View Full Version : long w/e @ bribie

slyman
02-05-2006, 11:48 PM
Hey all, been having a look at this site for a few days now and read some great posts and helpful tips. But i thought that i'd post about the recent camping trip that i had at poverty creek camp site on Bribie. Originally we'd planned to camp at borumba but we were told that there was a speed boat racing comp on there, so somewhere else was needed at the last minute and we'd been talking about exploring pumicestone a bit further, so we decided on poverty creek. Nice camp site and all, but not if you want to launch a boat... :-?

Set up camp friday night with "boat owner/sisters boyfriend" and good mate, Daz, brother chris arriving saturday morn, headed out to fish a couple of hours before high tide. With no ramp nor ANY access to get a boat within spitting distance of the water, the only other plan, short of driving to white patch, was to lift the boat off the trailer, over the knee high fence around the access road, and across the 30 meters to the water to drop it in. This is only an old 4 meter quintrex tinnie by the way, nothing too flash, but little shirley, shes a ripper! With a bit of help from a couple of blokes that were nearby, we struggled and strained and eventually the boat was afloat, time for a coopers pale ale!! Anyway, we headed north after launch up past mission beach and over around glass mountain creek and failed to even get a nibble, the wind had picked up and was blowing a dog off a lead from the north, therefore, back to camp we go, halfway through the run out tide and reversed the process, only we had to carry the boat from about 30 meters out on the flats, after we had emptied the boat again, this time we even removed the 15hp yamaha off the back before we carried it!! There was no one to help this time, it was just the 3 of us. Back at camp, the decision was unanimous, launch the boat from white patch, lets never carry the boat again!

Sunday arrives after a big night of coopers and a feed of spag bog, thanks to the lack of attention from the fish, and we head off to white patch boat ramp. More fun ensues, when we discover that its really old, and finishes nowhere even near the water, and that a beach launch is in order. No probs though, into the water and off we go over to the wreck and join a handful of other boats and folks wetting a line. By this time, my sister steph had joined us, and so there were 4 of us in shirley, but the only action that happened there was 1 bream that was a few cms over legal, but my brother decided to keep it any way. After lots of snags there, we motored over towards the mouth of ningi creek and did several drifts over the sand flats and by the oyster beds, by this time the tide had turned and was slowly running south. Several nibbles at the SP's but nothing major, then, boom, I hooked up a large flattie, first fish on my new rod, it came in around the 50cm mark! Stoked!! I had just landed the largest flathead anyone fishing from shirley had got, then not 5 minutes later, Daz lands another that is around the 60cm mark!!! I got mine on a berkley pumpkinseed 2" minnow grub and Daz was using an atomic 3" paddletail grub. After lunch on shag island we thought we'd try for some squire in the channel that runs out from ningi creek towards the bridge, no luck, not even a sniff! Ah well, back to camp we go!

Monday we didn't have much time, had to pack up camp and be home around 3:30, so again in at white patch before high tide, and this time we thought we'd motor all the way up ningi creek. After dropping in a crab pot with heads from two of the previous days catch, we made our way up to the over head lines and let the westerly blow us back out. I was using my 2" grub again, dont know what the other guys used, but i went through at least 4 grubs before making it to the end of the creek! My grub got loads of attention from a lot of undersized flatties and a little whiting that just scraped 10cm, but nothing to take home, Daz on the other hand managed another flattie, this time about 45cm, but he didn't want it, so chris took it instead. Pulled up the crab pot on the way back only to find it empty apart from the bait, ah well, its home we go.

All in all, a good weekend was had, but i think we should take a little more time in selecting our campsite next time!!! I dont understand why anyone would make a campsite 8kms into the island next to the water and not put in a ramp? No running water either. But at least the place is thick with mozzies and sandflies! Just ask my ankles. Oh yeah and i forgot to mention the low flying helicopters spraying the low areas for mozzie larvae at 7am on monday morning, thats always a nice way to be woken up!! I have a pic of the catch from saturday, and once i get it resized i'll post it.