View Full Version : ramp report, Pine River, behind Westfield Strathpi
rick_k
13-10-2006, 11:51 PM
how is this ramp for cars and trailers now?
Scottnojack
14-10-2006, 06:56 AM
Ive been down there a couple of times with out any problems. I was down there yesterday arvo and some fella came and asked what the ramp was like. It wasn't you was it???
Also I'm not sure wehter you know but never go to the ramp on half tide or lower. BIG BIG BIG drop off at the end and the ramp is slimey as hell. Thoughts of cars sliding backwards with the handbrake on come to mind. :'( :'(
Scotty
Nico.d.R
16-10-2006, 08:21 PM
I went fishin there one morning before work and i did'nt think you could even launch a boat there , nasty looking ramp .
rick_k
16-10-2006, 11:37 PM
Scotty and Nico.D.R. I can confirm that ramp is UGLY [smiley=hammer.gif] at low tide. And the mud next to it is not much better, but at least in bare feet you can work your way to the top.
Scotty, no it wasn't me.
Mate caught a nice grunter there, which he made up for by zoooming down the ramp on his blot.
17-10-2006, 09:17 AM
Despite the surrounding houses, cars get done over there by the local junkies.
17-10-2006, 01:56 PM
Kev, as always mate, quality info and directly to the point :D
Junkies, LoL
Cool man, lookit, a boat trailer.... whoa !!
Good heads up though, last thing you want is your valuables being nicked by these low lifes. Perhaps they live in those houses !
17-10-2006, 02:19 PM
Kev, as always mate, quality info and directly to the point :D
Junkies, LoL
Cool man, lookit, a boat trailer.... whoa !!Good heads up though, last thing you want is your valuables being nicked by these low lifes. Perhaps they live in those houses !
;D cheers mate ;D Some of those houses are pretty expensive.........not exactly prime waterfront but I wouldn't mind living there with the back yard on the river.
The ramp is too near to: Centrelink not far away, Department of Child Safety not far away, clinics, fast food, hock shop and (target) car parking not far away.
There's a homeless kid's hostel on Bald Hills Rd and the poor buggers are turned out during the day with no money and left to their own devices. The nearest shoppping Mall is strathpine. I've had it on good authority from one such kid that deepwater Bend, the ramp at the top of Bald Hills Rd, and also the one near the shopping centre have been prime (daytime) targets in the past due to the lack of surveillance.
17-10-2006, 06:25 PM
confirmation!
it is a shit of a ramp!!!!
i used to use it a fair bit, when i had the old car and boat. nothing ever stolen. but seedy caracters around. syringes are common. low tide sucks hard. and if ya boats any bigger than 12 ft. you wont get around "the sticks" about a k down, at anything less than half tide.