View Full Version : unknown spieces

jeffo
14-04-2005, 12:03 PM
caught in the mooloolah river fishing for gars.
looks like a cross between a few fish.
has the same mouth and tail as a slimie, the same body shape as a yakka cross herring.
same skin as a slimie and markings on its upper back like a slimie crossed with a bonito.
strange looking thing (caught 4 of them)
not in grants guide to fishes.
photo was taken after it was frozen.

14-04-2005, 12:54 PM
inbred lookin thing! good catch jeff you can call it whatever you like :D

SeaHunt
14-04-2005, 01:03 PM
I'll call it bait. ;)

Daintreeboy
14-04-2005, 01:08 PM
get those in the blocks of pillys you buy occasionally. Good bait!!

jeffo
14-04-2005, 01:22 PM
sea hunt- thats what i called em.. pitch baits to be exact ;D

dfox
14-04-2005, 01:52 PM
Jeff- there's two variations of that fish, one has soft white flesh and the other a darker flesh. The darker fleshed one is a great red bait, we refer to them as a sourie. More a northern species...foxy

jeffo
14-04-2005, 02:12 PM
dave-they are not what i know as a saurie? what we call saurie's down here are a long skinny gar lookin things with dark oilly flesh :-/

chemmy
14-04-2005, 02:15 PM
it is a yakka just with out the scoots

jeffo
14-04-2005, 02:17 PM
no its not.
has markings, different skin and different mouth. more like a slimie than a yakka.

devocean
14-04-2005, 02:26 PM
It might be a tiny horse mackeral

Boxhead
14-04-2005, 03:49 PM
Jeffo,

Deep sea racing mullet...... For real.....

Nath...

markpeta
14-04-2005, 03:55 PM
is it a scad type of mackeral

magicpudding
14-04-2005, 04:02 PM
phill, i was thinking along the lines of a scad, and i found this photo. I recon i've found a match! This one was 50cm long, so maybe it gets the larger pec fins as it gets older.
They look like an awesome pitch bait!

try http://www.amonline.net.au/fishes/fishfacts/fish/mcord.htm

cj

markpeta
14-04-2005, 04:19 PM
Bingo I use to catch heaps of them off Redcliffe Jetty as a kid and swap them for bait and tackle at the local tackle store he use to sell them for marlin baits they were around 30-40cm.

dfox
14-04-2005, 04:25 PM
jeff- talk to any north qld pro red fishermen and all refer to them as a sourie, we used to target them with a net along the beach, catching sometimes over 1000kg at a time. They sell them as bait in innisfail at around $3 a kilo. The fillet is used as bait, not the whole fish and the dark fleshed fillet stay's on the hook, where as the simular looking fish with the white flesh is to soft and just falls off. I cant say for sure but ive always believed there a member of the trevally family...

SURF_SNIPER
14-04-2005, 04:26 PM
any way of buying in brissie, sounds like a good tailor bait

dfox
14-04-2005, 04:54 PM
Jeff, i checked heaps of photo's trying to find a pic with one in it.
No luck mate, only found blurry ones, this is the best i have :-[
theres one on the cutting board?

dfox
14-04-2005, 05:01 PM
Blown up

mattooty
14-04-2005, 06:38 PM
I thought it looked like an ULTRA small tuna of some sort, maybe one that was a bit lonely and needed a slimey mackeral friend. ???

jeffo
15-04-2005, 02:10 AM
cj- not a scad.. no sharp tail scutes. dave might be on the money. if i HAD to call it id say a species of the slimie family... the look very similar apart from body shape. they look great for pitch baits and i dont think the billfish will mind what it is ;D

BTW- they were only about 150mm long

agnes_jack
15-04-2005, 04:11 AM
Jeffo
I don't know the true name for them, but we also call them sauri's.
We get quite a few while jigging on the bait grounds out here. They seem to be as good as a yakka for bait, we have caught a few trout and other bits and pieces on them. There are a few yakka cross sort of looking things that come up on the bait jigs, they all seem to work well as bait.

Regards, Tony

dynamicspot
15-04-2005, 06:28 AM
its a scad that could be slang for it

jeffo
15-04-2005, 02:32 PM
seams like its a "saurie".. do these sauries you guys speak off have markins on their backs like a slimie?

Burley_Boy
15-04-2005, 04:08 PM
"and it will have fins and it will have spots yet only achieve 150mm in length and it will swim and it will be known as....THE JEFFO...."

It came to me in a dream.. ;D

Daintreeboy
15-04-2005, 06:00 PM
Nice Purple cod by the way foxie. Ron (megafish) caught a beauty the other day and almost threw it back. Lucky I got to the other side of the boat in time eh ;)

damons33
17-04-2005, 09:17 AM
ITS CALLED A "SLAkKA"
half slimey and arf' yakka.
:)
smithy and i once talked about these fish.
damon

jeffo
17-04-2005, 12:06 PM
what we call a "slacker" is different to these things.

goanna1
20-04-2005, 04:15 AM
slimy mackrel

20-04-2005, 04:38 AM
CJ,

your picture is a Finney Scad. They are also known as Mad Fish or something (look like a composite fish made up of other common fish - tail scutes that can cut you like some trevally, back markings like a Tuna and a head like a Yakka). They form big slow moving schools feeding on bait. Pretty common in Hervey Bay and I have also caught them off 1770. Not much good for anything. The tail scutes are a bastard. Usually pretty small and easy to catch with slugs. Usually chuck the 1kg at them in ANSA comps to get a few extra points but they don't fight much.

Phill,

your photo is not all that clear. I am sorta with Damo. Anything that is not a Yakka, Slimey or Sand Trevally we usually end up calling Slackas. I will try to get some photos myself in the next few weeks if this bloody weather lets us get out. There is one other bait fish thing we get a bit like a Sand Trevally but it has a lot more purple through it. Have you seen one of those? As for Sauries I am familiar with the oceanic variety. It has slimey markings but is elongated into a Gar shape but has pronounced tail scutes like the back of a tuna, not the soft dorsal fins like a gar. I have seen them for sale as bait. Someone must net out wide at times.

Mortalkombat
20-04-2005, 05:33 AM
does anyone have a photo of the oceanic Sauries we had lots on the Tweed caynons a few weeks ago showering everwhere. We failed to get hit on our lures as we trolled around the schools but we did have lures for Blues on.
Nick

Matt_Campbell
21-04-2005, 04:24 AM
G'day all
That is an Indian makerel scientific name Rastrelliger kanagurta. They are found around northern Australia. Check this link http://www.fishbase.org/Summary/SpeciesSummary.cfm?ID=111&genusname=Rastrelliger&speciesname=kanagurta

tideline_two
21-04-2005, 09:05 AM
that is a bigeyed scad. they have no scutles on their lateral line. grows to about 2 feet. latin---selar crumenophthalmus. aka bait! we call 'em speedos or goggleyes