View Full Version : The great shark hunt
06-10-2004, 07:42 AM
Just an idea people :o
There has long been talk and expressions of interest in an ausfish shark trip, comp, make it what you like! its coming into prime time for the biteys in moreton bay which will give even the smallest tinnies a fair shot at a beast ;D
Prime areas to hit are the spoil grounds north of the rouse up to mud island, with a few boats working one area with plenty of chum it should prove very productive :D
A BBQ back at wello or manly? after lunch should be on the cards as well. Yes Render, that includes you, if the sharks dont get you first ;D ;D
The pic is of some jaws Ben (maria) mounted for me, for the trophy specimens you wont go wrong getting Ben to do a job on them for you.
cheers Rob
ba229
06-10-2004, 09:49 AM
That sounds like something worth making the trip up for ;D
I will follow this with great interest.
After all the talk it's time to get Render something other than a bream :)
basserman
06-10-2004, 10:05 AM
come on rob you just want everyone to hit the grey coats so they stop bothering you when you get them big fishies to the side of the ocean cylinder ;D
DaneCross
06-10-2004, 11:39 AM
Good call Rob,
Just had a word to JB, and I rekon it wont be hard to find another decky, so I'll definitly be in (depending on the date). Sounds like a hoot. Where are the mack tuna at the moment? We'll hafta go stock up before hand ;)
Never brought a big noah to the boat though, what do we do with it? :o
DC
P.S. I rekon Kingtins a definite starter also ;D
CHRIS_aka_GWH
06-10-2004, 02:09 PM
for really big tigers Rob,
at what speed do you troll boogy-boarders ??
chris ;D
CHRIS_aka_GWH
06-10-2004, 02:13 PM
oh
& should ya pop their backbone so they wiggle a bit :-X
http://www.sharkattacks.com/bites.htm
(*if you are at all upset by actual pictures of graphic wounds do not hit this link)
Fishinmishin
06-10-2004, 03:35 PM
You bast*rd Chris-aka-Gwh. I was just starting to take up speardiving. Those photos will surely stunt my confidence. [smiley=bigcry.gif] [smiley=freak.gif] [smiley=help.gif]
propdinger
06-10-2004, 04:12 PM
lol chris
poor fishinmishon they are only hungry every second day, but which is every second day......lol
rob i would be in it for some fun if i can make it
Maria
06-10-2004, 05:02 PM
Hell yes I'll be in on a shark hunt anyday. Trophies....no dramas - all mounted up on a varnished trophy plaque too. ;D
How did they mount the shark jaws?
Nice job you had done on them.
I would be interested in the trip if I can hop on someone's boat.
cheers doug
snappa
06-10-2004, 05:45 PM
ben
if i grab the jaws from one of these .. do you think you could mount the jaws for me. i tried years ago but they fell to pieces :-[
mack. can ya be land based for the comp. ;D ;D
Render
06-10-2004, 06:15 PM
Rob,
You already know I'm in, mate!!
Yeah!
Bastad's gone under the boat!!!
I might have a deckies spot for those in need, too. Severe weighting given to Elle MacPherson lookalikes ;D
Talk to ya lata, bloke!
R
sominc
06-10-2004, 06:36 PM
Im definately up for it. if anyone has a spare spot on a boat that would be tops.
cheers tom
Render
06-10-2004, 07:03 PM
Got any sisters, Som? ;D
hahahah, LMAO @ Chris :D
Sounds like fun ... gimble belt here i come. ;)
07-10-2004, 04:51 AM
P.S. I rekon Kingtins a definite starter also ;D
Depends on the deckie's days off, but I'm in if it works out ok.
Fishinmishin
07-10-2004, 05:35 AM
I'm in. Need an excuse to find the one with my rod attached to it.
Maria
07-10-2004, 05:52 AM
Pete,
Yeah mate, no dramas eh. How did you try and do it?
HamzaLH
07-10-2004, 06:28 AM
Damn ... Sounds like a ball ...
If anyone has a spot for a decki let me know ... Would love to go ...
Ta ...
Hamza ...
Quinny69
07-10-2004, 06:41 AM
Rob, Maria, Are those jaws from the Noha we caught/wrestled/whacked ect ect, seemed bigger at the time. :-/ MQ
Fishinmishin
07-10-2004, 07:59 AM
Snappa, looks like your no competition for MY shark fishing ;) ;D ;D
Brenno
07-10-2004, 08:04 AM
i'd be keen
but i have to warn you i've never been shark fishing before but i'd be more then willing to give it a go. even bring along a six pack of the captins fav drink.
07-10-2004, 10:49 AM
I am also interested, but not in a killing orgy. There is a shark tagging research project which has started at the Uni of Qld. I have sent the person an email asking for details of how to become involved, and I would definitely be interested in it from that point of view. If someone want to keep a shark to eat, fair enough, but I have problems with just killing sharks for a photo or for their jaws.
I will follow this thread for more info, and post again if I get the details on the shark tagging.
Maria
07-10-2004, 11:44 AM
Quinny,
Yeah mate, same shark. They seem small for the animal we landed, so it makes you think twice about the size of animal that once was when you see a set of jaws around that measure 60cm across. ;D
snappa
07-10-2004, 12:17 PM
:o i would look better bl**** ;D
webby started this and where its ends no one knows... ;D ;D
bungie
07-10-2004, 12:44 PM
I'm in too, would be interesting to be a part off. Same thoughts as Jeremy tho, catch and release ??
peterbo3
07-10-2004, 01:38 PM
Catch & Release.
For sure!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D
Released after those choppers & a few choice fillets are removed. [smiley=stare.gif] [smiley=stare.gif] [smiley=stare.gif] [smiley=stare.gif] [smiley=stare.gif]
jeffo
07-10-2004, 03:11 PM
i will be part of it... but like jeremy i wont be in it if its gunna be dead sharks all over the shop. no point in that what so ever.
MICHAELG
07-10-2004, 03:20 PM
Count me in. If its small yummy.but the big fellas will be released, not really keen on shark wrestling.
michael
Sportfish_5
07-10-2004, 05:27 PM
Im in but before this we will need a tuna bash for bait and burley ::) ::) ::)
C & R is the go I spose :o but dam I just got given a new flying gaff ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
magicpudding
07-10-2004, 06:04 PM
Sounds like a plan. How long away are we talking about?
Might chuck next weekend's tuna bycatch in the esky.
We've never been fishing for sharks, so will be an interesting experience. Also, we'll probably have one or two spare spots, provided someone can lend us a tag pole that isnt 'billfish only'. I dont look forward to tagging a raging shark with a deck tagger!
C.J. Maycock
Maria
07-10-2004, 09:18 PM
God...just wait 'till the Greenies catch a wiff of this thread [smiley=guitarist.gif] [smiley=laola.gif]. Greenpeace will be organising a secret protest rendevous when we go out. Lol...can't wait to waste some Greenpeace zodiac pirates trying to scale the port side with the high powered deck hose from aboard a vessel. ;D
Peter, unfortunately larger sharks tend to contain high amounts of mercury in their bodies which can be somewhat less beneficial for your continued good health. Something to consider before slicing your choice cuts away from a 2m specimen.
jeffo
08-10-2004, 02:17 AM
ill jump on with you CJ if we arent fishin with wayne....depending on what tags they want to put in sharks (maybe the metal tips??) we could prolly knock something up for the weekend.
08-10-2004, 03:19 AM
If you look in the latest issue of QFM, you can read about the shark tagging project. It is run by Stephen Taylor and they will issue us with Uni Qld tags. Sounds worthwhile to me and I have been in touch with Stephen and suggested that he post a message here himself.
08-10-2004, 03:30 AM
mmm............ Sharks :-/
Never caught one before, sounds interesting..... there always a first time for everything ;D
Might have to grab a 'youllbe' stick just in case. 8)
I'd give it a go ;)
damons33
08-10-2004, 04:03 AM
you could do it like the "flathead classic" and measure them/tag n release em' and the dudes with the greatest total length "wins".
hmmmmmm i know a great spot for grey nurses(usually a by-catch when fishing for tuna), hmmm nurses love a good mullet rigged up on 49 strand s/s. lotta fin on em' you can see why the pro's targetted them for the shark fin soup market- $500 for a 12" fin
:-*
damo'-stop reading here if you are "non-political"!
"vote" 1 bob and save a warty old tree instead of a cardboard box- sad world you live in when you're most "ethical pollie" is a faggit!
hard to vote for a guy who hits old men or kills children!
:'(
DaneCross
08-10-2004, 07:01 AM
God...just wait 'till the Greenies catch a wiff of this thread [smiley=guitarist.gif] [smiley=laola.gif]. Greenpeace will be organising a secret protest rendevous when we go out. Lol...can't wait to waste some Greenpeace zodiac pirates trying to scale the port side with the high powered deck hose from aboard a vessel. ;D
LMAO Ben
Im in but before this we will need a tuna bash for bait and burley ::) ::) ::)
Good call Greg, definitly gotta find those tuna. Where are they at the moment?
This is shapeing up to be a bit of an event! Lets start talking dates. Oh yeh, and what type of gear are we gonna need - what size/types of hooks? how heavy will the wire trace need to be??
DC
08-10-2004, 07:35 AM
Excellent response sofar, now we have to come up with a time and date to suit you all ::)
October 23/24 or the following wk end sounds about right to me. but any time from now before christmas should suit best.
Dane, we smashed the tuna yesterday off the point, also bonito are in plague proportions... go for a troll out around the 9 mile, otherwise spinning, you might find some good schools in the NE bay area, no need for wire on the trolling lures at present.
Hook size to leave the gape clear of the bait, big bait big fish :o and a meter of 90kg wire, to a 60kg mono leader minimum, for the over 2m class.
DaneCross
08-10-2004, 08:17 AM
Cheers Rob, shall get me some tuna somewhere ::)
I like the sounds of October 30? But am open to other dates. Just looking to book a naughty weekend with the missus soon, but fishing comes first. LOL ;D
DC
snappa
08-10-2004, 08:32 AM
ben
you have a tag gun use it ;D ;D
Maria
08-10-2004, 10:06 AM
Lol Pete...some tag mate.
Evening of the 23rd I'm already booked in to teach some mates how to fish. Weekend after would be more suitable if that's cool.
SeaHunt
09-10-2004, 10:00 AM
Sounds like fun. ;D
I seem to be able to catch a few without even trying, so shouldn't be too difficult.
So now where can I get a few dozen litres of blood (legally). ::)
SCOTTYGC
09-10-2004, 10:21 AM
if i can hitch a ride with someone id luv to have a shot
any weekend suits me
scotty
propdinger
09-10-2004, 11:42 AM
is there a thing as too much blood ??????
lol
Maria
09-10-2004, 11:48 AM
If you wave a carton of piss under the eyes of someone working in a slaughterhouse or abbatoir you should be able to get a few 20L buckets of blood and scraps. Who knows....they might even give it to you.
09-10-2004, 02:52 PM
Dont know about up yourway, but in Tassie you are not allowed to use any mammal by products as burley
sharkbait
09-10-2004, 03:15 PM
Dont need blood anyway, half a tuna or a bottle of tuna oil with a hole in it will do.
I'll be at Moreton on the 30th, does shore based count???
Hmmm could put the hilux to use... ;)
kris
snappa
09-10-2004, 03:49 PM
sharkbait
you can burrow my line and hook ::)
metal braid breaking strain of some 4 tons
specially hardened 40/0 hook ;D ;D ;D :D
chande over reels to a hilux
09-10-2004, 06:05 PM
Keep those Greenies guessing. Where ??? at Batemans Bay ;D
09-10-2004, 06:35 PM
Move on >:( my mind is made up VOTE 1 FISHING PARTY ;D. Bring on the little morsels ::)
Render
09-10-2004, 06:39 PM
Burley:
I took a wander into me local fishmongers and asked what they did with all the blood and guts.
Upshot is, at that shop anyway, if u drop a bucket off with a day or two's notice, they'll fill it with guts, blood and any other fish crap they usually dump.
Might be the same with your local fishie. I'll be dropping a couple of them big white buckets with VERY tight fitting lids off before the Great Expedition.
R
gcbfc
10-10-2004, 10:23 AM
I used to fish on one of Sydneys most reliable Shark Boats in comps. We've hooked and weighed huge Tigers, Whalers and Makos. People who know me, also know I snapped my arm in gaff ropes on a 111Kilo Mako after we'd hooked it for 9 hours on 10 Kilo tackle.
Please take care, even with small sharks when you use Gaff ropes on a boat. The buggers will go into a death roll at the boat and wrap their way up the ropes.
Burley wise.. IGFA, which I know a lot of you don't fish (by the rules) prohibits the use of mammal blood and body parts for burley, so if you intend to weigh one for points, stick to fish. Effective burleys are minced fish frames, we almost always used boxes of Mullet.. we'd chop the heads and tails off and drop them over for the deeper Tigers and then burley pot the frames for Makos and Whalers. If you are fishing in a bay, you won't have to worry about this.
If anyone wants a deckie for this trip with some knowledge of rigging baits on wire (I have rigs made up) and a couple of BIG flying gaffs.. simply send me a PM. I'd prefer to fish out of a bigger boat if we are after the big Tigers in Moreton that I've heard about, as a 200+ Kilo Tiger and a 15 foot tinny is a silly idea best filmed from a distance !!!
;D
Wayne
10-10-2004, 11:50 AM
October 30 is proving popular. To make things more simple and cater to those with big plans inc overtime battles :D organising a meet after has been scrapped, some are also keen to fish through the night.
The list of boats fishing is increasing, great to see many getting involved.
.................................................. .................................................. ..
***I'd prefer to fish out of a bigger boat if we are after the big Tigers in Moreton that I've heard about, as a 200+ Kilo Tiger and a 15 foot tinny is a silly idea best filmed from a distance !!!***
Ill go along with that Wayne ;D
MICHAELG
10-10-2004, 02:16 PM
if it is the 30th I'm out. have a trip already organised. will keep checking post
Michael
philip_thomson
10-10-2004, 02:20 PM
im in if anyone needs a deckie. my deckie (car driver) is working that day :-(
anyone after a deckie let me know
cheers phil
sominc
12-10-2004, 01:01 PM
Im delfinatley keen for the 30th if anyone is searching for a deckie with a little experience in shark fishing let me know
cheers tom
magicpudding
12-10-2004, 01:23 PM
The 30th sounds good for us, at the moment it looks like we'll have a full boat, but dad might not come so there's the possibility for another crew member.
What weight lines will people be using? We've either got 8 or 24kg, i think 8 will lead to a pretty long fight and 24 might be overkill, what do others think?
Cheers, C.J. Maycock
12-10-2004, 01:23 PM
I'm buggered for the 30th :-( Deckie is working and I'm stuck with the kids. Bollocks!
12-10-2004, 01:43 PM
CJ, 24 is perfect, there is no such thing as overkill in shark fishing ;D
Kev, you will be missed, if anyone was going to show how its done it was you.
12-10-2004, 02:27 PM
CJ, 24 is perfect, there is no such thing as overkill in shark fishing ;D
Kev, you will be missed, if anyone was going to show how its done it was you.
Cheers Rob, I'm working on her taking a sickie.........she's only got 9 weeks of the buggers saved but she seems to prefer nursing to deckying :-)
adamleah
12-10-2004, 03:26 PM
I'm in whatever day it is ...
Guess I will be taking either ben or Dylan .....
Would of been good if we could have had a get together somewhere.......
Maybe some of us could hook up at wello afterwards or maybe even at the park area on Green Island....
Cheers Adam
propdinger
12-10-2004, 03:34 PM
adam green sounds good as some people like me will be on the water later as i have to work in the morning so i think if we organised something for around 3ish to meet up or what ever and have a few drinks etc then head off to shark grounds for a arvo fish if the weather is any good i might even goto bulwer or cowen for the night and fish for a few cobia ;D ;D ;D they look like sharks well sort of........
Maria
13-10-2004, 06:11 AM
Dunno if Dylan's going to be fishing...havn't heard from him. I'm on Rob's boat I think.
Hogan's Pub is just up the hill at Wellington Point.
where_is_dave
13-10-2004, 11:55 AM
but she seems to prefer nursing to deckying :-)
[smiley=idea.gif]Tell her she may be able to combine the two. Especially if u let one of them big buggers on board ;)
13-10-2004, 07:18 PM
[smiley=idea.gif]Tell her she may be able to combine the two. Especially if u let one of them big buggers on board ;)
Nice one Dave :-)
Billo
14-10-2004, 12:07 PM
You can count me in as being on the water!!!!!!!!!!!!
hell yeh !!!!!!!
but i will have an engangement party that night ....bummer
SeaHunt
16-10-2004, 09:51 AM
So is "the Great Shark Hunt" still going to happen?
Are we just going to kill em for fun, or are we going to do something else with them [smiley=smash.gif]
I am not eating them, I suppose I could drop a few around to Kev's place though. ;D
16-10-2004, 01:55 PM
Yes the shark hunt is a goer! October 30 is dday, weather having the final say.
I have been in contact with most interested privately and all are jumping for a shot at a beast ;D ;D a couple of coldies around 3 at green was a great idea.
I wouldnt say kill them for fun :-X lives are at stake here and public safety must come first :-/
nick_B
16-10-2004, 01:55 PM
if anyone wants to learn the land based side of shark fishing on the day or anyother time for that matter some shark fisho's I know (Simon and James Harmon) would be happy to. Maybe Simon or James could post some pics of just how big a sharks you can catch landbased. They might also give some tips on how to be a little safer when Catching them as well.
Good Shark fishing to all!
If I can tear Myself away from work Maybe I can get into the action to.
nick_B
16-10-2004, 01:57 PM
Well simon and James would be a happy to give some lessons that is.
16-10-2004, 03:40 PM
Oct 30 it is, I'll be bringing a mate along and should have one if not two dekie spots available. At this stage I'd like to do an overnighter weather dependant. Will confirm dekie space mid-week before ;)
Damo
16-10-2004, 09:05 PM
Phillip T is IN ! [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] like I said you had better produce the goods young padewin ! ;D
Damo
Fin_Addict
18-10-2004, 06:21 AM
Sign me up Macky.....It's time to open a can of whip ass on a noah >:( Grrrr
19-10-2004, 06:37 AM
LOL blackrat..? or no rats for the young master? ;D
Have had a couple of requests for a basic outline of the gear and methods so here goes, sharks are not much different to any of the other species you still have to make the bait look presentable at times, using wire is necessary ill start with a few pics of various types and brief outline.
starting with 49 strand, the best there is imo, ultra flexible gives good bait movement and is re-usable in many cases, unlike single wire. downside rigging gear is needed.
premade plastic coated is popular but if you rely on kmart brand you wont see to many big ones.
19-10-2004, 06:40 AM
hard SingleStrand the type known as mono wire used mainly for mackerel, must be twisted tightly, and handled with care or your bait will be at right angles, but is flexible by comparison to soft wire and comes straightened. commonly broken by sharks being prone to kinks, I wouldnt use any less than 120lb.
19-10-2004, 06:41 AM
soft single strand, needs to be straightened before use, cheap and easy to twist up, have caught many large ones with this, but much care must be given to it being straight.
19-10-2004, 06:43 AM
twist connection to a single hook with soft stainless.
19-10-2004, 06:47 AM
I have heard that sharks can sense the wire in the water (magnetic field), so it is better to use plastic coated wire. Any thoughts on this?
What are the preferred baits - fresh strip baits, live baits, squid???
notts_so
19-10-2004, 07:06 AM
Sound like the kinda fishin chalenge I like pitty im so far away or Ide deckie for fin addict nothin better than opening some woopass
james_harmon
19-10-2004, 07:40 AM
G'day all,
Good luck with the shark hunt, can't wait to hear how all of you go, hope you get a healthy mixture of hard fighting fish and food. I hope the weather is perfectly suited as well.
Here's a couple of pics to whet your appetite!
Best of luck!
James
james_harmon
19-10-2004, 07:46 AM
The hammer above is recent, a couple of weeks ago off Moreton. The hammer and Spinner below are a couple of years ago.
Again, all the best. And no, we didn't catch them in the rubber boat ;)
James
Serge.
19-10-2004, 07:53 AM
What did you do with the hammer and the other shark pictured ?
19-10-2004, 08:01 AM
Jeremy, while they can sense wire does that matter? how many times have we seen them taste test boarding ladders or metal cages ;D like most things in fishing it pays to spread your bets around sometimes, im sure Brian had a coated trace on yesterday and my uncoated caught just as many.
I would say if someone was to go for a swim in a trail of tuna oil and blood out near mud island they would be asking more questions than should the 50cm piece of wire im holding be plastic coated or not :-/ ;D
baits. tuna, mullet, gar, pillies, livies particularly mullet for mine, a neat pice of tuna fillet with a hook pushed once through the skin so its well exposed, reel fished with ratchet on in free and let run for a few seconds gives a hookup rate about 80%.
As for berley in areas of strong current surface berley travels too far to fast, better to anchor with berley on the bottom and also on top. fish baits on the bottom, midwater and a floater, more often that not the deeper baits do best.
tuna oil bottles and several of them are easy and work great, pillies and fishframes good but more messy, its important to not put all your berley in one basket.. as sometimes the sharks will bite the line off :o
19-10-2004, 08:32 AM
I have heard that sharks can sense the wire in the water (magnetic field), so it is better to use plastic coated wire. Any thoughts on this?
What are the preferred baits - fresh strip baits, live baits, squid???
I use 40 kilo 7 strand plastic coated Jeremy. Put a blob of silicone on the cut ends to seal the wire and kill the magno. Must do it well before hand though to give the silicone time to cure and kill the smell. Dunno though, if the hooks give off a magnetic field anyway? The other field of thought is that a "magnetic field" is likely to be an attractor anyway. I've caught just as successfully on "untreated" rigs when I've had to make 'em up in the boat so I'm sceptical about the magnetic field being repulsive. Shark are inquisitive creatures and it may well be that it attracts just as much as it repels???
19-10-2004, 08:43 AM
<snip>
As for berley in areas of strong current surface berley travels too far to fast, better to anchor with berley on the bottom and also on top. fish baits on the bottom, midwater and a floater, more often that not the deeper baits do best.
Spot on Rob. I've always found that in water around 30 foot, or less the bait fished hard on the bottom has a much better catch rate. Anything over I tend to fish a floater mid-water also, and I have found that this will catch whereas in shallower water it won't. Even so, and contrary to how many fish for shark, I still find the bottom baits outfish the floaters......in the bay, that is. I have found many bay shark seem to hold crabs in their stomach so whether this is the reason for the bottom feeding, I'm not sure. They seem to eat anything that's thrown at 'em, and agian, contrary to what I have heard, it must be fresh........they really don't go for crappy bait. I change my bait for fresh, every 15 minutes also.
19-10-2004, 08:45 AM
OK thanks for the replies on that. I might even use 60 lb single strand so the big sharks can bite me off! ;D ;D
james_harmon
19-10-2004, 09:19 AM
Fishing bottom baits is certainly a hell of of a lot more productive fishing land based. Seems it translates to boats as well having read Kev's post. Local inshore waters fish very well using whole mullet, and as Kev has pointed out, fresh is best, naturally! One tip involves the use of cable ties to attach baits to hooks, allowing points to sit proud of the bait. One thing to be mindful of is always ensuring hooks are super sharp, touching them up with a file can be the difference between results and rubbish. We have always used multi-strand wire and found it great. 12/0 & 14/0 J hooks will fish nicely on wire to 2.5mm in diameter. We always use plastic coated but there is so much conjecture over coated/uncoated that I simply prefer to sit on the fence these days. As a side note though, we've always found plastic coated a bit easier to handle when trying to manage a fish in the shallows, may or may not be the same boat side?
Check out this tiger three of us caught a couple of years back, a whole mullet at Shorncliffe pier produced this!
Cheers, James
james_harmon
19-10-2004, 09:53 AM
I'll try again......
Serge.
19-10-2004, 10:24 AM
So what did you do with the Tiger ?
19-10-2004, 10:42 AM
Top effort James.
Serge, It looks like post capture the tiger has become a ride on mower ;D ;D, will you be joining in the shark hunt?
Maria
19-10-2004, 11:51 AM
Looks like the 3 dudes have stolen the ride on mower from the young fella in the helmet....Bullies! ;D
19-10-2004, 12:30 PM
LOL blackrat..? or no rats for the young master? ;D.
Yes it will be no rats for the young master, but I have confidence in him. ;D Otherwise he will become a water rat >:( and a new attracting device >:( ;D ;D
Serge.
19-10-2004, 12:49 PM
No Mackmauler I wont be joining you. Personally I see the whole attitude in this topic puerile. Calling it a hunt perfectly captures the attitude. I expect the reason why Jeremy has declined to respond to me queries as to the plight of the carcasses he created in the name of narrow minded machismo is due to the fact that he took the jaws and dumped the rest. What a pathetic waste. I fish and have done since I was a wee tacker but the one thing I have never done is killed for fun. The thoughtless extermination attitude shown post after post in this topic is narrow minded and disgusting. If you want a healthy fishery understand that it relies on a very fine balance and sharks of all species and sizes are part of this.
Why not send a copy of this topic to fishing legends, international and local, and see what their take on it is…
Wake up and smell the coffee. This crusade stinks.
Maria
19-10-2004, 12:54 PM
It's like your mrs asking if she looks fat in this particular dress. If you know you aint going to like the answer, don't ask the question - simple.
19-10-2004, 12:57 PM
Serge, get off your soapbox, the tag and release section is alive and well and fully supported, since im behind this you should know the last 16 sharks I have been involved with were released alive.
If you want to save the sharks go take it up with the GOV for allowing shark contractors to work.
;D ;D
Serge.
19-10-2004, 01:10 PM
I don't believe the images of three Jeremy has submitted were released. What do you suggest happened to those ? Wasted. An apex predator in an already strained ecosystem killed for a few photos.... senseless, thats what i'm saying.
Without exception everyone on this site wants a better fishery and Jeremy's behavior, and the condoning of it, does absolutely nothing towards helping achieve this.
Its a big picture and you simply can't ignore a single aspect of it and expect it not to yield repercussions.
Render
19-10-2004, 01:26 PM
Serge,
I'm sorry. but I don't see your point??
Apex predator? Mate, surely the fisheries would have more fish in for us if we didn't have all these sharks noshing on the stocks?
I mean, how many decent, legal sized brimbos have disappeared down that one Tiger's gob? How many more would have gone if James hadn't rid us of this verminous fish??
My personal collection of shark jaws stands at 35 and counting, including a few highly-prized grey nurse sets. They're my best ones, as they're hard to find these days. Shame, as they look really impressive mounted on a bit of teak.
I'm looking forward to culling off as many of these dangerous man-eating things as possible on the Great Hunt. I wanna get a few more jaws and photos to show my mates down the pub. What the hell else is there to do with sharks, anyway? You can't eat 'em at that size and it makes no sense to let them go, just to go on decimating our sporting stock.
I like to take my bag of everything, whether I can eat it or not, and sharks are no exception. OK, a lot does end up in the bin or chucked back for the pelicans if my esky is too full, but there's loads more out there where they came from.
Please stop baggin out us blokes who enjoy a bit of blood sport and like to see trophies on our walls. We're doing a valuable job, and we're keeping the beaches safe for our kids. Bet you haven't considered the children have you? I know I feel safer letting my kids paddle, knowing that I have done my bit to get rid of the shark problem.
Here's hoping we get 100 on the day! I'd love to see the pics of 100 floating shark bodies!! That'd be worth a brag!!
R
adamleah
19-10-2004, 02:59 PM
Serge,,, thinking you need to apologise to Jeremy on this one .....
Jeremy is an avid supporter as I se it of catch and release and I think he is actually bringing tags on the day .....
It is James who has caught these fish ,,,, I myself wouldnt just kill em em for the sake of it however anyone who catches a Tiger from shorncliffe pier needs a badge....
Think how many kids could have been swimmming with that ,,,,,,
19-10-2004, 03:18 PM
<snip>
Check out this tiger three of us caught a couple of years back, a whole mullet at Shorncliffe pier produced this!
Cheers, James
Think I recognise a face there James. I wasn't there that day but I heard about it a couple of days later when I pulled a 75 kilo whaler. I used to fish the northern corner.....I was recognisable by the shopping trolley with the rod holders affixed to it..........it's gone for a couple of free wheelies on there on a few occasions :-)
Nice catch mate.
cheers kev
19-10-2004, 03:28 PM
Serge,,, thinking you need to apologise to Jeremy on this one .....
Jeremy is an avid supporter as I se it of catch and release and I think he is actually bringing tags on the day .....
It is James who has caught these fish ,,,, I myself wouldnt just kill em em for the sake of it however anyone who catches a Tiger from shorncliffe pier needs a badge....
Think how many kids could have been swimmming with that ,,,,,,
Yep, you're right. years ago that part of the beach was netted.....now only the pillars remain. Personally, I don't let my kids swim anywhere near Sandgate. That bugger was caught only a couple of hundred metres from the most popular barbeque/swimming area Northside. I personally have caught upwards of 50 sharks of over 3 metres length in three years on that jetty......and.......in only 4 metres of water max!
I'm not condoning slaughter just highliting how dangerous that particular "family bathing venue" is.
Steer clear
Simon_Harmon
19-10-2004, 03:53 PM
Hi Kev,
I vary was impressed to read you have caught up to 50 sharks ranging to 3m in size from the sandgate pier. What species of shark have you caught there, and what's the largest you have landed?
I would love to see some of your sandgate pier photo's.
Simon Harmon
ba229
19-10-2004, 04:01 PM
Sounds to me like Render is fishing already. :)
Sportfish_5
19-10-2004, 04:04 PM
Despite our best efforts I don't think we will put a scratch in the resident bay shark population ;D ;D ;D
Everyone is entittled to their opinion on this "hunt" and catch and release will be the order of the day but some of the criticism is a bit personal :-X
Serge - Dont know how you got Jeremy confused but he deserves an apology as Adam mentioned :'(
Life is short - so fish hard ;)
james_harmon
19-10-2004, 04:39 PM
Shite,
I didn't share those pics in an effort to get myself hung, drawn and quartered. Serge, all of the sharks we have caught have either been released, eaten or donated for the betterment of science, hope you approve!
I think it's important to point out also that in no way did I mean to isolate Sandgate as an unsafe venue for families to swim. That fish was hooked at least 200 metres further out from the end of the pier, and on a day when the tide was the highest it's been in 50 odd years. Very obtuse conditions for the area. Obviously, care is required wherever people swim, whether it be sandgate or the Ipswich stretch of the Brissy River.
Jeremy, didn't mean to get you slandered either mate!!
James
Serge.
20-10-2004, 04:44 AM
Apologies for the typo... earlier posts were meant to read James not Jeremy.
Apologies for any offence caused.
I think there can be no better example of my reasons for concern regarding this than Render's response. And if it's not a poorly disguised baited hook, it really does say alot
20-10-2004, 05:24 AM
Hi Kev,
I vary was impressed to read you have caught up to 50 sharks ranging to 3m in size from the sandgate pier. What species of shark have you caught there, and what's the largest you have landed?
I would love to see some of your sandgate pier photo's.
Simon Harmon
Hi Simon, nearly every decent size one, was a whaler but I've also caught 2 big grey nurse and a real surprise, of a thresher. I've also had schoolies, blind, black tip, and hammerhead and some bloody *big* wobbegong. There was a dedicated shark angler on there who had a set of butcher's scales and the only one I ever weighed went 75 kilo, taken on a 12/0 and 30lb line on an English beach rod and Ambassadeur 7000, so I wasn't particularly rigged to coping with bigger. The shovelly in the Avatar was taken on 5 kilo line from there, and although not my biggest shovelly is my proudest capture and was reported in the local rag becuse of the crowd it drew when I was prancing up and down the pier :-)
I initially committed myself to jew fishing from there.....I was green to Oz fishing and thought "well, the piers between two estuaries, there's plenty of poddies, so there must be jew"..What did I know? :-) and I was catching shark as a bycatch. Getting past the stingies is the main problem as once I realised the shark potential I fished for only table specimens with smaller baits and this attracted the stingies..big buggers though :-)
I can verify that huge sharks *are* caught from there by some dedicated "floaties* with dedicated gear, who don't get pestered by the stingies. One of the guys paddles his bait out on a surf board then comes back and sits on the pier. Quite a few of them have been big tigers. What they're doing in such shallow water (on a regular basis) is anyone's guess, but I reckon it's the abundance of sting rays (a natural food) that attracts them. I've seen many caught on whole sting ray flaps, a bait I've never used.The fact that I've never accounted for a tiger when others using sting ray have, leads me to believe that the Tigers mat feed solely on them when they are in abundance...I could be wrong.
No photos I'm afraid, as the biggies are released at the landing stage, and I don't take anything of value (camera) onto that pier with the thieving scum around there. There *are* pics of my biggies but they're in the hands of Japanese tourists :-) I've seen some good pics in the tackle shop at Woody Point (I've also taken decent shark from the jetty there on several occasions) but I believe it's changed hands since I was last there so I don't know if the pics are still available.
20-10-2004, 03:26 PM
Thanks for clearing up the confusion regarding myself and James. I don't want to comment further on the ethics of it all here - each to their own as long as it is legal.
Back to the shark hunt...I plan to go and will be taking my rig. Meeting up at Green Is at 3 pm as other have suggested sounds like a good idea. Hope there isn't a big northerly or storm!
I will be targetting the smaller sharks for C&R. At this stage I will have room for one crew so send me a PM if you are interested.
21-10-2004, 09:39 PM
I reely don't give a fu#k what every one else does on there boat or mine.
Each to there own !!! ;)
Bring it on !! 8) 8) ;D
james_harmon
22-10-2004, 03:50 AM
Too right Black_Rat,
a little less time spent by some pushing views on people and more time on the water may just produce the results they are looking for. Make sure you guys get plenty of pics when you fish next weekend, and be safe on the sea.
Regards, James
adamleah
22-10-2004, 04:22 AM
Just interested in how the crazy guys that catch these size sharks manage to get the fish onboard without becoming a meal....
My piddly little club of death I store onboard would be eaten in one foul swoop by a shark that size.....
Do you tail tie them and tow em for a while till they drown? Or do you keep a shotgun aboard?
Adam
james_harmon
22-10-2004, 04:43 AM
Mate, the sharks I have posted were all caught land based, fishing stand up on the beach or jetty. Landing one can be very difficult indeed, plenty of rope and determination required. Tail roping is certainly the best method, it's just a case of getting close enough first.
James
Fishinmishin
22-10-2004, 08:08 AM
I stopped checking this issue for a while so when the date is set can someone please put up a new topic with all the details and rules of the comp. I understand if not because I'm sure you all don't want me there to catch JAWS. Na---Na--------Na---Na--------Na-Na--Na-Na--Na-Na--Na-Na (jaws song)
22-10-2004, 09:13 AM
Fishinmishin,
October 30th is the day. rules :o what rules :-X there is going to be a few drinks around the beach at green island at around 3pm, ill be out near mud island most likley as will many others come say gday if you see my boat, pic below. there isnt any stucture to the whole thing, we are just after sharks that day ;)
mini696
22-10-2004, 09:24 AM
Thats a sweet ride there Mackmauler...
Good luck on the expedition guys, I wish I could join in. But I have prior commitments.
Next time...
magicpudding
22-10-2004, 10:27 AM
What radio channels will people be sitting on?
CJ
snappa
22-10-2004, 11:14 AM
??? rob
what about a set of "JAWS" :o mounted for the winner say the biggest...
captured and presented dead .?????
OR
for the release fishers a "PIC"
a jaws trophy would be a great talking point over a couple of beers under the house... ;D
22-10-2004, 11:51 AM
Just interested in how the crazy guys that catch these size sharks manage to get the fish onboard without becoming a meal....
My piddly little club of death I store onboard would be eaten in one foul swoop by a shark that size.....
Do you tail tie them and tow em for a while till they drown? Or do you keep a shotgun aboard?
Adam
I have a couple of Indian Clubs that were used for arm strengthening in the forces. They're like a baseball bat but are weighted with lead inside.........my little lad calls it a "dong 'em deader" :-)
If it's too big to be despatched by that, then it ain't worth eating.
22-10-2004, 12:40 PM
Pete,
The offer is there from Ben to mount any jaws, it is a time consuming job and I know he spilled some blood getting them right. your best bet is to contact him and work something out.
The finished product is certainly a talking point, any of these sorts of things that reflect a lot of effort become prized possessions.
who knows the way this is going it could become a regular thing ;D
bungie
22-10-2004, 12:45 PM
So people don't start fishing till after three,?? or are some folks starting earlier ?? Looks like I might not be able to get out there till later as work commitments have changed to that day :(
Sportfish_5
22-10-2004, 12:49 PM
Rules - I think there should be one ;D ;D ;D
Don't get bitten :P :P :P :P :P
22-10-2004, 01:02 PM
Bungie,
3pm is lines up where going, going to have a few beers that is :D
there are some starting later, either way 3pm coming or going sounds about right..
22-10-2004, 02:18 PM
radio frequency? 77 VHF would be my suggestion. Dunno about 27 mHz and don't care. Suggest we use the call sign 'Ausfish', since we don't know everyone else's call signs.
Question...which side of Green is the beach?
basserman
22-10-2004, 02:24 PM
what about sharks caught in port macquarie do they count :P
22-10-2004, 04:02 PM
Hi For those not sure where to go, and dont wont to travel too far, the map below and the areas in red will certainly, see some action.
If you fish the wider grounds 8-10m you have a chance of being towed around the bay ;D.
In closer to the shallows, plenty of whalers and stray bulls, with the odd mum or dad floating around.
Anchor up and if you have a d.r. or improvise drop a leaking bottle of tuna oil down near the bottom, with the odd handfulls of berley off the boat, will certainly draw them to you.
Use circle hooks for easier release, strait to nylon wire and a 20-50kg mono leader , floaters under balloons or if you want plenty of action (rays/catties/shovels) or smaller sharks fish the bottom.
Might see you out there, leaving manly 4am to chase other species first.
26-10-2004, 03:23 AM
got my tags (thanks Stephen), got my crew (Sominc), geared up and ready to go. See you all at Green Is at 3 pm, weather permitting.
26-10-2004, 03:37 AM
If the weather is a bit blowy, I suggest we still go ahead but simply move it to inside the Brisbane river.
26-10-2004, 08:00 AM
Does anyone know where I might be able to get some tuna oil at a good price ? Found a 4 ltr bottle for $38 ??? does this sound right ?
Damo.
26-10-2004, 08:31 AM
4 litres is a hell of a lot of tuna oil! A little goes a long way. It's pretty concentrated.
26-10-2004, 08:48 AM
We are playing for sheep stations aren't we :P :D
I want a tuna oil slick from Mud Island to Cape Moreton to attract the suckers ;D ;D
Damo.
magicpudding
26-10-2004, 09:41 AM
sounds like we might be fishing in the deep stuff, i like the sound of being towed around the bay ;D we'll be sitting on 77. see you at the beach 3pm, weather and sailfish ;) dependant.
CJ
26-10-2004, 10:11 AM
Where will you be fishing Damo (black_rat)? I think I might share some of your burley trail from a few hundred metres away ;D ;D ;D
Billo
26-10-2004, 10:15 AM
I think an all points bulletin to anyone wanting to swim in the southern end of the bay should be broadcast ....
Looks like Cleveland point across to Rouse channel and back to the river mouth is gonna be one big burley pot .. ;D ;D ;D
BRING IT ON !!!! :P
spent yesterday sharpenning up every hook ...doing some new traces , and soughting out burley .
I have approx 40 kg of tuna already for mincing this week ...i knew there was a reason for throwing them all in the chest freezer last season
The 24kilo tackle is coming out !
i am contemplating an early run across the rouse to get some small live tuna for baits .....whack em in a tuna tube and come back across around Mud .
how many boats are gonna be on the water ?
should put a new thread on once we know if the weather is good so we know how many boats are fishing , where we are fishing , radio channels , how many aboard and how many spots are vacant ...
fillets anyone ??
26-10-2004, 10:25 AM
We will be somewhere around Mud Island (as I would imagine a few will be) and you could probably anchor anywhere in Southern Moreton Bay and be in burley trail :D as Billo has suggested. ;D
Damo
Dylan_Rylatt
26-10-2004, 03:10 PM
adam mate i hope your offer for a ride is still up...
Bring it on lads keen to meet a few of you folks
Dylan
Burley_Boy
26-10-2004, 04:34 PM
I've never towed my boat further than the local boatramp 4k's away and close to the GC Seaway so I'm not 100% sure I'll tow the boat up to the Bay to join in. But I'm bloody well tempted.
Where would be the ideal place to put the boat in, Manly?? I'm a bit wary about not knowing the waterways so am just having a squizz in Brownies Beacon to Beacon.
Looks fairly straight foward to roll out to Mud but thats just looking at an old map. Any comments appreciated. I'm just on VHF so am I the only one with the cheapie radio or are anyone else monitoring VHF and if so what channels?
adamleah
26-10-2004, 04:46 PM
Dunno if the beach at green is accessible at low tide....
Has been many a moons since I have been there.... wouldnt want 15 boats all left run aground for 12 hours .... :o
Dylan, your welcome to come along with me.... that is as long as the weather gods are looking after us... :)
jeffo
27-10-2004, 02:15 AM
seams every one is planning on fishing around mud... is this the best place? i dont want to be friggin around with little sharks ( i can get them here) i want something substantial!! ;D
27-10-2004, 03:16 AM
I will be on VHF 77. Call sign 'Odyssea'
I will be at Green Is at 3 pm (Western side?) and I will be 'friggin around with small sharks' maybe off St Helena. I think Tom (sominc) in bringing the 15 kg and planning to target bigger sharks though.
sominc
27-10-2004, 06:01 AM
sure am. do u have any tuna oil or do u want me to bring some???
27-10-2004, 07:28 AM
sent you a PM Tom to sort out bait and burley.
Looking a bit blowy on Saturday. Might be a bit rough out in the bay.
I'm still keen and will probably fish in the Brisbane River instead. Maybe around Boggy Ck? Meet up at Fisherman Is ramp at 3 pm?
Billo
27-10-2004, 08:04 AM
has anyone got a spare tag pole they wish to sell ???
i have one for plastic tags , but not for metal...i left that pole on a boat in Sydney. :-[
27-10-2004, 08:07 AM
There is some concern with the long ranger, a good does of southerly appears to be on the way.
Jeff, there can be big sharks near mud, like webby has said fish out past the dropoff for the best chance.
sharkbait
27-10-2004, 09:12 AM
Rob, the offer is open to bring the landy over to Moreton and camp with us. Should be some land based action...
Southerly will be perfect for North point - yellowpatch.
can you provide a link to the buoyweather long range wind forecast, as I can't find it???
Kris.
magicpudding
27-10-2004, 10:24 AM
Kris,
The link from the qld weather reports is http://www. buoyweather.com/wxnav.jsp?region=AE&program=Maps
if that doesn't work, go to http://www. buoyweather.com and down the bottom there is a link for NE australia. (remove the spaces)
We'll have a look on the otherside of the islands provided it doesn't get above about 25 knots.
When will the decision be made to move the meeting point?
SeaHunt
27-10-2004, 11:56 AM
It is not looking too promising wind wise, but BOM are often a bit dodgey wtih their wind strength predictions. :P
Once you get out to Mud or one of the other Islands you can always find a spot out of the wind (chop), just have to go a bit slower getting there and back. I came back from Peel Island in 30 knot winds, 6 foot chop. Only the two guys in the back got wet. :D
If it is rooted , there are plenty of bull sharks up the Brisbane River, might be hard getting one over 3 or 4 foot though, we could put in at Jindalee and head up to just past where the Bremer joins the Brisbane.
27-10-2004, 02:06 PM
HI If she blowin 20kts, s/e, manly would be the best launch site, you'll get some chop from the leads at manly till you reach green, but then all the way to top of st helena shouldnt be bad, now im not saying its going to be smooth, but it is still ok, then from st helena acroos to the west side of mud, you'll hit chop again,, but you then hae the western and northern side of mud to fish and theres some good deep water around this area and you might even find a snapper ;D.
Wouldnt advise coming from the river, out to mud in anything less then 4.5m up, if winds are up, or you'll be in for a slow slow trip.
Sunday mite be the better option.
Rob/adam and i fished in 20kter the other day and i quite safe.
28-10-2004, 03:42 AM
I ain't going out in the bay in over 20 knots. Getting soaked and pounded isn't my idea of fun!
Looks like I'll be in the Brisbane River, probably launch from Fisherman Is and fish around Boggy Ck or one of the deep holes.
Anyone else going to be around the same area?
sharkbait
28-10-2004, 07:01 AM
Thanks for the links Magic Pudding ;D
Billo
28-10-2004, 11:01 AM
winds could be easing a bit .
forecasts have dropped( a whole 5 knotts ) ...hope it comes down more.
still looks a goer !!! :D
SeaHunt
28-10-2004, 11:16 AM
I ain't going out in the bay in over 20 knots. Getting soaked and pounded isn't my idea of fun!
Looks like I'll be in the Brisbane River, probably launch from Fisherman Is and fish around Boggy Ck or one of the deep holes.
Anyone else going to be around the same area?
Hi Jeremy , If I go it will be from Pinkenbah.
20 knots is OK I'll put the clears on and go slow. I havn't been wet yet even when it rains. ;)
Burley_Boy
28-10-2004, 05:20 PM
can't get buoy weather to work at the moment, is it just me???
Maria
28-10-2004, 07:28 PM
Buoyweather appeared to be having server issues this evening. I had same problems. Should be back up and operational sometime soon.
29-10-2004, 08:00 PM
Just got the Live Fibre of lay - buy 24kg Gear !! here we come
Damo.