View Full Version : Dart on lures?
Dart_Raider
30-08-2005, 12:03 AM
G'day all. I am new to ausfish.com, and am lovin reading all your amazin stories and tips :) !! Anyways, I have a real soft spot for dart, and in recent years, particularly at Straddie, I have caught quite a few on metal lures. Moreoften than not this has coincided with catches of Tailor (both on the beach and the rocks), particualrly around schools of blue pilchards and whitebait.
I am just interested to know whether you guys and gals out there in Ausfish land have had similar experiences to this? My mate Fritzy tells me that he has caught some monster dart on big raiders at Fraser.....are these catches just flukes or do thers have simialr experiences with dart on lures?
Scott15
30-08-2005, 07:53 AM
ive caught a few on slugs and plastics in the surf, i'd say dart will take almost anything if they think they can eat it
jimmybob
30-08-2005, 12:30 PM
i was flickin tassie devils off dickys beach and i was gettin one after the other once...all were 15 cm thou...little suckers...
pjfrad
30-08-2005, 04:55 PM
I've taken a few Dart on flies around Noosa. Basically casting out with a clouser and stripping as fast as I possible could.
Pj
www.shorefishingaustralia.com.au
jackash
30-08-2005, 05:58 PM
Caught a few good ones on raiders before
Zeeke
31-08-2005, 02:52 PM
ive caught bloody heaps of dart on fly.. insane lil buggers.. use the 6 weight for em.. they are good fun when they are getting some size in them.. we fish off mooloolaba and cast in near the rocks.. sometimes managing a fish a cast
propdinger
31-08-2005, 06:09 PM
i find a chrome lure in the surf spun slowly will catch you plenty of all sizes. i also love it cause you can usualy see the school coming through aswell
fritzy
31-08-2005, 10:10 PM
My bro caught a nice one on a softie on fraser once. Using a white/silver grub (large size) on the end of a trace with a sinker above it for better casting distance. Probably need to consider the prevalence of large dart on fraser though... There are hundreds of the buggers... ::) ::)
Cheers Fritzy
jollyman
01-09-2005, 04:33 PM
Dart on lures is awesome fun. I managed to get a few while at Fraser. Even managed to sight lure one in the close in wash. Saw the dart chasing the lure, held it back a little and wham! Superb fun. Just don't admit to chasing dart in a tailor gutter, or you'll get kicked out by the hard core (and mostly pissed) tailor fishos :-)
Dart_Raider
01-09-2005, 06:06 PM
Hahaha Jollyman there's no shame in targeting Dart, even at Fraser......I reckon a Dart pulls way harder than a comparable sized Tailor (to a point). I've sight fished for them as well at Straddie - great fun ;D
fritzy
02-09-2005, 09:59 PM
Yeah simmo,
agree that some dart do pull harder than tailor (to a point... :-? :-?). Mate we caught a few beauties on 65 and 50 gram raiders off the indian head point the christmas before last with my boss and his son from work. (risking our lives to get out there). Rob (bosses son) also dropped a HUGE tailor just at the base of the rocks but without a cliff gaff would have had a hard time getting him up. The fish would have gone at least 10 pond and was on a tiny 40 gram lure!!!
Was the second HUGE tailor lost that week , Paul (my boss) dropped one about the same size off the campaign pools two days earlier.
Also, we had a few sick sessions catching big dart on worms just on the beach. On occasions as soon as the worm hit the water you were on. Awesome stuff!! ;D ;D Still prefer catching tailor though...
Cheers Fritzy
fritzy
02-09-2005, 11:23 PM
Oi simmo,
forgot to tell ya mate, did have a ball one morning last september when the weed was thick as on fraser. Used a paternoster rig with two long shank whiting hooks and beach worms- we got two big dart on the one line about 3 times. UNREAL. Just felt the weight of the first fish and started winding, within a couple of winds the second fish was on. Try this next time you are dart fishing - great stuff
Cheers Fritzy
jackash
03-09-2005, 01:17 PM
Yes that paternoster morning was very fun.... pity they were dart and not tailor though imo.