View Full Version : Week @ Monduran Awesome!!

McCod
14-01-2007, 10:00 PM
Just a quick report on the last week @ Monduran..... Got there on Friday 6th... and just kicked back and relaxed..... Went for a flick on Saturday 7th without high expectations as I heard the fishing had been tuff!!! Started fishing around 11:00 with water temps around 26'c....with in a few minutes we had barra beside boat unhooking in the water, Boated 4 out of 8 hook ups in the next 3 hrs.... anyway this could run into a long report if not careful ;) well first few days we only fished 3 to 5 hrs in the heat of the day and tripped around a bit just looking!... and then come Monday we started fishing 2 sessions... being mid-day and a few hrs late arvo and into the dark a bit. Wouldn’t say the fishing was red hot but it was not to cold ether.... we boated good numbers of Barra over the week. The fish seem to be all over the dam at the moment! We usually don't do the photo thing much these days especially in the heat of summer, any fish that come on board get insulated from the hot deck which can reach temps of over 60'c in the max temp of the day! Most fish came on Arafurra Barra's both big and small, but the Scorpions 125mm and 150mm got a few along with the Big B52's. The Halco 120 Lazer Pro rigged to suspend or slow sink got some good fish when the fishing was a bit tougher overall I think it fished quiet well considering the high water temps and all!!! Some water was 33'c by the end of the week.... but still produced fish!! Only got a few picks this trip and they were taken in the cooler hrs. Wife Tania and the best deckie in the world cracked her fist meter plus @ Monduran going around 103 cm and i got a few bigger models.... Friday just gone one of the trollers dragged up and weighed in a 32 kg model that went around 1.2 mtrs!!! we didn't weigh any of our fish this trip... but i tell ya what.... some where hard to get out of the water 8-) End Report...... will attach a few picks :)

Cheers Les

McCod
14-01-2007, 10:02 PM
good one

McCod
14-01-2007, 10:03 PM
other

McCod
14-01-2007, 10:07 PM
bit smaller $1:12

McCod
14-01-2007, 10:13 PM
Bird bay 7th....

ele-phrez
14-01-2007, 10:14 PM
well champ ;D

bdowdy
15-01-2007, 06:58 AM
:)nice fish mc cod, you cleaned up ;D

scott_b
15-01-2007, 07:39 AM
Gday McCod
Looks like you openned a fresh can of woop a#s on them barra !!!. Excellent ,bloody well done.
wamjam

madkeen_fisherkid
15-01-2007, 07:46 AM
looks like the barra must just love u mc cod, keep up the great work ;D

Murph77
15-01-2007, 07:20 PM
Awesome fish mate, well done. And congrats to the Mrs

WHITTO
15-01-2007, 08:54 PM
:D :D G'Day Les, Great trip by all accounts, Great photos mate, Gee's the deckie did allright as well, sounds like a great week, Good stuff will be up there in a couple of weeks, Cheers #Whitto : ;) ;)

wheezer
15-01-2007, 11:24 PM
good stuff mate, congrats again on the wedding and great to see such quality fish! sorry i couldn't take you up on your invite maybe next time....

16-01-2007, 07:00 AM
Good report and pics Les

Steven

fish_on
16-01-2007, 08:51 AM
nice fish well done mate. :) gee weezer you better stop drooling and get a weekend off. lets go

Roo
16-01-2007, 09:23 AM
;) heres hoping there on in march. I'm up for another crack early march. I gotta try and get the missus on to one or she might not let me go back :P

Those are some big fish Les. Shame about the night pics :'(, i cant mentally note the spots ;D ;D ;D. Well done, great report.

cheers, Rod.

Mak579
16-01-2007, 12:20 PM
Well done Les, nice pics too!

Matt C

-birdman-
16-01-2007, 01:34 PM
awesome fishing top effort, gotta get me some of that ;D

16-01-2007, 01:39 PM
Les

Congratulations to the deckie....wow...was that 103 casting? You scored some awesome fish yourself mate.

We went up on the same Friday but only overnighted it and left Saturday just after lunchtime. It was tough work for us. We just took an overnight domey and camped at the end of the paddock in the caravan/camping area, a bit of a walk away from the bush kitchens.

Where were you guys staying?

NormC
16-01-2007, 04:18 PM
Great stuff Les and good to see Tania got a big one. My wife is yet to catch anything other that a cat fish on a lure. We'll be at Monduran just after Australia Day week-end for a few days. Kathryn isn't into casting much, so I'll do a bit of trolling and hope to get her hooked up. Really hope she does well so she wil be keen to go back.

Les, you mention rigging a lure to suspend or slowly sink. How do you do that. I'm looking to put a bit of weight on some of my floating lures so I can pause on retreive a bit longer without them popping up. I've been looking for some sticky lead (small lead pieces with self adhesive on one side), but no luck yet. Interested to know how you weight your lures.

B.F.A.
16-01-2007, 06:22 PM
nice work was neally post poning a trip up there,

Toppy
16-01-2007, 07:13 PM
Nice work Les, looks like you are making good use of that skeeter!
Toppy

McCod
16-01-2007, 08:20 PM
G'day all and thanks for the kind words....
Paul... yep Tania's big one came from casting as did all the fish!!
And we roughed it in a cabin for a week :)

NormC... most of the 3 hook lures i just rig 2 bigger trebles on em with 2 split rings per hook instead of the 3 smaller ones which helps in weighting the lure and the 2 split rings also lets the lure work better as it is less effected by the heavier trebles due to the double jink action.... Sometimes a small sinker can be added to where the center treble was using a bit of wire or fishing line..... I find that it is usually better to have the extra weight articulated from the lure instead of being afixed to the lure,The little Halco Pro Lazer 120mm slow sinks with a #1 4x Owner up front with 2 halco 4xxx split rings and a #2 4x Owner at the rear end with 2 of the same split rings The lure works great on a slow roll or a stop start retrieve..... A little bit of Sticky weight putty works well sometimes positioned on the chin of the lure as is on the 130mm Arafura in the photo!
Atached is a pic of a few set ups that we use

Cheers Les

TinarooTriumph
16-01-2007, 08:58 PM
Top report and pic's Les, well done to you both!

Norm - I got hold of some little lure weights awile back, when I went golfing with a mate in Cairns. They are little strips of lead weight, about 1mm thick, 30mm long and about 10mm in width with adhesive backing. I have no idea what they would use them for in golf (Putter face maybe?), but I immediately asked If I could take a few dozen of them from his Club Bag as I straight away thought they would be great for lure weights. They stick really well on the belly of lures between sets of hooks, and don't effect the action of the lure one bit. Important to keep the lure in the zone so they don't bob around!