View Full Version : coochiemudlo
alexl
24-02-2006, 08:08 PM
i am a relatively new arrival in the area and am just getting started in the salt water after years chasing tiddlers in the rivers of the U.K.
i have had fun up at redcliffe and out on straddie but fancy giving coochiemudlo beaches a go this weekend (partly because i have never been there).
can anyone give me any tips / locations? is it worth the trip?
al
24-02-2006, 08:19 PM
First of all welcome to the site and nice work on spelling coochie right the first go. Coochie is ok, the beaches are allrite and on the eastern side there's patchy reef. For a walk around and fish i'd presonally try and get over to north stradbroke island. The waters there are awesome and much more situations to choose from. Just have a search and surf the reports section and have a great one.
MulletMan
24-02-2006, 08:48 PM
If you are land bound then jump to the last red paragraph ............ or buy a boat better yet!
Try fishing on the south western side of the big red buoy on the south east corner of Coochy. Best with burley on a run in tide. Good chopper tailor there, bream and squire. Spotty macs also there over next few months. Always anchor and as usual, early morning and evening the best.
Also about fifty metres south of the yellow cross over beacon on the north eastern side of Coochy. Nice little hole there that produces heaps of squire and sweetlip. Nothing big but all legal. Morning and evening best with green prawns, mullet chunks, squid or pilly halves.
Go about ten to twenty metres due east of the old Point O'Halloran red beacon and use fresh bloodworms on a run in tide for quality whiting. Cast all over the place till you find them. They are reasonably close to the end of the mainland sandbar. Also worth tossing a flatty lure about the dropoff or in the weeds or a small pilly on a triple ganged fiveo hook. Hardiheads on a long shank also worth a go.
Spot called IRON STEM (green beacon on the chart) on the NW side of McLeay Island. Tiger country with the rocks there so be careful but good bream early/late in the day, lots burley and some fresh bait. Odd flatty poking about sometimes.
The beaches at Coochy were good till the Yellow Raincoats adopted the policy "if it moves eat it" so they are pretty well stuffed now. Same as Thompsons Beach on the mainland at Vicky Point. Brilliant once, now it's a wasteland thanks to the Raincoats.
The western side of the Banana Banks are fair for whiting but just watch where others are fishing. Never really had much luck there but easy fishing ................
The commecial netters hammer this part of the Bay unmercifully and it is but a shadow of its former self as a great fishing spot.
Let us know how you get on!
And watch the Stonefish Mate!!! They are everywhere down there! Saw one about 60 cms there once that was caught in a crabpot.
Wear good solid shoes with thick soles and stay away from the rocky/weedy banks if paddling. If you have ankle biters keep a special eye on them!
shaman
24-02-2006, 08:50 PM
Welcome alexl,
Lived at Redland Bay for years and reckon Coochie's ok for a family fish unless you've got a boat. If so you could drift from garden island across to the big red beacon you might nail some sweetlip there and there's generally plenty of sand crabs between coochie and victoria pt. But if you're landbased you will get whiting bream and the odd flathead off the beaches. Good luck, Shaman.
alexl
26-02-2006, 04:49 PM
thanks for all that.
i had a good morning over on murwong beach, if a little hampered by the weather. unfortunately the missus out fished me with a little spinning rod i bought 'her' for her birthday! got some good whiting.
a boat would be great but have to save up for a car first!
thanks again,
al.