View Full Version : Shorncliff jetty( undersized fish taking)

Scott15
31-03-2005, 02:54 PM
was at the jetty today and a family(ies) of Asians were tkaing undersized fish by the dozen including baby catfish,small tailor and small queenfish. SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE!!!!!! these people are comming left right and centre into Australia and totally destroying the fisheries. if the fisheries inspectors were down there today they would have caught at least 20 people!!!!!

31-03-2005, 04:08 PM
need fisheries to comment on this, i know what id like to see done :o :-X

propdinger
31-03-2005, 04:14 PM
well how many times have we seen this, so yes they need to put signs up in a language they understand and make the charges higher etc but most of all i would love to actually see a fishery on the jetty's more often we all might remember the sand pumping jetty thing last year lets see if fisheries actually back it up this year ???
now in no way am i saying they are useless just need to be freed from red tape and let them do there job or put more on

imo

Scott15
31-03-2005, 04:26 PM
well said jeff.

31-03-2005, 04:30 PM
Think this thread has been posted numerous times before.

The thing is
1. The taking of any fish by our Asian cousins is a right of passage in their Country of Origin, and it will take a generation to convert them
\
2. Is this a major reason for concern ? Considering what a single Moreton Bay Trawller will destroy in one nights raping of the seabed ! ?

3. If you are really that concerned, I will post you DPI information, to pass onto these people, when you visit the Jetty next. No good having a go here. They are not here.

4. So long as you are doing the right, you will have peace of mind.

The next question, is, " is it up to us all, as individuals ' to say something to the " uneducated ?

I know the answer, do you,

cheers Phill ;) ;) ;D ::)

straddie
31-03-2005, 05:26 PM
Is this a major reason for concern ? Yes it is, as is any breach of the regulations. Every event is just another nail in the coffin of the fishery, regardless of it's comparitive size.

If you see illegal activity, report it regardless of of what race they are or whether they are pros or amateurs.

Boxhead
31-03-2005, 06:55 PM
I will say again "You've never got a shoulder mounted rocket launcher when you truly need one"

Jokes aside, I recently spent a few weeks travelling around China and I was amazed at the amount of damage that country must be doing to the worlds population of sea and land creatures alike, i mean, you can eat anything that still has or used to have a heart beat! We did not see any birds (the feathered type) in any of the major centres - you know why? 'Cause they got em all!

We need to educate >:( these people when they come into the country about things such as fisheries laws, Drug Trafficking, Gang Warfare, Holden Barinas with mufflers the size of a politicians super funds, and other important things.

It's a shame that we have to categorise them into a race, but hey, it's the truth...

Something needs to be done.......... [smiley=behead.gif] [smiley=rifle.gif]

Daintreeboy
31-03-2005, 09:28 PM
The biggest problem here is that all rec fishos get put in the same basket. With this type of thing happening out in the open and so frequently, it paints us all in a pretty bad light. No wonder why some lobby groups want us all out of the water.
My advise is to report them, if that doesn't work, video camera them and take it into the fisheries. As Phill said, seems a lot of this is going on. I think it's time we made an effort ourselves to stop this ridiculous behaviour.
Cheers, Mark.

redspeckle
01-04-2005, 02:53 AM
The taking of under size fish makes me [smiley=furious2.gif] they never become big fish
I brought up on recent post on Pipi's & Mollusc shells at Wellington Point getting taken by the shopping bag's full, they are only allowed to take 50 shells ( by the way these are living creatures in shells).
Then on monday going for my usual afternoon run at Thorneside at Beth Boyd Park foreshore they took shooping bag's full of the mollusc shells
I rang the fish watch hot line again on 1800017116 somebody else rang up as well on the same incident & gave them a rego number they said look into
so now i see any person taking mollusc shells & and illegal fishing actives i ranging the fish watch hot line .
We have to keep doing this & and start telling the dpi, media, fishing party, sun fish,local member and other fishing organization's about it theses illegal fishing activites going on if we don't their be no fish for our childerns future's ( it might sound extreme going happen we do nothing about it now)
These poeple must like eating lots of seafood bites& bones
thats all you get out off taking under sze fish & mollusc shells

Mitch Go the might [smiley=cowboy.gif]in 2005
ps i might have go over the top in this post but this kind of thing makes me [smiley=angryfire.gif]& want to [smiley=rifle.gif]

01-04-2005, 03:24 AM
so what did YOU do Scott? Did you do anything yourself other than complain about it on ausfish? The Fishwatch hotline to report any illegal fishing activity is 1800 017 116.

Scott15
01-04-2005, 03:56 AM
Jeremy, i did nothing myself but an old bloke there was telling them and after he did that they still didnt listen to him. I was unaware that there was a fishwatch hotline and if i see em doing it again they'll be gettin a call.

Steven78
01-04-2005, 06:18 AM
There is only so much you can do,, Just be careful as some people know what there doing wrong and might fight back. These days you dont know what people can do

Remo
01-04-2005, 07:28 AM
I have also had many conversations with people of asian decent about keeping undersized fish. They normally ignore you totally or pretend not to understand.

A bit like ringing the fishwatch hotline. I actually hung round one day to see if they would turn up. Three hours later still no show, by then I had enough of kicking the footy around with the boy.
So if they, being the Fishwatch depart, want to play the heavy hand with fish sizes and restrictions, May be that they need to address there response times to phone calls.Then and only then will people start to get prosecuted.
You' ll only need a few to get stung, before they all stop doing it.

Ray

01-04-2005, 12:16 PM
The best thing to do is to get onto the DPI real quick. I don't care whether these clowns are purple with pink polka dots; the thing is that they are destroying everything. I too have seen them is action at Wello Point in the past, picking up everything that moves.

If the DPI are a bit slow off the mark, then it might pay to write to the papers in the "Letters to the Editor" column.

Might stir things up a bit.

Last year we were fishing the breakwall at Iluka and this bloke was keeping every bream he caught. Trouble is, by the look of it, most of them needed to grow about 5 cm's at one end or both ends.

Reported him to the NSW Fisheries at Maclean. They responded, but are short on the ground for staff to cover their patch.

Old Legend.

01-04-2005, 04:21 PM
Fair go!! What do you expect a 15 year old to do??

Front up to someone that most likely already knows they are doing something illegal?? Yeh right.

My understanding of all the recommendations for people put in a potentially dangerous situation is to just try to be amiable and walk away.

Scott, do not challenge these people. You could place yourself at risk. They know they are breaking the law.

Yes do as Jeremy has said and report it. But do not challenge, or even think that you should challenge. If I recall correctly, Maria even had a knife pulled on him once for doing the same.

I don't think Jeremy meant that you should have challenged them, but was left open for interpretation.

Stay safe,

Boxhead
01-04-2005, 05:03 PM
Good call Cheech, Although it would be handy if the 15 year old was a 2nd Dan Blackbelt :)

Nath...

wacco_fozzy
02-04-2005, 01:16 AM
Why not get on to programs like Brisbane Extra? I know they need to fill somethong like 5 stories a day so they're always desparate for material, and having a bit of TV publicity might get some of the beaurocrats more focused.

You might remember that last year there was a story on undersized fish being sold around the place, I believe that after Extra visited a few places and started filming, the practice stopped pretty quick.

Maria
02-04-2005, 05:57 AM
Why not get on to programs like Brisbane Extra? I know they need to fill somethong like 5 stories a day so they're always desparate for material, and having a bit of TV publicity might get some of the beaurocrats more focused.

You might remember that last year there was a story on undersized fish being sold around the place, I believe that after Extra visited a few places and started filming, the practice stopped pretty quick.

I hit up A Current Affair last year about certain activities. Met up with them, even filmed discreetly with their cameraman the activities going on. Never heard another word about it after that. Story never went to air.

Steven78
02-04-2005, 08:19 AM
These stories will never be aired because it will seem like "you know"

02-04-2005, 11:11 AM
I don't think Jeremy meant that you should have challenged them, but was left open for interpretation.

correct!

Benny
02-04-2005, 04:18 PM
Interesting feed back ppl ??? ???

Hard call isnt it!. Like Lucky Phill says, how many juvenile fish do trawlers wipe out every day. First hand experience has seen such devastation!. Schools of small tailor and jew, dead on arrival on the sorting tray. >:(

By no means do I agree with such acts, but, I would prefer them to be taking large numbers of small fish over large (even though given the chance they'd probably do both) as they offer little in regards to high contributions to broodstock.

As for putting up signs in asian languages, I think its a case of them pretending to be ignorant. Haven't we all seen it before to differing degree's.

As for reporting to fisheries, unfortunately our Bushy Eyebrowed x#*xhead leader doesnt employ enough ppl to police our fisheries adequately, ever wondered how many fisheries officers service the Qld coastline??. Interested to hear any thoughts.........

Overall, thank goodness the majority of rec fisho's today are responsible (at least I hope they are), and maybe if we keep going forward with max size limits we may return fisheries to what they once were.

Benny

Captian_Zero
02-04-2005, 05:51 PM

Just out of interest I looked up the DPI website and there is currently no bag or size limit for queenfish on the East Coast, only in the Gulf. I am not trying to weaken what you have said because the taking of undersized regulated fish like tailor is still an issue and something that should be reported. All rec fishos need to know what they can & can't take and how many.

P.S. This is the link to the DPI fishweb site: http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/fishweb/11416.html#limits

03-04-2005, 07:38 AM
These stories will never be aired because it will seem like "you know"

Exactly! It's not that it's not newsworthy but some grey suit somewhere is simply shit scared of calling a spade a spade (no pun intended) :-)

If it had've been "true blues" taking undersized, then it would have had a good chance of airing, but because there's "colour" involved, someone is plain scared of being called racist, or being otherwise being "politically incorrect".

I know there is probably an element of undersize taking in all groups, but the simple fact is, that the Asians are the "main" culprits, not only in this, but also, (in my experience), of littering (leaving discarded line, bait etc). I fished Shorncliffe jetty for 7 yrs before I got the boat, and there wasn't a single day when I wasn't appalled at these behaviours. Yes, there was also an element of bad behaviour amongst the white juveniles that fished there, but IMO that paled into insignificance compared to what seems to be "a way of life" to the Asian folk.

I rang Fisheries on 4 occasions and no show. They seem to put in a regular appearance at Woody Point, but never Shorncliffe. I suppose that they're as frightened of being seen to "target" Asians as the TV producers are.

Please don't get me wrong, I have also seen a lot of appropriate behaviour from some Asians, but as has often been said, when they come from a culture where everything is fair game, I suppose it will take at least a generation to change things via education..........that is unless the education comes speedily and effectively via more policing, heavier consequences, better targetting etc. As sure as there are catfish in the Brizzy river, I bet it wouldn't take a generation to change things then.

kev.......who is in no way racist, but speaks as he finds.

baldyhead
03-04-2005, 09:07 AM
A call to scumbag beatties office with a complaint of someone lighting a smoke on that jetty will see an immediate response with at least 1 of the new 80 smoke police coming @ a fast pace.
That might frighten them thinking that the smoke fuzz are fisheries maybe?

squidgiepalmer
03-04-2005, 01:26 PM
wait till they catch up to Newcastles ASIAN antics they take manual mincers to the walls and jettys and mince >:( all the under size fish hard to prove fish is under size seen this with own eyes 8) give them heaps but the old saying speak no english :-X spoke to some of the other guys fishing on jetty and they said it happens all the time how do you win when all the fish in places were they come from are all small or for that matter gone or wiped out, and they don't know any better small fish are sweet i think we have to educate by say TV most people have one and put some of our licence money into educating what is right and what is wrong with taking small fish and killing our future stocks
VERY CONCERNED Squidgie Palmer

FOOCKCHUCKER
03-04-2005, 06:09 PM
throw the fish back in like i did as it proves a point we are all aware of and it also can end up in some extra bag work for footy training and it is pretty much bag work as they come at you real hard but the first unload sorts em out quick smart. but of course let it be sorted out by the law enforcing fishing inspecters who are that present around land base asian eaterys that in almost 30 years of fishing beaches; rocks and creeks i have still never witnesed this rear specie. the love the look of my boat though and have rummaged right through the rig to as always like all decent folk find soggy pillies with the plastic still on them and not in the water or well over legal fish as if there is any doubt they should go back till next season or for someone else to capture apon maturity. oh well marshal law may be back in if they don"t get the mesage soon glad im part of our forwards.

bobby777888
04-04-2005, 04:54 PM
not only do they rape the saltwater, but it was the bloody asians who introduced tilapia into oz and its them who keep relocating them into more and more dams and rivers!!!!

NeMo84
05-04-2005, 01:12 PM
i for one dont care where they are from or how things work where they come from, if people come here than they better bloody live like the rest of us otherwise why dont they just bugger off back to where they came from,its a matter of respect, if i went to Japan id take my shoes off before goin into someones house, so they should let our baby fish go, Australia isnt a third world country, there's no need for it, its like theyre on Survivor or something, and them not knowing about the laws is bullshit, they know just as well as the rest of us, i have never seen a fisheries officer in my life and wouldnt even bother calling them, waste of time, i was at Sandgate jetty the other night and saw kinda the same thing, baby catties and little fish on the jetty, then a bit later on when we were leaving it looked as though they'd called in re- enforcements, with a few mini-vans arriving, one day concerned fisho's will start taking things into their own hands because the fisheries sure as hell arent doing much at all from what ive heard, about as useful as an ashtray on a motorbike(not the actual officers but the department as a whole, of course a few people cant police the whole state). Maybe they need to hire more people so they can go to more locations and get stuck into these bastards, and screw all that political correctness, racism bullshit, those bastards are just as racist if not more than the rest of us, for f*#ks sake, its like the countries lost its balls or something...

squidgiepalmer
05-04-2005, 04:48 PM
well said NeMo84

steve28
05-04-2005, 07:35 PM
Hi All,

This issue in particular has prompted this new member to make his very first post. My two bobs worth are:

NeMo84 hit the nail on the head. In my 37 years of fishing I have never seen a fisheries officer on patrol or had one look at my catch or the catch of others around me; or actually heard of friends who also fish, being inspected. Where are they ? What's the point of bag limits and regulated fishing ? The vast majority of recreational fishos out there are responsible and don't exceed limits on regulated species or unduly take unregulated species.

But as this particular post has highlighted we need some sort of action against the groups of people who systematically rape the marine resources we love and respect and hope to maintain for our children. The current system obviously isn't a deterrent. Like NeMo84, I too have been to Sandgate Jetty and witnessed absolute disgraceful behaviour. eg wall to wall cast netters keeping every living thing that comes out of the water - mostly undersize fish (bream, whiting, flathead and bait fish). [Ironically I saw the most massive Bream I have ever seen (>45cm), hauled in by a bait net]. The people mix was about 90% asian and 10% Caucasan - which says something in itself - but all with the same disregard for legal limits and a greedy attitude wrt non regulated species to boot.

Has anyone ever been to the rocky foreshores of the Sydney Northern Beaches (eg Harbord and Manly) ? I was there for work about a year ago. There are signs up, in several languages including the Asian ones, warning against the taking of shellfish etc from the foreshore. A little bit too late I reckon! I was lucky to spot a barnacle on several acres of exposed rocks at low tide, let alone a limpet or crab ? Do we want the same here in Qld? No ? Lets start a campaign of writing to the government dept's responsible and get some action here.

Scott15
06-04-2005, 03:07 AM
welcome to the site. and great first post :D

Boxhead
06-04-2005, 03:17 AM
Is there any Grey Nurse Sharks or Weedy Sea Dragons around Shorncliff Jetty??

Maybe someone should start a rumour :)

Nath...

06-04-2005, 04:56 AM
Is there any Grey Nurse Sharks or Weedy Sea Dragons around Shorncliff Jetty??

Maybe someone should start a rumour :)

Nath...

No need for rumours mate........I've seen a 13ft Tiger pulled in from there and had quite a few biggies myself. That jetty is where I got my first taste for shark fishing, and there's only 10 ft of water! I pulled a metre long Wobby in the cast net one day.....Jeeeeez! That was fun :-) I don't let *my* kids swim near there, that's for sure.

Funny thing is, there's a lot of shark targetted on there but you never see the Asians (despite their love of shark products) fishing for them? They seem to *deliberately* target the smaller stuff. Get a look at their tackle. It's nothing to do with ignorance of the law or language problems........they're using size 8 (and smaller) hooks for ****'s sake!

SURF_SNIPER
06-04-2005, 05:24 AM
just thought id have my two bob worth, not long ago i went for a walk out to the end of the shorncliffe pier and saw a heap of " people" with about 10-15 very large sting rays. the rays were just thrown into the center area at the end of the pier and the flaps butchered off them. the carrcases were left in the middle of the pier with blood and guts and other crap just every where, it was a real pig sty. it would have been prob ok if they had left the place clean.

Boxhead
06-04-2005, 02:41 PM
Kev,

I wonder if those tigers are partial to a bit of asian food...?

Nath...

07-04-2005, 06:50 AM
Anyone seen the move "Boondock Saints"? FANTASTIC movie by the way. I think we need modern day hero's. Someone to take out the trash.

NeMo84
07-04-2005, 05:19 PM
ATTENTION BIG_UNIT [smiley=Mr-T.gif]!! REPORT FOR DUTY TO THE SHORNCLIFFE JETTY IMMEDIATELY [smiley=stop.gif] [smiley=rifle.gif]

mattooty
07-04-2005, 05:38 PM
Being in the fishing tackle trade, the amount of asians who come in and specifically purchase size 6, 8, even 10 hooks is unbelieveable. And its not like they don't have the capability to catcha anything better. I;ve seen them wth the top of the range rods and reels. And when u ask them if they have a fishing license they look at you and hurry out of the store. A simple walk along the breakwalls down in my area will see 1 in every few fisho's an asian. And they sit there pulling in all manner of undersize fish. And when u questin them as to if they're letting the fish go they simply say, its pansize. Pansize my @$$. About 10 to a pansize. I reckon we should push a few in and pull them out and call them pansize. But they start being a little more careful when u walk along the wall carrying a shark. You jusrt tell them that when u lift fish out of the water that the sharks just come out for it and they back away quick smart.
Cheers in your battle. We need to unify efforts and show our support.

dasher
07-04-2005, 06:48 PM
Guys I don't want a shitfight and I'm certainly not pointing the finger, but with a bit of your own time you can make a difference.

http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/fish/14885.html

Think about joining with a mate and spend a day at your local
fishing spot educating people.

Just my 2 bobs worth.

P.S. Join The Fishing Party Qld first. ;) [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

steve28
07-04-2005, 09:06 PM
Hi Dasher,

Does the "Fishing Party Qld First" have a web site. Does it need one ?

rgds,

michael_Brewer
09-04-2005, 09:16 AM
is fishwatch government funded?
if so, if fish watch and/or dpi whoever they are, keep failing to send anyone out when a call is made.... (seems ####in pointless havin the number anyway!) ...at least use the money to put up some basic "fisheries regularly patrol this jetty" signs up and some general regulations for local fish!

shit, give me a bucket of paint and ill do it!

laredo
19-04-2005, 02:06 PM
wheres shorncliff jetty ?