View Full Version : Live baiting Longtails in Moreton bay
Aaron_Fogarty
07-12-2004, 01:01 PM
What works for you?
Aaron
Aaron- to be honest ive had more sucess on longtails drifting out dead baits. It seems like everytime i set out a selection of livies its the dead bait that scores. ???
07-12-2004, 01:42 PM
finely crafted lead ;D ;D
CHRIS_aka_GWH
07-12-2004, 02:02 PM
finely crafted lead
[smiley=smash.gif]
this fine enough rob ?
craigie
07-12-2004, 02:20 PM
With Christmas Speckles ;)
Wesley_Pang
07-12-2004, 03:41 PM
Aaron,
Floating a live slimey or yakka under a balloon will do the trick.
No_Frills is an ace at trolling livies on a downrigger.
I prefer to chase them with a flyrod, but I have caught a few on lives.
Wes
davo189
07-12-2004, 04:35 PM
Hey Wes, thought of you the other day (Sunday before last) while fishing about 2km north of the NW12.
We came across quite a few pods of longtails - not big pods but some pretty good size fish leaping.
There was heaps of baitfish up that end and quite a few schoolies working them as well. One of the bait schools over a shallow bank further east was that thick and dense that it looked like a sunken wreck!
Cheers, Davo.
Wesley_Pang
07-12-2004, 05:47 PM
Davo,
I was out on the Saturday of that weekend.
We came across a few small very spooky pods of Longtails around NW12.
We saw heaps of bait, balled up by small (2kg) Mac Tuna.
Wes
damons33
07-12-2004, 05:49 PM
might mean a few lill' blacks in the trench as well.
using mono is better for the longeys i free spool em' straight off the leader and hook. it also gets a few other species-lill' blacks are in the bay on rare occassion. you can slow troll the livies as well.
damon.
nofrills
07-12-2004, 07:08 PM
hey aaron
a couple more tips.
a slimie will out fish a yakka 5-1
and just cause you can't see them dosen'nt mean they are not there.
best time for them on a reef is slack water,and ive found the best time in the bay is when the tide is really racing.also a bit of wind is good.if its glassy ill mainly use a downrigger but a big barrell sinker and a long trace {10ft}is nearly as good.
like wes said the balloons seem to attract them sometimes as well.
cheers scott
Aaron_Fogarty
08-12-2004, 05:51 AM
Thanks guys
Ive been trolling livies at about the 10 meter depth using a clip on downrigger, the boys up the sunshine coast invented. But with limited success. Ive also tried at anchor with a burley trail around bay structures floating dead and live baits,but still very few hook ups. Theres been alot of chat regarding metal slugs I just thought live baiting them would be more productive especially on days the schools are deep or tentitive.
Aaron
damons33
09-12-2004, 11:55 AM
i invented a rubber band off the downrigger! just like using tag line returns on a outrigger, this avoids any chance of getting fouled in the snap or release mechanism.
damon
Aaron_Fogarty
09-12-2004, 01:20 PM
GOTTA PHOTO? MATE
damons33
09-12-2004, 01:36 PM
just your standard no.16 rubber band do you really need a photo? as i dont have one. i dont own a camera!
but just twist the band around the line 8 lines then hitch it tight and attach to a lenght of venetian blind cord via a half hitch, simple as! fish hits band snaps.
Aaron_Fogarty
10-12-2004, 09:48 AM
Sounds good mate I ll give it ago over crissy.