View Full Version : Anybody Know where to get livies in the Bay?
Aussie_Angler
29-04-2006, 02:51 PM
I have been fishing round mud for the last couple of months and cant wait for the water to chill off, for the snapper. Have been doing pretty well with squire on frozen pillies but am keen to try live bait like yellow tail or slimy macks. can anyone help me find some?
Aussie_Angler
novice23
13-05-2006, 10:25 PM
mate, i dunno about yakkas and stuff... but there is always plenty of herring and mullet at most ramps
jackson_4300
13-05-2006, 11:17 PM
go further across to the 4 beacons, normally u get yakkas, slimeys, etc there. also some nice mackeral.
Flounder
14-05-2006, 08:54 AM
I was gonna say the 4 beacons as well
shabss
19-05-2006, 01:07 PM
WHATS A YAKKA AND WHERE EXACTLY IS THIS 4 BEACONS SPOT?
19-05-2006, 01:24 PM
You can get them from nearly all the beacons in the bay.... No need to go all the way to the 4 Beacons...
The 4 Beacons is over on the western side of Moreton Island.
fishn-ads
19-05-2006, 02:01 PM
Aussie_Angler, Where abouts (ramp) are you coming from?
As Dan said Four beacons will take you another 15 mins or so each way depending on your boat? 4 Beacons is great bait grounds if your heading out the South passage on your way outside keeps em fresher.
Heaps around Brisbane Rd beacons, use bait jig drop it over have a cuppa pull it up "live bait".
Ads
The E2 beacon in your, er, Beacon to Beacon ;) as of two weeks ago was producing plenty yakkas. Get in close and you can't miss.
(A lot more than the week before when we went Dan)
Good luck,
bream_boy
19-05-2006, 11:08 PM
why do you get alot of live bait from around beacons
kingcobe
20-05-2006, 07:13 PM
I would have to say yakka's are the best live bait you could get in the bay as well as slimeys which you can get at the 4 beacons. You should use very small hooks rigged up into a 3 hook jig.
Jay Jay
fishn-ads
20-05-2006, 07:35 PM
why do you get alot of live bait from around beacons
Fish Attraching Device "FAD" as there known, any struture that is out of the normal in a waterway ie. wreak, beacon, jetty etc. gives little fish some where to shelter/feed with little fish come bigger fish - brings bigger fish -brings bigger fish - brings bigger fish(yakkas) - brings bigger fish - brings bigger fish so on and then arrives humans.
FADs don't have to be man made Rock groins, Gutters, Points, Reefs etc. there all FADs
Beacons are just easier to get bait off as there more isolated.
Simple hay.