View Full Version : The days catch "DO YOU"
15-10-2004, 08:01 AM
This is just to see if most fisho's have the same rules that i have on my tub. Some deckies try there own rules on you every now and again.
15-10-2004, 08:21 AM
spiro, the catch is split up, if someone gets a large fish its theres as long as everyone has enough to keep there tribe fed that day. commonly on gamefishn days 1 big dolphinfish is the only eating fish brought aboard so its divided up.
DaneCross
15-10-2004, 08:28 AM
Split it if theres enuff to go around. Otherwise if there's only 1 or 2 caught, the catcher takes ownership ;)
Kiktz
15-10-2004, 09:13 AM
Depends!!!
I have a few mates that I go fishing with a fair bit. THey always chip in to the cost of a trip( Bait Fuel etc) so I always like to spplit the catch. If we only have one big keeper, Its come over for Dinner. But there have been times where we/I have only caught one fishy and I have given it to my Mates. Otherwise If we have had a good day Split it!!!!!
mini696
15-10-2004, 09:38 AM
If I bring in a fish I might not end up wanting I ask the boys if anyone wants it if no-one does I release it. Everyone keeps their own if they want them, and split the rest.
I tend to only keep a fish (and release the others) if I want to take it home, usually because its a good eating size (not too big or small), or if its a good eating fish (reds, jack, flatty).
If there is only one fish caught and its a big-'un I usually go to a nice spot somewhere the next day (or weekend) and put it on the hot coals with the crew. Yum yum.
If we are crabbin. its evenly split between all of us, and if the numbers are not even the skipper takes the extra.
My general rule must therefore be "If its caught by YOUR ROD its yours to do with as you wish... If its caught by the boat (game fish, crabs etc) its split evenly, with the extra going to the skipper."
All rules are subject to modification, depending on the mood of the skipper.
mini696
15-10-2004, 09:39 AM
Also if I cant be bothered filleting it I give it to someone else... ;D ;D
SeaHunt
15-10-2004, 10:39 AM
Ditto , I usually just take one or two bigen's (especially if I caught them) and give the rest away because I am too lazy to clean and fillet them.
If there are only little ones I usually don't take any. :P
i release most, if a mate is with me he can have whatever he likes.
on the odd occasions i take a feed i will keep the best of what i caught.
most that i do take goes to the mother in law ;) the deal is if she wants them, she cleans, guts, fillets whatever, ;D i dont clean fish for give aways.
mini696
15-10-2004, 11:02 AM
Yeah If I clean it I keep it.
Quite often I'll keep my days catch (especially the smaller bream, and whiting) in a live tank (if I can) or in a net so if I catch enough for a feed I can keep the lot. But if I only get a couple I can let them go in good health.
philip_thomson
15-10-2004, 12:19 PM
we have only ever boated 1 keeper on the boat :-[and in that case the catcher kept it. but when i have a good day i will split the fish up. in the case of 1 lone mackeral or longtail i will fillet/steak it up and split it up. with crabs i will have to decide when one comes aboard.
Take what ya want boys!! Thats our rule...foxy
jeffo
15-10-2004, 01:21 PM
yep, split it equally...if fuel and bait is shared equally then so should be what is kept!
Maria
15-10-2004, 01:57 PM
In my experiences, I've always been on boats where all the blokes are amicable about sharing everything - fuel costs, tackle costs, bait, lunch, drinks and fish if any are caught...and I think it's the best way. If I go home with a heap of fish that are not as good eating after they've been frozen, I'll probably keep enough for myself over the next day or two and give the rest away. No point in freezing it and eating it second rate when someone else can enjoy it while it's fresh too.
Just a few ideas anyway.
moondancer
15-10-2004, 02:47 PM
Lately if we split up the catch from recent trips, I think we'd be lucky to make a fish cake each!!!! Rule in our boat is if you catch it on your rod it's yours, but if there's enough to go round we share - unless you have a biggy!!
Lawry
Needmorerum
15-10-2004, 04:27 PM
We've never really caught much to write home about as yet. Although, I would think that on a good day the catch would be shared out except any "pearlers" that were caught, they would be up to the discretion of the catchee.
Corry
JD... looks like we'll have to get out more often to try this theory.
16-10-2004, 04:46 AM
Depends!!!
<snip>
If we only have one big keeper, Its come over for Dinner.
No bugger comes over to my house for dinner! ;-)
The Verminator
Streaker
16-10-2004, 06:29 AM
Good question. On Streaker you keep your biggest or best and the rest are divided equally. If it's been a slim day I ensure that the deckies get a good feed before I take any. We split the cost therefor we split the fish.
Wayne
Hookem_Herby
16-10-2004, 06:33 AM
Sounds bloody fair to me Wayne! ;) ::)
Herby
16-10-2004, 07:49 AM
Wayne my rules the same as yours, as well as the the betting game we have[you know] just to live the boat trip up a bit more. We might have to bet on who can catch a yakka instead ;D ;D
Gigantor
16-10-2004, 09:34 AM
When I've been fishing with my own group, the practice has always been to keep 1 or 2 of your best fish and share the rest. This has always worked well. At least those that didn't catch anything get to take home something to show for their day's effort.
On the few occasions when we have had to joined another group on a boat to make up the numbers, the experience has been totally different.
One particular occasion saw members of the "other" group push in and grab quite a few of the best fish that they did not catch themselves, which nearly started WW3. One of these fish was mine and I held my ground and was able to take my fish. I only wanted to take my one good fish and offered up the rest of my catch to the group.
On this same occasion the operator offered a cooked breakfast on the way out to Flinders reef and a number of the combined groups tucked into the greasey hot tucker. This only set most of them off, as they all started to put the burley out. Most of these chaps didn't do much fishing that day, as they were all sick as hell and just laid around moaning.
It was a number of these crook chappies from the other group that then jumped in front of everyone and started grabbing fish at the end of the day - which was really sad to see. The charter operator backed away and didn't want to get involved. It really spoiled the day and I'll never do a mixed group charter again.
Gigantor
CQ_Fisher
16-10-2004, 10:03 AM
I would have to agree with everybody that keeping your best fish or 2 (depending on total catch) and dividing up the rest would have to be the best practice. By the way, what is 0 divided by 2 ??? ;D. We gotta lift our game Corry.
Gigantor,
Sounds like a pretty bad experience with the mixed charter (some blokes just have no idea, do they). I wouldnt let one bad experience put you off too much. All you gotta do is on the way out take the bull by the horns and have a group discussion as to what the majority of the crew would like to do as far as catch division goes. On the last mixed charter i went on the skipper told us all how he normally splits the catch and that was that, no arguments later on.
JD
snappa
16-10-2004, 04:19 PM
my rule is SIMPLE
the fish that are not "marked"
are the skippers ::)
this makes the crew try harder.. ;D
my frozen fish stills tastes 100% better than a shop ;)
SeaSaw
16-10-2004, 06:40 PM
The simple approach on my boat is to split the fish up. In doing this I make sure the crew get to keep any trophy fish they caught or anything that is a first and they want to taste it.
I usually give part of my share away to family anyway, as if you have too much fish in the freezer, you don't have a good excuse to go fishing again. ;) ;D
spaniard
17-10-2004, 04:43 AM
Well everyone seems to have the right idea by sharing it around, which is good ;D ;D ;D. So I guess its up to the skipper and the crew what they do. Now I might be silly ;) but I would rather see my mates take the fish home ahead of me, even if it ment I had nothing. :-[ I love fishing and do it for extreme enjoyment , eating fresh fish is just a bonus .
hi all. we split all costs equally. whoever catches the biggest gets the option to keep it or whatever. & we share the rest. if i have fish in the freezer i don't normally bother takeing any at all. :) :) kevy.
jimbob
20-10-2004, 11:26 AM
Anybody that catch larger or trophy fish they keep but everything else is split up evenly as possible. And then sometimes they will play swappsies.
where_is_dave
20-10-2004, 11:39 AM
The few keepers we tend to get these days are usually shared as for most others anything noteworthy is catchers option.
I try to stick blokes n shielas that have similar ideas and have never had a drama.
max_power
21-10-2004, 04:31 AM
I keep my trophy/big fish, then split the rest, but i try to always make sure everyone goes home with something where possible