View Full Version : Starting own reef

devocean
18-02-2005, 10:19 AM
Is it illegal to start your own reef? Im thinking about dumping some structures in the same spot where there isnt to much run. The structure would be mainly big ceramic flower pots about 1 metre across and besser bricks. The area I would be doing this in does not have hardly any traffic and is not that deep about 20 feet.

18-02-2005, 10:32 AM
You'll never get permission to do this from the EPA or DPI, but that doesn't mean it doesn't happen....

agnes_jack
18-02-2005, 10:40 AM
Devo
They won't let you do one in the GBRMPA, thats for sure!!
Good idea in my book though ;)
There are a few sub-surface fad's around here they don't know about too ;) ;D

Regards, Tony ;D

basserman
18-02-2005, 11:01 AM
i'm just like tony
what they don't know doesn't hurt them
i know of a few little reefs around here that are no more then a few boat loads of bricks or well anything just make sure it is nice and clean when it goes in and you would be quite supprised at how quick the fish will take to it and how well it will fish in a short time ;D
home made fads and reefs are ok in my books as long as they are done the smart way (useing enviomently freindly things) and as long as i get told where they are ;) ;D

one thing i want to do over this winter is desinge a way to float a pallet in some water close to shore and out of the way so i can give the dollies and bait something better than the normal baoys that get used on most fads

agnes_jack
18-02-2005, 11:13 AM
Basserman
You know that orange plastic mesh stuff they use as a barrier around building sites etc. ;)

Goes well hanging in sheets off an anchored rope with a large float about 20ft or so below the surface. A few spaced 10' or so apart. :-X ;)

Regards, Tony

basserman
18-02-2005, 11:24 AM
yeh i' got some that are going on my wide fad this year
so far i have two fad but want something in close i can get to in the tinny
closest fad is in 50meter but the far fad is nice and wide in 120meter (some very nice fish on that one ;)
i just want some thing in close i can hit with the bream gear or say up to 8kg mono

ba229
18-02-2005, 11:25 AM
Thats what I have read to do Tony.

One of these days I will get into gear and make a FAD too.

Love the idea of having a man made fishing location.

Fisher_Boats
18-02-2005, 11:42 AM
Devo,
Make sure that there's no trawlers likely to go through the area your looking at.
While your building it you'll probably have to leave a float on it for a while so you can find it exactly..... you reckon?
A mark would get you pretty close but a floats better.
Col

agnes_jack
18-02-2005, 11:55 AM
Yeah Col
The best bet is to place your fad over a patch of reef so they are not picked up by trawlers. They should also be deep enough to be sure they wont cause boaties any probs. I prefer to see the float about 20 feet under, and mark your patch of reef.
They need to have a very heavy weight or anchor to avoid drift in times of heavy run.

# # # # # # # # Regards, Tony
PS strips of holographic flashy stuff on the float helps too.

Fisher_Boats
18-02-2005, 12:06 PM
Hey Tony
Just changing the subject for a minute.
Give Scottynofrills and dazza a dig in the ribs for me #;D ;D

Col

waznot
18-02-2005, 02:22 PM
sounds good devocean, but what about the heat youll get from the missus about the flower pots??!! :) :) :) whats doing with these smileys?? anyone?

waznot
18-02-2005, 02:24 PM
forget the last, worked it out [smiley=clown.gif]

macdwp01
18-02-2005, 02:55 PM
How do these homemade fads fish, how long does it take for the fish to start moving in.

18-02-2005, 03:06 PM
Hey Dev,,,,

You are stealing my idea!! [smiley=rifle.gif]

About a year ago on this site we went through this process when I wanted to start up Cheech's Reef. [smiley=bulb2.gif]

Apparently it is very illegal.

Just don't get caught if you happen to accidentally drop the odd item overboard. [smiley=oops.gif] Silting up can be an issue. But if you ever do get one going, my advice is to not even tell your best mate.

Remember my naming rights. ;)

basserman
18-02-2005, 03:07 PM
in some cases the next day and in other a couple of weeks
it really depends on if the fish are already in the area but say if you fish the fish trap bouys for dollies then you could bet if you placed a fad in the same area (kilometer radius) you could bet that they would be on your fad the next day ;D

one of the simplest fads to make is just two or three 20L drums (clean) filled with quickset that is set some chaine conecting them all and then a rope of double the length (if you want the bouys on the surface) or rope by the depth plus some for a sunken and then for surface a couple of plastic drums or sunken a bouy painted bright so you can see it under the water ;D
then you can go bigger and better by attaching mesh and alloy and glitter balls ect.

bignick
18-02-2005, 03:53 PM
Go for your life mate; just DON'T GET CAUGHT!!!

NICK.

clearwater
18-02-2005, 04:07 PM
devo

i think every fisho has had the same idea some do make new reefs some just think about i think its a great idea just dont get caught ..its not worth the fine

andy

macdwp01
18-02-2005, 04:33 PM
sounds too much trouble for what its worth. I reckon your better off trying to find a good spot then trying to make one some FAD

Sean
18-02-2005, 04:39 PM
If you wanted to start getting Dollies around it, how deep would you need the water to be? :)

Sean
18-02-2005, 04:40 PM
And also, would a big anchor be good enough or is there something better?

ba229
18-02-2005, 05:01 PM
here you go kids. some interesting reading for you

http://www.bluewatermag.com.au/dec02feature2.asp

redlipper
18-02-2005, 05:11 PM
Anyone heard of the Washing Machines off Wathumba Creek in Hervey Bay. The idea is by no means new, Cheech. The Washing Machines were dumped along with any other old white goods,fridges, freezers etc, 1 Nautical mile off the mouth of Wathumba Creek in an area that was once flat barren sandy ground, to create an easily accessable fishing ground within quick shelter distance of Wathumba Creek.
During the 1980's one bloke I Knew dropped a fridge or washing machine on the same spot, every fishing trip, using tree/hill line ups[the way we used to do it back then]
The resulting reef has consistently produced Snapper in winter and Trevally all year round, and still does.
This bloke did his home work and realised trawlers didnt work in the area and didnt upset anybody.
I have lived in Agnes/1770 for the past 16 years and there is a spot off Eurimbula Creek 2 mile from the mouth of Round Hill Creek that was the ballast dump for the old timber carrying coasters in the early 1900's[They would carry rocks as ballast and dump them before they went into Eurimbula to pick up logs] Yes it was a deep channel in the early days before a cyclone filled it in. Hard to believe now.
This dump area is now unfortunately covered by sand but still recognised by a bottom rise of 3 metres.
Trawlers have stayed away from it forever and myself and other older locals have discussed adding new artificial material to the spot. Doing the right thing and sending a letter to GBRMPA met with a stereotyped list of requirements which would prove impossible to comply with, including a money bond in 5 figures, just in case things went pear shaped. Sad, because we would have been responsible enough to dump only non toxic heavy materials [not tyres,white goods etc]
Another local bought a 30ft ferro hull that belonged to my uncle and had been anchored in Round Hill Creek,1770, for 20 years. He towed it just off Round Hill Head and punched holes in the hull with a crowbar hoping to create an instant dive spot...................Wrong.............GBRMPAand four other environmental agencies took him to court and he was forced to send down divers to cut the hull up and bring it ashore. Cost him a fortune apart from the huge fine.
DONT GET CAUGHT!

ba229
18-02-2005, 06:56 PM
It's a shame that we can't do what was done generations ago with little or no effect on the environment in contrast to government sanctioned efforts such as pro fishing.

macdwp01
18-02-2005, 07:47 PM
No i dont think it should be done at all, not in this day and age, the fact of the matter is some idiots out there will start droping all different types of things in the drink, you just cant go dumping rubbish into the sea if you dont know what your doing, and most people wouldn't have an idea, then there is a risk of trawlers picking it up, basically if it was legal you would have ####ing idiots going out dropping down all types of crap, things like this are controlled by the biggest idiot. Ie, some people would know what there doing but others would creat #### ups and therefore they bring everyone down. It shouldnt be down, there are plenty of natural FADS and if you invest time into looking you will eventually find one. For #### sake surely we dont have to start going to sea with a boat full of bricks in order to go fishing. Fishing is a simple pastime, keep it at that, and finally with this practice all you need is a couple of idiots to do something stupid and reck it for everyone else. Cheers :)

19-02-2005, 02:59 AM
Too much structure under water is bad too. Just like on land some animals need the desert to survive while others need the rainforests and heavy scrub lands. I am devo's main fishing partner and there is no way in the world he's going to hide this spot from me.
Basserman, how on earth do you get or carry 3 drums filled with concrete? If I did this, you could add my boat to the artificiol reef as well as my skeleton.

devocean
19-02-2005, 04:01 AM
Okay thats it Im starting it. I think I will call it Ausfish Reef. It will mostly harbour 20kg spanish and cobia with a few three kilo trout on it and a few stripeys and mother in law to keep the oldies happy.

I think this thread has shown a few things to. I think Mr Agnes Jacks secret in close trout spot may very well be his own creation. What does everyone else think?

zedjack33
19-02-2005, 04:06 AM
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm could be

19-02-2005, 04:48 AM
Saint Agnes? No never! The man is perfect!

macdwp01
19-02-2005, 08:13 AM
Agnes Jack secret location is basically a "micro-shoal" i have a friend who used to live at 1770, not any more, he says that about , no sorry im not going to tell. TRUST ME :-X

waznot
19-02-2005, 03:16 PM
:o

agnes_jack
20-02-2005, 10:35 AM
Mac
Sounds like you know more about my trout spot than I do!! ;D ;D ;D
There is a lot of ground out there!

Regards, Tony ::) ::)

Gorilla_in_Manila
20-02-2005, 12:04 PM
Alex,
That article was an excellent read.
I've seen the Philippine payaos being assembled and towed out to sea. Pity the website didn't have the illustration mentioned. Haven't seen how they fish around it though. I suspect it starts with line dangling for the larger fish, but probably ends with a home made hand grenade lobbed beside it or a net run under it to grab all the bait fish attracted to it.
You would think there shouldn't be too much problem constructing one of these in aus; all natural, biodegradable materials. Would be interesting to see how effective it is.
It is certainly one of the best long range weather forcasting devices I've ever seen. If you see the fishermen tow it back into near shore, then there is a very good chance bad weather is coming. Thats the first heads up (one or two days notice), then when you see the fishermen moving their bunka boats further up the beach and putting them up on stilts, you know you are in for immenent bad weather.

How much of this next story is fact I'm not sure, but makes for a good yarn anyway. ;)
The other sort of artificial reef I have heard of was in Tassie. Bloke was telling me what the local rec fishos would do (many years ago) when the trawlers started coming in and devestating their local favourite fishing spots. Each time they went out fishing they would dump an old car engine block over the side. Made for some serious net damage and was apparently very effective in convincing the trawlers to go elsewhere. As you can imagine, there were plenty of rumours floating around that anyone caught doing it by the affected trawler fisho's, could expect to be chained to the next block that went over the side. :o

Jeff

baldyhead
20-02-2005, 01:30 PM
Materials list:

8 used/broken plastic bread crates.( these semi float)

10 clean 2 or 3 litre plastic milk bottles full of bean bag balls.

4 besser blocks.

10 pieces of rope about 2m long & 4 more about 4m long.

A heap of cable ties.

Method:

Get these bits together in your boat and go to where you reckon is a good spot with a bit of depth and NO bloody trawlers working this area.

Anchor up ( I like to use a stern anchor as well to hold in the spot) and start preparing your FAD.

Cable tie the crates together making a large square shape.

Have your milk bottles ready with the ropes tied on, then tie to the crates on the corners and sides and middle etc.

Have your besser blocks c/w ropes ready and tie these to the underside of the corners.

Have your assistant take one end and you the other and lower the Fad into the brinny gently and just let it go.

Mark this spot on your GPS and DON'T TELL ANYBODY!

Happy FADing.
cheers baldy

hicksy
21-02-2005, 04:53 AM
Hey Baldy,
You sound like you have done this before.
Does it work? ??? ??? ???

devocean
21-02-2005, 07:00 AM
Mick are you reading this? Ill get the bread crates you get the besser bricks

basserman
21-02-2005, 12:24 PM
the drum where only 25l drum (the type that have cooking oil in them) we cleaned them conected the chains and filled with concreat
one thing we did lear though is to lay the roap and flaots out first becasue when those drum are heading to the bottom there is nothing stoping them ZZZIIIIIIPPPPPPP! we had a close call with our first one when we dumped the drums first!

baldyhead
21-02-2005, 06:41 PM
sure does Hicksy, the plants etc start growing and are like a small forest in about 2 months and the small fish move in, in a week or so and its usually full on fish after that.
You would be surprised just how fast your FAD becomes active...cheers baldy

hicksy
22-02-2005, 10:17 AM
Baldy,
The more I think about it the more appealing it becomes. I have a few places and ideas in mind that would suit a FAD perfectly.
More thinking to be done yet.
Hicksy ;D

Dignity
22-02-2005, 03:49 PM
Devo, 1 metre ceramic flower pots --- sounds like an expensive start to a reef ??? ??? ???

Redlipper, I know of 2 areas south of Murphy's that must have been ships ballast. They are about 1 mile apart. I suspect the first lot have been there for quite some time because they come up on the sounder like pinnacles. The second set look just like a lot of boulders. There is nothing but sand between them. Trolling between the two catches lots of mackerel. Funny thing though not much in the way of bottom fish.

Sam

hicksy
23-02-2005, 08:17 AM
I was having a look at an old Queensland Transport Chart(Southport-Caloundra) the other night and approx 6.5nm north of Cape Moreton it shows a FAD. Does anyone know if this FAD still exists or was it removed???? ??? ???

Sean
23-02-2005, 01:03 PM
What sort of rope would one use for this....and say hypothetically, if I was going to be placing something like this in 100ft of water do I make the rope 90ft to be 10 ft under or do i need more? Thanks sean how do you attach the ropes...with knots? :)

Dug
23-02-2005, 03:47 PM
It might be an idea to use something other than milk bottles and bean bag beans for the floats if they break there will a lot of little polystyrene beads left floating about.

A couple of good quality round poly floats should last for years underwater or fill the milk containers with a can of expanding foam.

I must ask the local SES group if they have any damaged rope, does anyone work near the docks or tug station in Brisbane? they usually have piles of broken and smashed rope.

smiggspig
24-02-2005, 08:33 AM
G`day baldy,
this fad of yours sounds excellent and really got me thinking.If it were put in say 20 metres of water would any big swells move it around on the bottom or would it have to be in deeper water? Where i live it is not uncommon to get 5 metre+ swells during the winter months.
cheers [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

basserman
24-02-2005, 12:22 PM
smiggs if your going to put in in shallow water then you would be best to atach more anchorage to it as with most fads they will and can move unless you have heaps of anchor on it

on our fads we use about 100kg or more on them
3 20-25liter drums of concrete

NQCairns
25-02-2005, 06:41 AM
Hypotheticly on most of out fads we use about 100kg or more on them
3 20-25liter drums of concrete

;D ;D

hicksy
25-02-2005, 06:54 AM
shouldn't that be hypothetically four 25 litre drums?????????

basserman
25-02-2005, 06:58 AM
concrete is heaver than water 1.8ton to the m3 if i remeber right ???
anyway 3 25 liter drums works out to be close to 100kgs ;D

NQCairns
25-02-2005, 07:08 AM
Nahh!! my point was Basserman cover your ass with that word! Spelt correctly not like my lazy spelling :-X

marlindude
25-02-2005, 08:01 AM
Great idea!... but you'll never get permission.

devocean
25-02-2005, 10:02 AM
From who marlin dude

Gorilla_in_Manila
25-02-2005, 10:41 AM
Relative density of concrete is 2.4 or 2400 kg per m3.
So 25L of it would weigh 0.025 x 2400 = 60kg
When submerged you have to use the bouyant weight which is 2.4 - 1 = 1.4
So the effective holding weight of a submerged 25L can of concrete is
0.025 x 1400kg = 35kg
For anyone interested. ::)
Jeff

basserman
25-02-2005, 11:07 AM
i knew someone better than me would be able to explain it
all i knew was it is a damn lot heavery than the same of water ;D

SeaHunt
25-02-2005, 12:08 PM
Great idea!... but you'll never get permission.

I give you all permission to go out and do it, just make sure no one is around when you start dumping everything overboard. Reading that link back in an earlier post though I got the impression that there is nothing to stop you,..... Yet. :P

25-02-2005, 04:47 PM
I think this post has got everyone thinking about locations, and where to get a hold of bread creates. ;)

25-02-2005, 04:49 PM
Seeems like a lot of trouble to go to, there are heaps of reefs around and it doesnt take long to pull a feed anyway :-/

ba229
25-02-2005, 06:03 PM
The artificial reef concept could well be a very important way for reco fishermen to get aroung the red zone yellow zone etc bullsh!t.

Let them govern with an iron fist. Let them lock up all the fish holding areas. Then go out and make your own reefs for the fish to migrate to. See where they end up then.

baldyhead
25-02-2005, 07:42 PM
smiggspig, follow Bassermans good advice. I have seen FADS from 5m to 25m deep anchored with besser blocks which will sink into the mud sand and become immovable in no time at all. It also pays to drive 2 or more lengths of rio bar thru the drums sticking out @ least 300mm before U put in the concrete. The trawlers hate that! haha
Some years ago I applied in writing to QFMA to construct a FAD and was knocked back. I then wrote and asked for a valid reason for their decision and got a reply stating that" the FAD does not create any more fish in the location, just concentrates fish from all over the area into the one place (FAD), making it easier for them to be caught". Well after all, thats why I wanted to put one in, in the first place! So I went ahead and did it anyway. We had an unofficial fishing club in those days (ar la mob of blokes and sheilas who came together for a drink and a fish and a bloody good time), and each time we went out to the SPOT we took anything that would sink and put it/them onto the pile after finding the FAD on the sounder. The Northern Fisheries Research Unit benefited from this FAD as we donated live fingermark, jacks and barra caught off this FAD to them for their research programs. See we weren't all bad....baldy

tshort
02-03-2005, 11:04 AM
I've got a mate who's always sworn by sinking your empty stubbies, every thing needs a place to live. He called them artificial reefs or habitats. Once he'd had such a good day, as the tide went out his boat got stuck on the artificial reef.

ANYFISH
02-03-2005, 01:32 PM
i take it your mate has never been putting his boat in and stepped on a broken stubby bottle.
it is a good way to ruin a fishing trip.

Dug
02-03-2005, 06:10 PM
stubbies and the like can also trap crabs and small creatures who grow inside then cannot get out and are a danger in shallow water I had a toe nearly cut off by stepping onto a submerged and broken stubby, shit it hurt!

On a few cane farms round here are piles of clay irrigation pipes I wonder if the farmers want them? #anyone know any cane farmers?

FAD's attract fish because they hold food, more shelter more food, more food more fish. #

Saying they have no effect on fish stocks is like saying an oasis has no effect on life in a desert!

04-03-2005, 05:44 AM
my brother wants to build a reef out of an outboard, but only when he uses my little boat and he cant start it (he likes the key too much, not good on ropes) #;)
cranky s-hit he is ;D

Boxhead
05-03-2005, 01:18 PM
I've got an SS ute that would make a great reef if anyone is interested..... and yes, it's insured for more than it's worth..... Anything to help my fishing buddies....

Dug
05-03-2005, 07:18 PM
Ye Ha Boxy How far off Pt Cartwright do you recon we could get the ute from a standing start?

mini696
06-03-2005, 04:29 AM
I have a computer that will make a good "boat anchor".

How much help would sinking a lot of bait and frames in the same spot every tip be for fishing? Do you think it would just bring in the sharks, and Catfish, and small things? Or would it boost the areas fishing?

Boxhead
06-03-2005, 07:27 AM
Mick, I'm sure it would have a positive effect on your catches.... You would probably have to do it pretty frequently though..... Where there is beer on tap you will find alcoholics...... and me..

agnes_jack
07-03-2005, 08:38 AM
I think you would create shark central ;D
Burley sparingly when you are out there ;)

Regards, Tony