View Full Version : How much weight do use at the reef

macdwp01
02-02-2005, 02:42 AM
What breaking strain of line and what weight of sinker to you use at the reef. Is lighter better.

02-02-2005, 03:10 AM
really, might need some more info here :o

What depth of water, what species you chasing?

agnes_jack
02-02-2005, 04:00 AM
Mac
The easy answer is- As light as you can possibly get away with in the conditions, always.
Regards, Tony

devocean
02-02-2005, 08:09 AM
I try not to use 100lb because its to hard to break off a snag somabout 60 to 80 pound is okay for a handline. Im with agnes as little weight as possible depending on run and depth

Leo_N.
02-02-2005, 08:31 AM
Coral reef fishing?

When I'm after trout, I use a 60lb handline with as little weight as I can and still get to the bottom fast enough (I think sinker sizes 5-8 bean are my usual ones). Most people that I fish with use 80lb, and I think that is what most of the pros use.

cooky
02-02-2005, 08:36 AM
4 pound line and a $20 rod / reel combo from supermarket should set you up for some fun......

oh you actually wanted to catch fish. ;D

I used 80lb the other week and I found that's tough enough getting off snags - so I'd go 60 - 80lb. Sinker - I think 8oz from memory.

If using rod - use whatever you like. I used rods with 30lb, 50lb, 80lb braid - used 80 - 100lb leader. But had a mate with probably 12lb mono on eggbeater that was having fun too (got busted off more often though).

lucifer
02-02-2005, 02:02 PM
Having grown up in Gladstone and fished nearly every reef there I would suggest about 8lb of lead, 200lb mono attached to a 7.5mm rob allen S/S shaft. Cant beat it for trout. ;D But seriously, 30lb Schnieder Line is the best. If you know how to fish you will get all the fish you need on 30lb. I have caught 18lb trout on this line and it is unbelievable. This stuff was made for reef fishin. Just ask Pat or Phill at PATS B&T.

02-02-2005, 06:24 PM
I fish the shallow reef at Green Island in Moreton Bay and don't use any sinker and am more succesful since I have been not using a sinker.

I cast upcurrent and let it float down current.

Of course at a deep reef it is a different story.

bignick
02-02-2005, 07:37 PM
Depending on the line you're using, the thicker line will take more weight to get it down and keep it there, regardless of depth. Then you have to factor in current and/or drift speed. Generally speaking, the lighter you can fish, the better your catch rate should be. Use only as much weight as it takes to get your bait down into the strike zone and keep it there; and it doesn't have to get there at a million miles an hour. That is, of course, until the prevailing conditions dictate using that much weight, a 1970's female East German shotputter could not lift your rig. When it gets to that stage, give it away and head home and mow the lawn.

NICK.

Steven78
02-02-2005, 07:49 PM
This reminds me of Saturday. I had that much wait due to the surf and current most of the time i did not know i had a fish unit i had it on the beach

Volvo
03-02-2005, 04:05 AM
:)Ide advice a wee bit of caution to fishing with handlines over the 80lb mark and take note on the fingers in the Piccie...
Prevents lacerated or shredded fingers lol....

clearwater
03-02-2005, 05:49 AM
i use as little amount of lead as i can sometimes even nothing when fishing your larger fish are off the bottom most times anyway i only use 10kg and as much as sometimes u get busted up you get alot more action..i would say that we land more fish that get busted up over all ...u just run a 30lb leader

andy

dugong
03-02-2005, 03:58 PM
I can agree with the above pic :(, 100lb handline and a hammer head shark do not mix >:( >:(, I only use rods now,overheads spooled with 30lb and 50lb braid, leaders schnieder 50lb and 70lb great hard wearing stuff on the reef, lead as little as possable

macdwp01
03-02-2005, 05:51 PM
:)Ide advice a wee bit of caution to fishing with handlines over the 80lb mark and take note on the fingers in the Piccie...
Prevents lacerated or shredded fingers lol....
Bloody hell , 80 pound line, you don't give the fish much of a chance.LOL

03-02-2005, 07:12 PM
7.5mm rob allen S/S shaft. Cant beat it for trout.

BINGO! I use about 5-8kg of weight on a belt. Sinks a human pretty quick. Line it up, shoot, fight off the sharkies, put it in the esky.

Volvo
04-02-2005, 03:14 AM
macdwp01, 70lb/80/lb handlines always have a place on my boat when i come into Coral trout Country which may be a tad rough...
My motto is, they come over the side or stay there ;D..Mostly fish with Rods except 8)......