View Full Version : Pine River?

23-11-2004, 08:04 AM
Going back to the old stomping ground around January. Has anyone got reports for this area? Deep water bend, Dohles Rocks, the bridge, behind Westfields Strathpine, etc? Wouldn't mind finding a Jack.

dfox
23-11-2004, 09:45 AM
Still plenty there mick in all the usual spots, got mates that get them there regularly.

23-11-2004, 10:11 AM
Lovely, I learnt to fish in the Pine and since then have been refining the skills up north. Can't wait to get back to the local, no matter how fished out she is.

clutter
23-11-2004, 05:22 PM
Plenty of wake boarders throughout the area with good numbers of jet skis encountered right up the far reaches of the system. Good fun on small calibre but take a big stick to passify the catch.

Cheers, Clutter

24-11-2004, 05:19 AM
I have a feeling I might know some of those wake boarders. The odd Bull Shark story might suffice.

Abalone_4.9
24-11-2004, 03:54 PM
The good ol pine,
Yeah I also learnt to fish around Bald Hills/deep water bend.
Waiting for the big prawns to come back again.
I've recently heard that some big Bream are being caught further up.
PM me and I'll give u the pos.
cheers Lee

25-11-2004, 01:40 PM
Still catching the pike eels at the sunken barge near petrie. Not many reports of Jacks but I know they're there 'cause I see 'em being caught, and quality ones at that........people just don't report 'em. There's some good bream since the rain, but it's getting past the little buggers that's the problem.......I've taken to using squid as I'm sick of baiting up every 4 seconds >:(

Quality mullet in the cast net when I can be bothered to use the sounder correctly :-) and let's not forget those beautiful fork tailed slimy things :-)

If I can't get out to Moreton over the next few days, I'm giving the Pine a bash....will report.

26-11-2004, 12:05 PM
Sounds like the Pine has managed to survive the past few years. I gave up on her about 10 years ago. Ol fool I am!

Kev, make sure you let me know how ya go.

Thanks heeps guys, Mick

26-11-2004, 12:16 PM
If any of you guys needs a deckie to fish the Pine I would love to fill the spot as I don't want to tow my boat 12 hours south. Not sure when I'll be there thou.., sometime early in the new year. I am hangin to fish it for sentimental reasons.., caught my first fish there at age 5. That, and I need a wake up as its been pretty easy fishing the unspoilt north lately.

26-11-2004, 12:24 PM
Give me yell when you know when you'll be down. I'm sure I will have a spot for you.

I need a wake up as its been pretty easy fishing the unspoilt north lately.

If you want to learn how not to catch fish, then I'm definately your man!!! ;D

26-11-2004, 03:18 PM
Dan, I thought you said learn how to cat fish at first read. Would be a lot more appropriate.

I gave the pine, north and south arms a good go and never did any good apart from catfish. But I have seen a few good bream and flatties caught there. Gruntahunta has a lot of success in the lower reaches with winter whiting as well.

Now I just use the pine for towing the kids around on the tube. Is excellent for that.

26-11-2004, 03:20 PM
Forgot to add,,, it still produces good muddies in the north arm near the turnoff to that dirt boat ramp. If you know the pine then you know where I mean.

27-11-2004, 04:29 AM
Sounds like the Pine has managed to survive the past few years. I gave up on her about 10 years ago. Ol fool I am!

Kev, make sure you let me know how ya go.

Thanks heeps guys, Mick

Never made it Mick :-( Appointments with builders, fencers etc...the sooner this ferkin' house is finished, the better. Forgot to mention that there's still good muddies to be had, but you have to sit on top of your pots. The last 3 times I've been, Trawlers have been working right down to Castle Hill so I suppose that means south Pine is probably the better go.
Nowadays, I tend to concentrate more on the cast net to fill the freezer with mullet and herring, but If I'm free New Year, you're welcome to teach me a thing or two.

27-11-2004, 05:40 AM
Kev and fishing Dan, I am happy to show you the spots i used to fish with success in the 80's. Don't know what that means now though. Struth, the river might have even moved in a different direction since then. Oh, happy to supply the beer as well.

27-11-2004, 09:12 AM
Oh, happy to supply the beer as well.

DONE! ;D

You found the way to win me over! he he he That way, if we don't catch anything, it won't matter as much!

Homer Simpson: Mmmmmmm.... Beer!

27-11-2004, 09:57 AM
That's why beer doesn't come in square tins. When you fill the esky with stubbies, it creates gaps between the stubbies so you can fit bait in. We normaly have a rule up here, you can't crack a beer until a fish is in the esky, but I will make an exception for the Pine River.

27-11-2004, 01:49 PM
We'll sort something out nearer the time guys. I'm dry till 6.30 (ex publican habit) so that must mean I'm the skipper :-)

PS do you eat catfish? ;-)

25_ponies
27-11-2004, 03:02 PM
There's definately some decent flatties in the pine. Picked up this 65cm one a few weeks ago just down from Deepwater Bend. For size ref, that's a Manns 10+ in her gob.

27-11-2004, 04:01 PM
The 'Pine' has been within a 20 min drive with the boat for the last few years & I must admit I don't mind heading down for a quick fire fish when there's nothing on. Have done well out of there on both the fish & muddie seen, but you do need to know where to go. Might have to head there sometime soon over the Christmas break (4weeks of ;D) just to go back to the local and give it a go ;D
Damo.

fishsmith
29-11-2004, 10:07 AM
Some top flatties in the pine my favourite spot to fish is around the bruce highway bridge,try the second pylon from the northern end of the bridge on the seaward side..Fish it at night on the outgoing tide..I used to do well flicking soft plastics at the pylon and work them back to the boat.Best time of the year for the big female flatties in the pine is June,July and August...............The pine is a good spot for Bull sharks,bream,jacks and jewies at the right time of the year in various locations..I used to live 5 mins from deepwater bend ramp and used to fish it at on average twice a week between 2001 and 2003...........There is plenty of fish in the Pine,its one of my best river systems that i have fished,it is underated by some however....

Girella
29-11-2004, 11:06 AM
Since I bought my tinnie twelve months ago The Pine has been my local.

I've sussed out a few secrets in that time, but would really like to know some jack spots.

Also I hear there are a few jew spots as well.
Have any of you guys caught any ?

PK

razorline
04-12-2004, 10:55 AM
I live down at Dohles Rocks, without giving to much away
for jew and bream be down there before sunup on a weekday
when the river is empty. Fish about 80mts off the bank, out from where the road comes to an end, in the little hole.
Unweighted live prawns hooked through the back.

Thats all i'm saying!! :-X :-X
[smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Girella
05-12-2004, 03:09 AM
AHA !! YOU'VE SAID TOO MUCH !!!

Thanks Razorline

fishsmith
05-12-2004, 06:52 PM
Give the bruce highway bridge and opposite the deepwater bend boat ramp near the channel marker a go as well for them pine river jews. I used soft plackies myself but livies would work fine as well..........