View Full Version : PORT STEWART

waznot
05-03-2005, 05:06 PM
howdy all, i'm intending to go to port stewart at easter time(weather permitting), and wondering if anyones been there. would like to know if a boat trailer is required, or can u keep boat in water in the river while there without having to take it out each day? I am carrying 12 ft tinny on offroad box trailer.also any tips on fishing spots.
wazza.

waznot
09-03-2005, 04:33 PM
ah, looks like i wont be doin that trip due to a small problem in the shape of a cat 5 cyclone which is gonna hit port stewart f-cking head on by the looks. :'(. how typical, just my luck. so no need to cram all those replies in fellas :)
wazza.

Daintreeboy
09-03-2005, 04:37 PM
It'll be interesting how the place looks afterwards. If you can get in it might be worth still going. You'll have some interesting pictures to show us all :)

waznot
10-03-2005, 03:45 PM
thanks for the reply daintreeboy, i think we'll give it a wide berth for a couple of months mate, as u know its the amount of rain that gets dumped by cyclones after they've crossed land.i reckon the cape will be closed off for weeks after the rain stops. the boys r still thinkin about goin somewhere else, see what happens i spose. where r u at anyway? mossman or cape trib? you'd be gettin wet there today hey? :) cheers
wazza.

Moffy
10-03-2005, 03:55 PM
weeks? - probably months...worseluck.

a mate has a couple of Port stewart photos - if i can get hold of them and scan them i'll post them up for you - may not be able to get them soon though.

from the photos its just like your usual beach camp (although with plenty gators about no doubt) - just drag it up the beach - or get some of those clip on wheels that attach to the side of the boat - going to use them on my next trip north (they sell for about $80 a pair - decent sized inflatable wheels - shouldn't be too hard to pull a 12 footer up above the hide tide mark on them).

Moffy

Daintreeboy
10-03-2005, 09:19 PM
weeks? - probably months...worseluck.

from the photos its just like your usual beach camp (although with plenty gators about no doubt) - just drag it up the beach - or get some of those clip on wheels that attach to the side of the boat - going to use them on my next trip north (they sell for about $80 a pair - decent sized inflatable wheels - shouldn't be too hard to pull a 12 footer up above the hide tide mark on them).

Moffy

wuss

waznot
11-03-2005, 03:06 PM
hi moffy, good to see another cairns member. good idea about those clip on wheels mate, i have actually seen them in a magazine but forgot about that option. be good to see those photos if possible, we'll probably plan the trip around may i'd say, let evrything dry out up there.
waz.

Hitman
12-03-2005, 04:50 AM
Wazza, I have never been to Port Stewart but I have fished just north of there on several occasions for some red hot Barra action. A mate of mine put us onto it, as we were heading to PS but he said don't bother - make the effort to go that little further and you'll reap the rewards. He said too many "pros" worked out of there and the fishing was not as good as it use to be. That being said, you need to be fully prepared, travel with at least two vehicles, and be totally self sufficient to fish anywahere north of PS (no doubt you know that...) If you can't do this, PS is the place for you. Anyway, we fished a coupple of creeks up there and found this real hot spot. With 3 of us fishing one arvo, in 3 hours we caught over 100 Barra, all from the shore (yes it was a bit unsettling at times). All were good (not great) fish around the same size, and we got blown away by some monsters, but triple hook ups were the norm. We went back the next day at the same tide/time with the rest of our group (7 of us) and I couldn't even put a number of the amount of Barra we caught and released. It was mind blowing! Access is difficult, but the fishing is worth it. Let me know if you want more details. The fish in the pics are some of the ones we kept for a feed. As for the weather, keep an I on things and don't write it off just yet. With only 2 weeks 'till Easter, I know you'll be keen to finalise your trip... But give the Boys in Blue at Coen a call next week for an update on the roads etc. If it doesn't rain again between now and then, a bit of rain might be just what it needed up there to get the run off firing!

waznot
13-03-2005, 04:33 AM
hi hitman, thanks for the info mate, yeah there will be two vehicles, four blokes and 2 tinnies. we each carry 100 lts water and we've got a generator.
i actually rang coen police 2 weeks ago ( before cyclone showed up ), and he said no worries gettin in there, said somethin about a crossing ( the 20 mile ) i think it was, but ok if no rain. i seriously think we wont get there as it hasnt stopped raining for 24 hrs here, and the first problem is the laura river which goes over if you spit in it! however it does drop as fast as it rises though.
those barra look great mate, i heard it was a good spot, but not that good! ;D. hopefully the muddies are as good as the barra. we basically picked this spot because we havn'y been there yet and it's non- aboriginal land and not national park, so we can take grog there. bringing fish/ crabs home is a bonus ;)
anyhow, nice talkin and we'll play it by ear i spose.
wazza.

waznot
13-03-2005, 04:39 AM
hey hitman, can u pm me with some details on that spot if u dont mind?
thanks
waz

father
24-03-2016, 12:34 PM
Does anyone have any info on port stewart and how it fishes?