View Full Version : Lure action for various gulps
gogecko
26-09-2006, 06:17 AM
Since the 5 dollar sale at Big W, Ive now got heaaaaps of Gulps. Im ok on different colors, but Im interested in lure action for different shapes. I know a guy here told me to use a minnow when Im looking for more of a 'reaction hit'. This proved to be true, as the minnow shapes dives faster, and is suited to quick erratic retrieves. I was ok using minnows and shads after I watched the Berkley dvd, but then they bought out all these new shapes.
Am I right in thinking the various turtleback worms, and sandworms need to be left still on the bottom for a lot longer than other styles? You wouldnt just cast, lift and wind, etc, on these, because a normal worm wouldnt jump so much?
What about lure action for a nuclear chicken shrimp?
Is a pogy to be treated like a shad or paddle tail, and best for flathead?
How would you use a squid gulp if youre targeting jew?
Which ones work well unweighted on the surface?
Has anyone had any luck with the crab?
A lot of questions I know, but if you can add to one piece of the puzzle, maybe we can all learn something. Tell us your stories.
So many lures, so little fishing time.......
keen_as_mustard
26-09-2006, 07:38 AM
Andrew,
have only used a few of these:
the pogys are one of my faves for flathead - I fish them with quick lifts off the bottom, followed by free fall back to the bottom, then a pause, before repeating. use jigheads of 1/8oz and higher
the sandworms are great for bream - fish them on really light jigheads (1/16oz and lighter) - let them fall slowly, then small hops/twitches back to you with lots of pauses. bream will even hit these if they are just left on the bottom.
turtleback worms catch bream and flathead - I use a retrieve somewhere in between the two mentioned above, and a slightly larger jighead than the sandworm
hope this helps
marty
gogecko
26-09-2006, 09:32 AM
Thanks marty, this sounds like what Ive been doing for the sandworms and turtlebacks too. Ive also had bream hit the sandworm while its dead still. I see a few pros are now saying to NOT cut them down is best. Ive dropped a few bream on these. Maybe Ive struck too early on 6 in sandworms, should you wait longer for the fish to get it down, maybe?
Im still stumped on how to use the crab and squid. Do people still use a standard shaped jighead, or maybe a hidden wieght? Im concerned they will look unnatural with the jighead sticking out of them.
nabs12
26-09-2006, 02:04 PM
For bream..i use the hidden weights jigheads.
I have caught a few bream with the turtlebacks, shrimps and squid..
The key to all of them is to just fish em slow.. slow retrieve nothing to erratic. I usually cut a bit off my turtlebacks making them around 3inch.
Hope this helps
Timfishin4fun
01-10-2006, 07:22 PM
Hi gecko, i had a look at TT lures web site and there was an article about the 6" worm and to basic throw in a second hook with a snell. I haven't tried this yet but i am very keen to do so. I think this will definetly increase hook up rate. Hope all goes well. CYA Timbo
P.S. try a very small twitch of the rod side ways with the worm. This makes the bait wriggle more than hop.
ecofreak
01-10-2006, 08:27 PM
I spent hours in my mates backyard and highjacked his swimming pool so I could see how each of my plastics worked. After an afternoon playing around with different action from the rod tip I have increased my catch 10 fold. KNowing how each lure reacts is the most benificial thing I have ever done with my lures. If you try this just remember that the buoyency is different in fresh and saltwater so the free fall of the lure in saltwater will be slighty slower in salt.
Far_Canal
01-10-2006, 10:01 PM
the shrimps have a really good action, rig them as u would any plastic and just a couple of flicks up and wind in etc. iv landed 70cm flathead on the little baby shrimps.
4x4frog
02-10-2006, 08:40 AM
I spent hours in my mates backyard and highjacked his swimming pool so I could see how each of my plastics worked. After an afternoon playing around with different action from the rod tip I have increased my catch 10 fold. KNowing how each lure reacts is the most benificial thing I have ever done with my lures. If you try this just remember that the buoyency is different in fresh and saltwater so the free fall of the lure in saltwater will be slighty slower in salt.
I thought I was the only goose that sat in the back yard throwing various fish attracting device into the pool, I am sure the neighbours were laughing but it really does help, with HB's too as the actions vary so much. I just have to learn how to cast the o/h reel now further than the length of the pool.
I am toying with the idea of using unwaited hooks or jigheads if I can find them and adding a small split shot at different points to alter the action and pivot of the tail. I will report back when I have definate results
gogecko
03-10-2006, 12:32 PM
Thx guys, I did the pool thing and it sure helps.
I still wish someone would tell me how to rig the sandcrab and squid gulps... do you use a normal 1/4 oz jighead, and have the jighead sticking out???? Or maybe use a standard hook with no jighead and use a running sinker?
ANdrew
Runaway_Bob
03-10-2006, 01:36 PM
4x4frog,
I think you'll find that it is harder to cast the baitcaster short distances than long. Your pool practice will come in real handy if you ever chase barra in the NT build up to the wet
shayned
03-10-2006, 03:29 PM
I'd love to try the crab profile on squire. My theory is to throw ahead of the drift with a slightly lighter weight for a slower descent. I reckon if you could measure your cast length so that the crab had say 30 secs of lying time on the bottom as you drifted upto it and retreived for the next cast. This should maximise the amount of time the profile spends on the drop as opposed to longer casts and working the plastic near the bottom as you drift towards it.
Haven't had a chance to test this but would be keen to hear of anyones results trying it this way.
BrandonH
03-10-2006, 03:44 PM
I actually tried the crabs last saturday.. i took one outa the pack and thought ok now how should this go on :-? :-?
Well first thing i though of was, how do crabs swim/walk? sideways!!! so i rigged it up so the jig weight (using 1/16th 1/0 in 16foot) was in line with one set of legs hanging out the side of the plastic and stuck the hook out the top of the crab just past centre. didn't fish with it for long but had one claw ripped off it ;) tried the drift and drag method as well as cast and return to the boat with the current..
Might have to give them a go this sunday arvo Shayne? that is if seabreeze has it wrong again >:( (prediction of 15knots for sun arvo atm :'()...
Brandon...
Adamy
04-10-2006, 12:25 AM
I finally had a chance to use the 3" squid on Saturday - I had no idea how to rig it either, as I was fishing offshore with a standard paternoster rig I threaded it onto the hook just like a normal squid, in fact the squid is very solid so threading seems hard until you notice that they have a thin tube thing, thats where I placed the hook.
It seemed a bit small and stiff on the 3/0 but it outfished the real squid. So my suggestion with a jighead would be the same - use the tube thingy to thread jig head out the top and hook out the tentacle end.- otherwise its too hard. Is that what anyone else has found?
regards turtlebacks - I use them on squire - just let them drift out the back - they catch fish by themselves - no action required - often they'll catch fish on the drop too (like all gulps).
I'm very sad and sorry I missed the $5 gulp sale... when was that?? :'( :'(
gogecko
04-10-2006, 05:46 AM
Gulp sale was about 4-5 weeks ago at all Big W's. There a post about it in tackle section, thanks to gutsy for alerting us. I bought 8 more packs and a second SP wallet.
hey mate i use the crabs befor i just use a 1.5g jig head and size 4 hook and cast them on top on bridg pilons to make it look like the crab has fallen of the pilon and when it hits the bottom wind slowly and wiggle the rod tip than let it sink than keep doin that i and have caught a few bream on it but ther hard to hook with the crabs u sorta have to let them take it befor u strike and with the shrimp i use the same jig head and i just jig it about 4 times quickly and let it sink and keep doing that and i get heaps of bream on them but with the sand worms u can just let them drag on the bottom when ur drifting and u get fish on them hope this helps u
zach
4x4frog
04-10-2006, 06:38 PM
lePuff lePuff, draws copious amounts of O2
:oturned blue reading that post zach. ::)