View Full Version : Fishing Northen NSW
Hello,
I am moving to C a s i n o NSW from Papua New Guinea and deciding wether to sell my boat and buy something more suitable for the type of fishing available, I was wondering what fishing options I have available to me, I realise good coastal fishing and estuary fishing.
Edited by Moderator
Tony_N
22-09-2006, 12:43 PM
:) we have to spell it Cassino to beat the spam filter 'cos it thinks you're trying to get us into some gambling scam.
Closest outside fishing would be Evans Head and then Ballina. the evans river and Richmond for saltwater estuary fishing and nearer your town plenty of Bass fishing.
To sell your boat - ? I s'pose it depends what it is and how much you can get for it there i imagine the freight cost would encourage yu to sell it there and pick up something more suitable for the type of fishing you want to do when you get here.
FWIW
MODIFIED to add:
I'm pretty sure cassino still has a deep sea fishing club - When you get there those people will put you straight I'm sure. "stonecold" on this site would be the best person to contact to verify this I think.
onerabbit
22-09-2006, 03:22 PM
Hi zeff,
What's your fishing preference? River , beach, ocean?
As Tony said, a local fishing club will give you lots of good info on local bars, places to go etc.
Once you are here & settled I'd be happy to share info on the Ballina outside fishing scene.
What sort of boat do you have now?
You may need to weigh up the value of the boat (including sentimental value) against the cost of moving it.
22-09-2006, 03:43 PM
Tony, are you for real? :-/ Please don't misunderstand me, but when I read the first post of this thread, I couldn't understand why the spam filter kicked in. It's all very clear to me now. I see it all. ::) Gambling!! The root of all evil!! Please bear with me, I'm old and decrepit. I miss things you know. Sometimes I think I'm just about a mental case.
If it wasn't for Gwenda, I'm sure I'd be in an institution by now. Just realised, what's this got to do with the original thread? No idea really; what was the question?
Ah yes, now I see. Actually, I have no idea, except for Iluka at the mouth of the mighty Clarence. Good fishing there mate. Hope that helps.
Cawfffs Arbour (like to see the spam filter get it's teeth into that one)
Good spot to fish from, you don't need a big boat as there is a lot of close in country.
Plenty of cawfffs arbour vermin (snapper). If you get out past the 36's you will possibly pick them up all day.
22-09-2006, 05:57 PM
What about Koff Zarba? :-/
Sorry.
Tony_N
22-09-2006, 07:24 PM
Tony, are you for real? :-/ *Snip* Please bear with me, I'm old and decrepit.*snip*
Yeh mate - just asked my missus - she assured me that i was real. Born 1944 - so i can identify with most of what you are saying (at least the bits I can remember)
Ps - now that the moderator has allowed the correct spelling and bypassed the spam filter, most of the conversation about gambling is not going to make much sense to anybody that didn't see how the filter had kicked into the word casino ;D (cassino with one "s"
whykickacatalong
22-09-2006, 08:23 PM
You will be disappointed in the Bass fishing compared to what is up your way :'( What brings you to Cassino?
I live around Cassino. What type of fishing do you wish to do. The type of boat will dictate what you will need. There is river fishing for the local Bass population near town and a small 3.5-4mt tinny will see you covered there as well as most of the close esturies at Evans Head, Ballina and the Clarence. If you wish to head off shore then a larger boat will be needed. The Evans Bar is a fairly good Bar compared to the others along this peice of coast as it is reasonably protected from the south. You would get away with a duel purpose boat that will do rivers and close off shore (I would say a 4.5 center console) but this type of boat is for good days only and really would be making comprimises for both styles of fishing.
Which is why I have 2 ;D
The Smaller boat is great for the rivers and creeks while the larger, while not big enough to head to far Off Shore is suitable for most days heading out the Bar and running a few mile out.
navlight
22-09-2006, 09:03 PM
dude,
Have a look at yamba/iluka, unreal fishing whit so many options such as the middle wall etc.
have spent many years fishing there and it is also a very enjoyable place to take the family.
guaranteed you will have a great time.
navlight
23-09-2006, 09:10 AM
Zeff
local fishing identity Lawrie M'c Anally has done a book on fishing all the Rivers ,bays and off shore areas of northern N.S.W . It is fairly comprehensive and has maps and gps points for reef systems. Well worth a read if you are new to the area ;)
stonecold
23-09-2006, 09:44 AM
Gotcha now Zeff,
Plenty of Ausfishers here in Cassino and close by.
As Alistair said all options covered and relatively close.
Tony's spot on re the sale of your boat. It depends what you can get for it as against the frieght costs, although Muzz might disagree.... some things you just cant put a $ value on ;)
Cheers Mark
whykickacatalong
23-09-2006, 11:23 AM
Zeff
local fishing identity Lawrie M'c Anally has done a book on fishing all the Rivers ,bays and off shore areas of northern N.S.W . It is fairly comprehensive and has maps and gps points for reef systems. Well worth a read if you are new to the area ;)
You dont know the name of it do you. I googled his name but nothing came up and I would be interested in a read myself.
onerabbit
23-09-2006, 11:53 AM
Gotcha now Zeff,
It depends what you can get for it as against the frieght costs, although Muzz might disagree.... some things you just cant put a $ value on ;)
Cheers Mark
I totally agree with you Mark, sentimental value would make me drag my boat where-ever I went, no matter what it cost.
Tony_N
23-09-2006, 05:38 PM
Zeff
You dont know the name of it do you. I googled his name but nothing came up and I would be interested in a read myself.
G'day Alistair
Try this spelling: Lawrie McEnally. I don't know the particular book - but he has done a little book called Bluewater Fishing Guide, available through K_mart and published by Australian Fishing Network that is worth a read
whykickacatalong
23-09-2006, 08:34 PM
Thanks Tony. Found them. Here is the front page of it if anyone is looking. There is a bluewater book as well.
Also it came up as a couple of topics on Ausfish. I will be getting the books, never have too mauch info, just not enough time to sort through it all ;)
Shane,
You need to get a copy of Fishing Guide to the Central Coast and North Coastg of New South Wales. by Julie and Lawrie McEnally.
Site 29. Jeffrey's Rock 29.46.495S 153.26.506E
Snapper Kingfish and Samson Fish
Site 30 Sonar Gap Wide 29.44.915S 153.28.173E
Snapper and Pearl Perch
Lots more in this area Page 129
Also Sandon Shoals
Site 36 Shoals (Inside) 29.42.351S 153.21.068E
Bream Trevally and Snapper
Site 35 Sandon Shoal 29.42.410s 153.20.850E
Scattered reef area where seas can break in heavy weather. Wide variety of reef and sportfish.
There is heaps more on this page but hope this helps you.
Regards Trev
whykickacatalong
23-09-2006, 08:34 PM
Thanks Tony. Found them. Here is the front page of it if anyone is looking. There is a bluewater book as well.
Also it came up as a couple of topics on Ausfish. I will be getting the books, never have too much info, just not enough time to sort through it all ;)
Shane,
You need to get a copy of Fishing Guide to the Central Coast and North Coastg of New South Wales. by Julie and Lawrie McEnally.
Site 29. Jeffrey's Rock 29.46.495S 153.26.506E
Snapper Kingfish and Samson Fish
Site 30 Sonar Gap Wide 29.44.915S 153.28.173E
Snapper and Pearl Perch
Lots more in this area Page 129
Also Sandon Shoals
Site 36 Shoals (Inside) 29.42.351S 153.21.068E
Bream Trevally and Snapper
Site 35 Sandon Shoal 29.42.410s 153.20.850E
Scattered reef area where seas can break in heavy weather. Wide variety of reef and sportfish.
There is heaps more on this page but hope this helps you.
Regards Trev
robyoung1
23-09-2006, 11:20 PM
I'm no open water fishing guru that's for sure; but I spent a lot of time on the Nth Rivers coast. Maybe Zeff you're an old salt that can do amazing things with boats, and I don't mean to be insulting in any way- but!
I imagine the waters aroung where you are presently might be quiet a bit different to navigate than the bars at the mouth of the Nth Rivers..I wonder if you can get a look at some footage of what these bars can be like before you comit to transporting a boat half way across the hemisphere.
I know when I lived in Brunswick Heads, anyone but those with exceptionaly sea worthy boats would stand on the breakwall every morning gauging the day's swell and the chances of getting out and back in safely. It's not the sort of deal that goes hand in hand with a regular job and a spontaneous whim. I'm sure the larger river mouths are better than that, but I'm just thinking of how it might be a bit of a shock if you're not prepared for what might await you.
I don't mean to be a wet blanket though, you might have sailed around cape of good hope for all I know. just thinking is all..
rob
jim_farrell
24-09-2006, 07:25 AM
Zeff, after living and fishing in PNG you may as well sell all your gear. What you call a good day, and what we call a good day are miles apart.
That is not to say you can't catch fish down here. A lot more work per fish on average. Nothing like Madang and Wewak.