View Full Version : lobster pots around the gong

adznapper
12-10-2006, 10:06 PM
I have tried hard to get a lobster,is it the rong time of year or are there none around.
I just slap a few fish tied up in the pot and throw it out over night in a weedie deep hole.
The amount of times i have put it out ,I am yet to catch one iam starting to think with the price of petrol i should just buy a few or next time iam out keep a few of thoughs rock cod they call poor mans lobster and boil them up i havnt tryed it yet but all the oldboys say they prefer it.

F1SH_BOY
12-10-2006, 10:20 PM
well down off port i see alot of lobster pots along the break water and i mean alot about 15-20 sets or whatever they are ;D and if they through that amount out there and keep repeating they must get a good feed.

hope this helps ;)

f1sh_boy [smiley=bandana.gif]

adznapper
12-10-2006, 10:24 PM
;)thanks fish boy i have seen them to
where abouts do you fish and do you do any good
ADZ

snelly1971
12-10-2006, 10:37 PM
Catch heaps down here in tassie..make sure lobsters cant eat the bait from outside the pot....we use plastic bait savers ties in on a copper wire..

F1SH_BOY
12-10-2006, 10:38 PM
yeh i fish the five islands tooth brush,big island e.t.c e.t.c and have picked up some nice looking reef fish but most important the big fish lol have only caught a nice 3-4kg kingie and a nice leather jacket seen some guys come in with some nice snapper i felt like killing my self ;D i have been dieing 4 snapper but then again its only our second time offshore ;D

adznapper
12-10-2006, 10:43 PM
Thanks snelly I will give that ago.
ADZ ;)

adznapper
12-10-2006, 10:49 PM
Fishboy
i go out a fare bite and havnt got one yet I herd that there are some good patches of reef along the beach there close in to the coal loader that hold big snapper i havent had time to have a sniff there yet.
I have been checking out were these guys go i try there spots and still do no good we wlill get one soon my freind.

snelly1971
12-10-2006, 11:39 PM
:-/ :-/Commercial operators here cable tie cow hocks to the bottom of there pots....they stink...and i mean stink but work a treat!!!!!

aussiefool
13-10-2006, 03:43 AM
maybe you just live to close to Terry Hill >:(

adznapper
13-10-2006, 12:49 PM
Thanks snelly

aussiefool ,what the

hundgie
13-10-2006, 01:53 PM
Adznapper

Im from cronulla area and all the pots i see are always very close to the shaw, and there seem to more around just after we have had fairly ruff seas, maybe the ruff sea sters up bottom a bit which may bring them out, good luck.

adznapper
13-10-2006, 10:41 PM
Hundgie
thanks mate, it seems that its a hard topic to find info every little bit of info is great ,keep it comin people
ADZ
\ ;D ;D

snelly1971
14-10-2006, 09:22 PM
I have done a few commercial trips and the fishermen love a big swell on whilst there pots are out...usually two days minimum before they pull them...have know them to leave pots out for up to 2 weeks....ie ...thats why they use cow hocks...to keep the crabs interested...

snelly1971
14-10-2006, 09:27 PM
I have done a few commercial trips and the fishermen love a big swell on whilst there pots are out...usually two days minimum before they pull them...have know them to leave pots out for up to 2 weeks....ie ...thats why they use cow hocks...to keep the crabs interested...