View Full Version : Townsville
I am going to Townsville and need some advice or direction to find a couple of fishing spots. I have a 5m boat so any spots would be a great help.
CHEERS DORO
sooty66
22-09-2006, 09:23 AM
A couple of spots come to mind.
Around Cleveland bay to Salamander Reef - Pelagics and bottom bashing trout etc
Burdekin Rock - Bottom bash and Pelagics
Rattlesnake Island/Lorne Reef - macks and bottom bashing
Maggie Shoals - Pelagics and botto bash
There are heaps of spots to fish, best bet is to get yourself a copy of the Northern Fish Finder book (Approx $26.00). It has info on fishing areas from Broome to Brissie if I remember correctly. Also contains info on Ramps, GPS marks, Reefs +Gps marks etc.
I have one in my boat and it is the next best thing to the bible. Hasn't let me down yet.
Where are you coming from????
craigie
22-09-2006, 04:51 PM
All excellent info above by sooty66, would also stop in and see Danny and the boys at Tackle World Townsville. These lads are right on the money with whats on the chew and where and can supply all your bait and tackle needs.
And yes, they are friends of mine ;),
Craigie.
sooty66
22-09-2006, 05:33 PM
Weathers good this weekend Craigie, you hittin the water for a fish.
I'm going to try and see whats chewin at Burdekin Rock or West Point.
If your out that way, stop and say hi to the Side console with the Red Ausfish Stickers on.
Sooty66
Rod_Bender
23-09-2006, 06:31 PM
Might pay to utilise some different fishing guides around this place mate. Learn how, why, when to fish different locations. money well spent in my opinion. Any of the tackle stores will be great help though.
I agree with rod_bender, charter is the way to go. The weather has been quite horrible the last couple of weeks which I don't mind cause I have a new born. Townsville does take a while to work out except for the reef but the wind can limit your access. I hope you have fun.
Yort
whiteman
25-09-2006, 01:10 PM
I noticed the guys at 7to7 on Ingham Rd giving out GPS marks the other day to a guy who wanted to fish the shoals. They might be worth a look.
marty+jojo
25-09-2006, 07:07 PM
hinchinbrook ;)