View Full Version : anchor chain for offshore GC fishing
Adamy
11-10-2006, 04:45 PM
Just a offshore newby type question. How many metres of anchor rope should I have on board if I want to fish offshore on the GC? I will only head out as far as the 36s. Also when using a reef anchor - the kind with bendy prongs - do I use a chain and what length?
I have a 5m glass cuddy cab - if that makes a difference.
Also when I anchor up - should I anchor from the normal front point or from the back - the reason I ask this is crawling through the cuddy cab to haul up 50plus metres of rope might be a pain. I have one of those ball float ring things that you use to retrieve the anchor - but have no clue on how to use it and the best place to tie the whole anchor system off to. So any anchoring and retrieval advice would be most appreciated.
Sorry if these are dumb questions - but I dont want to lose a bunch of rope and an anchor because I did the wrong thing - plus need to get the anchor back in the most energy efficient (lazy) way. ;)
Thanks,
Adam
marlinqld
11-10-2006, 05:00 PM
Mate some say chain as long as your boat......I have 3 metres on mine, and never had a problem.
seatime
11-10-2006, 05:14 PM
Adam
The length of the boat is a rule of thumb for chain length, so 3-5m would be fine for a 5m glass boat. Sometimes the chain will foul on the reef, use as much scope as possible to lessen the chances.
Get yourself a Nally bin to store the anchor, chain and line and use from the aft deck. Make up a pennant, which is a heavier line attached to the forward bollard, 4-5m long, so it reaches back and around into the cabin.
Let go the anchor from the cabin and tie off the anchor line and clip the retrieval buoy to the anchor pennant.
When retrieving, steam ahead and in an arc around the anchor position, this will help pull the buoy under.
Steve.
p.s there's a recent thread somewhere that has some piccys.
Duyz72
11-10-2006, 05:14 PM
There are quite a few links throughout previous posts on how to use those anchor mates. A search should help, unless someone knows the direct link?
I have never used one so I would only be spruiking from those posts and clips I have seen.
If I come across them before someone else posts the links I will put them up here for you.
Tony_N
11-10-2006, 05:19 PM
Just a offshore newby type question. #How many metres of anchor rope should I have on board if I want to fish offshore on the GC? I will only head out as far as the 36s. Also when using a reef anchor - the kind with bendy prongs - do I use a chain and what length?
I have a 5m glass cuddy cab - if that makes a difference.
Also when I anchor up - should I anchor from the normal front point or from the back - the reason I ask this is crawling through the cuddy cab to haul up 50plus metres of rope might be a pain. I have one of those ball float ring things that you use to retrieve the anchor - but have no clue on how to use it and the best place to tie the whole anchor system off to. So any anchoring and retrieval advice would be most appreciated.
Sorry if these are dumb questions - but I dont want to lose a bunch of rope and an anchor because I did the wrong thing - plus need to get the anchor back in the most energy efficient (lazy) way. ;)
Thanks,
Adam
Adam
I'm not a boat expert - but in case more don't reply
Rope: You should have at least 3X more rope than the depth you are going to fish.
Chain: - yes you should use chain with your reef pick and it should be at least 4metres long
Anchor point: do NOT tie your anchor off at the back of the boat. From the bow only.
Do a search or two on this site on anchor, anchoring, dan buoy, anka yanka(?) etc
I can give you more info on using the dan buoy if you cant find anything - it just takes a long time tuyping with 2 fingers when you should be able to look it up pretty easily.
Duyz72
11-10-2006, 05:22 PM
Here ya go, to get you started.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1084243162/4#4
http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1127299299/0
http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1158285859/11#11
gawby
11-10-2006, 07:50 PM
Adam
I have about 5mts of chain and my boat is 6mts long.
I have about 150mts of rope and at times use the lot. I have to get some more
I have just put some pics in the boating section on anchor retrieval which might help you with attatching a ball.
Graeme. ;)
Adamy
11-10-2006, 08:34 PM
Thanks guys Have read pretty much everything going... am getting an idea on what to do. Thanks for all your help.
Adam
Hagar
12-10-2006, 08:22 AM
Adam
You will pretty much have the story after reading those links so the setup is easy .
I regularly anchor on the 36's off the GC . There is 600 feet of rope in the locker , not that it all gets used but 400 feet would be minimum I reckon . Make sure you can straighten the prongs on your anchor by hand ( with lots of effort) as any stronger may see you have real trouble pulling the pick off when it's time to go home . Too weak and it will pull off . I keep a short bit of gal pipe in the boat to re - bend the prongs after use . Also don't just toss the pick over the side . Lower the rope thru your hands keeping some contact with the weight of the pick to prevent the chain from overtaking the pick and tangling it . It won't hold bottom if that happens . There is some serious current out wide as summer gets here .