View Full Version : ideas for a newbie??
camel
18-04-2006, 04:41 PM
Hi Everyone,
We have recently bought a quintrex 4.75 runabout and are looking to catch some fish!!! #My wife and I are both fairly new to boating and fishing (on our own) and would like some tips for fishing in the bay with our three daughters (7, 11 and 12). #We have been out a few times but haven't had any luck. #We don't yet have a GPS and navigation can be daunting to someone who doesn't know the bay (although our beacon to beacon is a great help).
Can anyone suggest some nice spots, that aren't too hard to find where we could have a fairly good chance of catching something.
Cam.
PS We don't really mind what we catch as long as it is legal. #;)
nabs12
18-04-2006, 05:09 PM
Hey
I dont have a boat but there have been heaps of reports of catching squire from the bay around the islands and stuff, you should have a look at some of the reports to get an idea...
Hope this helps
18-04-2006, 05:13 PM
G'day Cam...
first of all mate, congrats. You'll have alot of fun out and about on the bay. Now where abouts are you situated? north or southside and any ideas on where you'd like to go?
18-04-2006, 06:02 PM
Hi Cam
as said above all the Bay Islands will produce fish, Peel, Green, Mud etc as well as the foreshore reef areas like Wello.
If you have a sounder youll be right. Keep reading the reports here on Ausfish or and grab a copy of Bush and Beach and you will get all the info you need.
Beware of the Bay. It is a big piece of water so dont get stuck over at Moreton around Tangas, 4 beacons etc. If its been blowing and all of a sudden its seems to stop take head and head home as all that is happening is the breeze is swinging around and you will be caught out.
Steven
Cam
Best things to keep the kids interested is Winter Whiting. #Get yourself some live bloodworms not beachworms, and head to any of the shallow banks around the bay, Banana, Pelican banks south of Peel island or Amity, Moreton banks to the north!
Once you work out how it should be routine to go out and get 100 or so. A bit of a pain to fillet but very nice to eat as well.
Good luck
MOZ
If you don't mind what you catch, the brisbane river can always produce catfish :D Any bait, any stretch of the river. Just watch out for those spines. Its probably a safer destination than out in the bay if you're going to take the kids, at least for your first few trips.
camel
19-04-2006, 04:15 PM
Hi Guys,
Thanks for all your tips that should keep us busy exploring for a while!
With the kids back at school today (and us still on hols) we decided to go out toady as the weather was just great. #We put it in at Laborador and tried our luck at the north wall of the seaway. #
We were thrilled when we started getting bites not long after we pulled up. #We caught 8 in all, 2 of these were nice bream we could keep. #Meanwhile the wife caught the bigger of the two AND the first keeper from the boat so I am never going to hear the end of that! :-/
We will have to improve our knowledge of fish though as everytime we caught something one of us had to run and check the marine fishing guide for species and size!!!
But all in all a great day for us!
Thanks again and here is a pick of my first keeper from the new purchase!
Cam
PS We are located on the southside in logan city.
camel
19-04-2006, 04:20 PM
And here is the first keeper, oh along with my wife!!! ;)
Volcano
19-04-2006, 04:22 PM
hahaha congrats camel... tell me about it. My wife has caught the biggest fish on our boat. She still likes poking me with that everytime I talk about going out lol.
19-04-2006, 06:52 PM
Congrats Cam and Shan
Yeah dont worry about that she go the first fish or best fish...it just bloody happens.
Wait till the day that she gets all snaged up and you grab her rod to help her out and while she is holding onto yours a bloody big snogger climbs on board.....I hate that.
Cam hers a tip but....as you do all the boat prep and launching etc make sure that you wash your hands etc before you handle any bait. Ive seen many times where the driver gets no bites and the decky does...only thing I can put it down to is whats on your hands
Have fun guys
steven
20-04-2006, 09:24 PM
Hi Camel,
So you live in Logan? - so do I.
3 Daughters? My two are 10 and 13y/o.
My boat is 4.3mtr glass, yours is a little bigger and newer, but I am not jealous one bit ::)
I think I know what you are experiencing, and I was exactly the same as I got to know my way around and got confident with boating in general. I still feel more secure teaming up with another boat even now after many years, if I get out into the bay.
So with a couple of long weekends coming up, drop me a PM and let me know if you are planning a trip, you are welcome to tag along if our calendars coincide. My favourite haunt is Mud island where I seem to be doing quite well, and the itch for catching another big Snapper is getting intolerable ;D
I have attached a photo of a very memorable day with my two with the boat in the background.
Happy hunting
onerabbit
21-04-2006, 12:09 AM
# # Dont you love fishing with kids???
# # Muzz
Look at their faces.
imnotoriginal
21-04-2006, 07:07 PM
I'm not really a boatie but I agree with what Moz said about winter whiting, they're great for kids. They bite really aggressively and if you use light gear the kids will have a ball. We often get golden-lined whiting from the area near tangalooma point, just in front of the big sandhill south of the tangalooma jetty. If you're not catching whiting there's always grinners too :o. Good luck.
Joel