pic 2

cdenyer
14-01-2007, 07:35 PM
Last pic, it's hard holding a fish in one hand and a bulky digicam in the other. :)

14-01-2007, 07:51 PM
Nice fish

where is NPD..North Pine Dam??

cdenyer
14-01-2007, 07:55 PM
Nice fish

where is NPD..North Pine Dam??

Yes- North Pine Dam - north western outskirts of Brisbane

SWANY22
14-01-2007, 08:07 PM
defently worth the effort.npd has got to be 1 of the better big bass dams around great fish mate .now thas bass fishing

cdenyer
14-01-2007, 08:17 PM
defently worth the effort.npd has got #to be 1 of the better big bass dams around great fish mate #.now thas bass fishing

Too right mate. I read all the reports coming from all the other dams around the traps, and none of them hold consistent numbers of 50 cm plus bass like North Pine seems to. IMO :D

Tim_01
14-01-2007, 09:11 PM
nice bass fishytales ;D where at north pine were you fishing?

Tim.

sarg
14-01-2007, 09:39 PM
Good fish mate must be happy with that!!

You did better than me went there this morning only using placcies though lots of hits but no hook ups. I think i need some jackals.

Canoedle
14-01-2007, 09:53 PM
Another good session, nice one Chris. :)

stokesy_86
15-01-2007, 12:45 AM
nice fish mate, i was out there this arvo aswell looking for some new spots, only got two small bass, 29cm and 33cm, but got a hook up with the first cast of the day which was alright ,you clearly had a much better day, well done mate.

Stokesy

warrior
15-01-2007, 03:58 PM
can you fish this place with a boat and what are the rules if any

stokesy_86
15-01-2007, 05:03 PM
nah mate its land based fishing only atm, no boats allowed.

blue-mako
15-01-2007, 05:11 PM
Nar mate, no boats. Bank only.

Nice fish mate. It's been a few sessions since my last 50+ :( . I wish I was out there today, overcast to the max. Next time I head out won't be until Saturday. Might see if Mum will give me a lift before then though.

Troy