View Full Version : Why did you start to use Ausfish ?
catchy_fishy
19-01-2006, 08:25 AM
Hey Ausfish members
If you havent worked out yet, I'm from SA. I've been so impressed with this forum I want to set up something similar in SA. We've got forums for fishing - but with 58 posts in 6 months they're not doing too well.
I'm keen to know why Ausfish members joined this forum in the first place - please participate - Naturally the results of the poll will be interesting to Steve as well. I'd like to apply the logic of why this forum is so successful, back home, and see if I can get a similar forum with well shared knoweldge going
The poll allows you to select as many answers as you like, lets yous ee all the responses, and allows guests and members to take part
Thanks for your input, looking forward to the results. :-/ :-? ;)
Catchy Fishy
Ps The reason I keep attaching the foam popper is I still can't upload my AVATAR and have given up
Fishinmishin
19-01-2006, 09:27 AM
SA= South Africa hey?
I'd be interested to see some catches you have in that part of the world.
I joined because my parole officer said it would help my case if I had people in the everyday public that I could use as personal referres. Nobody I personally knew offered so I had to find new freinds. Now I just stay here cause it helps me get in touch with all new mammas ;).
Cheers, Jay
Volvo
19-01-2006, 10:22 AM
jay appears we share the same parole officer :-?...
but the most important reason that i keep coming here is because it appears to be mostly full of SE QLd based people which is excellent cause that's where i am.
19-01-2006, 12:01 PM
Similar reasons to porl. I have stayed here because of the locality of the majority of people. I used to be a member of fishnet... but got sick of the constant bitching.
fish2eat
19-01-2006, 12:13 PM
this is the best site for 3 main reasons
1. It has more useful information about fishing, "fishnet" topics range from the AFL to Victorian State politics, then there are 20 threads about where the snapper are biting in Port Phillip Bay
2. Steve keeps the housekeeping up to date and while I have had some occasional irritations with moving posts, I understand why and appreciate a well maintained site, free of bitchiness
3. Geographically it suits me as well because Im a Queenslander and therefore the material is relevant. It would be hard to have a truly national forum because WA (for example) is just as different and far away as NZ
madmix
19-01-2006, 12:34 PM
my shrink said I should get out and meet people
and my Doctor said I should take up sport.
So I figured I kill two birds at once so to speak.
Note to self ....maybe change doctors.
DaneCross
19-01-2006, 01:14 PM
Google - its a wonderful thing. Stumbled across Ausfish while searching for local fishing reports... What a find! ;D
d-man
19-01-2006, 01:31 PM
A mate who lurks on the board begged me to comment on some mis-information that had been posted. Seems he thought I knew what I was talking about - silly bugger ;)
szopen
19-01-2006, 01:31 PM
I got here through google as well.
Can't even remember what I was looking for.
Have been lurking around as a guest for quite a while.
Than decided to join.
I live in another country, do different fishing and still find the site both usefull and entertaining.
madman1
19-01-2006, 01:57 PM
I dont really know how I came accross Ausfish but I am sure glad I did. Couldn't live without it. I would probably get a lot more work done if I hadn't found it.
Benno75
19-01-2006, 01:58 PM
I too am a new member, and I stumbled across Ausfish by accident searching the internet looking for info on SP fishing. Over the years I've spent close to as much money on fishing magazines/journals/articles as I have on tackle. I'm not aware of any other resource as useful as this site is for fishing QLD, particularly the south east. The abundance of helpful people and good information on this site is nothing short of amazing.
I love all the stories and pics
Cheers - Benno
Scott15
19-01-2006, 02:04 PM
Google - its a wonderful thing. Stumbled across Ausfish while searching for local fishing reports... What a find! ;D
Same here
Stumbled across Ausfish while looking to buy fishing gear on line (google), actually brought two reels before i found the chat site, eventually signing on. Its been an enjoyable ride since then, learnt lots and still learning, i live in the NT and still find the information gleened from this site relevant and very usefull and ya can have a good laugh at the humour. ;D
MAL.
Freeeedom
19-01-2006, 03:46 PM
Agree with opinions already expressed. I was an avid "Fisnetter" until someone mentioned in a thread that Ausfish was much better for Queensland anglers, so I had a look. How right they were.
Cheers Freeeedom
rickraider
19-01-2006, 05:14 PM
google 8-)
Just_chips
19-01-2006, 06:48 PM
Same as DC, looking for local fishing reports and found this little gem.
It's like when you first have kids, you don't know what you did without them :)
Barrymundi
19-01-2006, 06:51 PM
It is a good site because it is used by good people who just love fishing.
Pretty simple.
Al
wayne_cook
19-01-2006, 07:11 PM
stumbled across site ist started looking at photos then got interested in the chat side, envoy some of those areas the guys chat about. also inspired me to do a to trip to fraser had the best time just ;D it. since then joined up. think its great eventhough i don't live in qld.
timbacutta
19-01-2006, 07:19 PM
google, was looking for sounder info and brought up ausfish post. been hooked ever since.
Jeff.
P.S. Just got my ausfish stickers in the mail, will post photo after putting on the boat. :)
well I searched fish net young babes (google ) and ended up here but that was a long time ago now and now that sex is just a dream I spend most of my free time fishing and chatting to fisho's here, ( at least I can still smell like I have had sex after fishing ) hehehehe....
Cheers Chris 8-) ( oh sh*t the wife is coming gotta go )
darryl_l
19-01-2006, 09:50 PM
Fishing associates from other areas have been members long term an would send email links to stories and pics posted here so it was logical to join as well.
Darryl L
sf17fisherman
19-01-2006, 11:30 PM
I found this site after stummbling into TheShed and being refered to here by Dr Zeeke
honestly but the only reson i stay is beacuse it is full of Queenslanders that think they know it all ;D ;D ;D
Motorman
19-01-2006, 11:58 PM
Hey guys another newbie here
I found this site through Google
pretty glad i did too
Just got my first boat and starting to fish abit more
Lots of great advice and decent people
well seems like it so far ;D
Brad
catchy_fishy
20-01-2006, 05:26 AM
Fantastic responses - and the poll info is hugely useful. As long as it stays on page 1 I'll keep it open.
Thanks for all the responses
Catchy Fishy
PS Thanks to whoever put my avatar up - far too kind :-[ :-[ :-[
campaspe_boy
20-01-2006, 06:14 AM
My work mates got sick of me asking questions so I started googleing and come across this page, it has alot of people one it with great knowlage of fishing, but most of all they love to share there info.
20-01-2006, 06:35 AM
seems so long ago I honestly cant remember
20-01-2006, 07:34 AM
From the sister B and B
Steven
skippa
20-01-2006, 08:54 AM
Geez,
that was a coupla years back now, craft is setting in ::)
Google (or something) search looking for fishing reports. Used to be a Fishneter :-X but stayed on here for local content ...
redspeckle
20-01-2006, 09:18 AM
A work mate put me on to this site
Its great site to find out where their biting having problems with you boat or tackle or why not catching fish and reading peoples storys about there fishing trips whats happen to them and so on
Getting adivce on many things eg like new sounders, canmping ,4wd 's ,sell fishing and boating stuff here
and now geting latest story's on fishing closures now involed in the fishing party
A great site here I be lost with out it now
keep good work up Steve (ausfish)
Mitch
bignick
20-01-2006, 10:34 AM
When my wife was in hospital for an extended period in 2004 prior to the birth of our son, I was home alone and I was in desperate need of something to do to keep me off the streets. I found most of the other fishing-type websites to be a little bit ordinary and very few had much to do with this area (SEQ). A mate at work suggested I take a look at this site and that was that. The fact that is based locally, a lot of the content is to do with local issues and many of the members/contributors are locals are the three main factors that have kept me hooked; also the articles/reports/posts are very informative and, in some cases, somewhat entertaining. It has also afforded me the opportunity to dabble in a little bit of report writing, which is something I've wanted to do for some time. It's also a good thing that people will actually put their names and, sometimes, faces to articles they have written, instead of using this site as another avenue to mouth off pointlessly and slag off at anything that takes their fancy whilst hiding behind the cloak of anonymity that the internet usually provides. The quality of this site is easily recognised by the rate at which new members are joining, a statistical fact that cannot be ignored or denied. Keep up the good work.
NICK.
Hookem_Herby
20-01-2006, 12:04 PM
I had a problem (fishing/boating related :P) ... google sent me here ... and I've never looked back! ::) ;D Like everyone said ... just can beat the local factor.
Thanks Steve for making it all happen, everyday! ;)
Herby
I have only just become a member but I been looking at forum msgs for awhile and I must admit that the wealth of information available is tremendous. I have just posted a message regarding boating advice and already have had constructive replies. That is what a good forum is all about. Also plenty of good advice about my favourite dam
serene_lady
20-01-2006, 09:50 PM
Yes i am also a new member and was also looking on the net for fishing chat lines. I was very impressed with the range of subjects on the chat board and the friendly nature of the posts. It did take me a while to join because i was unsure about typing letters and posting them on the computer because the first post i made on this site is the first letter i have ever written on a key board. Then again i have been fishing for the last 55 years and never had the time. Never had a computer before either. I will have to go back to the general chat board and introduce my self as a new member before i make to many posts and become an olb member. Enjoying the site. Bob.
I had no idea these forums existed, I found Ausfish when I was searching for some fish recipes. And since I live and breathe fishing anyway, it couldn't be better.
I also think the variety of subjects is a big attraction. Plenty to keep everyone happy.
Roz
21-01-2006, 03:36 AM
My mamma told me to log on and meet her new man... I started chatting to Jay, then a few others, then haven't left since! ;D ;D ;D
I actually found this site through Google while looking for 4WD tracks around Brisbane, and found the fishing overseeing it all...
Never looked back!
(Good on ya Steve!)
21-01-2006, 06:39 AM
Got pointed here by a work aquaintance, looking for better weather information.
He also told me to look under reports.
WOW, when I saw some of the fish being caught and then got further into the chat pages ,so I signed up to give some advice, post a few pics and even joke with some of the funny posts.
Now I start topics too
I have never joined any other chat rooms or even been to them for that matter as Ausfish has all I need, Thanks Steve and all the members who so actively participate in the friendly manner they do
P.S. still looking for a site with accurate weather reports Ha Ha.
Darryl
21-01-2006, 01:00 PM
Saw the stickers on a boat and came home and punched the addy into my browser.
mickstar001
21-01-2006, 01:24 PM
yeah originally found it from google, becomes bloody addictive tho!
al-straddie
29-01-2006, 06:14 AM
I'm another newbie. I bought my 1st boat 6 months ago and a friend recomended this site to get some good tips. And thats exactly what I've got.
Also got sore ribs from spending the last three days reading the "joke of the day" string.
regards .......al ;D ;D
4x4frog
29-01-2006, 03:31 PM
Another newbie here too.
It has been too long since I fished seriously and there are so #many new techniques that the only way to even start to catch up was with membership to a club and or a website forum.
Ausfish is a great place to source this knowledge and I look forward to meeting some other fishers at some stage too.
Chris.....4x4frog ( ???4x4frog, #I own a Renault Scenic RX4 ...nicer than a Toy Rav4 and safer than anything in it's class, yet to get off-road but very eager)
Edit.......also I am hooked because there s so much SEQ based info
TIM-DONSELAAR
29-01-2006, 03:57 PM
i was looking on google for a fishing forum,several came up but ausfish seemed to have the most SE QLD members.
cheers tim #[smiley=beer.gif]
chanquetas
29-01-2006, 04:11 PM
I found Ausfish through Google. But thats not why I stayed.
I think the most important thing is that Steve keeps the content on-topic. As people have said about other fishy websites, they dont necessarily talk about fishing. I come here because I am interested in learning how to fish, where to fish, and what to fish with. I have in the past been frustrated by things being delcared "off-topic" but there is a very good reason for that, and I appreciate it.
If I want to talk about footy or motorbikes etc. then I'll go to those particular forums.
But I know that when I log into Ausfish, I will find interesting fishing topics, great fishing stories, good fishing information, fishing reports, local fishing knowledge etc.
I am also constantly amazed not only at the wealth of fishing information that is concentrated here in one spot, but also the willingness to share.
There is always someone offering a seat on a fishing boat, good advice on rigging, where the fish are biting, and much much more.
It helps of course that I live in Brissie, so for me it could be called Brisfish, or SEQFish. But I would be coming here anyway for all the info.
It also helps that the site is simple, no great downloading overheads, as when Im away I keep in touch with my mobile phone/laptop so its a bit slow.
So I say thanks Steve for this wonderful "soap box", and thanks to all the Ausfishers that make it work.
Good luck Catchy Fishy with your SA version. I reckon build it, and they will come.
Like everything else, I stumbled across this site whilst looking for porn ;D
rough_shag
30-01-2006, 09:35 AM
Googled my way onto it and glad I did.If you are new to boating and want good practical info from people who are out there boating/fishing etc this site is the way to go.I have gained so much valuable info in a very short time but without the site I would probably of had to find out the hard way which around Moreton Bay can be dangerous as well as inconvenient.Big thankyou to all the top blokes and sheilas who share their valuable experience and knowledge.Jace.
TheSaint
30-01-2006, 10:30 AM
It was google guided then i have stayed around cause of the local info i receive which helps my fishing out..
baitdrowner
04-02-2006, 05:11 PM
i stumbled across this site while looking for local fishing reports. i'm totally convinced its the best forum for not only reports and weather reports, but there some very helpful people here, who are more than willing to offer advice and share there knowledge about fishing in SEQLD. if you search hard enough on this forum you'll find the answers to all your questions.........its such a great place to lurkers like me! ;)
2DKnBJ
04-02-2006, 09:31 PM
A mate put me onto Ausfish and i havn't looked back since.
Good local reports and you can get advice from people that know what they are on about
Also met a few people from here and now we get together quite a bit to wet a line or just have a day on the water.
Cheers Dazza
theVan
05-02-2006, 02:03 PM
I found it looking for local reports.
It now gives me my fishing fix daily!!!!!
I would go crazy without it!...(some say I already did )
Awesome site
Shane