View Full Version : jet sKi ban for the passage ??

Jitlands
31-01-2006, 08:14 AM
Small item in the paper last week about possible changes to jet ski use on Pummistone passage. mentioned local council and state Gov where reviewing all activities in the Passage area. Any additional info from Caloundra locals?

snakecatcher
31-01-2006, 05:33 PM
Nothing new as yet - I really hope they don't ban all motorised craft in the passage as it is a top fishing spot on the coast. Will post any news when I hear about it

brett_rokesky
31-01-2006, 08:05 PM
I coldn't believe how many there where at Xmas.
Though this could start the old discrimination debate against jet skies :-/

Jono_SS
31-01-2006, 08:45 PM
saw that article and thought some of my prayers had been answered.

then last weekend saw a bloke carting his young one around on jet ski at a nice steady pace and thought "they can be used responsibly - as usual, minority spoils it for a few".

then later same day saw 2 jet skis racing through the 6 knot zone on their way to the bar and gave myself an upper cut for even briefly thinking that they should ever be allowed anywhere near the top end of the passage! silly me.

TheSaint
01-02-2006, 05:57 AM
last weekend saw a bloke carting his young one around on jet ski at a nice steady pace and thought "they can be used responsibly - as usual, minority spoils it for a few".

Then you get old timers or just plain #######s in boats who don't know which side is starboard
& turn towards you as you approach them.. or forget what 6 knots is or anchor in the middle of busy channel...

There are alot of idiots out there on Jetskis & in Boats so you just point the finger @ one type of vessel..

rough_shag
01-02-2006, 02:18 PM
I have seen plenty of incidents of dangerous behaviour by jetskiers over the yrs far too numerous to mention here and only a couple of dangerous acts by boaties.Boaties seem to be more safety conscious and considerate in general than jet skiers.Not long ago I was trying to retrieve my rig at a concrete ramp where 2 jetskiers had decided to do figure 8's right out the front,my boat got slammed into the ramp continually from the wash generated,several people waved them off only to be given the finger in return-any wonder they are hated by other waterway users.During the recent hols I was at Bribie and saw jetskiers travelling at high speed close to shore where children were swimming-what the hell are they thinking?I've never seen a 5mtr fishing rig hooning along 4mtrs from shore where people are swimming.Jetskis are a double whammy when it comes to potential danger on the water because they accelerate/travel fast and are highly manouverable/unpredictable.Most not all boaties use the waterways for more mundane persuits like fishing/relaxing but the sole use of most jetskis I've seen is high speed thrillseeking which is inherently more dangerous.I think jetskiers have made a bad name for themselves over the years and would love to brand all boaties as being just as dangerous as they are but it just doesn't compare overall.Hoons on the roads have their cars impounded and I reckon hoons on the water should have their vehicles impounded too.Whadda ya reckon?.Jace.

BAIT_MAN
01-02-2006, 02:50 PM
.Hoons on the roads have their cars impounded and I reckon hoons on the water should have their vehicles impounded too. # #

AMEN to that

coxy
05-02-2006, 01:05 PM
I've seen a few jetski's "checking" crab pots around the Pin area. Very moblie in all the tides and a bit quick to try and catch if they are your pots whilst fishing from a distance.
Nice blokes though (I'm told)

vertico
05-02-2006, 01:15 PM
a pro crabber down the mcleay island area has one of his mates on a jet ski to watch his pots.
There is really no way a boat in tight waterways or usually anywhere can outrun a jetski.

NeilD
05-02-2006, 03:07 PM
I saw a jetski checking pots up the back end of Coby Coby. He took off fast when he saw me but there is no way a boat could follow him across the shallows.

In my opinion the bloody things are a blight on our waterways. They seem to attract larger proportion of inconsiderate idiots. A couple of skis racing up and down can ruin the enjoyment of hundreds of other users with their noise pollution and dangerous antics[smiley=angryfire.gif]. Put a muffler on them and speed limit them around anchorages and swimming areas (they almost always break the regulations)

[smiley=angryfire.gif]

Feral
05-02-2006, 03:25 PM
a pro crabber down the mcleay island area has one of his mates on a jet ski to watch his pots.
There is really no way a boat in tight waterways or usually anywhere can outrun a jetski.

Yeah - but what is he going to do when he catches up with the boat? - Not that I am in any way condoning robbing pots, he tries to pull up the boat, the ski might make a bit of a bump as the boat goes over it, but not much.

baitdrowner
06-02-2006, 09:18 PM
I've seen a few jetski's "checking" crab pots around the Pin area. # #

This sort of behaviour doesn't suprise me.

Darren10
20-04-2010, 08:32 PM
I have seen plenty of incidents of dangerous behaviour by jetskiers over the yrs far too numerous to mention here and only a couple of dangerous acts by boaties.Boaties seem to be more safety conscious and considerate in general than jet skiers.Not long ago I was trying to retrieve my rig at a concrete ramp where 2 jetskiers had decided to do figure 8's right out the front,my boat got slammed into the ramp continually from the wash generated,several people waved them off only to be given the finger in return-any wonder they are hated by other waterway users.During the recent hols I was at Bribie and saw jetskiers travelling at high speed close to shore where children were swimming-what the hell are they thinking?I've never seen a 5mtr fishing rig hooning along 4mtrs from shore where people are swimming.Jetskis are a double whammy when it comes to potential danger on the water because they accelerate/travel fast and are highly manouverable/unpredictable.Most not all boaties use the waterways for more mundane persuits like fishing/relaxing but the sole use of most jetskis I've seen is high speed thrillseeking which is inherently more dangerous.I think jetskiers have made a bad name for themselves over the years and would love to brand all boaties as being just as dangerous as they are but it just doesn't compare overall.Hoons on the roads have their cars impounded and I reckon hoons on the water should have their vehicles impounded too.Whadda ya reckon?.Jace.

I agree with you totally, having a tinny in the passage and recently selling to purchace a Jetski for tubing with the kids i totally understand you and many others thoughts as i generally have the same. I am 46 young at heart but also have safety as first priority. This is my first post and look forward to discussion in the future. I plan to use the ski to fish from as well, is there anyone on the sunshine coast i can begin with, ie: get a few pointers, maybe even venture out with.

Darren10
20-04-2010, 08:34 PM
I agree with you totally, having a tinny in the passage and recently selling to purchace a Jetski for tubing with the kids i totally understand you and many others thoughts as i generally have the same. I am 46 young at heart but also have safety as first priority. This is my first post and look forward to discussion in the future. I plan to use the ski to fish from as well, is there anyone on the sunshine coast i can begin with, ie: get a few pointers, maybe even venture out with.

sowden1942
21-04-2010, 01:37 PM
Hi Darren 10. Go to the Web site Jetski Fishing NZ. It has a Australian connection with a few Jetski Fisho's in the Gold Coast Sunshine Area. If no luck call me on 07-56659662. John

old_fisho
21-04-2010, 10:23 PM
Hi Darren 10 ,

Mate i have just got the admin to open a jetski fishing forum on www.ozpwc.com (http://www.ozpwc.com)
Yes the kiwi site is good but its not Aussie , some good info there .Try MM Stainless in Brendale they make a fantastic jetski fishing rig way better than Andrew`s from NZ.

Perry